The Elder Scrolls series is one of the best in the gaming sector that developers have brought to the market in the field of role-playing games. In the meantime, all those who cannot do anything with a gamepad or keyboard and mouse are allowed to put their hands on the franchise. The British publisher has released a miniature game under the title The Elder Scrolls: Call to Arms. In addition to a basic box, there are several faction packages with figures. In the following review of The Elder Scrolls: Call to Arms we reveal whether and for whom the game is worthwhile.


Throughout the world of Elder Scrolls, bards sing in taverns of monsters, adventures, times gone by, and brave heroes who face the threats. From now on, fans can experience all the big and small stories on the gaming table at home - in the long term or just to bridge the gap until one new series part for The Elder Scrolls appears. Bethesda had already announced a sequel, but a short trailer was all the developers have shown so far. That would mean the sixth part of the series, which started in 1994 and in an arena.

The Elder Scrolls: Achieving greatness early on 

Elder Scrolls showed its true greatness two years later with its successor Daggerfall, which offered an amazingly large game world for the time. The Elder Scrolls is a superlative franchise anyway: the games have gotten bigger, bigger, better and more adventurous over the years. The Elder Scrolls 5: Skyrim is steadily supported with mods that lift the role play to an optical and content level that is second to none. Since 2014 fans have even been able to experience The Elder Scrolls in a purely online world - in an entertaining way all by themselves, for a game that is essentially an MMORPG, this is a novelty.

The basic box contains what players need to get started - with the exception of the miniatures. Photo: André Volkmann

With Elder Scrolls: Legends, the brand made it into the border area between video game and card game for the first time, but the competition, especially Hearthstone, seemed to be overwhelming. Now it was Modiphius' turn to implement The Elder Scrolls as a "real analog game". The British have already proven that this can work with Fallout. The Elder Scrolls: Call to Arms builds on the post-apocalyptic game, but pursues a completely different basic theme with classic fantasy.

Fans can fall back on two different game modes: Either they earn their time with quick skirmishes or in Delve mode, in which one player competes alone, optionally cooperatively with friends. The cardboard AI always follows the commands of the cube, which, together with an order card, shows what actions the opponent must take. It works excellently, but it does not lack a certain unpredictability - although one can definitely see the advantage of the system in this. While the skirmish mode is more in the "nice to have" category, the quest mode is. A total of twelve scenarios are open to players in Elder Scrolls: Call to Arms - six each in Battle mode and six in Delve mode.

"Requires some assembly": In view of the small parts, that sounds like a threat. Photo: André Volkmann

“Requires some assembly”: In view of the small parts, that sounds like a threat. Photo: André Volkmann

The rulebook more than lives up to its name. The work comprises 100 pages and contains all the basic and detailed rules in small parts. There are also further adjustments made by the quest book. Helpful: The basic box includes a tutorial with the booklet “Escape from Helgren”, which conveys the most basic of all rules. The accessories are aimed primarily at all those who are completely new to the tabletop segment. Those who have first looked through the extensive set of rules can immerse themselves in the stories and take care of the craft of tactical warfare. In the end, this miniatures game is all about strategically clever actions. If you have already played Fallout: Wasteland Warefare, you will find your way around better, because The Elder Scrolls: Call to Arms uses mechanisms from the concept of James Sheahan.

The Elder Scrolls: Call to Arms has gone on sale with the core box and three miniature packs. The basic set contains the mandatory rules, the campaign book as well as cards and tokens. However, the miniature monsters, which serve as opponents and currently do not represent a playable faction, are also necessary for playing. Going into battle as a skeletal archer or draugr is therefore currently not possible. So the figures serve as an extended arm of the cardboard AI. It also includes a Dragonborn.  

Archmage Savos Aren says: Because you have to read 100 pages first, you are happy about his quotes, among other things. Overall, the rulebook is clearly laid out and appealing. Photo: André Volkmann

The basic combat system is understandable but quite demanding. Each character has five values: agility, strength, endurance, wisdom and intelligence. In the classic way, the different game actions are rolled for the different values. A d20 die determines the success or failure of an action. When attacking, six-sided dice are also used to determine the damage.

How Much Elder Scrolls is in Call to Arms?

In addition to an exciting, playful basic feeling, fans in particular should find out how much the new tabletop can capture the spirit of the Elder Scrolls series. Even die-hard fans of Oblivion, Skyrim and Co can breathe a sigh of relief: The Elder Scrolls: Call to Arms has a lot of “The Elder Scrolls”. Modiphius did an excellent job in implementing this. It starts with the rulebook, in which quotations or sketches can be found again and again. 

If you are very lucky, you will find treats in the treasure chests. Photo: André Volkmann

If you are very lucky, you will find treats in the treasure chests. Photo: André Volkmann

This continues in a playful way, especially through the dominant role-play part of the miniature adventure. Starting with the character cards as a basis, players equip their warriors. So they put on weapons and armor and supply their heroes with spells and other helpful items that are available via the quick slots: this adheres closely to the video game template and ensures a harmonious elder scrolls feeling in the “analog table version” . There are always smaller story moments that capture the atmosphere of the template, for example when quest cards are used, because they contain a lot that is already familiar from the video game.

As in video games, the players' urge to explore is encouraged. You can find treasure chests scattered everywhere, which simply reveal their contents or have to be broken open - a lock-picking sends greetings. 

What is not quite conducive to the mood is the complexity of the game itself. Yes, if you are familiar with the rules at some point, you will benefit from the countless possibilities for action and the playful freedom that you have already come to know and appreciate in video games.

The atmosphere fits: the Elder Scrolls feeling arises mainly because the characters are equipped with familiar Elder Scrolls equipment. Photo: André Volkmann

The atmosphere fits: the Elder Scrolls feeling arises mainly because the characters are equipped with familiar Elder Scrolls equipment. Photo: André Volkmann

For beginners, however, it is an enormous hurdle to find their way around The Elder Scrolls: Call to Arms. Again and again it is important to switch between the individual text works, rules have to be looked up again and again, that challenges players - and requires patience. It takes time to internalize the gameplay, to be able to rewind the sequence of moves and to be familiar with the most important basic terms. This is the time when the tabletop for The Elder Scrolls can develop its true potential: You sprint towards your opponent, attack, withdraw and use your tactical actions cleverly to eliminate opponents.

What could be a deterrent is the building of miniatures - appreciated by die-hard fans. The figure packs contain all sorts of small parts with the subtle reference “Requires some assemly”, so you have to assemble and not too tightly. Countless body parts need to be joined together, and this is a hurdle that should not be underestimated, especially with the thin bony arms of the skeletons. Just unpack and go isn't how The Elder Scrolls: Call to Arms works. It is a genre-typical tabletop with all the advantages and disadvantages that such games bring with them. In any case, the effort will be rewarded. Anyone who takes the time to assemble and paint the detailed figures with a coat of paint can delve deep into the world of the video game series “The Elder Scrolls”.

Three miniature packs are currently available - but it won't stop there. Photo: André Volkmann

Three miniature packs are currently available - but it won't stop there. Photo: André Volkmann

What is currently available through Modiphius is by no means everything the British publisher wants to publish about the new brand. Currently available are only the undead including the dragon-born as well as the two faction packages for the storm coats and the Imperial Legion. This is currently only scratching the surface of what the franchise has in store. A look at the rulebook of the basic set reveals that more can be expected in the future. It speaks of the different races of Tamriel - because this currently has no effect on the current gaming experience, it can be assumed that new races - such as the Orsimer or Khajit - will find their way into the tabletop. This can be recognized, among other things, by the fact that the races are not only mentioned and briefly presented, but that skill rules have already been established. 

The Elder Scrolls: Call to Arms is therefore to be seen as the prelude to a long-term cooperation between Bethesda and Modiphius. It is unlikely that the time for “The Elder Scrolls” is running out. It is already clear that, for example, the online offshoot will also appear for the next-gen consoles - this not only extends the life cycle of the game and shortens the waiting time for Elders Scrolls 6, but also keeps the franchise alive as a whole. This should also be good news for tabletop gamers who are just starting out on their adventure.

Infobox

Player: Solo and cooperative
Age: from 14 years
Playing time: around 60 to 120 minutes
Difficulty: high
Long-term motivation: medium

Publisher: Modiphius Entertainment 
Author: Mark Latham
Year of publication: 2020
Language: English
Costs: Corebox 31 euros, miniature packs around 22 euros each

Summary

The Elder Scrolls: Call to Arms is the same as with other tabletops. You have to get into the matter first to discover the potential that lies dormant in such games. Tabletop fans in general, and especially Elder Scrolls fans, are offered one of the rare opportunities with Modiphius' work to experience the brand offline or away from the screen. What you have to bring up for this are patience and a will to initially have to put together your party from characters, for example, with a lot of effort. 

In the end, The Elder Scrolls: Call to Arms is more of a miniature game for experienced tabletop strategists, even if it might be worthwhile for beginners to invest the time in the title. Once the basic requirements have been met, the fun starts early: the planning begins with putting together a powerful troop, goes through the movement to tracking down treasures - all embedded in the special world of The Elder Scrolls. The fact is: As a pure euro gamer or with an aversion to tabletop games, it will be difficult to warm up to “Call to Arms”. Getting started is made easier when an experienced player sits at the table. The Elder Scrolls: Call to Arms is only available in English, which is generally not an obstacle, for some players it may be an obstacle due to the heavy text. 

Even the greatest heroes start small: beginners will find a tutorial helpful. Photo: André Volkmann

Even the greatest heroes start small: beginners will find a tutorial helpful. Photo: André Volkmann

Otherwise there is a lot of role play including cool elder scrolls details, such as the hodgepodge of well-known magic spells that can be assigned to the “hands of the character”. The ESO-oriented vocabulary of the tabletop unfolds an additional pull effect and contributes to the atmosphere. The Elder Scrolls: Call to Arms is definitely not a game that you take off the shelf and put on the table in between. The preparation time is enormous, the demands on the players are high - but the tabletop offers the opportunity to delve deeply into the world of The Elder Scrolls. Even more: you can create your own personal Elder Scrolls world if you have the right ambitions. Those who are not afraid of the complexity of warming tabletops will get a currently unrivaled “analog Elder Scrolls game” with Modiphius' development. This tabletop is an adventure, but one that you get involved in, that you have to work for.


Board Games Offers Video Games Gaming

Author

Rezension zum Miniaturen-Rollenspiel The Elder Scrolls: Call to Arms

Lesezeit: 8 Minuten

Die Elder-Scrolls-Reihe zählt im Gaming-Sektor mit zum Besten, was Entwickler im Bereich der Rollenspiele auf den Markt gebracht haben. Inzwischen dürfen auch all jene Hand an das Franchise legen, die weder mit einem Gamepad noch mit Tastatur und Maus etwas anfangen können. Der britische Verleger hat ein Miniaturenspiel unter dem Titel The Elder Scrolls: Call to Arms veröffentlicht. Neben einer Basisbox gibt es mehrere Fraktionspakete mit Figuren. Ob und für wen sich das Spiel lohnt, verraten wir im nachfolgenden Review zu The Elder Scrolls: Call to Arms.


Überall in der Welt von Elder Scrolls singen Barden in den Tavernen von Monstern, Abenteuern, der vergangenen Zeit und mutigen Helden, die sich den Bedrohungen stellen. All die großen und kleinen Geschichten können Fans ab sofort auch auf dem heimischen Spieltisch erleben – auf lange Sicht oder auch nur als Überbrückung bis ein neuer Serienteil zu The Elder Scrolls erscheint. Angekündigt hatte Bethesda eine Fortsetzung bereits, ein kurzer Trailer war allerdings alles, was die Entwickler bislang gezeigt haben. Das wäre dann der mittlerweile sechste Teil der Reihe, deren Anfänge im Jahr 1994 und in einer Arena liegen.

The Elder Scrolls: Schon früh zu wahrer Größe 

Seine wahre Größe zeigte Elder Scrolls dann zwei Jahre später mit dem Nachfolger Daggerfall, der für die damalige Zeit eine verblüffend große Spielwelt bot. The Elder Scrolls ist ohnehin ein Franchise der Superlative: immer größer, immer besser, immer abenteuerreicher wurden die Spiele im Laufe der Jahre. The Elder Scrolls 5: Skyrim wird stetig mit Mods unterstützt, die das Rollenspiel auf eine optische und inhaltliche Ebene hieven, die ihresgleichen sucht. Seit 2014 dürfen Fans The Elder Scrolls sogar in einer reinen Online-Welt erleben – auf unterhaltsame Weise auch ganz alleine, für ein Spiel, das im Kern ein MMORPG ist, ist das ein Novum.

In der Grundbox steckt, was Spieler für den Start benötigen - mit Ausnahme der Miniaturen. Foto: André Volkmann

Mit Elder Scrolls: Legends schaffte es die Marke erstmals in den Grenzbereich zwischen Videospiel und Kartenspiel, die Konkurrenz, allen voran Hearthstone, schien jedoch übermächtig zu sein. Nun war es an Modiphius, The Elder Scrolls als „echtes analoges Spiel“ umzusetzen. Dass das gelingen kann, haben die Briten bereits bei Fallout bewiesen. The Elder Scrolls: Call to Arms baut durchaus auf dem postapokalyptischen Spiel auf, verfolgt mit der klassischen Fantasy jedoch ein völlig anderes Grundthema.

Fans können auf zwei unterschiedliche Spielmodi zurückgreifen: Entweder sie verdingen sich die Zeit mit schnellen Scharmützeln oder im Delve-Modus, bei dem ein Spieler allein, wahlweise kooperativ mit Freunden, antreten. Die Papp-KI folgt dabei stets den Befehlen des Würfels, der zusammen mit einer Befehlskarte anzeigt, welche Handlungen die Gegner ausführen müssen. Das funktioniert hervorragend, entbehrt aber nicht einer gewissen Unberechenbarkeit – wobei man darin durchaus auch den Vorteil des Systems sehen kann. Während der Skirmish-Modus eher in die Kategorie „Nice to have“ zu zählen ist, ist der Quest-Modus. Insgesamt stehen Spielern zwölf Szenarien bei Elder Scrolls: Call to Arms offen – jeweils sechs im Battle-Modus sowie sechs in Delve-Modus.

"Requires some assembly": Angesichts der Kleinteile klingt das wie eine Drohung. Foto: André Volkmann

“Requires some assembly”: Angesichts der Kleinteile klingt das wie eine Drohung. Foto: André Volkmann

Das Regelbuch wird seinem Namen mehr als gerecht. 100 Seiten umfasst das Werk, das kleinteilig alle Grund- und Detailregeln enthält. Hinzu kommen weitere Anpassungen durch das Quest-Buch. Hilfreich: Der Basisbox liegt mit dem Heftchen “Flucht von Helgren” ein Tutorial bei., das die grundlegendsten aller Regeln vermittelt. Das Beiwerk richtet sich vornehmlich an all jene, die im Tabletop-Segment völlig neu sind. Wer das umfangreiche Regelwerk erst durchblickt hat, kann in die Geschichten eintauchen und sich auf das Handwerk der taktischen Kriegsführung kümmern. Am Ende dreht sich bei diesem Miniaturenspiel alles um strategisch kluge Handlungen. Wer bereits Fallout: Wasteland Warefare gespielt hat, findet sich übrigens besser zurecht, denn The Elder Scrolls: Call to Arms nutzt Mechanismen aus dem Konzept von James Sheahan.

In den Handel ist The Elder Scrolls: Call to Arms mit der Core-Box und drei Miniaturen-Packs gestartet. Das Basisset enthält dabei die obligatorischen Regelwerke, das Kampagnenbuch sowie Karten und Tokens. Zum Spielen notwendig sind zudem allerdings auch die Miniaturenmonster, die als Gegner dienen und derzeit keine spielbare Fraktion darstellen. Als Skelettbogenschütze oder Draugr in den Kampf zu ziehen ist daher momentan noch nicht möglich. Die Figuren dienen also als verlängerter Arm der Papp-KI. Darin enthalten ist zudem ein Drachengeborener.  

Das willst du bestimmt nicht verpassen:
Munchkin: Disney sorgt ab Herbst für satirische Mouse-House-Abenteuer

Erzmagier Savos Aren meint: Weil man erstmal 100 Seiten lesen muss, freut man sich unter anderem über sein Zitate. Insgesamt ist das Regelbuch übersichtlich und ansprechend aufgemacht. Foto: André Volkmann

Das grundlegende Kampfsystem ist nachvollziehbar aber durchaus anspruchsvoll. Jeder Charakter hat fünf Werte: Beweglichkeit, Stärke, Ausdauer, Weisheit und Intelligenz. Ganz klassisch wird bei den verschiedenen Spielhandlungen auf die unterschiedlichen Werte gewürfelt. Ein W20-Würfel entscheidet dabei über den Erfolg oder Misserfolg einer Aktion. Bei Angriffen kommen zudem sechsseitige Würfel zum Einsatz, um den Schaden zu ermitteln.

Wie viel Elder Scrolls steckt in Call to Arms?

Neben einem spannenden spielerischen Grundgefühl dürfte vor allem Fans wichtig sein, wie sehr das neue Tabletop den Spirit der Elder-Scrolls-Reihe einfangen kann. Selbst eingefleischte Liebhaber von Oblivion, Skyrim und Co können aufatmen: In The Elder Scrolls: Call to Arms steckt spürbar eine ganze Menge “The Elder Scrolls”. Modiphius hat diesbezüglich bei der Umsetzung hervorragende Arbeit geleistet. Das fängt bei den Regelbüchlein an, in denen immer wieder Zitate oder Skizzen zu finden sind. 

Wer ganz viel Glück hat, findet Leckerchen in den Schatzkisten. Foto: André Volkmann

Wer ganz viel Glück hat, findet Leckerchen in den Schatzkisten. Foto: André Volkmann

Auch spielerisch setzt sich das fort, insbesondere durch den dominierenden Rollenspielteil des Miniaturen-Abenteuer. Ausgehend von den Charakterkarten als Basis, rüsten Spieler ihre Recken aus. So legen sie Waffen und Rüstungen an und versorgen ihre Helden mit Zaubersprüchen und anderen hilfreichen Gegenständen, die über die Quick-Slots verfügbar sind: das hält sich eng an die Videospielvorlage und sorgt in der “analogen Tischvariante” für ein stimmiges Elder-Scrolls-Feeling. Immer wieder gibt es kleinere Story-Momente, die die Atmosphäre der Vorlage einfangen, etwa, wenn Quest-Karten zum Einsatz kommen, denn darauf findet sich vieles, das man aus dem Videospiel bereits kennt.

Der Entdeckerdrang der Spieler wird ebenso wie im Videospiel gefördert. Überall verteilt kann man Schatztruhen finden, die ihren Inhalt einfach offenbaren oder erst aufgebrochen werden müssen – Schlösserknacken lässt grüßen. 

Was der Stimmung nicht ganz zuträglich ist, ist die Komplexität des Spiels an sich. Ja, wer mit den Regeln irgendwann vertraut ist, profitiert von den unzähligen Handlungsmöglichkeiten und der spielerischen Freiheit, die man bereits im Videospiel kennen und schätzen gelernt hat.

Die Atmosphäre passt: Elder-Scrolls-Feeling kommt vor allem deshalb auf, weil man Charaktere mit bekanntem Elder-Scrolls-Equipment ausstattet. Foto: André Volkmann

Die Atmosphäre passt: Elder-Scrolls-Feeling kommt vor allem deshalb auf, weil man Charaktere mit bekanntem Elder-Scrolls-Equipment ausstattet. Foto: André Volkmann

Für Einsteiger ist es allerdings eine enorme Hürde, sich in The Elder Scrolls: Call to Arms zurecht zu finden. Immer wieder gilt es, zwischen den einzelnen Textwerken zu wechseln, immer wieder müssen Regeln nachgeschlagen werden, das fordert Spieler – und erfordert Geduld. Es dauert, bis man da Gameplay verinnerlicht hat, die Zugreihenfolge abspulen kann und mit den wichtigsten Grundbegriffen firm ist. Das ist der Zeitpunkt, an dem das Tabletop zu The Elder Scrolls sein wahres Potenzial entfalten kann: Man sprintet auf den Gegner zu, attackiert, zieht sich zurück und nutzt seine taktischen Aktionen clever, um Gegner auszuschalten.

Was abschrecken könnte ist zunächst der – von eingefleischten Fans geschätzte – Miniaturen-Bau. Die Figurenpacks enthalten allerlei Kleinteile mit dem dezenten Hinweis “Requires some assemly”, man muss also zusammenbauen und das nicht zu knapp. Unzählige Körperteile wollen aneinander gefügt werden, insbesondere bei den dünnen Knochenärmchen der Skelette ist das eine nicht zu unterschätzende Hürde. Einfach auspacken und loslegen ist nicht, wie The Elder Scrolls: Call to Arms funktioniert. Es ist ein genretypisches Tabletop mit all den Vorzügen und Nachteilen, die derartige Spiele mit sich bringen. Der Einsatz wird jedenfalls belohnt. Wer sich die Zeit für den Zusammenbau nimmt, den detaillierten Figuren womöglich noch einen farblichen Anstrich verpasst, kann ganz tief eintauchen in die Welt der Videospielreihe “The Elder Scrolls”.

Drei Miniaturen-Pakete sind derzeit erhältlich - dabei wird es aber nicht bleiben. Foto: André Volkmann

Drei Miniaturen-Pakete sind derzeit erhältlich – dabei wird es aber nicht bleiben. Foto: André Volkmann

Was derzeit über Modiphius erhältlich ist, ist längst nicht alles, was der britische Verleger zu der neuen Marke veröffentlichen will. Derzeit verfügbar sind lediglich die Untoten samt Drachengeborenem sowie die beiden Fraktionspakete zu den Sturmmänteln und der Imperial Legion. Damit kratzt man derzeit nur an der Oberfläche dessen, was das Franchise bereithält. Dass zukünftig mehr zu erwarten ist, verrät bereits ein Blick in das Regelbuch des Basis-Sets. Von den unterschiedlichen Rassen von Tamriel ist darin die Rede – weil das derzeit keinerlei Auswirkungen auf das aktuelle Spielerlebnis hat, ist davon auszugehen, dass neue Rassen – etwa die Orsimer oder Khajit – den Weg ins Tabletop finden. Erkennbar ist das unter anderem daran, dass die Rassen nicht nur erwähnt und kurz vorgestellt werden, sondern bereits Fähigkeitenregeln festgelegt worden sind. 

Das willst du bestimmt nicht verpassen:
Koop-Brettspiel Spirit Island als digitale Variante erhältlich

The Elder Scrolls: Call to Arms ist daher als Auftakt zu einer langfristigen Kooperation zwischen Bethesda und Modiphius zu sehen. Dass die Zeit für “The Elder Scrolls” abläuft, ist eher unwahrscheinlich. Schon jetzt ist klar, dass beispielsweise der Online-Ableger auch für die Next-Gen-Konsolen erscheinen wird – das verlängert nicht nur den Lebenszyklus des Spiels und verkürzt die Wartezeit auf Elders Scrolls 6, sondern hält das Franchise insgesamt lebendig. Auch für Tabletop-Spieler, die gerade erst in ihr Abenteuer starten, dürfte das eine gute Nachricht sein.

Infobox

Spieler: Solo und kooperativ
Alter: ab 14 Jahren
Spieldauer: rund 60 bis 120 Minuten
Schwierigkeit: hoch
Langzeitmotivation: mittel

Verlag: Modiphius Entertainment 
Autor: Mark Latham
Erscheinungsjahr: 2020
Sprache: englisch
Kosten: Corebox 31 Euro, Miniaturen-Packs jeweils rund 22 Euro

Fazit

Auch mit The Elder Scrolls: Call to Arms ist es, wie mit anderen Tabletops. Man muss sich erst in die Materie hineinfinden, um das Potenzial zu entdecken, das in derartigen Spielen schlummert. Tabletop-Fans im Allgemeinen, erst recht allerdings Elder-Scrolls-Fans wird mit Modiphius’ Werk eine der seltenen Gelegenheiten geboten, die Marke auch mal offline oder abseits des Bildschirms erleben zu können. Was man dafür aufbringen muss sind Geduld und ein Wille, sich seine Party aus Figuren zunächst etwa mühsam zusammensetzen zu müssen. 

Am Ende ist The Elder Scrolls: Call to Arms eher ein Miniaturenspiel für erfahrene Tabletop-Strategen, auch wenn es sich für Einsteiger durchaus lohnen könnte, die Zeit in den Titel zu investieren. Sind die Grundvoraussetzungen geschaffen, setzt der Spaß früh ein: Die Planung beginnt bei der Zusammenstellung einer schlagkräftigen Truppe, reicht über das Movement bis hin zum Aufspüren von Schätzen – alles eingebettet in die besondere Welt von The Elder Scrolls. Fakt ist: Als reiner Euro-Gamer oder mit einer Abneigung gegen Tabletop-Spiele wird es schwierig, mit “Call to Arms” warm zu werden. Erleichtert wird der Einstieg, wenn ein erfahrener Spieler am Tisch sitzt. Verfügbar ist The Elder Scrolls: Call to Arms nur in englischer Sprache, generell ist das kein Hindernis, für einige Spieler aufgrund der Textlastigkeit möglicherweise ein Hemmnis. 

Selbst die größten Helden fangen klein an: Ein Tutorial finden vor allem Einsteiger hilfreich. Foto: André Volkmann

Selbst die größten Helden fangen klein an: Ein Tutorial finden vor allem Einsteiger hilfreich. Foto: André Volkmann

Ansonsten gibt es jede Menge Rollenspiel inklusive cooler Elder-Scrolls-Details, wie etwa dem Sammelsurium aus bekannt Zaubersprüchen, die man den “Händen des Charakters” zuordnet. Das auf ESO ausgerichtete Vokabular des Tabletop entfaltet zusätzliche Sogwirkung und trägt zur Atmosphäre bei. The Elder Scrolls: Call to Arms ist definitiv kein Spiel, das man zwischendurch aus dem Regal holt und auf den Tisch legt. Die Vorbereitungszeit ist enorm, die Anforderungen an die Spieler sind hoch – dafür bietet das Tabletop die Gelegenheit, ganz tief in die Welt von The Elder Scrolls einzutauchen. Mehr noch: Man kann seine persönliche Elder-Scrolls-Welt erschaffen, wenn man entsprechende Ambitionen hegt. Wer die Komplexität von Warming-Tabletops nicht scheut, bekommt mit Modiphius’ Ausarbeitung ein derzeit konkurrenzloses “analoges Elder-Scrolls-Spiel”. Dieses Tabletop ist ein Abenteuer, allerdings eines, auf das man sich einlassen, für das man arbeiten muss.


Brettspiele Angebote Videospiele Gaming

ESO: Call to Arms

30.99 Euro
8

Spielidee

8.0/10

Spielmaterial

8.5/10

Regelwerk

7.0/10

Spielablauf

8.5/10

Wiederspielwert

8.0/10

Pro

  • Fängt Vorlage gut ein
  • Zwei Spiel-Modi
  • Solo und kooperativ spielbar
  • Detaillierte Miniaturen
  • Fairer Preis

Con

  • Umfangreiches Regelwerk
  • Für Einsteiger herausfordernd
  • Miniaturen-Bau zwingend
  • Derzeit nur drei Figurenpacks erhältlich.

Leave A Reply

Welcher Spielertyp bist du?

Killer oder Chiller?
Entdecker? Erfolgsjäger?

Du hast dich schon immer gefragt, welche Art von Spieler du bist? Finde es doch einfach heraus mit unserem Spielertypen-Test!

Neugierig? Dann schnell mitmachen – kostet nix.

zum Test

+++ kostenlos eintragen +++

 

Echter Gamer und noch nicht dabei? Ernsthaft? Werde Teil der Community!

Spielpunkt Brettspiele NewsTritt unserer E-Mail-Community völlig kostenlos bei und wir informieren dich über aktuelle Meldungen, ausführliche Reviews, kritische Kommentare, Berichte von Messen und Conventions und natürlich Gewinnspiele, an denen du als Teil unserer Mail-Community kostenfrei teilnehmen kannst.

Abmeldung jederzeit möglich. Die Einwilligung umfasst Hinweise zu Widerruf, Versanddienstleister und Statistik entsprechend unserer Datenschutzerklärung. Übrigens: Auch wir hassen Spam und senden dir nur 1 bis 2 E-Mails pro Monat.