Twilight Imperium: Inscription will be a roll and write game based on the universe of the 4X space board game Twilight Imperium. This was announced by Fantasy Flight Games in a stream for the brand's 25th birthday. The dice game should also contain 4X elements - explore, expand, exploit and exterminate.

Fantasy Flight Games had a surprise in store for the birthday of the board game Twilight Imperium. The game universe will be expanded to include a roll and write game - and should therefore automatically open up to players who like the trappings of Twilight: Imperium, but regularly struggle with the length of the board game games.

Twilight Imperium: Inscription will be "epic".

However, Twilight Imperium: Inscription doesn't seem to be that simple either, at least "epic" and the biggest roll and write game ever. That's what the author of the title, James Kniffen, promised. He had previously created games like Civilization: A New Dawn or News Angeles and was involved in Star Wars: Armada. Kniffen is therefore very familiar with the topic of space - good prerequisites for being able to implement a space dice game in an atmospheric way.

Why did you have to develop such a dice game for Twilight Imperium? The answer is simpler than expected: There simply hadn't been a new title in the Twilight universe for many years and they love "Roll and Writes" anyway. However, fans of Twilight Imperium: Inscription don't have to do without the 4X concept of the base game entirely - the spin-off should at least use it rudimentarily.

No further details were revealed in the anniversary stream. It is therefore unclear exactly how the dice game is supposed to work. At least some hints had been made at Fantasy Flight Games: Players will explore the galaxy and have to take control of planets in order to develop them and build a functioning economic cycle there. Play happily side by side? That too will only happen to a limited extent with Twilight Imperium: Inscription. Acts of war have already been announced - the template is apparently being followed closely.

Twilight Imperium is considered a classic, masterpiece and expert game with tactical demands. The 4X board game, published in this country by Asmodee Germany, has undergone a revision with the fourth edition not too long ago. In the scene, Twilight Imperium is considered one of the best board games ever, in the sub-genre of strategy games the weighting of the title in terms of its qualities is much higher. The game is written by Dane Beltrami, Corey Konieczka and Christian T. Petersen. In the tactical board game, players take control of a people and direct their fortunes - ultimately with a sober goal: the aim is to collect ten victory points. The focus of Twilight Imperium, however, is the way there, which is peppered with countless decisions, many of them with far-reaching consequences.

However, there is no release date for Twilight Imperium: Inscription yet. Fans have to be patient. Fantasy Flight Games wants to publish more information “soon”, then possibly also about the previously unknown price range for the roll and write game.

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

Author

Last updated on 20.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Twilight Imperium: Inscription wird ein Roll and Write-Spiel auf Basis des Universums des 4X-Space-Brettspiels Twilight Imperium. Das kündigte Fantasy Flight Games in einem Stream zum 25. Geburtstag der Marke an. Auch in dem Würfelspiel sollen 4X-Elemente – explore, expand, exploit und exterminate – enthalten sein.

Fantasy Flight Games hatte zum Geburtstag des Brettspiels Twilight Imperium eine Überraschung im Gepäck. Das Spieluniversum wird um ein Roll and Write-Spiel erweitert – und dürfte sich damit automatisch auch für Spieler öffnen, die zwar das Drumherum von Twilight: Imperium mögen, mit der Länge der Brettspielpartien jedoch regelmäßig hadern.

Twilight Imperium: Inscription soll “episch” werden

Ganz so simpel scheint allerdings auch Twilight Imperium: Inscription nicht zu werden, mindestens “episch” nämlich und das größte Roll and Write-Spiel überhaupt. Das versprach der Autor des Titel, James Kniffen. Er hatte zuvor Spiele we Civilization: A New Dawn oder News Angeles erdacht und war an Star Wars: Armada beteiligt. Mit dem Thema Weltraum kennt Kniffen sich daher bestens aus – gute Voraussetzungen, um ein Space-Würfelspiel stimmungsvoll umsetzen zu können.

Warum man ausgerechnet für Twilight Imperium ein solches Würfelspiel entwickeln musste? Die Antwort ist simpler als vermutet: Es hatte einfach seit vielen Jahren keinen neuen Titel mehr im Twilight-Universum gegeben und ohnehin lieben sie “Roll and Writes”. Ganz verzichten müssen Fans allerdings auch bei Twilight Imperium: Inscription nicht auf das 4X-Konzept des Grundspiels – das Spin-Off soll zumindest rudimentär darauf zurückgreifen.

Weitere Details hatte man im Jubiläums-Stream nicht verraten. Unklar ist daher, wie das Würfelspiel genau ablaufen soll. Immerhin einige Andeutungen hatte man bei Fantasy Flight Games gemacht: Spieler werden die Galaxis erkunden und die Kontrolle über Planeten übernehmen müssen, um diese zu entwickeln und dort einen funktionierende Wirtschaftskreislauf aufzubauen. Fröhlich nebeneinander spielen? Auch das wird bei Twilight Imperium: Inscription nur bedingt passieren. Kriegshandlungen sind bereits angekündigt – man hält sich offenbar eng an die Vorlage.

Twilight Imperium gilt als Klassiker, Meisterwerk und Expertenspiel mit taktischem Anspruch. Das 4X-Brettspiel, hierzulande erschienen über Asmodee Deutschland, hat mit der vierten Edition vor nicht allzu langer Zeit eine Überarbeitung erfahren. In der Szene gilt Twilight Imperium als eines der besten Brettspiele überhaupt, im Sub-Genre der Strategiespiele ist die Gewichtung des Titels bezüglich seiner Qualitäten ungleich höher. Hinter dem Spiel stecken die Autoren Dane Beltrami, Corey Konieczka und Christian T. Petersen. Spieler übernehmen in dem Taktik-Brettspiel die Kontrolle über ein Volk und lenken dessen Geschicke – letztendlich mit nüchternem Ziel: es geht darum zehn Siegpunkte zu sammeln. Im Fokus steht bei Twilight Imperium allerdings der Weg dorthin, der ist gespickt mit unzähligen Entscheidungen, viele davon mit Tragweite.

Ein Veröffentlichungsdatum für Twilight Imperium: Inscription gibt es indes noch nicht. Fans müssen sich gedulden. Fantasy Flight Games will “bald” weitere Informationen veröffentlichen, dann möglicherweise auch zu dem bislang unbekannten preislichen Rahmen für das Roll and Write-Spiel.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Autor

Letzte Aktualisierung am 28.05.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API