Corey Konieczka is working on a new board game that uses a mixture of comic book hero setting and nineties flair: The Initiative. Konieczka announced the title of the parlor game through his new studio Unexpected Games. A brief and mysterious teaser had previously been published that referred to today's Tuesday and even included the title of the board game - albeit in the form of a puzzle code. 


The Initiative is the title of the new board game by Corey Konieczka, author of games such as Star Wars: Rebellion and Mansions of Madness. The designer will publish the new work through Unexpected Games, which is working on projects under his direction. The Initiative is the debut of the young publisher. Due to the Corona situation, there were delays, so that new game postponed to 2021 had to become. Now it is clear what the premiere title is about and that it should appear this spring.

Board game with a mystery puzzle setting

The board game The Initiative is set in the nineties, or more precisely: in 1994. The focus is on a group of four young people who find a mysterious game - The Key - that is strangely connected to their lives. Because this only becomes apparent during the game, the teens have no choice but to get to the bottom of the matter. The theme of Konieczka's board game sounds suspiciously like the cliché of the well-known teen mystery setting known from TV, film and series.

The board game mixes comics, puzzles and mystery. Image: Unexpected Games

The board game mixes comics, puzzles and mystery. Image: Unexpected Games

Much more exciting, however, is the combination of storytelling and code-cracking, enriched with some secrets that, according to the publisher, players can still reveal after the story is over. One focus is on a 48-page comic book that tells the background story. Before starting a game, players read the story and set up the game board according to the given scenery. Basically, players slip into the roles of comic heroes and continue playing the story.

"The missions are very different and build on the players' discoveries."
Unexpected Games

In the course of a game you have to solve puzzles, such as deciphering a line of text or mastering a logic task. The core of the actions is driven by cards. As a result, the characters move through the established game world and collect clues that are necessary to solve the puzzle. Even the game packaging itself could be part of the solution in some cases.

For the first time, Unexpected Games vaguely announced the title via a mysterious teaser that referred to a date and contained a line of code. As it now turns out, it was already the name of the board game:

Click the button below to load the content of cdn.iframe.ly.

Load content

Another highlight: the story continues regardless of the outcome of a game, but you can gain various advantages with a win. The individual missions should take between half an hour and an hour.

The Unexpected Games studio was only founded in 2019. Author Corey Konieczka had given up his position as vice head of the design department at Fantasy Flight Games. The works of the new publisher should be “novel, humorous and accessible” and offer gaming experiences that have never been done in this form before.

In the meantime, a preview of the board game has also been published:

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

Sources: Unexpected Games


Author

Last updated on 20.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Corey Konieczka arbeitet an einem neuen Brettspiel, das auf eine Mischung aus Comichelden-Setting und Nineties-Flair setzt: The Initiative. Den Titel des Gesellschaftsspiel hatte Konieczka  über sein neues Studio Unexpected Games bekannt gegeben. Vormals hatte man einen ebenso knappen wie mysteriösen Teaser veröffentlicht, der auf den heutigen Dienstag verwies und sogar den Titel des Brettspiel bereits beinhaltete – allerdings in Form eines Rätselcodes. 


The Initiative lautet der Titel des neuen Brettspiel von Corey Konieczka, Autor von Spielen wie Star Wars: Rebellion oder Mansions of Madness. Veröffentlichen wird der Designer das neue Werk über den Verlag Unexpected Games, der unter seiner Leitung an Projekten arbeitet. The Initiative ist das Debüt den noch jungen Verlags. Aufgrund der Corona-Lage kam es zu Verzögerungen, sodass das neue Spiel auf das Jahr 2021 verschoben werden musste. Nun ist klar worum es bei dem Premieren-Titel geht und dass es in diesem Frühling erscheinen soll.

Brettspiel mit Mystery-Rätsel-Setting

Das Brettspiel The Initiative spielt in den Neunzigern, genauer: Im Jahr 1994. Im Mittelpunkt steht eine Gruppe aus vier Jugendlichen, die ein mysteriöses Spiel – The Key – finden, das auf seltsame Weise mit ihren Leben verbunden ist. Weil sich das natürlich erst während der Partie herausstellt, bleibt den Teens nicht anderes übrig als der Sache auf den Grund zu gehen. Das Thema von Konieczkas Brettspiel klingt verdächtig nach dem Klischee der bekannten Teenie-Mystery-Setting, die man aus TV, Film und Serien kennt.

Das Brettspiel mischt Comic, Rätsel und Mystery. Bild: Unexpected Games
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Das Brettspiel mischt Comic, Rätsel und Mystery. Bild: Unexpected Games

Viel spannender ist hingegen die Kombination aus Storytelling und Code-Knacken, angereichert mit einigen Geheimnisse, die Spieler laut Verlag auch nach Ende der Story noch enthüllen können. Ein Fokus liegt auf einem 48-seitigen Comicheft, das die Hintergrundgeschichte erzählt. Vor dem beginn einer Partie lesen Spieler die Story und bauen das Spielbrett entsprechend der vorgegeben Szenerie auf. Im Grund schlüpfen Spieler dann in die Rollen der Comic-Helden und spielen die Geschichte weiter.

„Die Missionen unterscheiden sich stark und bauen auf den Entdecken der Spieler auf.“
Unexpected Games

Im Verlauf einer Partie gilt es, Rätsel zu lösen, so etwa eine Textzeile zu entschlüsseln oder eine Logikaufgabe zu meistern. Die Aktionen werden im Kern von Karten angetrieben. Dadurch bewegen sich die Charaktere durch die aufgebaute Spielwelt und sammeln Hinweise, die zum Lösen des Puzzles notwendig sind. Sogar die Spielverpackung selbst könnte dabei in einigen Fällen zum Teil der Lösung beitragen.

Erstmals vage angekündigt hatte Unexpected Games den Titel über einen mysteriösen Teaser, der auf ein Datum verwies und eine Code-Zeile enthielt. Wie sich nun herausstellt, handelte es sich dabei bereits um den Namen des Brettspiels:

Auch interessant:
Eine Million Konsolen: Nintendo Switch auch in China stark

Klicken Sie auf den unteren Button, um den Inhalt von cdn.iframe.ly zu laden.

Inhalt laden

Ein weiterer Clou: Die Geschichte wird unabhängig vom Ausgang einer Partie fortgeführt, allerdings kann man sich verschiedene Vorteile mit einem Gewinn erspielen. Die einzelnen Missionen sollen dabei zwischen einer halben und einer Stunde dauern.

Das Studio Unexpected Games ist erst im Jahr 2019 gegründet worden. Autor Corey Konieczka hatte damals seine Position als Vize-Chef der Design-Abteilung bei Fantasy Flight Games aufgegeben. Die Werke des neuen Verlags sollen „neuartig, humorvoll und zugänglich“ sein und Spielerlebnisse bieten, die man in dieser Form vorher noch nicht gemacht hat.

Inzwischen ist auch ein Preview zu dem Brettspiel veröffentlicht worden:

YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Quellen: Unexpected Games


Letzte Aktualisierung am 18.01.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API