Rocksteady had surprisingly announced that they were currently working on a new video game based on the anti-hero team Suicide Squad. The title is to be officially unveiled at the “DC Fandome” in August. Rumors about the development of a new superhero game have been around for a long time.


Despite countless rumors, it was far from clear whether Rocksteady was actually working on a new superhero video game. All doubts have now been dispelled: The developers have officially confirmed that a title based on the Suicide Squad is in the making. However, it is not known exactly what it is about. A revelation as part of the DC Fandome could provide more clarity about the game.

Rocksteady: Long rest from the hype

Since 2016 it has been quiet about the British development studio behind the critically acclaimed Batman video games. Most recently, Batman: Arkham VR, a virtual reality offshoot of the bat game, was released for Playstation. After that, it became quiet about the studio, which is part of the media giant Warner.

According to rumors, development of the Suicide Squad game has been going on since late 2016 or early 2017. That emerges from a tweet from Bloomberg's Jason Schreier, who is well connected in the industry. Despite the long development time for the unveiling as part of the DC Fandome, he doesn't expect much more than a short teaser. At the same time, this means that it is unlikely to be published anytime soon. It will take longer until the release of “Suicide Squad”. Even if it's a rumor, not a fact, Schreier is generally considered to be one of the more reliable sources.

Nearly nothing is known about "Suicide Squad". The actions around the antihero team provide a rough framework - that's about it so far. Not even an official title was mentioned. Most recently, publisher WB Games registered the domains “suicidesquadgame.com” and “suicidesquadkillthejusticeleague.com”.

The DC Fandome takes place on August 22nd. By then there will be - at least some - new information about the video game based on the Suicide Squad.


[stextbox id = 'autor' caption = 'We are looking for reinforcements for the editorial team']We're looking for news writers in the fields of gaming, books, board games, as well as films and series. Do you want to participate? then > here < click and apply.[/ textbox]

Author

Überraschend hatte Rocksteady angekündigt, dass man derzeit an einem neuen Videospiel arbeitet, das auf dem Antihelden-Team Suicide Squad basiert. Auf dem “DC Fandome” im August soll der Titel offiziell enthüllt werden. Gerüchte über die Entwicklung eines neuen Superhelden-Spiels gab es schon lange.


Trotz unzähliger Gerüchte war längst nicht klar, ob Rocksteady tatsächlich an einem neuen Superhelden-Videospiel arbeitet. Alle Zweifel sind nun ausgeräumt: Die Entwickler haben offiziell bestätigt, dass ein Titel in der Mache ist, der auf dem Suicide Squad basiert. Worum es genau geht ist allerdings nicht bekannt. Für mehr Klarheit über das Spiel könnte eine Enthüllung im Rahmen des DC Fandome sorgen.

Rocksteady: Lange Ruhe vor dem Hype

Seit 2016 war es still um das britische Entwicklerstudio, das hinter den vielgelobten Batman-Videospielen steckt. Zuletzt erschien mit Batman: Arkham VR ein Virtual-Reality-Ableger des Fledermausspiels für Playstation. Danach wurde es ruhig um das Studio, das Teil des Mediengiganten Warner ist.

Gerüchten zufolge soll die Entwicklung des Suicide-Squad-Spiels bereits seit Ende 2016 oder Anfang 2017 laufen. Das geht aus einem Tweet von Bloombergs Jason Schreier hervor, der in der Branche gut vernetzt ist. Er erwartet trotz der bereits langen Entwicklungszeit für die Enthüllung im Rahmen des DC Fandome nicht viel mehr als einen kurzen Teaser. Das bedeutet zugleich, dass mit einer baldigen Veröffentlichung kaum zu rechnen ist. Bis zum Release von “Suicide Squad” wird es noch länger dauern. Auch wenn es sich dabei um ein Gerücht, nicht um einen Fakt handelt: Schreier gilt gemeinhin als eine der zuverlässigeren Quellen.

Zu “Suicide Squad” bekannt ist so gut wie nichts. Die Handlungen um das Antihelden-Team geben einen groben Rahmen vor – das war es bislang auch schon. Nicht einmal ein offizieller Titel wurde genannt. Zuletzt registriert Publisher WB Games sich die Domains “suicidesquadgame.com” and “suicidesquadkillthejusticeleague.com”.

Der DC Fandome findet am 22. August statt. Spätestens dann wird es – zumindest einige – neue Informationen zum Videospiel auf Basis des Suicide Squad geben.


[stextbox id=’autor’ caption=’Wir suchen Verstärkung für die Redaktion’]Wir suchen nach News-Autoren in den Bereichen Gaming, Bücher, Brettspiele sowie Filme und Serien. Du möchtest mitmachen? Dann > hier < klicken und bewerben.[/stextbox]