The MMORPG The Elder Scrolls Online has now reached 18 million players, Zenimax boss Matt Firor announced in a discussion on the acquisition of Bethesda by Microsoft. The online role-playing game is back around seven years after its launch with an impressive milestone.


The MMO The Elder Scrolls Online runs almost under the radar. If you think of modern multiplayer online role-playing games, you first have the genre leader World of Warcraft in mind, then Final Fantasy 14 and then - initially nothing. Bethesda Werk is extremely successful as an MMORPG based on the popular Elder Scrolls series. As has now emerged from a discussion round, the game has exceeded the mark of 18 million players. Even more impressive: In 2020 alone, the title was able to motivate around three million players to take a trip through Tamriel.

TESO: bumpy start, strong revival

The Elder Scrolls Online was released in April 2014. That was almost exactly seven years ago - and thanks to extensive changes, “TESO” is stronger than ever before. The start was bumpy and problematic, the motivation quickly disappeared back then. However, Zenimax Online never gave up on the game - and that ultimately paid off.

The Elder Scrolls not only made the leap to the Playstation 4 and Xbox One X, but also produced several expansions and countless DLCs. As with other MMOs, the central questions are: Can you even start now, seven years after the initial release? The answer: yes! Starting today is much more attractive, because thanks to “One Tamriel” you can play wherever you want from the start - and, especially with The Elder Scrolls online, you can also play wherever you want. Although TESO is a real MMORPG, you can go completely alone as a player. Enjoying the online game as a kind of server-based solo role-playing game is no problem.

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

One thing has not changed: The Elder Scrolls Online still shines primarily with good stories and quests and not every part with good gameplay, although the developers have also been active on this construction site in recent years.

The journey is far from over: In June, a new chapter will appear with “Blackwood”, the DLC “Flames of Ambition” heralds the adventure “Gates of Oblivion”. At this point, too, the question of joining the MMO can be answered in the affirmative: If there is an opportunity for newcomers, it is now.

The Elder Scrolls Online is available for PC, Playstation 4 and Xbox One. In addition, the game will also receive upgrade versions for Playstation 5 and Xbox Series X | S, but there is no release date for it.

Source: Bethesda / Youtube


Author

Last updated on 3.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Das MMORPG The Elder Scrolls Online hat inzwischen 18 Millionen Spieler erreicht, das hatte Zenimax-Chef Matt Firor in einer Diskussionsrunde zum Bethesda-Erwerb durch Microsoft bekanntgegeben. Das Online-Rollenspiel meldet sich damit rund sieben Jahre nach seinem Start mit einem eindrucksvollen Meilenstein zurück.


Fast unter dem Radar läuft das MMO The Elder Scrolls Online. Wer an moderne Multiplayer-Online-Rollenspiele denkt, hat zunächst den Genre-Primus World of Warcraft vor Augen, anschließend Final Fantasy 14 und dann – erstmal nichts. Dabei ist Bethesda Werk auf Grundlage der populären Elder-Scrolls-Reihe auch als MMORPG überaus erfolgreich. Wie nun aus einer Diskussionsrunde hervorging, hat das Spiel die Marke von 18 Millionen Spielern überschritten. Noch eindrucksvoller: Allein im Jahr 2020 konnte der Titel rund drei Millionen Spieler zu einem Ausflug durch Tamriel motivieren.

TESO: Holpriger Start, starkes Revival

Im April 2014 erschien The Elder Scrolls Online. Das ist jetzt fast genau sieben Jahr her – und „TESO“ präsentiert sich dank umfangreicher Änderungen so stark wie niemals zuvor. Der Start war holprig und problembehaftet, die Motivation damals schnell verschwunden. Aufgegeben hatte Zenimax Online das Spiel jedoch nie – und genau das zahlte sich letztendlich aus.

So schaffte The Elder Scrolls nicht nur den Sprung auf die Playstation 4 und Xbox One X, sondern brachte mehrere Erweiterungen sowie unzählige DLCs hervor. Wie auch bei anderen MMOs stellt sich die zentralen Fragen: Kann man jetzt, sieben Jahre nach dem Erst-Release, überhaupt noch anfangen? Die Antwort: Ja! Der Einstieg ist heute deutlich attraktiver, denn dank „One Tamriel“ kann man von Beginn an spielen, wo man möchte – und, das ist besonders bei The Elder Scrolls online, auch wie man möchte. Obwohl TESO ein waschechtes MMORPG ist, kann man als Spieler auch völlig alleine losziehen. Das Online-Spiel dann als eine Art servergebundenes Solo-Rollenspiel zu genießen, ist kein Problem.

YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Eines hat sich weniger verändert: The Elder Scrolls Online glänzt immer noch vorrangig durch gute Geschichten und Quests und nicht an jeder Stelle durch gutes Gameplay, obwohl die Entwickler auch auf dieser Baustelle aktiv gewesen sind in den vergangenen Jahren.

Zu einem Ende gekommen ist die Reise übrigens noch lange nicht: Im Juni erscheint mit „Blackwood“ ein neues Kapitel, der DLC „Flames of Ambition“ läutet vorher noch die Abenteuer „Tore von Oblivion“ ein. Auch an dieser Stelle kann man die Frage nach einem Einstieg in das MMO bejahen: Wenn sich eine Chance für Neueinsteiger auftut, dann jetzt.

Schon gewusst?  Tenet ist aktuell günstig auf Amazon Prime verfügbar

The Elder Scrolls Online ist erhältlich für PC, Playstation 4 und Xbox One. Zudem soll das Spiel auch Upgrade-Versionen für Playstation 5 und Xbox Series X|S erhalten, ein Release-Datum dafür gibt es aber nicht.

Quelle: Bethesda/Youtube


Letzte Aktualisierung am 15.04.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API