According to the company, the toy manufacturer Tonies recorded an “extraordinarily high” demand and achieved total sales of around EUR 2021 million in the past 185 financial year. In 2020 it was 135 million euros.

In addition to a continued very strong business development in DACH, the growth came in particular from a very successful internationalization. Around 19 percent of total sales were generated internationally.

All markets developed above plan. Especially in the USA, the large selection of Tonies Audio figures won over US customers in record time. In the first full financial year, extraordinarily high sales of EUR 20m were generated in the USA, while sales in the rest of Europe (especially France and the UK) reached EUR 15m.

No loss of production thanks to “second source”

Despite the Covid-related volatile situation on the procurement markets (limited
availability of raw materials and logistics services), thanks to its "Second Source" strategy, tonies has succeeded in significantly increasing sales in 2021 by 37 percent compared to the previous year without loss of production and at the same time increasing production output.

According to the company, the adj. EBITDA margin will be in the negative mid to high single-digit range due to the challenges in the procurement market and in logistics. The corona pandemic continues to lead to forecast uncertainties. It is difficult to predict whether and how the current and future developments will affect the individual regions.

“The growth of tonies SE accelerated again in the 2021 financial year. We have grown significantly above plan and above the previous year's growth. We are still pleased about the extraordinarily high demand for Tonieboxes and Tonies audio figures in all markets. Our internationalization is proceeding with a strong momentum and continues to pick up momentum. We are particularly pleased with the development in the USA, where we only started in September 2020 during the corona pandemic and are already seeing stronger business development compared to the start in the DACH region at the time," says Co-CEO Marcus Stahl and explains: " Like all other market participants, we are feeling tensions in the raw materials and logistics markets due to the consequences of the corona pandemic, but at the same time, thanks to our successful "Second Source" strategy, we were able to guarantee the availability of the products for the whole of 2021 and even the exceptionally strong demand operate in the 4th quarter. We look to 2022 with confidence.”

"Our range of Tonieboxes with a large selection of Tonies Audio figures convinces customers in all markets. The fact that we have constantly expanded our portfolio with licenses for well-known brands such as Sesame Street, Pippi Longstocking, Paw Patrol and our tonies Originals series has made a significant contribution to this. Our customers can also look forward to great highlights in 2022,” adds Patric Faßbender, Co-CEO.

tonies confirms the planned strong growth to EUR 2022 million for the 250 financial year.
Sales for the entire group and EUR 52 million for the USA and assumes a slight
improved Adj. EBITDA margin compared to the previous year, subject to the further development of the global consumer climate and the procurement markets.

The final figures will be published together with the tonies SE annual report on April 28, 2022.


Author

Last updated on 4.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Der Spielwarenhersteller Tonies verzeichnete nach Unternehmensangaben eine “außergewöhnlich hohe” Nachfrage und erzielte im abgelaufenen Geschäftsjahr 2021 einen Gesamtumsatz von ca. 185 Mio. Euro. 2020 waren es 135 Mio. Euro.

Neben einer weiterhin sehr starken Geschäftsentwicklung in DACH, kam das Wachstum insbesondere aus einer sehr erfolgreichen Internationalisierung. Rund 19 Prozent des gesamten Umsatzes wurde international erwirtschaftet.

Alle Märkte entwickelten sich über Plan. Besonders in den USA überzeugte die große Auswahl an Tonies Audio-Figuren die US-Kunden in Rekordzeit. Im ersten vollen Geschäftsjahr konnten in den USA daher außergewöhnlich hohe Umsätze von EUR 20m erwirtschaftet werden, der Umsatz in Rest of Europe (vor allem Frankreich und UK) erreichte EUR 15 Mio.

Ohne Produktionsausfall dank “Second source”

Trotz der Covid-bedingten volatilen Situation auf den Beschaffungsmärkten (eingeschränkter
Verfügbarkeit von Rohmaterial und Logistikleistungen), ist es tonies dank ihrer “Second Source”-Strategie gelungen, ohne Produktionsausfall bei gleichzeitiger Steigerung der Produktionsleistung den Umsatz in 2021 mit  plus 37 Prozent gegenüber dem Vorjahr deutlich zu steigern.

Die Adj. EBITDA Marge wird laut Unternehmen auf Grund der Herausforderungen im Beschaffungsmarkt und in der Logistik im negativen mittleren bis hohen einstelligen Bereich liegen. Die Corona-Pandemie führt weiter zu Prognoseunsicherheiten. Es sei nur schwierig absehbar, ob und wie sich die aktuellen und künftigen Entwicklungen in den einzelnen Regionen auswirken.

“Das Wachstum der tonies SE hat sich im Geschäftsjahr 2021 noch einmal beschleunigt. Wir sind erheblich über Plan- und über Vorjahreswachstum gewachsen. Wir freuen uns weiterhin über eine außergewöhnlich hohe Nachfrage nach Tonieboxen und Tonies Audio-Figuren in allen Märkten. Unsere Internationalisierung verläuft mit einem starken Momentum und nimmt weiter erheblich an Fahrt auf. Besonders freut uns die Entwicklung in den USA, wo wir erst im September 2020 während der Corona-Pandemie gestartet sind und schon jetzt im Vergleich zum damaligen Start in der DACH Region eine stärkere Geschäftsentwicklung sehen”, sagt Co-CEO Marcus Stahl und erläutert: “Wir spüren zwar wie alle anderen Marktteilnehmer Anspannungen in den Rohstoff- und Logistikmärkten durch die Folgen der Corona-Pandemie, gleichzeitig konnten wir dank unserer erfolgreichen “Second Source” Strategie die Verfügbarkeit der Produkte für das gesamte Jahr 2021 gut gewährleisten und sogar die außergewöhnlich starke Nachfrage im 4. Quartal bedienen. Wir blicken voller Zuversicht auf das Jahr 2022.”

“Unser Angebot von Tonieboxen mit einer großen Auswahl an Tonies Audio-Figuren überzeugt Kunden in allen Märkten. Dazu hat maßgeblich beigetragen, dass wir unser Portfolio mit Lizenzen für bekannte Marken wie z.B. Sesamstraße, Pippi Langstrumpf, Paw Patrol und auch unsere tonies Originals Serie konstant weiter ausgebaut haben. Auch für 2022 dürfen sich unsere Kunden auf tolle Highlights freuen” ergänzt Patric Faßbender, Co-CEO.

Für das Geschäftsjahr 2022 bestätigt tonies das geplante, starke Wachstum auf EUR 250 Mio.
Umsatz für den Gesamtkonzern sowie EUR 52 Mio. für die USA und geht von einer leicht
verbesserten Adj. EBITDA Marge zum Vorjahr aus, jeweils vorbehaltlich der weiteren Entwicklung des globalen Konsumklimas und der Beschaffungsmärkte.

Die finalen Zahlen werden zusammen mit dem Geschäftsbericht von tonies SE am 28. April 2022 veröffentlicht.


Autor

Letzte Aktualisierung am 27.06.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API