Shifu Plugo Count is an interactive educational math game. That sounds anything but exciting at first, but it occupies a trendy niche in the field of edutainment with the use of augmented reality. The declared aim of the toy manufacturer Shifu: playfully promote mathematical skills and solution-oriented thinking. The play set costs around 60 euros and - combined with the appropriate app - offers around 250 levels in which children can gradually improve their math skills.


One reads reports about winners of math competitions in schools again and again - however, one often reads that many students in this country are math grudges or lag behind in arithmetic in an international comparison. It is no coincidence that numerous funding programs are dedicated to the MINT area of ​​all things. And now the virus pandemic, which is rampant worldwide, shows how important alternative and innovative teaching methods are. The course for future math skills is set at an early age: namely in childhood. Toys can then help to support children in learning, not only but also in mathematics.

Shifu Plugo Count for learning math

German students are mediocre at math, that is the result of a recent study among fourth graders. Over 300.000 students from 58 countries in different regions took part in the TIMSS, “Trends in International Mathematics and Science Study”; In Germany, too, almost 5.000 students were active in solving tasks on the computer. After evaluating the results, it is clear: In an international comparison, there is room for improvement.

Mathematics as a school subject is often considered sober, dry, boring. It doesn't have to be that way, especially with children. Above all, the basic mathematical skills can be conveyed well and in an entertaining way, also thanks to innovative technologies that teach counting, arithmetic and comparing in a playful way - close to the toy. One of these ideas comes from toy manufacturer Shifu: With Plugo Count, the real world is to be connected to the virtual one in order to arouse interest in math at an early stage - and thus to make learning easier, even in later school age.

Operation is child's play: The number blocks are placed on the counting block, the screen in the background shows what is required. Photo: Volkmann

Operation is child's play: The number blocks are placed on the counting block, the screen in the background shows what is required. Photo: Volkmann

Shifu uses “Augmented Reality”, which is still more of a niche in the learning area. Worlds are supposed to merge by means of augmented reality. Children act in the real world, with real objects and thus achieve results that are shown on the screen. This is how tasks are solved and challenges mastered - in a playful way. With Plugo Count, Shifu focuses primarily on improving mental arithmetic and analytical thinking and thus on basic skills that will also be useful to children years later. The idea of ​​the “Plugo Count” educational toy is aimed at children from the age of five, ie at those offspring who start their careers at secondary school.

AR-Set should playfully interest math

The basic idea behind the toy is simple: children play with accessories, blocks and building blocks in order to make actions visible on the screen. So it's about adding and subtracting, about multiplication and division, namely by children putting digits and arithmetic symbols on a playing piece. The app provides the feedback immediately - it resonates, motivates and is fun. Math shouldn't be boring, it should be rewarding. There are five different games to choose from, which together comprise more than 250 levels. Different game environments can be discovered, different characters moderate the processes.

Various games with different themes are available. Photo: Volkmann

Various games with different themes are available. Photo: Volkmann

It's not primarily about turning kids into math aces. Much more, Shifu Plugo Count is supposed to show that learning math does not automatically mean boredom. Yes, you improve some basic skills, which is beneficial - but it is much more important to lengthen the attention span for mathematical questions in children. This is achieved through the playful use of arithmetic challenges, for which children receive positive feedback directly.

There is also another helpful effect: haptics. Because children actually play with the Shifu Plugo Count math learning toy, i.e. touch the material or interact with stones and components, what they have learned is memorized more efficiently. The toy should be a help, but not a substitute for school work. The aim is always to arouse enthusiasm for learning through play. Incidentally, the age given by the manufacturer is a recommendation: In practice, younger children will also be able to cope with the tasks, especially with a little support. In any case, the app thinks for itself, so to speak, a profile can be created that fits the individual requirements. In this way, it is possible to avoid what is disruptive to learning: failure.

With Shifu Plugo Count, children should experience that learning is connected with positive feedback and that success can be achieved. Sometimes children don't even realize they are learning when they play. At the same time, skills in handling technical aids improve. The app is easy to use, it always becomes clear what you have to do with which task. And there is another advantage: children do not have to sit in front of the learning tablet alone. Shifu Plugo Count can be used cooperatively without any problems, you can solve math problems together with two or even three people. The group dynamics then have an additional positive effect on the learning processes.

The questions are always expanded to include symbolic representations. Volkmann

The questions are always expanded to include symbolic representations. Volkmann

The technical requirements are manageable. Shifu Plugo Count contains the physical components of the AR math game, a tablet or smartphone is required. According to the manufacturer, the Plugo Count is compatible with: iPad 3 and newer, iPad Mini 2 and newer, iPad Air, iPad Pro (except Pro 12 ″), iPhone 6 and newer, Samsung tablets and smartphones (2015 and newer, min. 2 GB RAM) and Lenovo Tablet (2015 and newer, min. 2 GB RAM). The requirements are therefore moderate, the models mentioned are already of an older generation. The package includes a play mat, as well as a counting block with number game pieces and components that reflect the basic arithmetic operations.

According to the tasks, children then have to put the correct stones on the “fingers” of the counting block. The camera of the end device placed in the holder recognizes the numbers, arithmetic symbols and their order and reports in a playful way whether a result was correct. As is so often the case with educational toys, it is one of the supporting measures of many.


Author

Last updated on 4.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Ein interaktives Lernspiel für Mathematik ist Shifu Plugo Count. Das klingt zunächst alles andere als spannend, besetzt im Bereich des Edutainment allerdings mit dem Einsatz von Augmented Reality eine trendige Nische. Das erklärte Ziel des Spielwarenherstellers Shifu: Die mathematischen Fähigkeiten sowie lösungsorientiertes Denken spielerisch fördern. Rund 60 Euro kostet das Spielset, das – verbunden mit der passenden App – rund 250 Level bietet, in denen Kinder ihre Mathe-Skills schrittweise verbessern können.


Meldung über Gewinner von Mathe-Wettbewerben an Schulen liest man immer wieder – viel häufig liest man allerdings, dass viele Schüler hierzulande Mathe-Muffel sind oder beim Rechnen im internationalen Vergleich hinterherhinken. Dass zahlreiche Förderprogramme sich ausgerechnet dem MINT-Bereich widmen, ist kein Zufall. Und nun zeigt die weltweit grassierende Virus-Pandemie, wie wichtig alternative und innovative Lehrmethoden sind. Die Weichen für zukünftige Mathe-Skills werden früh gestellt: Im Kindesalter nämlich. Spielzeuge können dann helfen, Kindern beim Lernen zu unterstützen, nicht nur, aber auch im Fach Mathematik.

Shifu Plugo Count zum Mathe-Lernen

Deutsche Schüler sind in Mathe Mittelmaß, das ist das Ergebnis einer jüngst durchgeführten Studie unter Viertklässlern. Über 300.000 Schüler aus 58 Staaten verschiedener Regionen haben an der TIMSS, „Trends in International Mathematics and Science Study“, teilgenommen; auch in Deutschland waren dafür fast 5.000 Schüler aktiv, um Aufgaben am Computer zu lösen. Nach der Auswertung der Ergebnisse steht fest: Im internationalen Vergleich gibt es Verbesserungsbedarf.

Mathematik als Schulfach gilt oft als nüchtern, trocken, langweilig. Dabei muss das nicht so sein, insbesondere bei Kinder nicht. Vor allem die grundlegenden mathematischen Fähigkeiten lassen sich gut und unterhaltsam vermitteln, auch dank innovativer Technologien, die Zählen, Rechnen und Vergleichen auf spielerische Weise – nah am Spielzeug – vermitteln. Eine dieser Ideen kommt von Spielzeughersteller Shifu: Mit Plugo Count soll die reale Welt mit der virtuellen verbunden werden, um so frühzeitig das Interesse für Mathe zu wecken – und so das Lernen auch im späteren Schulalter zu erleichtern.

Die Bedienung ist kinderleicht: Die Ziffernsteine werden auf den Zählblock gesteckt, der Bildschirm im Hintergrund gibt an, was gefordert wird. Foto: Volkmann

Die Bedienung ist kinderleicht: Die Ziffernsteine werden auf den Zählblock gesteckt, der Bildschirm im Hintergrund gibt an, was gefordert wird. Foto: Volkmann

Shifu nutzt dabei die „Augmented Reality“, im Lernbereich immer noch eher eine Nische. Mittels erweiterter Realität sollen Welten verschmilzen. Kinder agieren in der realen Welt, mit realen Objekten und erzielen damit Ergebnisse, die sich auf dem Bildschirm abbilden. So werden Aufgaben gelöst und Herausforderungen gemeistert – auf spielerische Weise. Mit Plugo Count stellt Shifu vor allem auf die Verbesserung des Kopfrechnens sowie analytischen Denkens ab und damit auf Grundfähigkeiten, die Kindern auch Jahre später dienlich sein werden. Die Idee des „Plugo Count“-Lernspielzeugs richtet sich dabei an Kinder ab fünf Jahren, also an jenen Nachwuchs, der die Laufbahn auf einer weiterführenden Schule antritt.

AR-Set soll spielerisch für Mathe interessieren

Der Grundgedanke des Spielzeugs ist simpel: Kinder spielen mit Zubehör, Klötzchen und Bausteinen, um auf dem Bildschirm Aktionen sichtbar zu machen. So geht es ums Addieren und Subtrahieren, um Multiplikation und Division, und zwar indem Kinder auf einem Spielstein Ziffern und Rechenzeichen aufstecken. Das Feedback gibt die zugehörige App unmittelbar – das kommt an, motiviert und macht Spaß. Mathe soll nicht öde sein, sondern belohnend. Fünf verschiedene Spiele stehen zur Auswahl, die zusammen mehr als 250 Levels umfassen. Verschiedene Spielumgebungen lassen sich so entdecken, unterschiedliche Figuren moderieren die Prozesse.

Verschiedene Spiele mit unterschiedlichen Themenwelten stehen zur Auswahl. Foto: Volkmann

Verschiedene Spiele mit unterschiedlichen Themenwelten stehen zur Auswahl. Foto: Volkmann

Es geht nicht primär darum, aus Kindern Mathe-Asse zu machen. Viel mehr soll Shifu Plugo Count zeigen, dass Mathe-Lernen nicht automatisch Langeweile bedeutet. Ja, man verbessert einige Grundfertigkeiten, was vorteilhaft ist – viel wichtiger ist allerdings, die Aufmerksamkeitsspanne für mathematische Fragestellungen bei Kindern zu verlängern. Das gelingt durch den spielerischen Einsatz von Rechen-Herausforderungen, für den Bestehen Kinder direkt eine positive Rückmeldung erhalten.

Hinzu kommt ein weiterer hilfreicher Effekte: Haptik. Weil Kinder mit dem Mathe-Lernspielzeug Shifu Plugo Count tatsächlich spielen, also das Material anfassen oder mit Steinen und Bauteilen interagieren, prägt sich das Erlernte effizienter ein. Das Spielzeug soll eine Hilfe sein, nicht jedoch Schulaufgaben ersetzen. Stets geht es darum, Begeisterung für spielerisches Lernen zu wecken. Das vom Hersteller angegebene Alter ist übrigens eine Empfehlung: In der Praxis werden auch jüngere Kinder mit den Aufgaben zurechtkommen, vor allem mit ein wenig Unterstützung. Ohnehin denkt die App quasi mit, es lässt sich ein Profil erstellen, das zu den individuellen Anforderungen passt. So lässt sich vor allem vermeiden, was beim Lernen störend ist: Misserfolg.

Mit Shifu Plugo Count sollen Kinder erfahren, dass Lernen mit positivem Feedback verbunden ist und Erfolge sich erreichen lassen. Mitunter merken Kinder nicht einmal, dass sie lernen, wenn sie spielen. Gleichzeitig verbessern sich die Skills im Umgang mit technischen Hilfsmitteln. Die App ist einfach zu bedienen, stets wird deutlich, was man bei welche Aufgabe tun muss. Und noch ein Vorteil bietet sich: Kinder müssen sich nicht alleine vor das Lern-Tablet setzen. Shifu Plugo Count kann problemlos kooperativ verwendet werden, zu zweit oder gar dritt löst man so gemeinsam Mathe-Aufgaben. Die Gruppendynamik wirkt sich dann zusätzlich positiv auf die Lernprozesse aus.

Die Fragestellungen werden stets um symbolische Darstellungen erweitert. Volkmann

Die Fragestellungen werden stets um symbolische Darstellungen erweitert. Volkmann

Die technischen Voraussetzungen sind überschaubar. Shifu Plugo Count enthält die physischen Bestandteile des AR-Mathespiels, notwendig ist ein Tablet oder Smartphone. Laut Hersteller ist das Plugo Count kompatibel mit: iPad 3 und neuer, iPad Mini 2 und neuer, iPad Air, iPad Pro (außer Pro 12″), iPhone 6 und neuer, Samsung Tablets und Smartphone (2015 und neuer, min. 2 GB RAM) sowie Lenovo Tablet (2015 und neuer, min. 2 GB RAM). Die Anforderungen sind also moderat, die genannten Modelle sind bereits älterer Generation. Dem Paket liegt eine Spielmatte bei, sowie ein Zählblock samt Ziffern-Spielsteinen sowie Bauteile, die die Grundrechenarten widerspiegeln.

Entsprechend der Aufgaben müssen Kinder dann die richtigen Steine auf die „Finger“ des Zählblocks stecken. Die Kamera des in die Halterung gestellten Endgeräts erkennt die Zahlen, Rechenzeichen und deren Reihenfolge und meldet auf spielerische Weise, ob ein Ergebnis richtig war. Wie so oft bei Lernspielzeugen gilt: Es ist eine unterstützende Maßnahme von vielen.


Letzte Aktualisierung am 17.05.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API