CMON will release a board game based on the Netflix series Stranger Things. The publisher announced this. Stranger Things: The Upside Down is slated for release next year.

The reasons for subscribing to Netflix are dwindling, at least from the point of view of customers, who are increasingly turning their backs on the streaming giant. But there is a good reason: the Stranger Things series. The US sci-fi mystery format debuted in 2016 and is now in its fourth round. This brought the end closer, because according to the Duffer brothers, the series should end with the fifth season. After all, things could continue on the gaming table: the miniatures expert CMON announced a board game for 2023 with Stranger Things: The Upside Down.

Stranger Things: The Upside Down by the Cthulhu: Death May Die author

The game designer Rob Daviau is responsible for the board game and is therefore no stranger: He is behind Cthulhu: Death May Die and the Pandemic Legacy trilogy, among other things. He has already delivered quality with his works – but the new board game for the Stranger Things series could pose far greater challenges for Daviau. The reason? A possibly enormous expectation of the fans.

Stranger Things draws its charm, among other things, from the countless visual references to classics from the film and television world. This also applies to the board game. Not many details are known about Stranger Things: The Upside Down. However, it will be a cooperative board game in which players must save Hawkins from the shadowy world from which the Demogorgons are known to come.

CMON - or the author Rob Daviau himself - announced the game as part of the "Summer Spectacular" of the influencer channel Dice Tower (from 1:15 in the video). Accordingly, the board game is already 99 percent complete, details would still be changed. As Daviau also noted, the Duffer brothers are said to have played the title before. More details will follow as the board game gets closer to its release date. It is unclear when exactly the game will appear – only the year is known.

Stranger Things: The Upside Down is the second major license announcement from CMON. Earlier it was announced that it would launch a board game based on Dune: Dune - War for Arrakis, a strategic title from the authors of War of the Ring. Francesco Nepitello has already stated that some mechanics from the ideal predecessor are used for the concept of the new Dune title.

The new CMON board game for Stranger Things is not the first board game based on the license, but it is nevertheless the first game for which the template for a board game for scene experts is used. A Monopoly version and Asmodee's deduction game Stranger Things: Attack of the Mind Flayer were previously released.

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

Author

Last updated on 3.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

CMON wird ein Brettspiel zu der Netflix-Serie Stranger Things herausbringen. Das kündigte der Verlag an. Erscheinen soll das Spiel Stranger Things: The Upside Down im nächsten Jahr.

Die Gründe für ein Netflix-Abonnement schwinden zusehends, zumindest aus Sicht der Kunden, die dem Streaming-Riesen immer öfter den Rücken kehren. Einen guten Grund gibt es aber: die Serie Stranger Things. Das US-amerikanische Sci-Fi-Mystery-Format debütierte im Jahr 2016 und geht inzwischen in die vierte Runde. Damit rückte das Ende näher, denn laut den Duffer-Brüdern soll die Serie mit der fünften Staffeln ende. Weiter gehen könnte es danach immerhin auf dem Spieltisch: der Miniaturenexperte CMON kündigte mit Stranger Things: The Upside Down für 2023 ein Brettspiel an.

Stranger Things: The Upside Down vom Cthulhu: Death May Die-Autor

Für das Brettspiel verantwortlich ist der Spieleautor Rob Daviau und damit kein Unbekannter: Er steckt unter anderem hinter Cthulhu: Death May Die sowie der Pandemic Legacy-Trilogie. Mit seinen Werken hat der bereits Qualität abgeliefert – das neue Brettspiel zur Serie Stranger Things könnte Daviau allerdings vor weitaus größere Herausforderungen stellen. Der Grund? Eine möglicherweise enorme Erwartungshaltung der Fans.

Stranger Things zieht seinen Charme unter anderem aus den unzähligen visuellen Referenzen an Klassiker der Film- und Fernsehwelt. Das gilt es auch in das brettspiel zu übertragen. Besonders viele Details sind zu Stranger Things: The Upside Down bislang nicht bekannt. Es wird sich allerdings um ein kooperatives Brettspiel handeln, bei dem Spieler Hawkins vor der Schattenwelt bewahren müssen, aus der bekanntlich die Demogorgons kommen.

Angekündigt hatten CMON – beziehungsweise der Autor Rob Daviau selbst – das Spiel im Rahmen des “Summer Spectacular” des Influencer-Kanals Dice Tower (ab 1:15 im Video). Demnach ist das Brettspiel bereits zu 99 Prozent fertig, es würden noch noch Details verändert. Wie Daviau zudem anmerkte sollen auch die Duffer-Brüder den Titel bereits gespielt haben. Weitere Details folgen, sobald das Brettspiel dem Veröffentlichungsdatum näher rückt. Unklar ist, wann genau das Spiel erscheinen wird – lediglich das Jahr ist bekannt.

Stranger Things: The Upside Down ist die zweite große Lizenz-Neuankündigung von CMON. Zuvor hatte man bekannt gegeben, ein Brettspiel zu Dune auf den Markt bringen zu wollen: Dune – War for Arrakis, ein strategischer Titel von den Autoren von Der Ringkrieg. Francesco Nepitello gab bereits an, man nutze einige Mechaniken aus dem ideellen Vorgänger für das Konzept des neuen Dune-Titels.

Das neue CMON-Brettspiel zu Stranger Things ist nicht das erste Brettspiel auf Basis der Lizenz, allerdings ist es gleichwohl das erste Spiel, für das man die Vorlage für ein Brettspiel für Szenekenner nutzt. Zuvor erschienen eine Monopoly-Version sowie Asmodees Deduktions-Spiel Stranger Things: Attack of the Mind Flayer.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Autor

Letzte Aktualisierung am 17.08.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API