The Elder Scrolls 6 will be released exclusively for PC and Xbox. Xbox boss Phil Spencer has now made it clear that this restriction should not penalize other platforms - instead, they want to reflect on the strengths of Xbox.  

After Microsoft took over ZeniMax, there was little doubt that The Elder Scrolls 6 would also be released for non-Microsoft platforms. Fans thought the exclusivity was extremely unlikely. Microsoft should teach skeptics better.

The Elder Scrolls 6: PC and Xbox only

The Elder Scrolls 6 will be available exclusively for PC and Xbox, making it undoubtedly one of the most popular exclusive titles of all time. So far there have been some series that were assigned to specific platforms - but this has not yet been the case for role-playing games in the Elder Scrolls series. With the latest part that will - for some fans - change dramatically.

When asked about the exclusivity, Xbox boss Phil Spencer made it clear that the decision was not about punishing a platform. Instead, they want to focus more on strengthening the Xbox inwardly. So it was a question of weighing up the risks. Spencer assumes that all platforms will grow, but they will also want to achieve the best possible result for the Xbox. The console is strengthened by other Bethesda titles, such as Starfield, which will be released much earlier than The Elder Scrolls 6.

At the beginning of the year, Todd Howard made it clear that the next part of the Elder Scrolls series is still in a design phase. It should be years before The Elder Scrolls 6 actually appears.

The exclusivity of such a strong triple A title sends a clear signal - and in the worst case scenario, it could result in a rat tail. If the plan works, console manufacturers could rely more than ever on exclusive titles in the future. Fans might then have to rethink their console purchases more intensively or take a multi-track approach. What the future will actually look like in this area is, however, uncertain. The Elder Scrolls 6 has been a kind of special case so far.


Author

Last updated on 5.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

The Elder Scrolls 6 wird exklusiv für PC und Xbox erscheinen. Xbox-Chef Phil Spencer stellte nun klar, dass diese Beschränkung nicht andere Plattformen abstrafen soll – stattdessen wolle man sich so auf die Stärken der Xbox besinnen.  

Nach der Übernahme von ZeniMax durch Microsoft gab es kaum einen Zweifel daran, dass The Elder Scrolls 6 auch für Nicht-Microsoft-Plattformen erscheinen würde. Fans hielten die Exklusivität für enorm unwahrscheinlich. Microsoft sollte Skeptiker eines Besseren belehren.

The Elder Scrolls 6: Nur für PC und Xbox

The Elder Scrolls 6 wird ausschließlich für PC sowie für Xbox erscheinen und damit zweifellos einer der zugkräftigsten Exklusivtitel aller Zeiten sein. Bislang gab es einige Serien, die bestimmten Plattformen zu geordnet waren – für Rollenspiele der Elder-Scrolls-Serie galt das bislang aber nicht. Mit dem neuesten Teil wird sich das – für einige Fans – dramatisch ändern.

Xbox-Chef Phil Spencer stellte, angesprochen auf die Exklusivität, klar, dass es bei der Entscheidung nicht darum gegangen sei, eine Plattform abzustrafen. Stattdessen wolle man sich mehr darauf konzentrieren, die Xbox nach Innen gerichtet zu stärken. Es ging also um eine Risikoabwägung. Spencer geht davon aus, dass alle Plattformen wachsen werden, allerdings wird man auch für die Xbox das bestmöglich Resultat erzielen wollen. Gestärkt wird die Konsole durch weitere Bethesda-Titel, so etwa Starfield, das deutlich früher als The Elder Scrolls 6 erscheinen wird.

Anfang des Jahres hatte Todd Howard deutlich gemacht, dass der nächste Teil der Elder-Scrolls-Reihe sich noch in einer Design-Phase befindet. Es dürften damit noch Jahre vergehen, bis The Elder Scrolls 6 dann tatsächlich erscheint.

Die Exklusivität eines derart starken Triple-A-Titels sendet ein deutliches Signal – und es könnte im schlimmsten Fall einen Rattenschwanz nach sich ziehen. Geht der Plan auf, könnten Konsolenhersteller zukünftig stärker denn je auf Exklusivtitel setzen. Fans müssten ihren Konsolenkäufe dann möglicherweise intensiver überdenken oder mehrgleisig fahren. Wie die Zukunft in diesem Bereich tatsächlich aussehen wird, ist allerdings ungewiss. The Elder Scrolls 6 ist bislang eine Art Sonderfall.


Letzte Aktualisierung am 29.11.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API