Who knows the Sea of ​​Thieves video game? In response, many hooked hands should be held up. Who knows the analogue pen-and-paper role-playing game for Sea of ​​Thieves? At most, real fans should know that. The publishing house Mongoose goes into the next round with the addition “A Tale of Two Captains” and provides new content and rules. 


Sea of ​​Thieves is a minor phenomenon on the screens. Initially rather ridiculed, the pirate adventure has developed into a real long-running hit, which the developers Rare keep feeding content with. In any case, the title was recently breathed new life into with the introduction of the seasonal system. Sea of ​​Thieves is now better than ever.

Play Sea of ​​Thieves away from the screen

The goal of the pirate video game is comparatively simple: you gather your crew - or you move around as a solo pirate - hoist the sails of your ship and sail from island to island to discover treasure and beat up skeletons. While that was pretty monotonous shortly after the release, Sea of ​​Thieves is now a hotbed of ideas and new content. Over the years the adventure game has evolved, got better and better - and has now reached its peak for the time being.

If you can't start doing it on the screen, you could still play Sea of ​​Thieves - albeit in an analogue way, with friends at home or, due to the corona pandemic, initially via video chat. The British publisher Mongoose Publishing has published a pre-order supplement to the basic work of the pen-and-paper version of Sea of ​​Thieves. “A Tale of Two Captains” provides new opponents, locations and non-player characters, but also changes the rules of the role-playing game, which was released under the simple title “Sea of ​​Thieves Roleplaying Game”. The new work thus follows on from a number of smaller publications, which, however, have only been published as digital reading material.

To play the Sea of ​​Thieves pen-and-paper RPG, you have to be able to speak English - but the text passages are not particularly difficult to understand. Image: Mongoose

To play the Sea of ​​Thieves pen-and-paper RPG, you have to be able to speak English - but the text passages are not particularly difficult to understand. Image: Mongoose

The role-playing game and the digital video game version enter into a kind of symbiosis. The pen-and-paper comes with a DLC code that you can use to unlock a sail in the video game. Conversely, the new content from the template means that Mongoose has expanded the RPG with content that Rare had already implemented in games - the video game thus influences the rules of the analog role-playing game.

“A Tale of Two Captains” isn't cheap either costs the equivalent of around 52 euros. If you don't have the basic box, you have to invest another 80 euros, because the addition cannot be played without the basic set. If the books as PDFs are enough for you, you can save almost half the money. The only downside: The RPG books are currently only available in English.


Preview Product Rating Price
Sea of ​​Thieves RPG (MGP70000) Sea of ​​Thieves RPG (MGP70000) * 90,33 EUR

Author

Last updated on 3.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Wer kennt das Videospiel Sea of Thieves? Als Reaktion dürften viele Hakenhände in die Höhe gestreckt werden. Wer kennt das analogen Pen-and-paper-Rollenspiel zu Sea of Thieves? Das dürften vermutlich allenfalls echte Fans wissen. Der Verlag Mongoose geht mit der Ergänzung „A Tale of Two Captains“ in die nächste Runde und liefert neue Inhalte und Regeln. 


Sea of Thieves ist auf den Bildschirmen ein kleines Phänomen. Anfangs eher belächelt, hat sich das Piratenabenteuer zu einem echten Dauerbrenner entwickelt, den die Entwickler Rare immer weiter mit Inhalten füttern. Ohnehin hat man dem Titel jüngst mit Einführung des Saison-Systems neues Leben eingehaucht . Sea of Thieves ist jetzt so gut wie niemals zuvor.

Sea of Thieves abseits des Bildschirms spielen

Das Ziel des Piraten-Videospiels ist vergleichsweise simpel: Man versammelt seine Crew – oder zieht als Solo-Pirat umher – hisst die Segel seines Schiffes und schippert von Insel zu Insel, um Schätze zu entdecken und Skelette zu vermöbeln. War das kurz nach dem Release noch ziemlich eintönig, ist Sea of Thieves inzwischen ein Hort der Ideen und der neuen Inhalte. Über die Jahre hat sich das Abenteuerspiel weiterentwickelt, ist stetig besser geworden – und hat nun vorerst seinen Höhepunkt erreicht.

Wer damit auf dem Bildschirm nicht anfangen kann, der könnte Sea of Thieves dennoch spielen – allerdings analog, mit Freunden am heimischen Spieltisch oder aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie vorerst via Videochat. Der britische Verlag Mongoose Publishing hat eine Ergänzung zum Grundwerk der Pen-and-Paper-Version zu Sea of Thieves als Pre-Order veröffentlicht. „A Tale of Two Captains“ sorgt für neue Gegner, Orte und Nicht-Spielercharaktere, verändert jedoch auch das Regelwerk des Rollenspiels, das unter dem schlichten Titel „Sea of Thieves Roleplaying Game“ erschienen ist. Das neue Werk folgt damit auf einige kleinere Veröffentlichungen, die jedoch ausschließlich als digitaler Lesestoff veröffentlicht worden sind.

Um das Pen-and-paper-RPG zu Sea of Thieves spielen zu können, muss man der englischen Sprache mächtig sein - besonders schwer zu verstehen sind die Textpassagen aber nicht. Bild: Mongoose

Um das Pen-and-paper-RPG zu Sea of Thieves spielen zu können, muss man der englischen Sprache mächtig sein – besonders schwer zu verstehen sind die Textpassagen aber nicht. Bild: Mongoose

Das Rollenspiel und die digitale Videospielversion gehen dabei eine Art Symbiose ein. So liegt dem Pen-and-paper etwa ein DLC-Code bei, mit dem man im Videospiel ein Segel freischalten kann. Umgekehrt führen die neuen Inhalte aus der Vorlage dazu, dass Mongoose das RPG um Inhalte erweitert hat, die Rare bereits in Spiels implementiert hatte – das Videogame beeinflusst somit das Regelwerk des analogen Rollenspiels.

„A Tale of Two Captains“ ist nicht ganz billig und kostet umgerechnet rund 52 Euro. Wer die Grundbox nicht nicht besitzt, muss weitere knapp 80 Euro investieren, denn die Ergänzung ist nicht ohne das Grundwerk spielbar. Wem die Bücher als PDFs ausreichen, kann knapp die Hälfte des Geldes sparen. Einziger Wertmutstropfen: Die RPG-Bücher gibt es derzeit nur in englischer Sprache.


Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
Sea of Thieves RPG (MGP70000) Sea of Thieves RPG (MGP70000) * 68,82 EUR

Letzte Aktualisierung am 18.09.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API