Nintendo has given its hybrid console an offshoot especially for handheld gaming. The new device will be smaller, lighter and cheaper - but also less flexible. 


The Switch Lite is similar to the Switch, which has been available since 2017, but is only intended for handheld operation.

Switch without switch features?

The console cannot be connected to the TV base. It also lacks features such as the vibration function and the IR motion camera. In contrast to its big sister, the Joycon controllers cannot be removed from the Switch Lite, they are permanently installed. However, external Joycon can be connected to the Switch Lite for multiplayer games, for example. The Switch Lite lacks a kickstand.

The Nintendo Switch Lite is available in three different colors

The Nintendo Switch Lite is available in three different colors.

The handheld is hardly any bigger than a smartphone: with an aspect ratio of 16: 9, the screen is only 5,5 inches diagonally. It also has a resolution of HD (1280 x 720 pixels). For comparison: The screen of the Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge is that big. With the dimensions 91,1 x 208 x 13,9 millimeters, the housing of the Switch Lite itself is also kept very narrow.

In addition, the mini offshoot also offers a headphone connection and a slot for microSD cards. Of course there is also a slot for switch cards. There are internal memory only 32 GB available: The small storage space was already a point of criticism on the large Switch, but Nintendo has not made any improvements here.

[atkp_product id = '8943 ′ template =' secondwide '] [/ atkp_product]

A plus point of the Nintendo Switch Lite is an improved battery life. The device should hold out for up to six hours on one charge. In “The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild” there are four hours of playing time before the energy is exhausted. For comparison: The already available Nintendo Switch offers around three hours of battery life for this Zelda title.

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

The Nintendo Switch Lite will go on sale on September 20, 2019. At least in the USA, it should cost just under $ 200 for release - almost $ 100 less than the large Switch.

We publish the latest news from the areas of board and card games, literature and film, toys, video games and events. Send us an email with your press release.


Attention: We are looking for reinforcements for our editorial team: game testers, news authors, gaming experts, bookworms, film and series fans. Would you like to participate? then > here < apply.

Nintendo spendiert seiner Hybrid-Konsole einen Ableger speziell fürs Handheld-Gaming. Das neue Gerät wird kleiner, leichter und günstiger – aber auch unflexibler. 


Die Switch Lite ähnelt der seit 2017 erhältlichen Switch, ist aber ausschließlich für den Handheld-Betrieb gedacht.

Switch ohne Switch-Features?

Die Konsole kann also nicht an den TV-Sockel angeschlossen werden. Es fehlen außerdem Features wie die Vibrationsfunktion und die IR-Bewegungskamera. Die Joycon-Controller kann man bei der Switch Lite im Gegensatz zur großen Schwester nicht abnehmen, sie sind fest verbaut. Allerdings können externe Joycon zum Beispiel für Multiplayer-Partien mit der Switch Lite verbunden werden. Ein Kickstand fehlt bei der Switch Lite.

Die Nintendo Switch Lite gibt es in drei verschiedenen Farben
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Die Nintendo Switch Lite gibt es in drei verschiedenen Farben.

Der Handheld dürfte kaum größer als ein Smartphone sein: Bei einem Seitenverhältnis von 16:9 misst der Bildschirm lediglich 5,5 Zoll in der Diagonale. Er löst außerdem in HD (1280 x 720 Pixel) auf. Zum Vergleich: So groß ist auch der Bildschirm des Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge. Mit den Maßen 91,1 x 208 x 13,9 Millimetern ist auch das Gehäuse der Switch Lite selbst sehr schmal gehalten.

Darüber hinaus bietet der Mini-Ableger ebenso einen Kopfhöreranschluss und einen Slot für microSD-Karten. Natürlich gibt es zudem einen Slot für Switch-Karten. An internem Speicher sind nur 32 GB vorhanden: Der geringe Speicherplatz war schon bei der großen Switch ein Kritikpunkt, dennoch hat Nintendo an dieser Stelle nicht nachgebessert.

[atkp_product id=’8943′ template=’secondwide‘][/atkp_product]

Ein Pluspunkt der Nintendo Switch Lite ist eine verbesserte Akkulaufzeit. Bis zu sechs Stunden lang soll das Gerät mit einer Ladung durchhalten. Bei „The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild“ seien es vier Stunden Spielzeit, ehe die Energie erschöpft ist. Zum Vergleich: Die bereits erhältliche Nintendo Switch bietet bei diesem Zelda-Titel ungefähr drei Stunden Akkulaufzeit.

YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

In den Handel kommt die Nintendo Switch Lite am 20. September 2019. Zumindest in den USA soll sie zum Release knapp 200 Dollar kosten – also knapp 100 Dollar weniger als die große Switch.

Wir veröffentlichen aktuelle News aus den Bereichen Brett- und Kartenspiele, Literatur und Film, Spielwaren, Videospiele und Veranstaltungen. Senden Sie uns eine E-Mail mit ihrer Pressemitteilung.


Aufgepasst: Wir suchen nach Verstärkung für unsere Redaktion: Spieletester, News-Autoren, Gaming-Experten, Bücherwürmer, Film- und Serien-Fans. Lust darauf, mitzuwirken? Dann > hier < bewerben.