Quentin Tarantino swaps the camera for the quill. This is what the Hollywood news magazine “Deadline” reported on Tuesday, November 17th. The Hollywood director has signed a contract with the book publisher Harper Collins. Tarantino fans can look forward to two books from his pen as early as next year, a film novel and a non-fiction book. The subgenre of film literature has always been a passion of the screen star.


The film novel is said to be based on his multiple Oscar-nominated film “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”. The story of the book highlights the characters of the film protagonists Leonardo DiCaprio, as Rick Dalton, and Brad Pitt, as Cliff Booth, in a special, very different way. In terms of time, the work should be classified before and after the story of the film that appeared on the screen in 2019. The novel about the film is due to appear in stores in summer 2021 in the form of a paperback, an e-book and a digital audio version. The hardcover edition follows a little later, in the autumn of the same year.

Quentin Tarantino tries his hand at writing the film world

According to Tarantino, film novels have been one of his passions since he was a child. It fills him with pride that, as an author, he can contribute a part to this often underestimated, but nevertheless popular, subgenre. The director told the Hollywood news magazine Deadline in an interview and then added that he was curious to see how his “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood” characters and their world will turn out in a literary work that at the same time he hoped that the novel could survive alongside its cinematic counterpart.

Tarantino's film Once Upon A Time In Hollywood is the basis of the first book. Image: Sony Pictures

Tarantino's film Once Upon A Time In Hollywood is the basis of the first book. Image: Sony Pictures

The titles of the books are Once Upon a Time in Hollywood and Cinema Speculation

The second book by Quentin Tarantino is entitled “Cinema Speculation” and is a non-fiction book on the world of film. With this work, he takes a haunting look at the films of the 1970s. With Cinema Speculation, its readers should receive an exciting mixture of essays, reviews, personal experiences and mind games.

Some time ago, the popular director is said to have said that his tenth film will be his last screen creation. What at first sounds like a horror report, because the hit movie Once Upon a Time in Hollywood was already his ninth film, could be softened by the prospect of his calling as a writer. That should please his fans.

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood is a mix of drama and crime. It hit the silver screen in 2019. Tarantino directed and wrote the screenplay for the late 1960s Los Angeles film about star Rick Dalton. The actor is afraid for his career. The golden days of the film industry are over. Together with his stunt double Cliff Booth, he tries to regain his fame.

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood is a mixture of drama and crime

But then the famous director Roman Polanski moves into the neighborhood and Charles Manson plays his deadly game with his community, very close by. In addition to Quentin Tarantino as screenwriter and director, excellent actors such as Leonardo DiCaprio and Brad Pitt as well as Margot Robbie played the leading roles. Once Upon a Time in Hollywood received five Golden Globes, ten British Academy Film Award and ten Oscar nominations.


Preview Product Rating Price
Tarantino XX - 20 Years of Filmmaking [9 DVDs] Tarantino XX - 20 Years of Filmmaking [9 DVDs] * 62,67 EUR

Author

Last updated on 3.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Quentin Tarantino tauscht die Kamera gegen die Schreibfeder. So berichtet es das Hollywood-News-Magazin „Deadline“ am heutigen Dienstag, den 17. November. Der Hollywood-Regisseur habe einen Vertrag bei dem Buchverlag Harper Collins unterzeichnet. Fans von Tarantino dürften sich schon im nächsten Jahr auf zwei Bücher aus seiner Feder freuen, einen Filmroman und ein Sachbuch. Das Subgenre der Filmliteratur sei schon immer eine Leidenschaft des Leinwand-Stars gewesen.


Der Filmroman soll an seinem mehrfach oscarnominierten Film „Once Upon a Time in Hollywood“ angelehnt sein. Die Geschichte des Buches hebe die Charaktere der Film-Protagonisten Leonardo DiCaprio, als Rick Dalton, und Brad Pitt, als Cliff Booth, auf eine besondere, ganz andere Weise hervor. Zeitlich sei das Werk dabei vor und nach der Story des 2019 auf der Leinwand erschienenen Films einzuordnen. Der Roman zum Film soll im Sommer 2021 in Form eines Taschenbuch, als E-Book und als digitale Audio-Version im Handel erscheinen. Die Hardcover-Ausgabe folge etwas später, im Herbst des selben Jahres.

Quentin Tarantino versucht sich als Autor der Filmwelt

Laut Tarantino seien Filmromane schon seit seiner Kindheit eine seiner Leidenschaften. Es erfülle ihn mit Stolz, dass er als Autor einen Teil zu diesem, häufig unterschätzten, aber dennoch beliebten, Subgenre beitragen kann. So teilt es der Regisseur dem Hollywood-News-Magazin Deadline in einem Interview mit und fügt anschließend noch hinzu, dass er gespannt sei, wie sich seine „Once Upon a Time in Hollywood“-Figuren und deren Welt in einem literarischen Werk machen werden und dass er gleichzeitig hoffe, dass der Roman, neben seinem filmischen Gegenstück, bestehen könne.

Tarantinos Film Once Upon A Time In Hollywood ist Grundlage des ersten Buchs. Bild: Sony Pictures

Tarantinos Film Once Upon A Time In Hollywood ist Grundlage des ersten Buchs. Bild: Sony Pictures

Titel der Bücher sind Once Upon a Time in Hollywood und Cinema Speculation

Das zweite Buch aus der Feder Quentin Tarantinos trage den Titel „Cinema Speculation“ und sei ein Sachbuch zur Filmwelt. Er werfe mit diesem Werk einen eindringlichen Blick auf die Filme der 1970er Jahre. Seine Leser sollen mit Cinema Speculation eine spannende Mischung aus Essays, Rezensionen, persönlichen Erfahrungen und Gedankenspielen erhalten.

Vor einiger Zeit soll der beliebte Regisseur geäußert haben, dass sein zehnter Film, seine letzte Leinwand-Kreation werde. Was zunächst nach einer Horrormeldung klingt, denn der Kinohit Once Upon a Time in Hollywood war bereits sein neunter Film, könnte durch die Aussicht auf seine Berufung als Schriftsteller etwas abgemildert werden. Das dürfte seine Fans freuen.

Der Film Once Upon a Time in Hollywood ist ein Mischung aus Drama und Krimi. Er kam im Jahr 2019 auf die Leinwand. Tarantino führte Regie und schrieb das Drehbuch für den Film, der im Los Angeles der späten 1960er-Jahre spielt und von dem Star Rick Dalton handelt. Der Schauspieler hat Angst um seine Karriere. Die goldenen Zeiten der Filmbranche sind vorbei. Gemeinsam mit seinem Stunt-Double Cliff Booth versucht er seinen Ruhm zurückzuerlangen.

Film Once Upon a Time in Hollywood ist Mischung aus Drama und Krimi

Doch dann zieht der berühmte Regisseur Roman Polanski in die Nachbarschaft und auch Charles Manson treibt mit seiner Gemeinde, ganz in der Nähe, sein tödliches Spiel. Neben Quentin Tarantino als Drehbuchautor und Regisseur, spielten exzellente Schauspieler wie Leonardo DiCaprio und Brad Pitt sowie Margot Robbie die Hauptrollen. Once Upon a Time in Hollywood erhielt fünf Golden Globes, zehn British Academy Film Award- und zehn Oscar-Nominierungen.


Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
Tarantino XX - 20 Years of Filmmaking [9 DVDs] Tarantino XX - 20 Years of Filmmaking [9 DVDs] * 69,99 EUR

Letzte Aktualisierung am 18.04.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API