According to the German Association of the Toy Industry (DVSI), Christmas business was weaker than expected for the toy industry. Nevertheless, 2021 was not a bad year for the industry: in the end, there was a plus, but that was significantly smaller than in the previous year. 

"The German toy market is staying on track," is the summary of the German Association of the Toy Industry with a view to 2021. Even a lockdown that lasted well into spring last year, the lack of raw materials and preliminary products, ongoing supply chain and Logistics problems, rising energy prices and an overall unstable overall economy between Flensburg and Konstanz could not bring the German toy market to its knees. According to the association, he was “unimpressed by national and global challenges”.

Toy market 2021: winners and losers

After an extremely strong year in 2020 with an increase of eleven percent, the market grew again in 2021 - but by only four percent. This emerges from the trade panel of the NPD Group Germany.

"It is currently still too early for a final assessment of how the manufacturers organized in the DVSI have fared," says DVSI Managing Director Ulrich Brobeil, "but in view of the first economic data that we have, there is reason to hope that there are quite a few Members have been able to increase their sales.” According to the DVSI index from November 2021, the manufacturers organized in the association expected an increase in sales above the industry average, which was estimated at four to five percent across all sales channels.

The big winners in 2021 again included Building Sets, Games & Puzzles and the Infant/Toddler/Preschool segment, but licensed toys are also benefiting from the new desire to play. Together, the three segments account for over 60 percent of industry growth. According to initial calculations, licensed toys account for 23 percent of the total market. The shift within the sales channels is not surprising. In particular, the internet and non-industry touchpoints benefited from the lockdown during the pandemic, while specialist retailers had to accept a drop in sales.

The so-called "Toys Generalists & Specialists" lost a few feathers with a minus of four percent, while the consumer markets were able to close at the previous year's level. Last but not least, the growth was achieved by the “Other” sales channel with an increase of eleven percent.

With an increase in sales of four percent in the past year, the German toy market is approaching the four billion euro mark. For comparison: in 2010 sales were still 2,6 billion euros, in 2020 3,7 billion. This corresponds to an increase of around 46 percent in the last 12 years - no other industry is likely to be as resistant to crises as toys. "Even if toys are beneficiaries of the pandemic as a sensible employment opportunity," says Ulrich Brobeil, "the good development of the industry is not solely due to Corona. The importance of toys and games as well as the good program work of the manufacturers have made a significant contribution to the good development."

The industry still had to swallow one drop of bitterness: The high expectations of the Christmas business, which the DVSI index reflected, were not fulfilled to the extent hoped. "One can only speculate about the reasons," says Ulrich Brobeil, "but the galloping rate of inflation may have played its part."

An end to the price development is currently not in sight, as energy prices are likely to continue to put pressure on the markets. For the current year, the DVSI members expect sales at the level of 2021 or a “slight increase”.


Author

Last updated on 7.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Das Weihnachtsgeschäft fiel für die Spielwarenbranche nach Angaben des Deutschen Verbandes der Spielwarenindustrie (DVSI) schwächer als erwartet aus. Dennoch war das Jahr 2021 für die Branche kein schlechtes: Am Ende sprang ein Plus heraus, das war allerdings deutlich kleiner als im Vorjahr. 

“Der deutsche Spielwarenmarkt bleibt in der Spur”, so lautet das Resümee des Deutschen Verbandes der Spielwarenindustrie mit Blick auf das Jahr 2021. Auch ein bis weit in den Frühjahr dauernder Lockdown im vergangenen Jahr, der Mangel an Rohstoffen und Vorprodukten, anhaltende Lieferketten- und Logistikprobleme sowie steigende Energiepreise und eine insgesamt labile Gesamtkonjunktur zwischen Flensburg und Konstanz konnte den deutschen Spielwarenmarkt nicht in die Knie zwingen. Er habe sich von “nationalen wie globalen Herausforderungen unbeeindruckt” gezeigt, so der Verband.

Spielwarenmarkt 2021: Gewinner und Verlierer

Nach einem extrem starken Jahr 2020 mit einem Plus von elf Prozent legte der Markt auch 2021 noch einmal zu – allerdings um lediglich vier Prozent. Das geht aus dem Handelspanel der NPD Group Deutschland hervor.

“Aktuell ist es für eine abschließende Bewertung, wie sich die im DVSI organisierten Hersteller geschlagen haben, noch zu früh”, so DVSI-Geschäftsführer Ulrich Brobeil, “aber angesichts erster Wirtschaftsdaten, die uns vorliegen, gibt es die begründete Hoffnung, dass es etlichen Mitgliedern gelungen ist, ihre Umsätze zu steigern.” Laut DVSI-Index vom November 2021 erwarteten die im Verband organisierten Hersteller ein über dem Branchenschnitt liegendes Umsatzplus, das über alle Vertriebswege hinweg auf vier bis fünf Prozent taxiert wurde.

Zu den großen Gewinnern 2021 zählten erneut Building Sets, Games & Puzzle sowie das Segment Infant/Toddler/Preschool, aber auch lizenzierte Spielwaren profitieren von der neuen Lust zum Spielen. Die drei Segmente stehen gemeinsam für über 60 Prozent  des Branchenwachstums. Der Anteil lizenzierter Spielwaren beläuft sich nach ersten Berechnungen auf 23 Prozent am Gesamtmarkt. Wenig überraschend ist die Verschiebung innerhalb der Vertriebswege. Vor allem das Internet als auch branchenfremde “Touchpoints” profitierten in der Pandemie vom Lockdown, während der Fachhandel Umsatzeinbußen hinnehmen musste.

Die sogenannten “Toys Generalists & Specialists” ließen mit einem Minus von vier Prozent ein paar Federn, während die Verbrauchermärkte auf Vorjahresniveau abschließen konnten. Das Wachstum wurde nicht zuletzt aber durch den Vertriebskanal “Other” mit einem Plus von elf Prozent erzielt.

Mit einem Umsatzplus von vier Prozent im abgelaufenen Jahr nähert sich der deutsche Spielwarenmarkt der Vier-Milliarden-Euro-Marke. Zum Vergleich: 2010 lag der Umsatz noch bei 2,6 Milliarden Euro, 2020 bei 3,7 Milliarden. Das entspricht einer Steigerung von rund 46 Prozent in den letzten 12 Jahren – keine Branche dürfte so krisenresistent sein wie die Spielware. “Auch wenn Spielwaren als sinnvolle Beschäftigungsmöglichkeit Nutznießer der Pandemie sind”, so Ulrich Brobeil, “ist die gute Entwicklung der Branche nicht allein nur auf Corona zurückzuführen. Der Stellenwert von Spielwaren und Spielen als auch die gute Programmarbeit der Hersteller haben maßgeblich zur guten Entwicklung beigetragen.”

Einen Wermutstropfen musste die Branche dennoch schlucken: Die hohen Erwartungen an das Weihnachtsgeschäft, die der DVSI-Index widerspiegelte, erfüllten sich nicht in dem Maße wie erhofft. “Über die Gründe lässt sich nur spekulieren”, so Ulrich Brobeil, “aber die galoppierende Inflationsrate dürfte ihren Teil dazu beigetragen haben”.

Ein Ende der Preisentwicklung ist derzeit offenbar nicht in Sicht, da die Energiepreise weiter für Druck auf den Märkten sorgen dürften. Für das laufende Jahr erwarten die DVSI-Mitglieder Umsätze in Höhe des Jahres 2021 beziehungsweise ein “leichtes Plus”.


Autor

Letzte Aktualisierung am 26.05.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API