Among the novelties of the publishing house Schmidt Spiele is a board game that works with the official film license from Jurassic World. They wanted to present the title in Nuremberg at the toy fair: "The return to Isla Nublar" is the name of the deck builder by game author Marco Teubner. 

Jurassic World 3: A New Age by director Colin Trevorrow will continue the story of the popular prehistoric lizards. The film follows the events of the previous film. However, a lot more happened between the second and third parts of Jurassic World: The game designer Marco Teubner and the publisher Schmidt Spiele tell this story with their board game “The Return to Isla Nublar”. As soon as we have image material for Schmidt Spiele's new Jurassic World title, we'll add it to the post. So the cover photo is a placeholder.

A fictional story of its own

Isla Nublar is something of a bugbear for dinosaur fans. The first Jurassic Park was created on the fictional island off the coast of Costa Rica, and around 20 years later another attraction, Jurassic World. Fans of the films know how the stories ultimately ended. Despite all the abuse of the naysayer: Dr. Ian Malcolm was always right in the end.

Because people are known to be pretty stupid, they keep trying their luck with the revived giant lizards. The name of the new board game from Schmidt Spiele says it all, but the background story has not yet appeared in the required form.

“We developed our own “fictitious” story for the game, which has nothing to do directly with the story of the films, but hopefully doesn't contradict it either,” explains game designer Marco Teubner. The game is thematically scheduled between the second part and the third part coming in the summer.

"In the second part of the trilogy, people had to leave Isla Nublar with a few selected dinosaurs, which was rocked by a devastating volcanic eruption," says Teubner about the story of the Jurassic World board game. “A lot of research results remained on the island. After the volcano has calmed down a bit, we players dare to return to Isla Nublar to save what is still there. For this we set up camps on the island.” The dinosaurs are "very upset" because of the still active volcano, which makes the work much more difficult. “Again and again we have to leave camps or continue our work elsewhere”.

Competitive deck builder around dinos

The licensed board game has a story, but what idea can fans expect from a purely playful point of view? Teubner explains it this way: “Mechanically speaking, the game is a relatively simple, competitive deck builder. However, we act against each other on a game plan”. By schedule the author means Isla Nublar. As a result, it could “be quite confrontational”. Solitaire deck building is therefore not popular.

"Essentially, we're playing the explorers returning to the island," Teubner said of the board game's premise. “However, dinosaurs keep creeping into our deck, allowing us to control the dinosaurs' paths from time to time as well. In this case, of course, always in the direction of my teammate’s camp.”

The return to Isla Nublar can be played at different levels of difficulty, with which the author and publisher want to appeal to different types of players. Clever.

Marco Teubner explains: “We're trying to do a little balancing act with the game. On the one hand, of course, we want to reach dinosaur fans and fans of the film series.” It doesn't always have to be the ambitious players. "On the other hand, we also want to offer players a good Jurassic World game." The author wants to achieve this by dividing the game into two: There is a simpler basic game and two modules that can be added for a somewhat more demanding game. "The game is still in the family game," explains Teubner. According to the publisher, the playing time is around one hour. The board game “The Return to Isla Nublar” is aimed at 2 to 4 players aged around 9 and over.

Schmidt Spiele commissioned the title, and according to Teubner, it took around a year and a half to develop.

Movies and Merchandising: Trending

When the first cinema film about the computer-animated dinosaurs was released at the end of 1993, the film was so sensational for being frightening: the cinemas meticulously made sure that the age limit of 12 years was observed. From a purely cinematic point of view, the strip was already a masterpiece – it won Oscars for it. Despite this, not everyone likes the idea behind the films. What about the author who had to develop a board game for the license?

Teubner: “Jurassic Park or Jurassic World is good popcorn cinema. A bag tastes pretty good. If you eat too much, you will spoil your stomach." But since it was four years ago that the last part was shown and the third part of the Jurassic World series had to be postponed to summer 2022 because of Corona, I'm already looking forward to the film. And now that I've also been able to make a game for the license, the anticipation is all the greater."

Teubner is not a die-hard dinosaur fanatic: "I'm actually not a big dinosaur fan," says the author. "Sometimes I feel like a dinosaur and my kids would certainly say I act like a dinosaur more often." If he had to choose a favorite dinosaur - he didn't have one (!) - it would be the Ankylosaurus according to the game development. Not without reason: “In terms of popularity, he is always somewhat overshadowed and does not appear so imposing due to his somewhat stocky appearance. But let him swing the club..." The fact is therefore: In the deck builder "Return to Isla Nublar" at least the Ankylosaurus appears.

Whether you're a fan or not, you'll come across dinosaurs again and again in the board game world. "It's noticeable that the merchandising and thus also the releases of board games on the subject are increasing sharply with the films," says Marco Teubner when asked whether it's a trend or an evergreen: "In that respect I would say it is a trend! But thanks to Jurassic World's strong brand, a very consistent one."

The Franconian game designer was able to gain experience with licensed board games with his last two games: he is behind the two adaptations of two ideas by the bestselling author Sebastian Fitzek. In 2016, Teubner won the Children's Game of the Year award with Stone Age Junior.

Still, developing a board game based on a popular license is a challenge. Fans are often critical, often petty. Marco Teubner remains relaxed: "It doesn't matter whether I'm developing a game with or without a license - I want the game to be fun and to be played with."

"Of course it can be that a licensed game raises certain expectations and these cannot be fulfilled for everyone," he continues. Then pragmatically: "My suggestion would be: approach the game openly and curiously and have fun!".


Author

Last updated on 4.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Zu den Neuheiten des Verlags Schmidt Spiele gehört ein Brettspiel, das mit der offiziellen Filmlizenz von Jurassic World arbeitet. Vorstellen wollte man den Titel in Nürnberg auf der Spielwarenmesse: “Die Rückkehr zur Isla Nublar” heißt der Deckbuilder von Spieleautor Marco Teubner. 

Jurassic World 3: Ein neues Zeitalter von Regisseur Colin Trevorrow wird die Geschichte um die populären Urzeitechsen fortschreiben. Der Kinofilm schließt an die Ereignisse des Vorgängerfilms an. Zwischen dem zweiten und dritten Jurassic-World-Teil ist allerdings weitaus mehr passiert: Diese Story erzählen der Spieleautor Marco Teubner und der Verlag Schmidt Spiele mit ihrem Brettspiel “Die Rückkehr zur Isla Nublar”. Sobald uns Bildmaterial zu Schmidt Spieles neuem Titel zu Jurassic World vorliegt, ergänzen wir den Beitrag. Bei dem Titelbild handelt es sich also um einen Platzhalter.

Eine eigene, fiktive Geschichte

Die Isla Nublar ist so etwas wie das Schreckgespenst der Dino-Fans. Auf der fiktiven Insel vor der Küste Costa Ricas entstanden der erste Jurassic Park und rund 20 Jahre später mit der Jurassic World eine weitere Attraktion. Fans der Filme wissen, wie die Geschichten letztendlich endeten. Bei aller Schimpfe auf den Schwarzseher: Dr. Ian Malcolm sollte am Ende stets Recht behalten.

Weil Menschen bekanntlich ziemlich dämlich sind, versuchen sie ihr Glück mit den wiederbelebten Riesenechsen immer wieder. Der Name des neuen Brettspiels von Schmidt Spiele ist Programm, die Hintergrundgeschichte kam in der gebotenen Form jedoch bisher nicht vor.

“Für das Spiel entwickelten wir eine eigene „fiktive“ Geschichte, die zwar direkt nichts mit der Story der Filme zu tun hat, aber hoffentlich dazu auch nicht im Widerspruch steht”, erklärt Spieleautor Marco Teubner. Das Spiel sei thematisch zwischen dem zweiten Teil und dem im Sommer kommenden dritten Teil angesetzt.

“Im zweiten Teil der Trilogie mussten die Menschen zusammen mit ein paar ausgewählten Dinosauriern die Isla Nublar verlassen, die von einem verheerenden Vulkanausbruch erschüttert wurde”, so Teubner zur Story des Jurassic-World-Brettspiels. “Dabei blieben viele Forschungsergebnisse auf der Insel zurück. Nachdem sich der Vulkan wieder etwas beruhigt hat, wagen wir Spieler die Rückkehr zur Isla Nublar, um zu retten, was noch da ist. Hierfür errichten wir Camps auf der Insel.” Die Dinosaurier seien aufgrund des immer noch aktiven Vulkans “sehr aufgebracht” , das erschwert die Arbeit deutlich. “Immer wieder müssen wir Camps verlassen oder unsere Arbeit an anderer Stelle fortsetzen”.

Kompetitiver Deckbuilder um Dinos

Eine Story hat das Lizenz-Brettspiel, aber welche Idee erwartet Fans rein spielerisch? Teubner erklärt es so: “Spielmechanisch gesehen ist das Spiel ein relativ einfacher, kompetitiver Deckbuilder. Allerdings agieren wir gegeneinander auf einem Spielplan”. Mit Spielplan meint der Autor die Isla Nublar. Dadurch könne es “ganz schön konfrontativ zugehen”. Solitäres Deckbauen ist daher nicht angesagt.

“Im Wesentlichen spielen wir die Forscher, die auf die Insel zurückkehren”, so Teubner zur Prämisse des Brettspiels. “Allerdings mischen sich immer wieder Dinosaurier in unser Deck und ermöglichen es uns so, von Zeit zu Zeit auch die Laufwege der Dinosaurier zu steuern. In diesem Fall natürlich immer schön in Richtung des Camps meines Mitspielers.”

Spielen lassen wird sich Die Rückkehr zur Isla Nublar in verschiedenen Schwierigkeitsgraden, mit denen Autor und Verlag unterschiedliche Spielertypen ansprechen wollen. Clever.

Marco Teubner erläutert: “Wir versuchen mit dem Spiel einen kleinen Spagat. Auf der einen Seite wollen wir natürlich Dinosaurierfans und die Fans der Filmserie erreichen.” Das müssten nicht immer die ambitionierten Spieler sein. “Auf der anderen Seite wollen wir auch den Spielern ein gutes Jurassic-World-Spiel bieten.” Erreichen will der Autor das durch eine Zweiteilung: Es gibt ein einfacheres Basisspiel und zwei Module, die für ein etwas anspruchsvolleres Spiel hinzugenommen werden können. “Das Spiel bewegt sich aber dennoch im Bereich des Familienspiels”, erklärt Teubner. Die Spielzeit liegt laut Verlag bei rund einer Stunde. Das Brettspiel “Die Rückkehr zur Isla Nublar” richtet sich dabei an 2 bis 4 Spieler im Alter ab etwa 9 Jahren.

Schmidt Spiele hat den Titel in Auftrag gegeben, rund eineinhalb Jahre dauerte laut Teubner die Entwicklung.

Filme und Merchandising: Trend

Als der erste Kinofilm um die computeranimierten Dinos Ende 1993 erschien, war der Film so sensationell für furchteinflößend: Penibel hatten die Kinos darauf geachtet, dass die Altersgrenze von 12 Jahren auch eingehalten wurde. Rein filmtechnisch war der Streifen bereits ein Meisterwerk – dafür gab es Oscars. Trotz mag längst nicht jeder die Idee hinter den Filmen. Wie steht es um den Autor, der ein Brettspiel zu der Lizenz entwickeln musste?

Teubner: “Jurassic Park beziehungsweise Jurassic World ist gutes Popcorn-Kino. Eine Tüte schmeckt ganz gut. Isst man zu viel, verdirbt man sich den Magen.” Aber nachdem es schon wieder vier Jahre her sei, dass der letzte Teil zu sehen war und der nun dritte Teil der Jurassic World-Serie wegen Corona auf Sommer 2022 verschoben werden musste, freue ich mich schon auf den Film. Und da ich jetzt auch noch ein Spiel zu der Lizenz machen durfte, ist die Vorfreude umso größer.”

Dabei ist Teubner kein eingefleischter Dino-Fanatiker: “Ich bin eigentlich kein großer Dinosaurier-Fan”, meint der Autor. “Manchmal fühle ich mich wie ein Dinosaurier und meine Kinder würden mit Sicherheit sagen, dass ich mich öfter wie ein Dinosaurier verhalte.” Müsste er einen Lieblingsdino wählen – er hatte bislang keinen (!) – wäre es nach der Spieleentwicklung der Ankylosaurus. Nicht ohne Grund: “Er steht in der Popularität immer etwas im Schatten und wirkt durch sein etwas gedrungenes Aussehen nicht so imposant. Aber lass ihn mal die Keule schwingen…” Fakt ist demnach: In dem Deckbuilder “Die Rückkehr zur Isla Nublar” kommt mindestens der Ankylosaurus vor.

Ob nun Fan oder nicht, Dinosaurier begegnen einem immer wieder in der Brettspiel-Welt. “Es ist schon auffällig, dass mit den Filmen auch das Merchandising und damit auch die Veröffentlichungen von Brettspielen zum Thema stark ansteigen”, meint Marco Teubner auf die Frage, ob es ein Trend oder ein Evergreen ist: “Insofern würde ich sagen, es ist ein Trend! Aber dank der starken Marke von Jurassic World ein sehr beständiger.”

Erfahrung mit Lizenz-Brettspielen hat der fränkische Spieleautor mit seinen letzten beiden Spielen sammeln können: Er steckt hinter den beiden Adaptionen zweier Ideen des Bestsellerautors Sebastian Fitzek. 2016 gewann Teubner mit Stone Age Junior die Auszeichnung Kinderspiel des Jahres.

Dennoch: Ein Brettspiel auf Basis einer populären Lizenz zu entwickeln, ist eine Herausforderung. Fans sind oft kritisch, nicht selten kleinlich. Marco Teubner bleibt entspannt: “Egal, ob ich ein Spiel mit oder ohne Lizenzthema entwickle – ich möchte, dass das Spiel Spaß macht und gerne gespielt wird.”

“Es kann natürlich sein, dass ein Spiel mit Lizenz gewisse Erwartungen schürt und diese dann nicht für jeden erfüllt werden können”, erklärt er weiter. Dann pragmatisch: “Mein Vorschlag wäre: begegnet dem Spiel offen und neugierig und habt Spaß!”.


Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
Pegasus Spiele 57702G Brettspiele Pegasus Spiele 57702G Brettspiele * Aktuell keine Bewertungen 47,99 EUR

Letzte Aktualisierung am 15.01.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API