Rockstar Games are now primarily known for their two mega franchises Red Dead Redemption and GTA. A little more than a decade ago, however, the franchise was more broadly based. Midnight Club, Manhunt, Max Payne and LA Noire as well as Bully - Die Ehrenlunde (or Canis Canem Edit in the PS2 original) were popular and sometimes controversial brands that were successful with fans and the press, but never in terms of sales and quality the dimensions of the above brands advanced.


A small comparison in numbers: Max Payne 3 has sold around three million copies; the LA Noire adventure, developed by Team Bondi, went over the counter for all platforms just over five million times. The Red Dead Redemption successor, last published in 2018, sold 32 million times, GTA 5 even more than 135 million times. So it's hardly surprising that Rockstar puts almost all of its resources into the two open world top dogs. In fact, work has apparently been done several times on a Bully successor in the meantime. The development of Bully 2 seems to have been put on hold for the third time in 2017, so that Rockstar Games employees could focus on other or rather larger projects.

The message originally came from the US website Dualshockers and goes back to two former Rockstar Games insiders with the nicks Tez2 and Yan2295. Over the past few years, these have repeatedly leaked the internals of the development studio. So reported Tez2 about recentlythat the pre-production phase for Grand Theft Auto 6 started in 2015, but was slowed down two years later in the course of the complex development of Red Dead Redemption 2 and, last but not least, Bully 2. According to the current status, the development of Bully 2 was stopped again in 2017 to free up the capacities for GTA 6 and RDR 2. on Reddit Yan2295 confirmed what Tez2 had said.

The rumor mill about a possible Bully successor is simmering

In the past few years, rumors about a possible Bully sequel have flared up again and again. A few years ago there were authentic early prototype leaks, in 2019 possible in-game screenshots popped up, but they turned out to be Fakes from an enthusiastic fan and designer turned out to be a Brazilian named Felipe Borges.

https://twitter.com/Felipeborges388/status/1168696054700752896?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1168741697183977473%7Ctwgr%5E%7Ctwcon%5Es2_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fgamerant.com%2Fbully-2-leak-screenshots-fake%2F

Bully was originally published as Canis Canem Edit (lat. For dog eats dog) in 2006 for the PlayStation 2. Two years later it was implemented for Xbox360, PC and Nintendo Wii. 2016, ten years after the first publication, appeared with the subtly improved “Anniversary Edition” implementations for PlayStation 4 as well as mobile devices based on Android and IOS. In the role of 15-year-old teenager Jimmy Hopkins, we have to complete a school year at Bullworth Academy. Between the fronts of various archetypal school cliques, we as newcomers have to earn the necessary respect and climb up the hierarchy of the high school. The game is based on the same principles as the great GTA model. In an open world environment, we complete missions, routines and mini-games and progress through the action in a non-linear structure.

In Bully - The Round of Honor, here the Anniversary Edition, various cliques on campus intrigue against each other. The nerds also know how to help each other. Image: Rockstar Games

In Bully - The Round of Honor, here the Anniversary Edition, various cliques on campus intrigue against each other. The nerds also know how to help each other. Image: Rockstar Games

There are also rumors about the hotly anticipated GTA 6. Insiders or market analysts have different views on the current situation. While Tez2 and Yan2295 assume a level of development that covers around 60 to 70 percent of the finished game, market analyst Jason Schreier is from the Bloomberg news agency the opinionthat GTA 6 is still in a very early stage. The fact that GTA 5 and the lucrative multiplayer component GTA Online will also be implemented for PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series S | X in the coming year speaks more in favor of Schreier's forecast. However, there are currently no indications of a possible next-gen implementation of Red Dead Redemption 2.


Author

  • Editor and news writer. Second life teacher-to-be. Likes art, video games, comics, movies, board games, and music.

Last updated on 7.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Rockstar Games sind mittlerweile vordergründig für ihre beiden Mega-Franchises Red Dead Redemption und GTA bekannt. Noch vor etwas mehr als einer Dekade war man Franchise-mäßig allerdings breiter aufgestellt. Midnight Club, Manhunt, Max Payne und L.A. Noire sowie Bully – Die Ehrenrunde (bzw. im PS2-Original noch Canis Canem Edit) waren durchaus beliebte und mitunter kontroverse Marken, die zwar erfolgreich bei Fans und Presse waren, aber verkaufstechnisch und qualitativ nie in die Dimensionen der o.g. Marken vorstießen.


Ein kleiner Vergleich in Zahlen: Max Payne 3 hat etwa drei Millionen Exemplare abgesetzt; das von Team Bondi entwickelte Adventure L.A. Noire ging für alle Plattformen knapp über fünf Millionen mal über die Ladentheke. Der zuletzt 2018 veröffentlichte Red Dead Redemption-Nachfolger verkaufte sich hingegen 32 Millionen Mal, GTA 5 sogar über 135 Millionen Mal. Insofern ist es kaum überraschend, dass Rockstar nahezu alle vorhandenen Ressourcen in die beiden Open World-Platzhirsche steckt. Tatsächlich wurde aber in der Zwischenzeit offenbar mehrfach an einem Bully-Nachfolger gearbeitet. Die Entwicklung von Bully 2 scheint 2017 allerdings bereits zum dritten mal auf Eis gelegt worden zu sein, damit sich Mitarbeiter von Rockstar Games auf andere oder vielmehr größere Projekte fokussieren konnten.

Die Meldung stammt ursprünglich von der US-amerikanischen Website Dualshockers und geht auf zwei ehemalige Rockstar Games-Insider mit den Nicks Tez2 und Yan2295 zurück. Diese leakten in den vergangenen Jahren immer wieder Interna des Entwicklungsstudios. So meldete Tez2 etwa vor kurzem, dass die Pre-Production-Phase für Grand Theft Auto 6 im Jahr 2015 startete, im Zuge der aufwendigen Entwicklung von Red Dead Redemption 2 und nicht zuletzt auch Bully 2 zwei Jahre später jedoch verlangsamt wurde. Nach aktuellem Stand wurde die Entwicklung von Bully 2 2017 aber erneut eingestellt, um die Kapazitäten für GTA 6 und RDR 2 freizumachen. Auf Reddit bestätigte Yan2295 die Ausführungen von Tez2.

Die Gerüchteküche um einen möglichen Bully-Nachfolger brodelt

In den vergangenen Jahren flammten immer wieder Gerüchte um eine mögliche Bully-Fortsetzung auf. Es gab vor einigen Jahren authentische frühe Prototyp-Leaks, 2019 ploppten mögliche In-Game Screenshots auf, die sich allerdings als Fakes eines enthusiastischen Fans und Designers entpuppten, einem Brasilianer namens Felipe Borges.

https://twitter.com/Felipeborges388/status/1168696054700752896?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1168741697183977473%7Ctwgr%5E%7Ctwcon%5Es2_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fgamerant.com%2Fbully-2-leak-screenshots-fake%2F

Bully erschien ursprünglich als Canis Canem Edit (lat. für Hund frisst Hund) 2006 für die PlayStation 2. Zwei Jahre später folgten Umsetzungen für Xbox360, PC und Nintendo Wii. 2016, zehn Jahre nach der Erstveröffentlichung, erschienen mit der dezent verbesserten „Anniversary Edition“ Umsetzungen für PlayStation 4 sowie mobile Endgeräte auf Android- und IOS Basis. In der Rolle des 15-jährigen Teenagers Jimmy Hopkins müssen wir ein Schuljahr an der Bullworth Academy absolvieren. Zwischen den Fronten verschiedener archetypischer Schulcliquen müssen wir uns als Neuankömmling den nötigen Respekt verdienen und in der Hierarchie der High School nach oben klettern. Das Spiel beruht auf denselben Prinzipien wie das große Vorbild GTA. In einer Open World-Umgebung absolvieren wir Missionen, Routinen und Minigames und schreiten in einer non-linearen Struktur in der Handlung voran.

In Bully - Die Ehrenrunde, hier die Anniversary Edition, intrigieren verschiedene Cliquen auf dem Campus gegeneinander. Auch die Nerds wissen sich hierbei durchaus zu helfen. Bild: Rockstar Games

In Bully – Die Ehrenrunde, hier die Anniversary Edition, intrigieren verschiedene Cliquen auf dem Campus gegeneinander. Auch die Nerds wissen sich hierbei durchaus zu helfen. Bild: Rockstar Games

Auch zum heißerwarteten GTA 6 gibt es immer wieder Gerüchte. Insider oder Marktanalysten haben dabei bezüglich des derzeitigen Standes unterschiedliche Ansichten. Während Tez2 und Yan2295 von einem Entwicklungsstand ausgehen, der ca. 60 bis 70 Prozent des fertigen Spiels abdeckt, ist Marktanalyst Jason Schreier von der Nachrichtenagentur Bloomberg der Ansicht, dass sich GTA 6 in einem noch sehr frühen Stadium befinde. Dass GTA 5 und die lukrative Mehrspieler-Komponente GTA Online im kommenden Jahr auch für PlayStation 5 und Xbox Series S|X umgesetzt werden sollen, spricht eher für Schreiers Prognose. Zu einer möglichen Next Gen Umsetzung von Red Dead Redemption 2 gibt es derzeit hingegen keine Hinweise.


Letzte Aktualisierung am 20.09.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API