Nvidia DLSS is now used in 120 video games, including the new games Back 4 Blood, Baldur's Gate 3 and Alan Wake Remastered. The technology promises significant increases in performance for individual titles, sometimes in the double-digit percentage range. 

The so-called “Deep Learning Super Sampling”, or DLSS for short, is next to ray tracing currently the hot shit of the tech company Nvidia. The use of AI algorithms is intended to increase the performance in video games. As with AMD FidelityX, Nvidia's counterpart is also an upscaling technology in which a low resolution is used as the basis for the result extrapolated by artificial intelligence.

Currently only for RTX graphics cards

However, there is one limitation with DLSS: only graphics cards of the RTX model series support the technology, currently: RTX 2060 and RTX 2060 Super; RTX 2070 and RTX 2070 Super; RTX 2080 and RTX 2080 Super as well as RTX 2080 Ti and the Titan RTX.

With the ten other DLSS games released in October, Nvidia DLSS has improved the performance of 120 games and applications, including the recently released Back 4 Blood. In a series of co-op campaign levels with random elements, a unique equipment system and eight different characters, each with their own perks and stats, players battle the enemy to reclaim the world while the very survival of all humanity is at stake stands. According to Nvidia, the increase in performance is up to 46 percent.

In October, DLSS was also introduced in Baldur's Gate 3, Chivalry 2, Crysis Remastered Trilogy, Rise of the Tomb Raider, Shadow of the Tomb Raider, Sword and Fairy 7, and Swords of Legends Online. Additionally, DLSS is also available for the recently released Alan Wake Remastered and FIST: Forged In Shadow Torch titles.

Baldur's Gate 3 has supported DLSS since the update. Image: Larian

Baldur's Gate 3 has supported DLSS since the update. Image: Larian

The latest Baldur's Gate 3 update on Steam brought a huge number of changes, including Nvidia DLSS. "With DLSS, the performance at 4K is increased by up to 88 percent, so that owners of a GeForce RTX 3060 Ti or higher can play Baldur's Gate 3 in 4K with 60 FPS at maximum settings," says the tech company.

After the release of Crysis Remastered last year, which included both DLSS and Ray Tracing, Crytek and partner Saber Interactive released the Crysis Remastered Trilogy. All three Crysis Remastered titles, which hit the market on October 15th, feature DLSS and ray tracing reflections, as well as improved textures, models, lighting and environments to give PC gamers the ultimate Crysis experience.

Rise of the Tomb Raider and Shadow of the Tomb Raider got a big boost with DLSS upgrades
Shadow of the Tomb Raider was one of the first RTX games to feature ultra-quality ray-traced shadows and Nvidia DLSS 2019 in early 1.0.

On October 18th, Shadow of the Tomb Raider was upgraded with the latest version of DLSS, which improves both image quality and performance. In addition, DLSS is also used for Rise of the Tomb Raider, the second game in the trilogy, which was originally released in 2016. In Shadow of the Tomb Raider, the performance with DLSS at 4K with maximum settings and activated ray tracing is more than doubled, explains Nvidia. And in Rise of the Tomb Raider, DLSS increases the performance by up to 75 percent, so that all GeForce RTX players can play in 4K and at maximum settings with over 60 FPS. With GeForce NOW, Nvidia's cloud gaming service, players can also stream both Tomb Raider games when they are not at their gaming computer.

Chivalry 2 supports DLSS

Chivalry 2 has been up to 26 percent faster with a DLSS upgrade since October 45th. Chivalry 2 by Torn Banner Studios is a PvP hack-and-slash multiplayer title with up to 64 players. On October 26th, Chivalry 2 introduced DLSS in a new update, which increased performance and enabled all GeForce RTX players to play in 4K with over 60 FPS at maximum settings: Players can also play Chivalry 2 via GeForce NOW.

And it goes on: Sword and Fairy, a traditional Chinese RPG franchise that has already produced television series, plays, games and toys, appeared in the seventh edition of October 21 with ray-traced reflections, Ray-Traced-Schatten , Ray-Traced-Caustics, Ray-Traced-Ambient-Occlusion and Spatiotemporal Importance Resampling for Many-Light Ray Tracing (ReSTIR) Global Illumination Lighting.

With maximum use of all ray tracing functions of the game, DLSS improves the performance by more than double, according to Nvidia.

Swords of Legends Online receives a performance upgrade

Swords of Legends Online by Wangyuan Shengtang Entertainment Technology Company was released in July and invites players to explore a new fantasy action MMORPG. Since October 14th, GeForce RTX gamers have been able to enjoy improved image quality and even faster performance thanks to a DLSS upgrade with a performance increase of up to 60 percent.

Those who love Metroidvanias should check out the recently published and highly rated FIST: Forged In Shadow Torch, which features Ray Tracing, DLSS, and Nvidia Reflex. When all functions are activated and fully utilized, the graphics of FIST offer ray tracing reflections, global lighting effects and caustics. System latency is minimized with Reflex and ensures a smoother gaming experience. In addition, DLSS improves the performance 3-fold.

The 2010 hit, Remedy Entertainment's remaster by Alan Wake, was released earlier this month with Nvidia DLSS, which doubles performance at 4K.


Author

Last updated on 20.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

In 120 Videospielen kommt inzwischen Nvidia DLSS zum Einsatz, unter anderem in den Spieleneuheiten Back 4 Blood, Baldur’s Gate 3 oder Alan Wake Remastered. Die Technologie verspricht deutliche Performance-Steigerungen bei einzelnen Titeln, mitunter im zweistelligen Prozentbereich. 

Das sogenannte “Deep Learning Super Sampling”, kurz DLSS, ist neben Raytracing aktuell der heiße Scheiß des Tech-Unternehmens Nvidia. Durch den Einsatz von KI-Algorithmen soll die Performance in Videospielen gesteigert werden. Wie bei AMD FidelityX handelt es sich auch bei Nvidias Pendant um eine Upscaling-Technologie, bei der eine geringe Auflösung als Basis für das durch die Künstliche Intelligenz hochgerechnete Ergebnis herhält.

Derzeit nur für RTX-Grafikkarten

Eine Einschränkung gibt es bei DLSS allerdings: lediglich Grafikkarten der RTX-Modellreihe unterstützen die Technologie, derzeit also: RTX 2060 und RTX 2060 Super; RTX 2070 und RTX 2070 Super; RTX 2080 und RTX 2080 Super sowie RTX 2080 Ti und die Titan RTX.

Mit den zehn weiteren DLSS-Spielen, die im Oktober erschienen sind, verbessert Nvidia DLSS die Performance in inzwischen 120 Spielen und Anwendungen, darunter auch das kürzlich veröffentlichte Back 4 Blood. In einer Reihe von Koop-Kampagnen-Levels mit zufälligen Elementen, einem einzigartigen Ausrüstungssystem und acht verschiedenen Charakteren mit jeweils eigenen Perks und Werten nehmen die Spieler den Kampf gegen den Feind auf, um die Welt zurückzuerobern, während das Überleben der gesamten Menschheit auf dem Spiel steht. Die Performand-Steigerung liegt laut Nvidia bei bis zu 46 Prozent.

Im Oktober wurde DLSS auch in Baldur’s Gate 3, Chivalry 2, Crysis Remastered Trilogy, Rise of the Tomb Raider, Shadow of the Tomb Raider, Sword and Fairy 7 und Swords of Legends Online eingeführt. Darüber hinaus ist DLSS auch für die kürzlich veröffentlichten Titel Alan Wake Remastered und F.I.S.T.: Forged In Shadow Torch verfügbar.

Baldur's Gate 3 unterstützt seit dem Update DLSS. Bild: Larian

Baldur’s Gate 3 unterstützt seit dem Update DLSS. Bild: Larian

Das neueste Baldur’s Gate 3-Update auf Steam brachte eine große Anzahl von Änderungen, darunter auch Nvidia DLSS. “Mit DLSS wird die Performance bei 4K um bis zu 88 Prozent gesteigert, sodass Besitzer einer GeForce RTX 3060 Ti oder höher Baldur’s Gate 3 in 4K mit 60 FPS bei maximalen Einstellungen spielen können”, heißt es vom Tech-Unternehmen.

Nach der Veröffentlichung von Crysis Remastered im letzten Jahr, das sowohl DLSS als auch Ray Tracing beinhaltete, haben Crytek und Partner Saber Interactive die Crysis Remastered Trilogy veröffentlicht. Alle drei Crysis Remastered-Titel, die am 15. Oktober auf den Markt gekommen sind, bieten DLSS und Raytracing-Reflexionen sowie verbesserte Texturen, Modelle, Beleuchtungen und Umgebungen, um PC-Spielern das ultimative Crysis-Erlebnis zu bieten.

Rise of the Tomb Raider und Shadow of the Tomb Raider erhielten mit DLSS-Upgrades einen großen Schub
Shadow of the Tomb Raider war eines der ersten RTX-Spiele, das Anfang 2019 mit Ray-Traced Schatten in Ultra-Qualität und Nvidia DLSS 1.0 ausgestattet wurde.

Am 18. Oktober wurde Shadow of the Tomb Raider mit der neuesten Version von DLSS ausgestattet, die sowohl die Bildqualität als auch die Performance verbessert. Darüber hinaus kommt DLSS auch für Rise of the Tomb Raider, das zweite Spiel der Trilogie, das ursprünglich 2016 veröffentlicht wurde, zum Einsatz. In Shadow of the Tomb Raider werde die Leistung mit DLSS bei 4K mit maximalen Einstellungen und aktiviertem Raytracing mehr als verdoppelt, erklärt Nvidia. Und in Rise of the Tomb Raider steigere DLSS die Performance um bis zu 75 Prozent, so dass alle GeForce-RTX-Spieler in 4K und bei maximalen Einstellungen mit über 60 FPS spielen können. Mit GeForce NOW, Nvidias Cloud-Gaming-Service, können Spieler auch beide Tomb Raider-Spiele streamen, wenn sie nicht an ihrem Gaming-Rechner sitzen.

Chivalry 2 unterstützt DLSS

Chivalry 2 ist seit dem 26. Oktober mit einem DLSS-Upgrade bis zu 45 Prozent schneller.  Chivalry 2 von Torn Banner Studios ist ein PvP-Hack-and-Slash-Multiplayer-Titel mit bis zu 64 Spielern. Am 26. Oktober führte Chivalry 2 in einem neuen Update DLSS ein, das die Performance steigerte und es allen GeForce-RTX-Spielern ermögliche, in 4K mit über 60 FPS bei maximalen Einstellungen zu spielen: Spieler können auch Chivalry 2 über GeForce NOW spielen.

Und es geht weiter: Sword and Fairy, eine traditionsreiche chinesische RPG-Franchise, die bereits Fernsehserien, Bühnenstücke, Spiele und Spielzeug hervorgebracht hat, erschien in der siebten Auflage der am 21. Oktober mit Ray-Traced-Reflexionen, Ray-Traced-Schatten, Ray-Traced-Caustics, Ray-Traced-Ambient-Occlusion und Spatiotemporal Importance Resampling for Many-Light Ray Tracing (ReSTIR) Global Illumination Lighting.

Bei maximaler Nutzung aller Raytracing-Funktionen des Spiels verbessert DLSS die Performance laut Nvidia um mehr als das Doppelte.

Swords of Legends Online erhält ein Performanceupgrade

Swords of Legends Online von Wangyuan Shengtang Entertainment Technology Company wurde im Juli veröffentlicht und lädt Spieler zur Erkundung eines neuen Fantasy-Action-MMORPG ein. Seit dem 14. Oktober können GeForce-RTX-Spieler,, dank eines DLSS-Upgrades mit einer Performancesteigerung von bis zu 60 Prozent eine verbesserte Bildqualität und noch schnellere Performance genießen.

Wer Metroidvanias liebst, sollte sich das kürzlich veröffentlichte und gut bewertete F.I.S.T.: Forged In Shadow Torch ansehen, das mit Ray Tracing,  DLSS und Nvidia Reflex aufwartet. Wenn alle Funktionen aktiviert und voll ausgeschöpft sind, bietet die Grafik von F.I.S.T. Raytracing-Reflexionen, globale Beleuchtungseffekte und Kaustik. Die Systemlatenz wird mit Reflex minimiert und sorgt für ein flüssigeres Spielerlebnis. Darüber hinaus verbessert DLSS die Performance um das 3-fache.

Remedy Entertainments Remaster von Alan Wake, der Hit aus dem Jahr 2010, wurde Anfang des Monats mit Nvidia DLSS veröffentlicht, das die Leistung bei 4K um das Doppelte verbessert.


Letzte Aktualisierung am 28.11.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API