Electronic Arts and Respawn Entertainment officially announced the sequel to Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order at the Star Wars Celebration Convention in Anaheim. That's not all: there was a pretty impressive trailer as a candy. The game will no longer be released for last-gen consoles.

The title of the Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order sequel was already rumbling around the internet – with the official announcement it is now clear: the game will actually be called Star Wars Jedi: Survivor. And it will – also said a rumor – appear in 2023. The release of Star Wars Jedi: Survivor was not narrowed down any further, but the second half of the leak may also come true, according to which the game should be released in February or March 2023. Whatever the case, the successor is coming.

A reunion with Cal Kestis and BD-1

Not only is it clear now that Star Wars Jedi: Survivor will be another Star Wars-licensed action-adventure game, but also that there will be a reunion with Cal Kestis. More importantly, his droid buddy BD-1 is there too. The duo and their unusual friendship was in the prequel one of the greatest strengths of the game. Accordingly, it can be assumed that the developers will also stage the connection between man and machine with plenty of drama in the sequel.

In view of the success of the first part, it was already clear that the series would be continued. The official announcement of Star Wars Jedi: Survivor is still reassuring. Five years after the events of Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order, Jedi Cal Kestis and BD-1 return for another adventure. Kestis is one of the last surviving Jedi on the run from the Inquisitors and the Empire behind them. Obviously, the developers will give the Grand Inquisitor a much more prominent role than in the prequel. The villain was present there, but invisible – that is apparently changing now. In any case, the villain can be seen in the reveal trailer for Star Wars Jedi: Survivor.

Much more exciting is likely to be who the previously unknown character from the Bacta tank is. The developers are pursuing a plan with the story that was created before the completion of Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order, as game director Stig Asmussen revealed. Respawn Entertainment is also working with Lucasfilm for the sequel.

Star Wars Jedi: Survivor will be released in 2023 for PS5, Xbox Series X / S and PC. One thing is clear: Star Wars Jedi: Survivor will no longer be cross-gen. For the developers, this means above all that the technical performance of the new hardware can be used without restrictions - and apparently, as Asmussen indicated: the game should have "more dynamic fights" and rely on cinematic storytelling. Ray tracing and real-time lighting effects are two of the core technologies that will be used to make Star Wars Jedi: Survivor visually one lightsaber length ahead of the next-gen version of its predecessor. The loading times of the game also want to be optimized, for which purpose the solid-state drives of the PS5 and Xbox Series X|S are particularly suitable. And maybe this time Playstation fans have a little bonus over Xbox users. Respawn Entertainment wants to use the haptic feedback of the PS5 controllers, for example to make the hum of a lightsaber noticeable.

Story details? So far there are none. Game director Stig Asmussen only spoke about the atmosphere of the trailer in an interview with StarWars.com. It's mysterious and threatening, it's about survival - hence the title of the game.

Should the game - as a leak indicated - appear in spring 2023, Star Wars Jedi: Survivor should be in an advanced stage of development. Electronic Arts and Respawn Entertainment may already be showing the first gameplay material at the Summer Game Fest or the Xbox Showcase.

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

Preview Product Rating Price
STAR WARS JEDI: FALLEN ORDER - [Playstation 5] STAR WARS JEDI: FALLEN ORDER - [Playstation 5] * 25,00 EUR

Author

Last updated on 7.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Auf der Convention Star Wars Celebration in Anaheim haben Electronic Arts und Respawn Entertainment offiziell das Sequel zu Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order angekündigt. Damit nicht genug: Einen ziemlich eindrucksvollen Trailer gab es als Bonbon. Das Spiel wird nicht mehr für Last-Gen-Konsolen erscheinen.

Der Titel des Sequels von Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order rumorte bereits durch das Internet – mit der offiziellen Ankündigung ist nun klar: das Spiel wird tatsächlich Star Wars Jedi: Survivor heißen. Und es wird – auch das besagte ein Gerücht – im Jahr 2023 erscheinen. Näher grenzte man den Release von Star Wars Jedi: Survivor zwar nicht ein, aber vielleicht bewahrheitet sich auch die zweite Hälfte des Leaks, nach der das Spiel im Februar oder März 2023 veröffentlicht werden solle. Wie auch immer: Der Nachfolger kommt.

Ein Wiedersehen mit Cal Kestis und BD-1

Inzwischen ist nicht nur klar, dass mit Star Wars Jedi: Survivor ein weiteres Action-Abenteuerspiel mit Star Wars-Lizenz erscheint, sondern auch, dass es ein Wiedersehen mit Cal Kestis geben wird. Noch viel wichtiger: Auch sein Droiden-Kumpel BD-1 ist dabei. Das Duo und seine ungewöhnliche Freundschaft war im Vorgänger eine der größten Stärken des Spiels. Entsprechend ist davon auszugehen, dass die Entwickler die Verbindung zwischen Mensch und Maschine auch im Nachfolger mit reichlich Drama in Szene setzen werden.

Angesichts des Erfolgs des ersten Teils war längst klar, dass die Reihe fortsetzt werden würde. Die nun erfolgte offizielle Ankündigung von Star Wars Jedi: Survivor ist dennoch beruhigend. Fünf Jahre nach den Ereignissen von Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order kehren der Jedi Cal Kestis und BD-1 für ein weiteres Abenteuer zurück. Kestis ist als einer der letzten überlebenden Jedi auf der Flucht von den Inquisitoren und dem hinter ihnen stehenden Imperium. Offensichtlich werden die Entwickler dem Großinquisitor eine deutlich prominentere Rolle zuschreiben als noch im Prequel. Dort war der Bösewicht präsent, aber unsichtbar – das ändert sich nun offenbar. Im Reveal-Trailer zu Star Wars Jedi: Survivor ist der Fiesling jedenfalls zu sehen.

Viel spannender dürfte sein, um wen es sich bei der bislang unbekannten Figur aus dem Bacta-Tank handelt. Die Entwickler verfolgen mit der Geschichte einen Plan, der bereits vor der Fertigstellung von Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order entstanden sei, wie Game Director Stig Asmussen verriet. Auch für das Sequel arbeitet Respawn Entertainment mit Lucasfilm zusammen.

Star Wars Jedi: Survivor erscheint 2023 für PS5, Xbox Series X / S und PC. Klar ist damit: Cross-Gen wird es Star Wars Jedi: Survivor nicht mehr geben. Für die Entwickler bedeutet das vor allem, dass man die technische Leistungsfähigkeit der neuen Hardware ohne Einschränkungen nutzen kann – und offenbar auch wird, wie Asmussen andeutete: Das Spiel solle “dynamischere Kämpfe” haben und auf Cinematic-Storytelling setzen. Raytracing und Echtzeit-Beleuchtungseffekte sind dabei zwei der Kerntechnologien, die zum Einsatz kommen werden, um bei Star Wars Jedi: Survivor optisch noch eine Lichtschwertlänge vor der Next-Gen-Version des Vorgängers zu sein. Auch die Ladenzeiten des Spiels will man optimieren, wozu sich vor allem die Solid-State-Laufwerke der PS5 und Xbox Series X|S anbieten. Und vielleicht haben Playstation-Fans diesmal einen kleinen Bonus gegenüber den Xbox-Nutzer. Respawn Entertainment will das haptische Feedback der PS5-Controller nutzen, beispielsweise um das Summen eines Lichtschwertes spürbar zu machen.

Details zur Story? Die gibt es bisher nicht. Game Director Stig Asmussen sprach in einem Interview mit StarWars.com lediglich über die Atmosphäre des Trailers. Die sei mysteriös und bedrohlich, es gehe ums Überleben – daher auch der Titel des Spiels.

Sollte das Spiel – wie ein Leak andeutete – im Frühjahr 2023 erscheinen, so müsste sich Star Wars Jedi: Survivor in einem fortgeschrittenen Entwicklungsstadium befinden. Womöglich zeigen Electronic Arts und Respawn Entertainment schon auf dem Summer Game Fest oder dem Xbox Showcase erstes Gameplay-Material.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
STAR WARS JEDI: FALLEN ORDER - [Playstation 5] STAR WARS JEDI: FALLEN ORDER - [Playstation 5] * 23,95 EUR

Autor

Letzte Aktualisierung am 1.07.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API