The Kennerspiel The Hunger by successful author Richard Garfield skillfully combines deck building and a race against time into a fresh, new gaming experience. Interested parties can get to know the title at a free organized play event in specialist shops and get a few promos right away.

The Kennerspiel The Hunger by Richard Garfield (Magic the Gathering, King of Tokyo/New York) arrived at the Pegasus Games Warehouse at the end of June. Almost a month earlier than originally planned, fans of deck building games, vampires and/or Richard Garfield can embark on this nocturnal adventure.

Board game about bloodthirsty vampires

As bloodthirsty vampires, you have to hunt people in the mountains, plains and forests as well as on the water and collect as many blood points as possible. However, the more the vampires drink, the slower they become as they move across the landscape, as all hunted humans go into their own deck and only rarely grant the vampires movement points for the turn.

Instead of hunting humans, vampires can gain mates that bring them lasting benefits. They can also acquire new abilities via vampire cards, choose hunting targets that bring them additional points at the end of the game, or collect treasures. Some might even dare to make their way to the maze at the end of the track and pick one of the rare, night-blooming roses that vampires are particularly fascinated by. So there is a lot to do.

But be careful: The night ends after only 15 rounds and who is not back in the castle - or at least in the cemetery - burns to ashes. Then all accumulated Blood Points will be forfeited. Alternatively, you can also play on the back of the game board, then the vampires are safe again from the rising sun in the mountains. This variant is particularly suitable for newcomers.

Interested parties who would like to try The Hunger will have the opportunity to do so thanks to an organized play event in specialist shops over the next few months. Everyone who takes part in Organized Play will receive a set of six starting cards as a participation goodie, each of which replaces one of the normal vampire starting cards from the base game. There is also a copy of the "Golden Rose", a particularly valuable card, for the winner of an organized play game.

No prior knowledge is required to play along. All dates for The Hunger's Organized Play can be found here: www.pegasus.de/the-hunger-events

According to Pegasus Spiele, there will be further promo cards with the next editions of the game box and the ring messenger as well as at events at the publisher's stand. Only the first edition also includes four promo cards.

The Hunger is a connoisseur's game for two to six players aged ten and up and lasts around 45 to 90 minutes per game. The suggested retail price is EUR 49,99.

Preview Product Rating Price
Pegasus Games 51115G The Hunger Pegasus Games 51115G The Hunger * 39,99 EUR

Author

Last updated on 17.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Das Kennerspiel The Hunger von Erfolgsautor Richard Garfield kombiniert Deckbau und Wettlauf gegen die Zeit geschickt zu einem frischen, neuen Spielerlebnis. Interessierte können den Titel bei einem kostenlosen Organized-Play-Event im Fachhandel kennenlernen und dabei direkt ein paar Promos absahnen.

Bereits Ende Juni ist das Kennerspiel The Hunger von Richard Garfield (Magic the Gathering, King of Tokyo/New York) im Pegasus Spiele Lager eingetroffen. Fast einen Monat früher als ursprünglich geplant dürfen sich Fans von Deckbauspielen, Vampiren und/oder Richard Garfield so ins nächtliche Abenteuer stürzen.

Brettspiel um blutdurstige Vampire

Als blutdurstige Vampire gilt es, Menschen in Gebirge, Ebene und Wald sowie auf dem Wasser zu jagen und dadurch möglichst viele Blutpunkte zu sammeln. Doch je mehr die Vampire trinken, desto langsamer werden sie auch, während sie sich über die Landschaft bewegen, denn alle gejagten Menschen kommen in das eigene Kartendeck und gewähren den Vampiren nur selten Bewegungspunkte für die Runde.

Statt Menschen zu jagen, können Vampire aber auch Gefährtinnen gewinnen, die ihnen dauerhafte Vorteile bringen. Sie können zudem über Vampirkarten neue Fähigkeiten erlangen, Jagdziele wählen, die ihnen am Spielende zusätzliche Punkte bringen, oder Schätze einsammeln. Manche wagen es vielleicht sogar, sich bis zum Labyrinth am Ende der Strecke durchzuschlagen und eine der seltenen, nachtblühenden Rosen zu pflücken, die die Vampire besonders faszinieren. Es gibt also viel zu tun.

Doch Vorsicht ist geboten: Die Nacht endet nach nur 15 Runden und wer dann nicht zurück im Schloss ist – oder zumindest auf dem Friedhof – verbrennt zu Asche. Dann verfallen alle gesammelten Blutpunkte. Alternativ kann auch auf der Rückseite des Spielplans gespielt werden, dann sind die Vampire schon in den Bergen wieder sicher vor der aufgehenden Sonne. Diese Variante eignet sich besonders für Neulinge.

Interessierte, die The Hunger gerne einmal ausprobieren möchten, haben dazu dank eines Organized Play Events im Fachhandel in den nächsten Monaten die Gelegenheit. Alle Personen, die beim Organized Play mitmachen, erhalten als Teilnahme-Goodie ein Set aus sechs Startkarten, die jeweils eine der normalen Startkarten der Vampire aus dem Grundspiel ersetzen. Für den Gewinner einer Organized Play Partie gibt es zudem ein Exemplar der „Goldenen Rose“, einer besonders wertvollen Karte.

Zum Mitspielen werden keine Vorkenntnisse benötigt. Alle Termine für das Organized Play von The Hunger gibt es hier: www.pegasus.de/the-hunger-events

Weitere Promokarten wird es laut Pegasus Spiele mit den nächsten Ausgaben der Spielbox und des Ringboten geben sowie auf Events am Stand des Verlags. Nur in der ersten Auflage sind überdies auch direkt vier Promokarten enthalten.

The Hunger ist ein Kennerspiel für zwei bis sechs Personen ab zehn Jahren und dauert pro Partie ca. 45 bis 90 Minuten. Die unverbindliche Preisempfehlung liegt bei 49,99 Euro.

Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
Pegasus Spiele 51115G The Hunger Pegasus Spiele 51115G The Hunger * Aktuell keine Bewertungen 39,99 EUR

Autor

Letzte Aktualisierung am 3.08.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API