The publishing house Pegasus Spiele brings heavy metal to the gaming table - in a double sense. The board game “Armata Strigoi” not only deals with the hard sounds, but also lets players slip into the roles of “real” metalheads. Armata Strigoi is the official board game of the heavy metal band Powerwolf.


Pegasus Spiele takes over the exclusive distribution of Armata Strigoi, the official board game of the metal band Powerwolf. The title of the game is also the title of one of their songs and loosely provides the background story of the parlor game about the last fight between werewolves and vampires.

Hard, harder, board game 

That sounds very special and is also implemented that way. Two to four players handle metal-like with blood points and roam the night as a werewolf special unit to put an end to vampires. Otherwise, the board game presents itself in a classic way: players slip into the spiked boots of one of the band members and receive - depending on the class behind them - special skills that are reminiscent of typical role-playing games: Attila is the mentor with troop skills, Falk Maria the priest with healing powers, Matthew the hunter who can move faster, Charles the berserk with stronger fighting skills and Roel the blacksmith with protective skills.

The game material frames the central miniatures of the werewolves and Strigoi. Image rights: Napalm Records

The game material frames the central miniatures of the werewolves and Strigoi. Image rights: Napalm Records

 

If you can't do anything with Powerwolf: It's simply the most successful German heavy metal band - no more, no less. It is no coincidence that it is all about werewolves and vampires, because that is exactly what the band's eponymous song is about. The equipment is typical of the genre: miniatures of the main characters, countless tokens, two Strigoi figures and a lot of maps with which the heroes' skills are triggered.

The course of the game is divided into two parts: At the beginning of the game, the enemies of the “Powerwoll werewolves”, the Strigoi, are invulnerable. Therefore, blood points must first be collected in order to harm the vampires.

The players get this by defeating the creatures of the night, allied with the Strigoi, who are also in the fortress. Only then do the players face the Strigoi in battle. "But as soon as one of the two is killed, the other immediately turns into the Supreme Master Strigoi and is now even more deadly," writes Pegasus Spiele about the special twist in the board game. Each player makes their own decisions about the actions and movements of their character. Nevertheless, they all act together as a team.

The board game Powerwolf was released in November last year, but was previously available through the band's publisher. With immediate effect, Pegasus will take over the distribution of games and should thus achieve one or the other player more. The price is around 50 euros.


[stextbox id = 'autor' caption = 'We are looking for reinforcements for the editorial team']We're looking for news writers in the fields of gaming, books, board games, as well as films and series. Do you want to participate? then > here < click and apply.[/ textbox]

Author

Der Verlag Pegasus Spiele bringt Heavy Metal auf den Spieltisch – und zwar im doppelten Sinne. Das Brettspiel „Armata Strigoi“ beschäftigt sich nicht nur spieltechnisch mit den harten Klängen, sondern lässt Spieler auch in die Rollen „echter“ Metaller schlüpfen. Armata Strigoi ist das offizielle Brettspiel der Heavy-Metal-Band Powerwolf.


Pegasus Spiele übernimmt den Exklusivvertrieb von Armata Strigoi, dem offiziellen Brettspiel der Metal-Band Powerwolf. Der Titel des Spiels ist zugleich der Titel eines ihrer Songs und sorgt lose für die Hintergrundgeschichte des Gesellschaftsspiels über den letzten Kampf zwischen Werwölfen und Vampiren.

Hart, härter, Brettspiel 

Das klingt sehr speziell und wird auch so umgesetzt. Zwei bis vier Spieler hantieren ganz Metal-like mit Blutpunkten und streifen als Werwolf-Spezialeinheit durch die Nacht, um Vampiren den Garaus zu machen. Ansonsten präsentiert sich das Brettspiel klassische: Spieler schlüpfen jeweils in die spike-besetzten Stiefel eines der Band-Mitglieder und erhalten so – abhängig von der dahinter verborgenen Klasse – spezielle Fertigkeiten, die an typische Rollenspiele erinnern: Attila ist der Mentor mit Truppenfähigkeiten, Falk Maria der Priester mit Heilungskräften, Matthew der Jäger, der sich schneller bewegen kann, Charles der Berserker mit stärkeren Kampffähigkeiten und Roel der Schmied mit Schutzfähigkeiten.

Das Spielmaterial umrahmt die zentralen Miniaturen der Werwölfe und Strigoi. Bildrechte: Napalm Records
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Das Spielmaterial umrahmt die zentralen Miniaturen der Werwölfe und Strigoi. Bildrechte: Napalm Records

 

Wer mit Powerwolf so gar nichts anfangen kann: Es handelt sich schlicht um die erfolgreichste deutsche Heavy-Metal-Band – nicht mehr, nicht weniger. Dass es ausgerechnet um Werwölfe und Vampire geht ist kein Zufall, denn genau darum geht es auch in dem namensgebenden Lied der Band. Die Ausstattung ist genretypisch: Miniaturen der Hauptfiguren, unzählige Tokens, zwei Strigoi-Figuren und jede Menge Kartenwerk, mit dem die Fertigkeiten der Helden ausgelöst werden.

Der Spielablauf ist zweigeteilt: Zu Beginn des Spiels sind die Feinde der „Powerwoll-Werwölfe“, die Strigoi, unverwundbar. Zunächst müssen daher Blutpunkte gesammelt werden, um den Vampiren Schaden zuzufügen.

Diese erhalten die Spieler indem sie die mit den Strigoi verbündeten Geschöpfe der Nacht, die sich ebenfalls in der Festung aufhalten, besiegen. Erst dann stehen die Spieler den Strigoi im Kampf gegenüber. „Doch sobald einer der beiden getötet ist, verwandelt sich der andere sofort in den Obersten Meister-Strigoi und ist ab sofort noch tödlicher“, schreibt Pegasus Spiele zu dem besonderen Twist in dem Brettspiel. Jeder Spieler trifft eigene Entscheidungen über die Aktionen und Bewegungen seines Charakters. Dennoch agieren alle zusammen als Team.

Schon gewusst?  Tenet ist aktuell günstig auf Amazon Prime verfügbar

Das Brettspiel Powerwolf ist bereits im November des vergangenen Jahres erschienen, war bislang jedoch über den Verlag der Band erhältlich. Ab sofort übernimmt Pegasus Spiele des Vertrieb und dürfte damit den einen oder anderen Spieler mehr erreichen. Der Preis liegt bei rund 50 Euro.


[stextbox id=’autor‘ caption=’Wir suchen Verstärkung für die Redaktion‘]Wir suchen nach News-Autoren in den Bereichen Gaming, Bücher, Brettspiele sowie Filme und Serien. Du möchtest mitmachen? Dann > hier < klicken und bewerben.[/stextbox]