For years fans have wanted a sequel to Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic. No wonder, the two Star Wars role-playing games KotOR and KotOR 2 are among the best and most popular genre representatives based on the powerful license. Now there are rumors again, this time from a quite credible source: According to this, a new game for Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic should actually be in development - but not at Electronic Arts.


According to information from the Star Wars insider Bespin Bulletin, the VGC website reports on a development from the Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic series. The source is considered to be entirely credible, as information about Star Wars has turned out to be a hit several times in the past.

Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic - successor not from EA?

In a podcast, the insider reported on a project that was being worked on outside the Electronic Arts studios. After the recent announcement and return of Lucasfilm Games, this is not completely ruled out. For example, the Ubisoft studio Massive (the makers of The Division) is working on one Open world video gamewhich is based on Disney's license. And Electronic Arts is still with us even several games involved in processing the franchise.

It is therefore quite realistic that further projects will be ongoing. After the rumors had spread, other reputable sources pounced on the report and added alleged information: Bloomberg's Jason Schreier stated that no one would be able to guess the studio in question. In addition, “Shinobi602” commented in the ResetEra forum on the subject: Accordingly, it is not as mysterious as one thinks. The name of the studio is just not a name that most gamers think of.

The Star Wars MMORPG The Old Republic is still bringing out new content:

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic was released in the summer of 2003, when Obsidian Entertainment participated. Just one year later, the successor with the additional title “The Sith Lords” came on the market. Then it became quiet about the series until 2011 with the MMO The Old Republic, a game that at least took up the timeline thematically. Bioware's Star Wars MMORPG is still supported; the servers are still online. The two classics are also available for mobile devices: Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic is still a game that is talked about today. Basically, it is almost unthinkable that the series will not be continued.

At the beginning of last year there were rumors about a Re-Imaging for Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic. The project should already be in development and combine elements from both series offshoots that have appeared so far in order to knit a game that corresponds to the new canon. All of this information is not official, it is just rumors that should be enjoyed with the necessary skepticism.

Sources: ResetEra / BOB


Preview Product Rating Price
Star Wars The Old Republic: Revan Star Wars The Old Republic: Revan* 14,00 EUR

Author

Last updated on 5.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Einen Nachfolger zu Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic wünschen Fans sich seit Jahren. Kein Wunder, die beiden Star-Wars-Rollenspiele KotOR und KotOR 2 gehören zu den besten und beliebtesten Genre-Vertretern auf Basis der mächtigen Lizenz. Nun gibt es erneut Gerüchte, diesmal aus einer durchaus glaubwürdigen Quelle: Demnach soll sich ein neues Spiel zu Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic tatsächlich in der Entwicklung befinden – allerdings nicht bei Electronic Arts.


Die Webseite VGC berichtet nach Informationen des Star-Wars-Insiders Bespin Bulletin über eine Entwicklung aus der Reihe Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic. Die Quelle gilt als durchaus glaubwürdig, da sich in der Vergangenheit bereits mehrfach Informationen zu Star Wars als Treffer herausstellten.

Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic – Nachfolger nicht von EA?

In einem Podcast berichteten der Insider von einem Projekt, das außerhalb der Studios von Electronic Arts in Arbeit sei. Völlig ausgeschlossen ist das nach der jüngsten Ankündigung und Rückkehr von Lucasfilm Games nicht. So arbeitet etwa das Ubisoft-Studio Massive (die Macher von The Division) an einem Open-World-Videospiel, das auf Disneys Lizenz basiert. Und auch Electronic Arts ist weiterhin mit sogar mehreren Spielen in der Verarbeitung des Franchise involviert.

Es ist daher durchaus realistisch, dass weitere Projekte laufen. Nach Streuung der Gerüchte haben sich weitere seriöse Quellen auf die Meldung gestürzt und vermeintliche Informationen ergänzt: So gab Bloombergs Jason Schreier an, dass niemand in der Lage sei, das betreffende Studio zu erraten. Zudem äußerte sich “Shinobi602” im ResetEra- Forum zu dem Thema: Demnach sei es nicht so geheimnisvoll, wie man denke. Bei dem Namen des Studios handele es sich einfach nicht um einen Namen, an den die meisten Spieler denken.

Das Star-Wars-MMORPG The Old Republic bringt immer noch neue Inhalte hervor:

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic erschien im Sommer 2003, damals unter Beteiligung von Obsidian Entertainment. bereits ein Jahr später kam der Nachfolger mit dem Titelzusatz “The Sith Lords” auf den Markt. Anschließend wurde es ruhig um die Serie, bis 2011 mit dem MMO The Old Republic ein Spiel erschien, das zumindest die Zeitlinie thematisch aufgriff. Biowares Star-Wars-MMORPG wird immer noch unterstützt; die Server sind weiterhin online. Auch für mobile Endgeräte sind die beiden Klassiker erhältlich: Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic ist auch heute noch ein Spiel, das im Gespräch bleibt. Im Grund ist es nahezu undenkbar, dass die Reihe nicht fortgeführt wird.

Bereits Anfang des vergangenen Jahres gab es Gerüchte um ein Re-Imaging zu Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic. Das Projekt sollte sich bereits in der Entwicklung befinden und Elemente aus beiden bislang erschienenen Serienablegern kombinieren, um daraus ein Spiel zu stricken, das dem neuen Kanon entspricht. Offiziell sind all diese Informationen nicht, es handelt sich lediglich um Gerüchte, die mit der nötigen Skepsis zu genießen sind.

Quellen: ResetEra / B.O.B


Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
Star Wars The Old Republic: Revan Star Wars The Old Republic: Revan * 14,00 EUR

Letzte Aktualisierung am 29.11.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API