Vegetables are boring? Are you kidding me? Are you serious when you say that! Even family members who prefer to avoid the colorful vitamin bombs can be brought to the kitchen table with the card game points salad. Then it's time to mix the lettuce and hunt for points. Will the game originally published by Alderac Entertainment Group as Point Salad, which was released as a German-language localization by Pegasus Spiele, convince even the biggest vegetable grouch? Read it yourself.


Games have been an integral part of everyday life for many families, and not just since the pandemic. Simple board and card games with a short duration and a good mood design are particularly popular, the rules of which anyone can quickly understand and which can be brought to the table spontaneously at any occasion. Point salad definitely meets these requirements.

And there had to be some special magic in the little box, that was clear before the first round of the game - after all, the title was already on the recommendation list of the Spiel des Jahres eV, so it had already convinced connoisseurs of the scene. In addition to games like Biss 20, Switch & Signal or Chakra, you could take a place. That at least suggests fun - and you shouldn't be disappointed with a point salad. The card game is accessible: It doesn't take a lot of preparation time to get started. This is ideal as a starter or nightcap title, and also appeals to beginners in particular, but without challenging the connoisseur. 

Point salad: Colorful salad mixing

If you take a closer look at the 108 playing cards, you can see their high-quality workmanship. Their structure is rough, which prevents them from slipping in your hand or sticking together, and their stability provides some protection against dog-ears. This is particularly beneficial for young and older players. The cards were printed on both sides. On the one hand you can see one of six types of vegetables as a picture and lettering, carrot, bell pepper, tomato, lettuce, onion and cabbage, on the other hand you can see the scoring conditions that are necessary to collect points. But be careful! Sometimes scoring cards lead to minus points under certain conditions. Thanks to their clarity and the self-explanatory illustrations, children who are already experienced players can probably find fun with point salad before the recommended minimum age of eight.

The structure and sequence of points salad is internalized as quickly as it is played: Depending on the number of players, a certain amount of cards is shuffled. Two to six clever salad mixers can take part. Then the cards are divided into three equally sized stacks, with the scoring side facing up, in the middle of the table. Two cards are now taken from the stacks of scoring cards, which, laid out with the vegetables side up, form a market. Now you can start!

The subject is interchangeable, but obvious: it's about vegetables. Photo: Volkmann

The subject is interchangeable, but obvious: it's about vegetables. Photo: Volkmann

What happens on the table is always understandable, even for beginners. The sequence consists, in turn, of one of two possible steps and an additional optional action: (1) Visit the market and take a vegetable or (2) select a scoring card and optionally (3) you can use a scoring card from your own once per turn Hand being turned into a vegetable. The other way around, a vegetable card may never be converted. If the choice has been made on one of the possible card types, the player places his card in front of him. The vegetables can be lined up overlapping, the scoring cards should be open to all players. At the end of the train, the market place is filled again. The end of the game is heralded with a point salad when all of the three card stacks and those of the market have been used up.

In the end, the plot of the game is not particularly complex, but a salad of points shows strengths if it is possible to use the synergies inherent in the concept of the title. It is roughly reminiscent of Sushi Go, but at the same time it is significantly better. This is mainly due to the strategic component around bonuses and penalties. “Easy to learn, hard to master” - this principle could well be ascribed to a salad of points. 

The luck factor is not necessarily to be seen as a weakness. Whether you like games with a predominantly controllable environment or see imponderables as a source of fun, is a matter of taste. In any case, the annoyance factor provides entertainment.

Perhaps the greatest strength of points salad is the variability of the gameplay. One could almost understand this as a protective mechanism: There is not one winning strategy that players can pursue in order to achieve certain success. Rather, you have to adjust to the situation with each new game. That supports the replayability enormously.

Vegetable hunting for families, but also for connoisseurs

So, above all, there is fun when the evaluation phase begins: Each vegetable can be mixed into the salad several times. This means that the vegetable cards can be combined several times for the scoring cards. If there are enough matching cards to fulfill a condition of the scoring cards more than once, the points apply to each of the combinations.

Points salad is a beginner-friendly card game, but also offers starting points for sophisticated strategies. Photo: Volkmann

Points salad is a beginner-friendly card game, but also offers starting points for sophisticated strategies. Photo: Volkmann

A scoring card always clearly shows what types of vegetables are needed to score points. For example, a card can earn three points for a carrot, but if the player also has an onion in hand at the same time, two of the points are deducted. The player who scooped the most points is the best salad mixer and wins the round of salads. Sounds easy? It is. But only at first glance. If you play the game with a round of adult players or at the end of a practiced round of players, you can sometimes tactically plan ahead. If you look not only at your scoring cards and plan to fulfill them, but also at those of your fellow players, you can prevent them from reaching their goal by picking up the required cards.

Because it is currently through a trending topic: The play box is handy, there is a lot of fun in a small pack. It fits in every backpack, which is ideal for a quick game on the go and the word fast really applies here, because the playful mixing of the salad takes no more than half an hour. Point salad fits unpacked in the hand of an adult who wants to store it in a small handbag, who simply takes it out of its outer packaging, puts it in a card box or in a reusable cover and off you go. The fact that the artwork is as colorful as the printed vegetables themselves will delight children in particular.

Infobox

Number of players: 2 to 6
Age: from 8 years
Playing time: 15 to 30 minutes
Difficulty: easy
Long-term motivation: high
Genre: card game
Sub-genre: family card game
Core Mechanisms: Card Drafting, Set Collection

Authors: Molly Johnson, Robert Melvin, Shawn Stankewich
Illustrations: Dylan Mangini
Publisher: AEG / Pegasus Spiele
Official Website: Link
Year of publication: 2019/2020
Language: German
Cost: 13 Euro 


Summary

Scots salad could not only convert one or the other vegetable grouch, it also brings a lot of fun to the table. The players shouldn't expect a lot of playful depth, but the family game doesn't want to offer that at all. Punkt Salat impresses with its extremely light set of rules, its brightly colored presentation, high-quality workmanship and its handy size. The topic is interchangeable.

Whether you collect cute animals or socks is unimportant for the course of the game, but the basic theme has been chosen appropriately for children in particular. The fun at the gaming table could soon be transferred to the kitchen table and suddenly the salad tastes good! Die-hard expert players can also enjoy the jagged salad mixing. Not as the main game of the evening, but as a casual introduction, as a fun nightcap or for on the go. After all, who doesn't have fun with the funny teasing of their teammates by stealing required cards?

The title can be played equally well with two or up to six players, as there is only little downtime. You don't have to ponder long with a point salad, because the tactical possibilities are extremely limited. But that doesn't detract from the fun if you take the quick card game for what it is: a simple game for the whole family. Previous experience is not required for this, just a few minutes of standard study and structure. In summary, points salad can be played without a lot of preparation and offers a lot of fun for different group constellations - if you get involved in a funny salad mixing with drafting and set collection mechanism, without placing too high demands on a card game.


Preview Product Rating Price
Pegasus Spiele 18340G - Point Salad Pegasus Spiele 18340G - Points salad * 9,99 EUR

Author

Last updated on 9.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Gemüse ist langweilig? Von wegen! Selbst Familienmitglieder die am liebsten einen großen Bogen um die bunten Vitaminbomben machen, holt man mit dem Kartenspiel Punkte Salat an den Küchentisch. Dann heißt es: Salatmischen und Punktejagen. Ob das ursprünglich im Verlag Alderac Entertainment Group als Point Salad erschienene Spiel, das als deutschsprachige Lokalisierung im Verlag Pegasus Spiele herauskam, auch den größten Gemüsemuffel überzeugen kann? Lest selbst.


Spiele sind nicht erst seit der Pandemie aus dem Alltag vieler Familien wegzudenken. Besonders beliebt sind dabei einfache Brett- und Kartenspiele mit kurzer Dauer und Gute-Laune-Design, deren Regeln jeder schnell verstehen kann und die, zu jeder Gelegenheit, spontan auf den Tisch gebracht werden können. Diese Voraussetzungen erfüllt Punktesalat ohne Zweifel.

Und irgendeine besondere Magie musste drin sein in der kleinen Schachtel, das war vor der ersten Spielrunde klar – immerhin stand der Titel bereits auf der Empfehlungsliste des Spiel des Jahres e.V., hatte somit bereits Kenner der Szene überzeugt. Neben Spielen wie Biss 20, Switch & Signal oder Chakra hatte man sich platzieren können. Das lässt Spielspaß zumindest vermuten – und man soll bei Punktesalat tatsächlich nicht enttäuscht werden. Das Kartenspiel ist zugänglich: Viel Vorbereitungszeit braucht es nicht, um loslegen zu können. Das ist ideal als Starter- oder Absacker-Titel, spricht zudem Einsteiger in besonderem Maße an, ohne Kenner jedoch zu unterfordern. 

Punktesalat: Kunterbuntes Salatmischen

Schaut man sich die 108 Spielkarten genauer an, sieht man ihre hochwertige Verarbeitung. Ihre Struktur ist rau, was verhindert, dass sie in der Hand verrutschen oder aneinanderkleben und ihre Stabilität sorgt in gewissem Maße für einen Schutz vor Eselsohren. Das ist besonders für junge und ältere Spieler von Vorteil. Bedruckt wurden die Karten beidseitig. Auf der einen Seite sieht man eine von sechs Gemüsesorten als Bild und als Schriftzug, Möhre, Paprika, Tomate, Salat, Zwiebel und Kohl, auf der anderen Seite die Wertungsbedingungen, die nötig sind, um Punkte zu sammeln. Doch Achtung! Manchmal führen Wertungskarten auch unter bestimmten Bedingungen zu Minuspunkten. Durch ihre Übersichtlichkeit und die sich selbst erklärende Bebilderung, können Kinder, die bereits geübte Spieler sind, vermutlich bereits vor dem empfohlenen Mindestalter von acht Jahren Spaß an Punktesalat finden.

Der Aufbau und Ablauf von Punktesalat ist so schnell verinnerlicht, wie gespielt: Je nach Anzahl von Mitspielern, wird eine bestimmte Menge von Karten gemischt. Teilnehmen können dabei zwei bis sechs gewitzte Salatmischer. Anschließend werden die Karten, nach Augenmaß, in drei gleichgroße Stapel aufgeteilt und mit der Wertungsseite nach oben, auf die Tischmitte gelegt. Von den Wertungskartenstapeln werden nun jeweils zwei Karten abgenommen, die, mit der Gemüseseite nach oben gerichtet ausgelegt, einen Markt bilden. Nun kann es auch schon losgehen!

Das Thema ist austauschbar, aber offensichtlich: Es geht um Gemüse. Foto: Volkmann

Das Thema ist austauschbar, aber offensichtlich: Es geht um Gemüse. Foto: Volkmann

Was auf dem Tisch passiert, bleibt stets nachvollziehbar, selbst für Einsteiger. Der Ablauf besteht, reihum, jeweils aus einem von zwei möglichen Schritten und einer zusätzlichen optionalen Aktion: (1) Den Markt besuchen und ein Gemüse entnehmen oder (2) eine Wertungskarte auswählen und optional (3) kann einmalig pro Zug eine Wertungskarte aus der eigenen Hand in ein Gemüse umgewandelt werden. Andersherum darf eine Gemüsekarte niemals umgewandelt werden. Ist die Wahl auf eine der Möglichen Kartentypen getroffen, legt der Spieler seine Karte vor sich ab. Dabei können die Gemüsesorten überlappend aufgereiht werden, die Wertungskarten sollten für alle Mitspieler offen einsehbar sein. Als Abschluss des Zuges, wird der Marktplatz wieder befüllt. Das Ende der Spielpartie wird bei Punktesalat eingeläutet, wenn alle der drei Kartenstapel und die des Marktes aufgebraucht wurden.

Besonders komplex sind die Spielhandlungen letztendlich nicht, Punktesalat zeigt jedoch Stärken, wenn es gelingt, jene Synergien zu nutzen, die dem Konzept des Titels innewohnen.  Es erinnert grob an Sushi Go, ist jedoch gleichzeitig deutlich besser. Das liegt vor allem an der strategischen Komponente um Boni und Strafen. “Easy to learn, hard to master” – diesen Grundsatz könnte man Punktesalat durchaus zusprechen. 

Der Glücksfaktor ist nicht zwingend als Schwäche zu sehen. Ob man Spiele mit einem überwiegend kontrollierbaren Umfeld mag oder Unwägbarkeiten als Spaßbringer versteht, ist Geschmackssache. In jedem Fall für Unterhaltung sorgt der Ärgerfaktor.

Die vielleicht größte Starke von Punktesalat ist die Variabilität des Spielablaufs. Fast könnte man das als Schutzmechanismus verstehen: Es gibt nicht die eine Gewinnstrategie, die Spieler verfolgen können, um einen sicheren Erfolg zu erzielen. Vielmehr muss man sich mit jeder neuen Partie auf die Situation einstellen. Das unterstützt die Wiederspielbarkeit enorm.

Gemüsejagd für Familien, aber auch Kenner

Spaß kommt also vor allem auf, wenn die Wertungsphase eingeläutet wird: Dabei kann jedes Gemüse mehrfach in den Salat gemischt werden. Das heißt, die Gemüsekarten dürfen mehrfach für die Wertungskarten kombiniert werden. Sind dabei genügend passende Karten vorhanden, um eine Bedingung der Wertungskarten mehrfach zu erfüllen, gelten die Punkte für jede der Kombinationen.

Punktesalat ist ein einsteigerfreundliches Kartenspiel, bietet aber auch Ansatzpunkte für ausgeklügelte Strategien. Foto: Volkmann

Punktesalat ist ein einsteigerfreundliches Kartenspiel, bietet aber auch Ansatzpunkte für ausgeklügelte Strategien. Foto: Volkmann

Eine Wertungskarte zeigt dabei stets deutlich an, was für Gemüsesorten benötigt werden, um Punkte zu machen. Beispielsweise kann eine Karte für eine Möhre drei Punkte einbringen, sollte der Spieler gleichzeitig jedoch auch eine Zwiebel auf der Hand haben, werden zwei der Punkte wieder abgezogen. Der Spieler, der die meisten Punkte einheimsen konnte, ist der beste Salatmischer und gewinnt die Runde Punktesalat. Klingt einfach? Ist es auch. Jedoch nur auf den ersten Blick. Spielt man das Spiel mit einer Runde erwachsener Spieler oder als Abschluss einer geübten Spielerrunde kann zum Teil taktisch vorausgeplant werden. Schaut man nicht nur auf seine Wertungskarten und plant deren Erfüllung, sondern auch auf diejenigen der Mitspieler, kann man durch das Abgreifen benötigter Karten verhindern, dass diese zum Ziel kommen.

Weil es derzeit ja durch ein Trendthema ist: Die Spielbox ist handlich, es gibt viel Spaß bei kleiner Packung. Sie passt in jeden Rucksack, das ist für eine schnelle Partie unterwegs ideal und das Wort schnell trifft hierbei wirklich zu, das spielerische Salatmischen nimmt nämlich höchstens eine halbe Stunde in Anspruch. Punktesalat passt ausgepackt in die Hand eines erwachsenen, in einer kleinen Handtasche unterbringen möchte, der nimmt es einfach aus seiner Umverpackung, gibt es in eine Kartenbox oder in eine wiederverwendbare Hülle und schon kann es losgehen. Das dass Artwork obendrein so kunterbunt wie das aufgedruckte Gemüse selbst ist, wird besonders Kinderaugen freuen.

Infobox

Spielerzahl: 2 bis 6
Alter: ab 8 Jahren
Spielzeit: 15 bis 30 Minuten
Schwierigkeit: einfach
Langzeitmotivation: hoch
Genre: Kartenspiel
Untergenre: Familien-Kartenspiel
Kernmechanismen: Card Drafting, Set Collection

Autoren: Molly Johnson, Robert Melvin, Shawn Stankewich
Illustrationen: Dylan Mangini
Verlag: AEG / Pegasus Spiele
Offizielle Website: Link
Erscheinungsjahr: 2019/2020
Sprache:  deutsch
Kosten: 13 Euro 


Fazit

Punktesalat könnte nicht nur den einen oder anderen Gemüsemuffel bekehren, es bringt auch eine Menge Spaß auf den Tisch. Viel spielerische Tiefe sollte hierbei von den Spielern nicht erwartet werden, aber das will das Familienspiel auch gar nicht bieten. Punkte Salat überzeugt mit seinem ausgesprochen leichtem Regelwerk, seiner quietschbunten Aufmachung, einer hochwertigen Verarbeitung und der handlichen Größe. Das Thema ist austauschbar.

Ob man nun niedliche Tiere oder Socken sammelt, ist für den Spielverlauf unwichtig, aber gerade für Kinder ist das Grundthema passend gewählt worden. So könnte der Spaß am Spieltisch schon bald auf den Küchentisch übertragen werden und plötzlich schmeckt der Salat doch! Und auch eingefleischte Expertenspieler können Spaß an dem zackigen Salatmischen finden. Nicht als Hauptspiel des Abends, aber zum lockeren Einstieg, als lustiger Absacker oder für Unterwegs. Denn wen macht das witzige Sticheln seiner Mitspieler, durch das Stibitzen benötigter Karten, schon keinen Spaß?

Der Titel kann zu zweit oder mit bis zu sechs Mitspielern gleichermaßen gut gespielt werden, da es nur zu geringer Downtime kommt. Lange gegrübelt werden muss bei Punktesalat nicht, denn die taktischen Möglichkeiten halten sich extrem in Grenzen. Das tut dem Spielspaß aber keinen Abbruch, wenn man das zügige Kartenspiel als das annimmt, was es ist: Ein einfaches Spiel für die ganze Familie. Vorerfahrungen werden hierfür nicht benötigt, lediglich ein paar Minuten des Regelstudium und Aufbaus. Zusammengefasst ist Punktesalat ohne viel Vorbereitung spielbar und bietet viel Spaß für verschiedene Gruppenkonstellationen – wenn man sich auf ein lustiges Salatmischen mit Drafting- und Set-Collection-Mechanismus einlässt, ohne zu hohe Ansprüche an ein Kartenspiel zu haben.


Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
Pegasus Spiele 18340G - Punktesalat Pegasus Spiele 18340G - Punktesalat * 9,29 EUR

Letzte Aktualisierung am 29.11.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API