Speed ​​runners or those who want to become one, watch out: Because OkunoKA Madness is a game made for you. The jumping action is challenging and absolutely ruthless. Speed ​​and skill come first. Sound like the right video game for you? Then read our test what to expect at Okunaka Madness.


The speedrunner scene is becoming more and more popular and events like “Games done quick” have countless spectators all over the world. OkunoKA Madness is a title that is intended precisely for this target group. Race through as fast as possible, just don't get scared! That this is not going to be a walk in the park should be clear to anyone who has even remotely tried to get to the goal of a commercially available jumping game like Super Mario without ending up in the abyss.  

Simple principle: easy to learn, hard to master

To explain the game principle, it doesn't need many words: You steer the being Ka through comparatively short levels and have to overcome obstacles. You have to jump over abysses, hop up walls or avoid deadly projectiles - all at an extremely high speed and only with the help of precision. By now it should be clear: You will die a multitude of virtual deaths before you reach the redeeming end of the level. 

The levels still look simple, but that changes quickly

The levels still look simple, but that changes quickly. Source: Ignition

Here is the simple motto: Easy to learn, hard to master. Very capitalized! But that's not bad, because OkunoKA Madness is designed precisely on this principle of trial and error. AT THE BEGINNING it's shallow, that changes quickly. At most in the first few levels, players will experience the satisfying feeling of getting to the Zilel at the first attempt. There is also a story, at least a little. One would probably not expect that anyway and anyway: there is no time for long stories. It's about speed. At its core, it's about having fun. There are moments of frustration in the form of candy on top, and not too scarce.

Motivate new mechanics and levels

The level of difficulty increases by leaps and bounds. New obstacles, enemies or mechanics are first introduced step by step, then they are used more and more frequently in the subsequent levels. That is motivating, because players quickly develop the need to measure themselves against the new challenges in order to ultimately emerge from them successfully.

The increasingly difficult levels motivate and make you want to go to even more brutal levels

The more and more difficult stages motivate and make you want to go to even more brutal levels.

Above all, the game demands accuracy and timing from the gamepad acrobat, which increases over time. Then come the “Magic Moment”, in which the FIgur will bless the temporal over and over again, only to then feel this comforting feeling when you have finally overcome a particularly tricky point. In between, the jumping and racing passages are loosened up by boss fights, which all run according to a fixed scheme and ultimately take up familiar mechanics that you have to use at the right time.

Collecting the bonuses is worth it, because it unlocks new challenges and characters

Collecting the bonuses is worth it because it unlocks new challenges and characters.

All those who would like to have challenging game passages can simply look for hidden extras in the game levels. This is because new figures can be unlocked, each of which comes with special features - such as the ability to stick to the wall.

So you can use the appropriate character for each individual play style - provided you have unlocked it, of course. For all those who have fought their way through the story mode, there is also the madness mode, which offers even more difficult and almost impossible challenges.

Infobox

Number of players: 1
Age: from 6 (USK)
Difficulty: medium to difficult
Long-term motivation: high

Publisher: Ignition Publishing
Developer: Caracal Studios
Year of publication: 2020
platforms: PC, Nintendo Switch, Xbox One
Languages: English, German, Italian, Spanish, French
Cost: 17,99 Euro

Summary

Games like OkunoKA Madness live from their perfect controllability, in which actions in the game are quickly implemented on command of the inputs. Delays are out of place and they rarely occur: The PC version of the game is almost optimally adapted. Ka controls herself smoothly and reacts directly to the player's commands. Moments of frustration did not arise because of the usability, but because the challenges in some passages seem to be almost too high. That annoys and motivates: Our clumsy and overly hectic behavior has repeatedly thrown us to our death.

OkunoKA Madness is not a game for everyone, the target group for this title is rather narrowly defined: players who are capable of suffering, are quick to react and have a tendency to sometimes enormous challenges are primarily addressed. But even those in-between types, for whom the current jump 'n run titles should be too easy, will surely find a good - and in between, a bad - but at least a fun alternative to conventional jumping games with Okunaka Madness.


Preview Product Rating Price
Mario Kart Live: Home Circuit - Mario Mario Kart Live: Home Circuit - Mario * 78,21 EUR

 

Last updated on 4.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Speedrunner oder auch jene, die es werden wollen aufgepasst: Denn OkunoKA Madness ist ein Spiel, wie gemacht für euch. Die Hüpf-Action ist herausfordernd und absolut erbarmungslos. Speed und Skill stehen an erster Stelle. Klingt genau nach dem richtigen Videospiel für euch? Dann lest in unserem Test, was euch bei Okunaka Madness erwartet.


Die Speedrunner-Szene erfreut sich immer mehr an Beliebtheit und Events wie „Games done quick“ haben auf der ganzen Welt unzählige Zuschauer. OkunoKA Madness ist ein Titel, der genau für diese ZIelgruppe gedacht ist. So schnell wie möglich durchrasen, bloß nicht anecken! Dass das nicht grade ein Zuckerschlecken wird, sollte jedem klar sein, der auch nur entfernt versucht hat, bei einem handelsüblichen Hüpfspiel wie Super Mario zum Ziel zu kommen, ohne im Abgrund zu landen.  

Simples Prinzip: Easy to learn, hard to Master

Um das Spielprinzip zu erklären, bedarf es nicht vieler Worte: Ihr steuert das Wesen Ka durch vergleichsweise kurze Level und müsst dabei  Hindernisse überwinden. Es gilt Abgründe zu überspringen, Wände hinauf zu hüpfen oder todbringenden Geschossen auszuweichen und das in einer enorm hohen Geschwindigkeit und nur mithilfe von Präzision. Spätestens jetzt dürfte klar sein: Ihr werdet dabei eine Vielzahl an virtuellen Toden sterben, ehe ihr das erlösende Levelende erreicht. 

Noch sehen die Level einfach aus, das ändert sich aber schnell

Noch sehen die Level einfach aus, das ändert sich aber schnell. Quelle: Ignition

Hier ist die simple Devise: Easy to learn, hard to master. Ganz groß geschrieben! Doch das ist nicht schlimm, denn OkunoKA Madness ist genau auf dieses Prinzip von Trial and Error ausgelegt. AM ANfang geht es seicht zu, das ändert sich schnell. Höchstens in den ersten paar Stufen werden Spieler das befriedigende Gefühl erleben, gleich im ersten Anlauf zum Zilel zu gelangen. Story gibt es auch, zumindest ein bisschen. Erwarten würde man das vermutlich ohnehin nicht und sowieso: Es bleibt keine Zeit für lange Geschichten. Es geht um Geschwindigkeit. Im Kern geht es darum, Spaß, zu haben. Frustmomente gibt es quasi als Bonbon oben drauf und zwar nicht zu knapp.

Neue Mechaniken und Level motivieren

Der Schwierigkeitsgrad steigt sprunghaft an. Neue Hindernisse, Feinde oder Mechaniken werden  zunächst schrittweise eingeführt, kommen dann in den weiteren Level immer häufiger zum Einsatz. Das ist motivierend, denn Spieler entwickeln so schnell das Bedürfnis, sich an den neuen Herausforderungen zu messen, um dann letztendlich auch erfolgreich daraus hervorzugehen.

Die immer schwierigeren Level motivieren und machen Lust auf noch brutalere Level

Die immer schwierigeren Stages motivieren und machen Lust auf noch brutalere Level.

Vor allem verlangt das Spiel dem Gamepad-Akrobaten Genauigkeit und Timing ab, was im Laufe der Zeit immer mehr zunimmt. Dann kommen die „Magic Moment“, in denen die FIgur immer und immer wieder das Zeitliche segnen wird, nur um dann dieses wohlige Gefühl zu verspüren, wenn ihr eine besonders knifflige Stelle endlich überwunden habt. Zwischendrin werden die Spring- und Rennpassagen durch Bosskämpfe aufgelockert, die alle nach einem festen Schema ablaufen und letztendlich auch wieder bekannte Mechaniken aufgreift, die ihr zum richtigen Zeitpunkt anwenden müsst.

Das Sammeln der Boni lohnt sich, denn dadruch werden neue Herausforderungen und Charaktere freigeschaltet

Das Sammeln der Boni lohnt sich, denn dadurch werden neue Herausforderungen und Charaktere freigeschaltet.

All diejenigen, die gern herausfordernde Spielpassagen hätten, können in den Spiel-Levels einfach nach verborgenen Extras schauen. Denn dadurch lassen sich neue Figuren freischalten, die jeweils mit Besonderheiten daherkommen – etwa der Fertigkeit, an der Wand festzukleben.

Somit könnt ihr für jeden individuellen Spielstil den entsprechenden Charakter verwenden – sofern ihr sie natürlich freigeschaltet habt. Zusätzlich gibt es für all diejenigen, die sich durch den Story-Modus gekämpft haben, noch den Madness-Modus, der noch viel schwierigere und fast unmöglich zu schaffende Herausforderungen bereithält.

Infobox

Spielerzahl: 1
Alter: ab 6 (USK)
Schwierigkeit: mittel bis schwer
Langzeitmotivation: hoch

Publisher: Ignition Publishing
Entwickler: Caracal Studios
Erscheinungsjahr: 2020
Plattformen: PC, Nintendo Switch, Xbox One
Sprachen: Englisch, Deutsch, Italienisch, Spanisch, Französisch
Kosten: 17,99 Euro

Fazit

Spiele wie OkunoKA Madness leben von ihrer perfekten Steuerbarkeit, bei der Handlungen im Spiel schnell auf Befehl der Eingaben umgesetzt werden. Verzögerungen sind fehl am Platz und es gibt sich auch nur selten: Die PC-Version des Spiels ist nahezu optimal angepasst. Ka steuert sich geschmeidig und reagiert direkt auf die Befehle des Spielers. Frustmomente kamen nicht aufgrund der Bedienbarkeit zustande, sondern weil die Herausfroderungen in einigen Passagen fast zu hoch zu sein schein. Das ärgert und motiviert: Unser tollpatschiges und zu hektisches Verhalten hat uns immer wieder in den Tod gestürzt.

OkunoKA Madness ist kein Spiel für jedermann, die Zielgruppe für dieses Titel ist ziemlich eng umgrenzt: Spieler, die leidensfähig und reaktionsschnell sind und einen Hang zu teils enormen Herausforderungen haben, werden vorrangig angesprochen. Doch auch jene Zwischen-Typen, denen die momentanen Jump ’n Run-Titel zu einfach sein sollten, finden mit Okunaka Madness sicher eine gute – und zwischendrin auch wieder eine schlechte – aber immerhin eine insgesamt spaßige Alternative zu herkömmlichen Hüpfspielen.


Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
Mario Kart Live: Home Circuit - Mario Mario Kart Live: Home Circuit - Mario * 84,99 EUR

 

Letzte Aktualisierung am 17.10.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API