Policeman, astronaut, firefighter, these were real dream jobs for young people. Other jobs are now at the top of the list among 16 to 24-year-olds: e-sports professional, for example. That was the result of a representative study by the survey company YouGov Germany. Even more surprising: even in the group of up to 34-year-olds, one in four can imagine earning their money with virtual sports. 


Almost every third young person dreams of an e-sports career: This is the result of a representative survey by YouGov Germany, which the Federal Game Association commissioned. According to the survey company, 2.034 people took part between October 26 and 29, and the results obtained are representative of the German population aged 16 and over.

Survey shows: e-athletes are role models

Instead of firefighter, astronaut, archaeologist or doctor, e-athletes are now in the top positions among the dream jobs. What sounds relaxed turns out to be a real tough job. Anyone who has ever seen a report about the life and daily work of esports professionals will be surprised that so many young people are emulating it. In fact, almost every third person between the ages of 16 and 24 dreams of a career as a professional e-athlete. At least that's what the results of the YouGov survey suggest. Wanting to turn your hobby into a job is not a modern desire. Because hobbies have changed over the decades, the image of a dream job has apparently also changed.

The Federal Association of the German Games Industry has commissioned the study, which has now brought surprising findings to light. 28 percent or 23 million of Germans admire the achievements of professionals in e-sports and 17,4 million see e-athletes as role models, according to one of the results derived from the survey data. It is hardly surprising that e-sports are particularly popular with young people. However, it is more surprising that virtual sport exerts such a strong attraction on significantly more adult players: there is also great interest in the group of 25 to 34-year-olds. One in four can imagine turning their hobby into a job.

The results strengthen the back of e-sports. Graphic: esports player foundation

The results strengthen the back of e-sports. Graphic: esports player foundation

Jörg Adami, managing director of the “E-Sports Player Foundation” (spelling: esports player foundation) sees dormant potential for virtual sport in the survey results. “E-athletes do great things and represent our country at international tournaments”. This means that they are real role models for many young people and young adults and that they are increasingly bearing more responsibility.

“Accordingly, our work not only focuses on improving playful skills but also on the personal development of the best talents. We are convinced that we can support players from Germany as best we can on their way to the top of the world ”, says Adami. The “E-Sports Player Foundation” was founded in January 2020 based on the model of Deutsche Sporthilfe. Its aim is to promote e-sports talents in Germany in a targeted manner and to accompany them on their way to the top of the world. The initiative aims to promote over 2021 talents by the end of 200, currently around 50.


Preview Product Rating Price
CYBERPUNK 2077 - Day 1 Edition CYBERPUNK 2077 - Day 1 Edition * 34,96 EUR

Author

Last updated on 3.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Polizist, Astronaut, Feuerwehrmann, das waren bei jungen Leuten echte Traumberufe. Inzwischen stehen andere Jobs bei den 16 bis 24-Jährigen an der Spitze der Liste: E-Sport-Profi zum Beispiel. Das hat jüngst eine repräsentative Studie des Umfrageunternehmens YouGov Deutschland ergeben. Noch überraschender: Sogar in der Gruppe der bis 34-Jährigen kann sich jeder Vierte vorstellen, dein Geld mit virtuellem Sport zu verdienen. 


Fast jeder dritte Jugendliche träumt von einer E-Sport-Karriere: Das ist das Ergebnis einer repräsentativen Umfrage von YouGov Deutschland, die der Bundesverband Game in Auftrag gegeben hat. 2.034 Personen nahmen laut Umfrageunternehmen zwischen dem 26. und 29. Oktober an teil, die ermittelten Ergebnisse seien repräsentativ für die deutsche Bevölkerung ab 16 Jahren.

Umfrage belegt: E-Sportler haben Vorbildfunktion

Statt Feuerwehrmann, Astronaut, Archäologe oder Arzt stehen nun E-Sportler auf Spitzenplätzen unter den Traumberufen. Was entspannt klingt, entpuppt kann sich allerdings als echter Knochenjob entpuppen. Wer jemals eine Reportage über das Leben und die täglich Arbeit von E-Sport-Profis gesehen hat, wird überrascht sein, dass so viele Jugendliche dem nacheifern. Tatsächlich träumt nahezu jeder Dritte im Alter von 16 bis 24 Jahren von einer Karriere als professioneller E-Sportler. Da legen zumindest die Ergebnisse auf der YouGov-Umfrage nahe. Das Hobby zum Beruf machen zu wollen, ist kein neuzeitlicher Wunsch. Weil sich die Hobbys im Laufe der Jahrzehnte gewandelt haben, hat sich scheinbar auch das Bild von einem Traumberuf verändert.

Der Bundesverband der deutschen Games-Branche e.V. hat die Studie in Auftrag gegeben, die nun überraschende Erkenntnisse zutage gefördert hat. 28 Prozent oder 23 Millionen der Deutschen bewundern die Leistungen der Profis im E-Sport und 17,4 Millionen sehen in E-Sportlern Vorbilder, so lautet eines der aus den Umfragedaten abgeleiteten Ergebnissen. Dass E-Sport vor allem bei Jugendlichen beliebt ist, ist wenig überraschend. Dass der virtuelle Sport einen derart starken Reiz auf deutlich erwachsenere Spieler ausübt, verwundert hingegen mehr: In der Gruppe der 25- bis 34-Jährigen ist das Interesse ebenfalls groß. Jeder Vierte kann sich vorstellen, sein Hobby zum Beruf zu machen.

Die Ergebnisse stärken dem E-Sport den Rücken. Grafik: esports player foundation

Die Ergebnisse stärken dem E-Sport den Rücken. Grafik: esports player foundation

Jörg Adami, Geschäftsführer der “E-Sports Player Foundation” (Eigenschreibweise: esports player foundation) sieht in den Umfrageergebnissen schlummerndes Potenzial für den virtuellen Sport. “E-Sportler leisten Großartiges und repräsentieren unser Land auf internationalen Turnieren”. Damit seien sie für viele Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene echte Vorbilder und trügen so zunehmend mehr Verantwortung.

“Entsprechend hat unsere Arbeit nicht nur die Verbesserung der spielerischen Skills sondern auch die Persönlichkeitsentwicklung der besten Talente im Blick. Wir sind überzeugt, dass wir Spielerinnen und Spieler aus Deutschland so bestmöglich auf ihrem Weg an die Weltspitze unterstützen können.”, meint Adami. Die “E-Sports Player Foundation” wurde im Januar 2020 nach dem Vorbild der Deutschen Sporthilfe gegründet. Ihr Ziel ist es, E-Sport-Talente in Deutschland gezielt zu fördern und sie auf dem Weg an die Weltspitze zu begleiten. Bis Ende 2021 will die Initiative über 200 Talente fördern, derzeit sind es rund 50.


Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
CYBERPUNK 2077 - Day 1 Edition CYBERPUNK 2077 - Day 1 Edition * 46,99 EUR

Letzte Aktualisierung am 5.12.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API