The video game classic Snake is to be implemented as a board game. The Dutchman Maarten Krijgsman had the idea, which he now wants to finance himself through crowdfunding. A corresponding Kickstarter campaign is in progress and should go online on September 21st. 

You have to go back a long way in time to be able to fathom the beginnings of the video game classic Snake - back then, that was in 1978, the “Snake Game” appeared under the title Worm programmed on the TRS-80 microcomputer. About a year later, a similar early version of Snake was developed for the Hyper-Worm system.

Snake as a board game ?!

Decades later, Snake is still around: the gameplay is unchanged, the graphics almost. Even today, Snake can be found in the video game segment, modernized, but still more to be understood as a souvenir of earlier times. As simple as the game is today as it was back then, quite a few adults now associate the title with memories - of their first cell phone, for example. Snake was a big hit for Nokia in the nineties. The game was preinstalled from the factory. There were always new versions of Snake, sometimes prettier, sometimes more challenging, sometimes under a different name - but Snake was always unmistakably Snake.

Now the classic could face a revival, but in an analogue form. Snake is now to be implemented as a board game, according to the idea of ​​the designer Maarten Krijgsman, who teamed up with the illustrator Anica Smiljkovic for the visual design. The idea remains the same: As snakes, players eat points and get longer and longer. Two, three or four players can take part. The movement system is the main attraction of the game: the back of the snake moves towards the head with every move, so “Snake” moves across the board in search of points. With every little point eaten, the body gets longer, players have to plan more foresight - until they finally succeed in blocking or even biting the opponent (s).

Snake - The Board game is an entertaining tactical skirmish with a manageable playing time. What the board game does well is to capture nostalgia. As a board game, Snake feels at least something like the video game it did more than 40 years ago.

The board game is to be financed by crowdfunding via Kickstarter. The campaign runs from September 21st. Development and publication are self-published, and there is currently no major publisher behind the board game - it's a project that captures the original spirit of the Kickstarter platform. By the way, if you want, you can try an online demo: snaketheboardgame.com.


Preview Product Rating Price
Tierra del Fuego Games 19 - Gloomhaven Tierra del Fuego Games 19 - Gloomhaven * 140,90 EUR

Author

Last updated on 3.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Der Videospielklassiker Snake soll als Brettspiel umgesetzt werden.  Der Niederländer Maarten Krijgsman hatte dazu die Idee, die er nun quasi in Eigenregie per Crowdfunding finanzieren will. Eine entsprechende Kickstarter-Kampagne befindet sich in Arbeit und soll bereits am 21. September online gehen. 

Mann muss langen zurückgehen in der Zeit, um die Anfänge des Videospielklassikers Snake ergründen zu können – damals, das war 1978, erschien das „Schlangenspiel“ unter dem Titel Worm auf dem Microcomputer TRS-80 programmiert. Etwa ein Jahr später wurde für das System mit Hyper-Wurm eine ähnliche frühe Version von Snake entwickelt.

Snake als Brettspiel?!

Jahrzehnte später gibt es Snake immer noch: das Spielprinzip ist unverändert, die Grafik fast. Auch heute ist Snake im Videospielsegment zu finden, modernisiert zwar, aber dennoch eher als Andenken an frühere Zeiten zu verstehen. So simpel das Spiel heute wie damals ist: Mit dem Titel verbinden nicht wenige Erwachsene heute Erinnerungen – an ihr erstes Handy beispielsweise. Snake war für Nokia in den Neunzigern ein großer Wurf. Das Spiel war ab Werk vorinstalliert. Immer wieder gab es neue Snake-Versionen, mal hübscher, mal herausfordernder, mal unter anderem Namen – immer war Snake aber unverkennbar Snake.

Nun könnte dem Klassiker ein Revival bevorstehen, allerdings in analoger Form. Als Brettspiel soll Snake nun umgesetzt werden, so die Idee des Designers Maarten Krijgsman, der sich für die optische Ausgestaltung mit der Illustratorin Anica Smiljkovic zusammengetan hat. Die Idee leibt gleich: Als Schlangen fressen Spieler Punkte und werden länger und länger. Zwei, drei oder vier Spieler können mitmachen. Das Bewegungssystem ist der Clou des Spiels: Das Hinterteil der Schlange rückt mit jedem Spielzug zum Kopfteil, so bewegt sich „Snake“ auf der Suche nach Punkten über das Spielbrett. Mit jedem gefressenen Pünktchen wird der Körper länger, Spieler müssen vorausschauender planen – bis es letztendlich gelingt, den oder die Gegner zu blockieren oder gar zu beißen.

Snake – The Board game stellt sich als kurzweiliges taktisches Geplänkel mit überschaubarer Spielzeit dar. Was dem Brettspiel gut gelingt, ist das Einfangen der Nostalgie. Snake fühlt sich als Brettspiel zumindest so ähnlich an wie das Videospiel vor mehr als 40 Jahren.

Finanziert werden soll das Brettspiel per Crowdfunding über Kickstarter. Die Kampagne läuft ab dem 21. September. Entwicklung und Veröffentlichung läuft im Eigenverlag, hinter dem Brettspiel steht derzeit als kein größerer Verleger – es handelt sich damit um ein Projekt, das den ursprünglichen Geist der Kickstarter-Plattform einfängt. Wer möchte, kann übrigens eine Online-Demo ausprobieren: snaketheboardgame.com.


Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
Feuerland Spiele 63548 Gloomhaven Feuerland Spiele 63548 Gloomhaven * 129,90 EUR

Letzte Aktualisierung am 17.10.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API