The number of infections is increasing, but SPIEL'21 does not seem to be in danger. The Corona Ordinance clearly regulates: In municipalities with a warning level of 3 or lower, trade fair events can be carried out - provided there is a hygiene concept. Those who are immunized will hardly have any problems, everyone else will have to pay additional costs. 

The International Game Days 2021 will take place in Essen, which could be announced with a clear conscience in view of the pandemic situation in July: The number of new infections was low, the incidence in North Rhine-Westphalia was below 6 at the beginning of July.

Paid tests for unvaccinated people are coming

That has changed in the meantime: The increase in new infections within one week per 100.000 inhabitants is much faster this July than last year - and the holidays and schoolchildren in North Rhine-Westphalia are far from being cooped up in the classrooms. And the effects of returning travelers will probably still be felt. However, SPIEL'21 does not seem to be in danger: not from a legal point of view because the Corona Ordinance allows it to be carried out, and also from a purely organizational point of view because the organizing Friedhelm Merz Verlag ensures that the trade fair can also be held with a hygiene concept . Mask requirement and 3G rule are two of the cornerstones.

While the immunized, i.e. vaccinated or convalescent, can look forward to the game fair relatively relaxed, the situation for unvaccinated people has worsened significantly with the new federal-state resolutions. From August 23, testing is now compulsory for people without a corona vaccination with an incidence of 35 or more.Certain areas of public life will then only be accessible to those who have recovered, who have been vaccinated or who have been tested - specifically, this applies to events and celebrations, among other things. The compulsory test has already been planned, but now there are additional costs for those who have not been vaccinated.

SPIEL'21 will take place from October 14th to 17th, after the set date. From October 11th there will be no more free tests in Germany: Anyone who could have been vaccinated but decided against it, has to pay. In addition to the costs for an entrance ticket to SPIEL'21, which have already been accepted, there are additional costs - possibly plus travel and accommodation. Exceptions apply, of course, for those for whom a vaccination is not an option: minors, pregnant women or people with diseases or allergies that make vaccination impossible.

If the infection rate is low, the countries can now override the 3G rules. If you follow the experts, this cannot be assumed for autumn. If and what happens should the coronavirus numbers explode? That is currently unclear. The state of North Rhine-Westphalia recently suspended warning level 3, and the NRW coalition confirmed that they did not want a new lockdown. That can change, should what is currently expected change: Increasing numbers of infections, but less dramatic effects due to the widespread vaccination.

Nevertheless, some organizers and publishers have reacted to the new old Corona situation. Game events planned for autumn have been canceled, publishers are foregoing participation in trade fairs - for example Asmodee. Friedhelm Merz Verlag is confident about SPIEL'21, also due to a strict hygiene concept that requires children from the age of six to wear a mask.

There will be enough for visitors to see: around 500 exhibitors are taking part this year, and at the beginning of August the organizer announced around 1.000 new products for the international game days. Nevertheless, caution can be felt. For comparison: in 2019 around 1.200 exhibitors took part.

For all those who stayed at home, Spiel-digital will also take place in 2021 as an alternative. The publishers are already moving into their virtual booths there. The preparations are obviously in full swing.

One thing is clear: One would have wished SPIEL'21 differently this year and, given the at times relaxed situation in July, could have hoped for it. In the meantime, the corona situation is worsening again, but fans - as of now - do not have to fear the Essen game fair.

Preview Product Rating Price
Asmodee | Libellud | Mystery Park | family game |... Asmodee | Libellud | Mystery Park | family game |... * 17,09 EUR

Author

Last updated on 4.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Die Infektionszahlen steigen, die SPIEL’21 scheint dennoch nicht in Gefahr zu sein. Die Corona-Verordnung regelt klar: In Kommunen mit einer Warnstufe von 3 oder niedriger können Messeveranstaltungen durchgeführt werden – Hygienekonzept vorausgesetzt. Wer immunisiert ist, wird kaum Probleme haben, auf alle anderen kommen Zusatzkosten zu. 

Die Internationalen Spieltage 2021 in Essen finden statt, das konnte man angesichts der Pandemielage im Juli guten Gewissens verkünden: Die Anzahl der Neuinfektionen war niedrig, die Inzidenz lag in Nordrhein-Westfalen Anfang Juli bei unter 6.

Kostenpflichtige Tests für Ungeimpfte kommen

Das hat sich inzwischen geändert: Der Anstieg bei den Neuinfektionen innerhalb einer Woche pro 100.000 Einwohner ist diesen Juli deutlich rasanter als im vergangenen Jahr  – dabei sind noch Ferien und die Schüler in NRW längst noch nicht wieder in den Klassenzimmern eingepfercht. Und die Effekte der Reiserückkehrer werden vermutlich auch erst noch spürbar werden. Die SPIEL’21 scheint dennoch nicht in Gefahr zu sein: rein rechtlich nicht, weil die Corona-Verordnung die Durchführung ermöglicht, und auch rein organisatorisch nicht, weil der ausrichtende Friedhelm Merz Verlag mit einem Hygienekonzept dafür sorgt, dass die Messe auch veranstaltet werden darf. Maskenpflicht und 3G-Regel sind zwei der Grundpfeiler.

Während Immunisierte, also Geimpfte oder Genesene, der Spielemesse vergleichsweise entspannt entgegenblicken können, hat sich die Lage für Ungeimpfte mit den neuen Bund-Länder-Beschlüssen deutlich verschärft. Ab dem 23. August gilt nun eine Testpflicht für Menschen ohne Corona-Schutzimfpung ab einer Inzidenz von 35. Bestimmte Bereich des öffentlichen Lebens sind dann nur noch für Genesene, Geimpfte oder eben Getestete zugänglich – konkret gilt das unter anderem für Veranstaltungen und Feste. Nun ist die Testpflicht ohnehin bereits vorgesehen gewesen, nun kommen allerdings zusätzliche Kosten auf Ungeimpfte zu.

Die SPIEL’21 findet vom 14. bis 17. Oktober und damit nach dem festgelegten Stichtag statt. Ab dem 11. Oktober soll es nämlich in Deutschland keine Gratistests mehr geben: Wer hätte geimpft werden können, sich aber dagegen entschieden hat, muss zahlen. Zu den ohnehin erhörten Kosten für eine Eintrittskarte zur SPIEL’21 kommen also weitere Kosten – gegebenenfalls zuzüglich Anreise und Beherbergung – hinzu. Ausnahmen gelten natürlich für jene, für die keine Impfung infrage kommt: Minderjährige, Schwangere oder Menschen mit Erkrankungen oder Allergien, die eine Impfung unmöglich machen.

Ist das Infektionsgeschehen gering, können die Länder die 3G-Regeln nun außer Kraft setzen. Folgt man den Experten, ist davon für den Herbst nicht auszugehen. Ob und was passiert, sollten die Coronavirus-Zahlen explodieren? Das ist derzeit unklar. Das Land Nordrhein-Westfalen hatte jüngst gar die Warnstufe 3 ausgesetzt, die NRW-Koalition bekräftigt, man wolle keinen erneuten Lockdown. Das kann sich ändern, sollte sich ändern, was derzeit erwartet wird: Steigende Infektionszahlen, aber aufgrund der verbreiteten Impfungen weniger dramatische Auswirkungen.

Dennoch haben einige Veranstalter und Verlage auf die neue alte Corona-Lage reagiert. Im Herbst geplante Spieleveranstaltungen wurden abgesagt, Verlage verzichten auf Teilnahmen an Messen – so etwa Asmodee. Für die SPIEL’21 ist der Friedhelm Merz Verlag zuversichtlich, auch aufgrund eines strengen Hygienekonzepts, das eine Maskenpflicht für Kinder ab sechs Jahren vorsieht.

Zu sehen wird es für Besucher genug geben: Rund 500 Aussteller beteiligen sich dieses Jahr, Anfang August verkündete der Veranstalter bereits etwa 1.000 Neuheiten für die Internationalen Spieltage. Vorsicht ist dennoch zu spüren. Zum Vergleich: Im Jahr 2019 nahmen etwa 1.200 Aussteller teil.

Für alle Daheimgebliebenen findet als Alternative auch in 2021 die Spiel-digital statt. Dort beziehen die Verlage bereits ihre virtuellen Stände. Die Vorbereitungen laufen offensichtlich auf Hochtouren.

Klar ist: Man hätte sich die SPIEL’21 in diesem Jahr anders gewünscht und konnte angesichts der zeitweise entspannten Lage im Juli auch darauf hoffen. Inzwischen verschärft sich die Corona-Situation zwar wieder, Angst um die Essener Spielemesse müssen Fans – Stand jetzt – allerdings nicht haben.

Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
Asmodee Mysterium Park, Familienspiel, Deutsch Asmodee Mysterium Park, Familienspiel, Deutsch * 19,99 EUR

Letzte Aktualisierung am 21.09.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API