As reported by Asmodee US, among others, the Unexpected Games studio around game designer Corey Konieczka is working on a new title: “Voices In My Head” will be a board game that will be played in a courtroom. A prosecutor faces the accused - the players take on their various personalities as well as the role of the public prosecutor.  

After The Initiative, Corey Konieczka has the next new board game from the still young studio Unexpected Games in the pipeline. “Voices in my Head” is about a mixture of topics from the field of law and psychology.

Voices In My Head: One Against "All"

The start could have gone better for Corey Konieczka's board game. After the announcement, there was criticism on Twitter. This did not refer to the game or the game idea itself, but to the design of the cover. There, sitting on the jury bench in the middle of the courtroom, is an Asian woman wearing a Chinese cheongsam - a traditional woman's dress. Inappropriate, but above all stereotypical, so the criticism.

It's about a court hearing in a playful way: In the board game for three to six players, one of the group slips into the role of the public prosecutor, the others embody the different personalities of the main character, each equipped with their own secret game goals based on the various personality traits such as selfishness or honesty. In order to win, players must achieve their individual goals.

This competitive board game should also focus on narrative elements, which the studio has defined as one of its trademarks.

"This game blends some of my greatest passions into an experience I've never seen before," says game designer Corey Konieczka. The aim was to give the game a narrative experience that the players “will remember for years”. In any case, the humor shouldn't be so brief.

In each round of the game, the prosecution first plays a court card, for example to present evidence or to question witnesses. Then it is the turn of the other players to play the role of the accused - at the end of the day there is the question: will you get free or end up in prison?

“Voices in my Head” is the second game from Unexpected Games after the successful debut The Initiative. The premiere title got off to a good start: the board game made it onto the bestseller list on Amazon within two weeks of its release. The sold out first edition was expected for the second round of printing around languages, including French and Japanese.

Before founding his own studio, Corey Konieczka worked for Fantasy Flight Games. He is behind the board game Star Wars: Rebellion, Eldritch Horror or Descent. “Voices in My Head” should appear in the first quarter of 2022. The price is around 35 euros.

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video


Author

Last updated on 18.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Wie unter anderem Asmodee US mitteilt, arbeitet das Studio Unexpected Games um Spieleautor Corey Konieczka an einem neuen Titel: “Voices In My Head” wird ein Brettspiel, das in einem Gerichtssaal spielt. Ein Ankläger steht dabei dem Angeklagten gegenüber – dessen verschiedene Persönlichkeiten übernehmen die Spieler ebenso wie die Rolle der Staatsanwaltschaft.  

Corey Konieczka hat nach The Initiative das nächste neue Brettspiel des noch jungen Studios Unexpected Games in der Pipeline. Bei “Voices in my Head” geht es um eine Themenmischung aus den Bereich Recht und Psychologie.

Voices In My Head: Einer gegen “alle”

Der Start hätte für Corey Konieczkas Brettspiel besser verlaufen können. Auf Twitter hagelte es nach der Ankündigung Kritik. Die bezog sich dabei nicht auf das Spiel oder die Spielidee selbst, sondern auf die Gestaltung des Covers. Dort sitzt auf der Jury-Bank, mitten im Gerichtsaal, eine Asiatin, die in ein chinesisches Cheongsam – ein traditionelles Frauenkleid – trägt. Unpassend, vor allem aber stereotyp, so die Kritik.

Spielerisch geht es um eine Gerichtsverhandlung: Bei dem Brettspiel für drei bis sechs Spieler schlüpft einer aus der Runde in die Rolle der Staatsanwaltschaft, die anderen verkörpern die verschiedenen Persönlichkeiten der Hauptfigur, ausgestattet jeweils mit eigenen geheimen Spielziele entlang der verschiedenen Persönlichkeitseigenschaften wie Egoismus oder Ehrlichkeit. Um zu gewinnen müssen die Spieler ihre individuellen Ziele erreichen.

Auch dieses kompetitive Brettspiel soll narrative Elemente in den Mittelpunkt stellen, das hat das Studio als eines seiner Markenzeichen festgelegt.

“Dieses Spiel vermischt einige meiner größten Leidenschaften zu einer Erfahrung, die ich noch nie zuvor gesehen habe”, meint Spieleautor Corey Konieczka. Ziel sei es gewesen, dem Spiel ein Erzählerlebnis zu geben, an das sich die Spieler “noch jahrelang erinnern werden”. Der Humor solle jedenfalls nicht so kurz kommen.

In jeder Spielrunde spiel die Anklage zunächst eine Gerichtskarte, etwa um Beweise vorzulegen oder Zeugen zu befragen. Anschließend sind die übrigen Spieler in der Rolle des Angeklagten an der Reihe – am Ende steht die Frage: Kommt man frei oder landet im Gefängnis?

“Voices in my Head” ist nach dem erfolgreichen Debüt The Initiative das zweite Spiel von Unexpected Games. Mit dem Premierentitel startete man gut: das Brettspiel schaffte innerhalb von zwei Woche nach Veröffentlichung unter anderem den Sprung auf die Bestseller-Liste bei Amazon. Die ausverkaufte Erstauflage hatte man für die zweite Druckrunde um Sprachen erwartet, darunter Französisch und Japanisch.

Vor der Gründung seines eigenen Studios war Corey Konieczka für Fantasy Flight Games tätig. Er steht hinter Brettspiel die Star Wars: Rebellion, Eldritch Horror oder Descent. “Voices in My Head” soll im ersten Quartal 2022 erscheinen. Der Preis liegt bei umgerechnet zirka 35 Euro.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden


Autor

Letzte Aktualisierung am 4.12.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API