With Persona 5 Strikers, an action spin-off from the JRPG from Sega / Atlus has been announced that will be developed by Omega Force and P-Studios and will be released in February 2021 for PC, PlayStation 4 and Nintendo Switch.


Publisher Koei Tecmo and Omega Force Studios are prominent representatives of the so-called Musou genre with their Dynasty Warriors series. Musou (Japanese for unrivaled, unsurpassable) stands for a subgenre in the action profession, in which we shred our heroes through crazy rows of opponents in open areas and let the body count soar.

“Musou” sets trends in video games

The genre seems to be booming, as there is increasing cooperation with other well-known franchises. Most recently there was in 2020 with Hyrule Warriors: Time of Devastation a Musou-Klopper in Zelda garb, and with One Piece Pirate Warrior 4 the fourth genre offshoot based on Eiichiro Oda's pirate epic.

Now today there was the official announcement for Persona 5 Strikers, a collaboration between Koei Tecmo / Omega Force and SEGA / ATLUS, which is based on the JRPG hit of the same name. In fact, the release was announced prematurely a few days ago, but now it's official: Persona 5 Strikers will be released on 23 February 2021 for PC-Steam, PlayStation 4 and Nintendo Switch. According to the publisher, pre-orders will be possible from December 10th. In Japan, however, the title was already published under the title "Persona 5 Scramble: The Phantom Strikers" in February.

SEGA / ATLUS write in the associated press release:

In Persona 5 Strikers, the phantom thieves go on a journey and unexpectedly have to fight back a rampant corruption that has manifested itself in various Japanese cities. The exuberant summer vacation with good friends changes all of a sudden when they are faced with a disturbing reality: players must uncover the truth and purify the hearts of those captured at the center of this crisis.

Persona 5 Strikers is designed to offer a "deep story campaign" that starts six months after the events of Persona 5. Players visit six Japanese cities, cook tempting local dishes, and help people in need. In the Metaverse dungeons known from the main game, so-called shadows have to be fought so that the source of the corruption can be tapped again. The story should convince both newbies and connoisseurs of the main game.

Persona 5 Strikers is available for PC, PS4 and Switch. Image: Atlus / SEGA / Koei Tecmo Games Co., Ltd.

The combat system is designed as a hybrid: the Musou-typical, large-scale opponent knocking down is just as part of the game as turn-based pause-and-plan sequences in which the strategy can be reconsidered. As in the main game, players get an advantage if they surprise Shadows in combat. Here, too, elementary weaknesses can be exploited and particularly devastating all-out attacks can be initiated.

All known phantom thieves are part of the party. The respective character skills are also present, and of course the diverse personas can be conjured up, which can be leveled and developed. Each character has a specific moveset with different physical and magical abilities, with which the multitude of adversaries can be decimated. The bizarre Morgana in the shape of a cat bus is also back in Persona 5 Strikers.

And last but not least, we want to present you the corresponding announcement trailer:

And last but not least, we want to present you the corresponding announcement trailer:

Click the button below to load the content of cdn.iframe.ly.

Load content

Persona 5 Strikers comes with English and Japanese voice output, subtitles are offered in English, French, Italian, Spanish and German. The PC version can also be subtitled in Japanese, Korean and Traditional Chinese.


Preview Product Rating Price
Persona 5 Strikers Limited Edition (Switch) Persona 5 Strikers Limited Edition (Switch) * 54,59 EUR

Author

  • Editor and news writer. Second life teacher-to-be. Likes art, video games, comics, movies, board games, and music.

Last updated on 9.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Mit Persona 5 Strikers wurde ein Action-Spin Off des JRPGs aus dem Hause Sega/Atlus angekündigt, dass von den Omega Force und P-Studios entwickelt wird und im Februar 2021 für PC, PlayStation 4 und Nintendo Switch erscheinen soll.


Publisher Koei Tecmo und die Omega Force Studios sind mit ihrer Dynasty Warriors-Reihe prominente Vertreter des sogenannten Musou-Genres. Musou (jap. für konkurrenzlos, unübertrefflich) steht hierbei für ein Subgenre im Action-Metier, in welchem wir uns mit unseren Helden in offenen Arealen durch irrwitzige Gegnerreihen schnetzeln und dabei den Bodycount in die Höhe schnellen lassen.

“Musou” setzt Trends bei Videospielen

Das Genre scheint Konjunktur zu haben, denn es kommt verstärkt zu Kooperationen mit anderen bekannten Franchises. Zuletzt etwa gab es 2020 mit Hyrule Warriors: Zeit der Verheerung einen Musou-Klopper im Zelda-Gewand, und mit One Piece Pirate Warrior 4 den immerhin vierten Genre-Ableger auf Basis von Eiichiro Odas Piraten-Epos.

Nun gab es heute die offizielle Ankündigung für Persona 5 Strikers, einer Zusammenarbeit von Koei Tecmo/Omega Force und SEGA/ATLUS, die auf dem gleichnamigen JRPG-Hit beruht. Tatsächlich wurde die Veröffentlichung bereits vor einigen Tagen verfrüht bekanntgegeben, jetzt ist es aber offiziell: Persona 5 Strikers erscheint am 23. Februar 2021 für PC-Steam, PlayStation 4 und Nintendo Switch. Vorbestellungen sind laut Publisher ab dem 10. Dezember möglich. In Japan hingegen ist der Titel bereits unter dem Titel „Persona 5 Scramble: The Phantom Strikers“ im Februar erschienen.

SEGA/ATLUS schreiben in der dazugehörigen Pressemitteilung:

In Persona 5 Strikers gehen die Phantomdiebe auf Reisen und müssen unerwartet eine grassierende Verderbnis zurückschlagen, die sich in diversen japanischen Städten manifestiert hat. Die ausgelassenen Sommerferien mit guten Freunden verändern sich urplötzlich, als sie sich mit einer verstörenden Realität konfrontiert sehen: Spieler müssen die Wahrheit aufdecken und die Herzen derjenigen läutern, die im Zentrum dieser Krise gefangen genommen wurden.

Persona 5 Strikers soll eine „tiefgreifende Story-Kampagne“ bieten, die sechs Monate nach den Ereignissen von Persona 5 ansetzt. Spieler besuchen sechs japanische Städte, kochen verlockende regionale Gerichte und helfen Menschen, die in Nöten sind. In den aus dem Hauptspiel bekannten Metaverse-Dungeons müssen sogenannte Schatten bekämpft werden, sodass erneut die Quelle der Verderbnis erschlossen werden kann. Die Story soll sowohl Neulinge, als auch Kenner des Hauptspiels überzeugen.

Persona 5 Strikers erscheint für PC, PS4 und Switch. Bild: Atlus / SEGA / Koei Tecmo Games Co., Ltd.

Das Kampfsystem ist als Hybrid angelegt: Das Musou-typische großangelegte Gegner-Verkloppen ist ebenso Bestandteil  des Spiels, wie rundenbasierte Pause-and-Plan Sequenzen, in welchen die Strategie überdacht werden kann. Wie im Hauptspiel gilt: Spieler*Innen erhalten einen Vorteil, wenn sie Schatten im Kampf überraschen. Auch hier lassen sich elementare Schwächen ausnutzen und besonders verheerende All-Out-Attacken initiieren.

Alle bekannten Phantomdiebe sind mit von der Partie. Die jeweiligen Charakter-Fähigkeiten sind ebenfalls präsent, und natürlich lassen sich auch die vielfältigen Persona beschwören, die sich jeweils leveln- und entwickeln lassen. Jeder Charakter hat ein spezifisches Moveset mit unterschiedlichen physischen und magischen Fähigkeiten, mit denen sich die Vielzahl an Widersachern dezimieren lässt. Auch die skurrile Morgana in Katzenbusform ist bei Persona 5 Strikers wieder mit dabei.

Und nicht zuletzt wollen wir euch den dazugehörigen Ankündigungstrailer präsentieren:

Und nicht zuletzt wollen wir euch den dazugehörigen Ankündigungstrailer präsentieren:

Persona 5 Strikers kommt mit englischer und japanischer Sprachausgabe auf den Markt, Untertitel werden in Englisch, Französisch, Italienisch, Spanisch und Deutsch angeboten. Zudem lässt sich die PC-Fassung zusätzlich Japanisch, Koreanisch und mit Traditionellem Chinesisch untertiteln.


Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
Persona 5 Strikers Limited Edition (Switch) Persona 5 Strikers Limited Edition (Switch) * 58,45 EUR

Letzte Aktualisierung am 5.12.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API