Dragonflight is the name of the new expansion for World of Warcraft. Blizzard literally let the dragons out of the bag as part of a reveal event and shared a lot of information about the now ninth WoW expansion with the fans right after the announcement. Particularly exciting: there will be a new class with the caller of the Dracthyr. 

World of Warcraft has quite a long history now. In 2004, the then revolutionary MMORPG was released in the United States, among other places. A few months later - in February 2005 - fans from Europe could also plunge into a bulky but story-rich adventure. In 2009, World of Warcraft received its entry in the Guinness Book of World Records as the most popular multiplayer online role-playing game. It shouldn't be the only record for the fantasy MMO. "WoW" became a financial success, generating over ten billion US dollars in sales for Blizzard Entertainment in its first eight years on the market. Later, the MMO became part free-2-play to further expand the player base. In the meantime, World of Warcraft has become a family phenomenon: it is not uncommon for partners to play it together, some of them only met through WoW, parents experience adventures with their children, grandparents with their grandchildren. 

Since the release of the basic version, the developers have provided constant supplies – sometimes more, sometimes less good. It was followed by The Burning Crusade (2007), Wrath of the Lich King (2008), Cataclysm (2010), Mists of Pandaria (2012), Warlords of Draenor (2014), Legion (2016), Battle for Azeroth (2018) and most recently Shadowlands (2020) - and it's not over yet, that was clear for a long time. World of Warcraft: Dragonflight will be the ninth expansion. 

World of Warcraft: Dragonflight officially revealed

As part of a streaming event, Blizzard has finally officially unveiled the new expansion World of Warcraft: Dragonflight. It took a few minutes for the dragons in the Reveal trailer to finally flicker across the screen. Then it was finally clear: players are returning to Azeroth – more precisely: to the Dragon Islands.

Blizzard was not stingy with information about World of Warcraft: Dragonflight, which suggests that development is already well advanced. There has long been more than just a basic framework, the developers left no doubt about that. The cinematic trailer is already making you want more - especially because there will be a lot going on in the world of warfare:

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

Caller of the Dracthyr: New class

The focus of the ninth expansion is not only new zones or minor revisions, but this time a new class. The highlight is currently being celebrated by fans, because the callers of the Dracthyr are at least unusual and start conceptually where Blizzard stopped with the worgen: There is a humanoid and a dragon shape – each with cosmetic adjustments. The latter are not only rudimentary, but quite comprehensive. Skin tones, headdresses, faces - all of this can be adjusted separately. There will also have to be a new class color: Apparently, Blizzard has chosen a dark green for it. 

The great thing about the Callers of the Dracthyr in World of Warcraft: Dragonflight is that the class will be tied directly to the people. This also means that class and race are woven directly into the story. 

The callers of the Dracthyr also have specializations, two in number. This is reminiscent of the demon hunter. Players with the release of World of Warcraft: Dragonflight can select:

  • Probation: This is the healing specialization of the Dracthyr Callers. They support their allies from afar in battle and provide buffs.
  • devastation: The Devastation specialization is the Damage-Sec in the Callers of the Dracthyr. Players use their claws to unleash dragon breath attacks on enemies. And preferably from a distance, since Ravagers are explicitly a ranged damage class. 

In both specializations, the callers of the Dracthyr wear chain mail, similar to the shaman. 

Speaking of story: Blizzard uses the birth trick to weave into the story for the callers of the Dracthyr. You've just woken up, don't really know anything and let the world and the events take effect on you. You experience - starting at level 58 similar to the death knight / demon hunter - the game world from the point of view of an ignoramus. A special questline introduces players to the world with their Dracthyr. In the end, Blizzard uses a well-known concept again: as with the pandaren, you decide for them side of the Horde or Alliance.   

The two factions will also be working together in World of Warcraft: Dragonflight, according to an IGN interview with Ion Hazzikostas and Steve Danuser.

Talent trees completely revised

For World of Warcraft: Dragonflight, Blizzard is planning a complete overhaul of the talent system. This is particularly surprising because you are thinking back to talent trees and thus to an actually old system. The antiquated talent tree trio will not simply be copied, but rather a comprehensive new concept will be used. Basically, there is only some basic information about it, the developers had not given any details – the idea has to be viewed with appropriate caution at the moment. 

The developers want to offer players more freedom in the playful design of their characters. There will be two talent trees each: a class tree and a specialization tree. There will therefore be a division between basic skills and utilities as well as special talents. This should result in different combinations. Changes will therefore be possible and in the currently possible frequency. You will manage your combinations in a menu, so you can save and name them and call them up again later.

Revision of professions

Blizzard is also targeting the professions system to make crafting a real pastime in World of Warcraft: Dragonflight. In any case, there should be big innovations. The focus could be on specializations: Players can thus rise to a master rank in their profession and develop a reputation as a skilled craftsman on a server. It is unclear exactly what that will ultimately look like. But the direction seems to be exactly right: crafting should play a much larger gameplay role than before. 

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

Dragon Islands: New Zones

With World of Warcraft: Dragonflight, players will level their characters up to level 70 in the Dragon Isle areas of Azeroth. There will be four game zones with the ninth expansion, plus the Forbidden Island off the coast of Dragon Island. This is the training ground for the Dracthyr:

  • The Azure Mountains
  • thaldraszus
  • The Plains of Ohn'ahra
  • The coast of adulthood

As usual, the zones will differ visually and thematically. In the Azure Mountains, for example, a popular race, the Tuskarr, plays a major role.  

The choice of game world for World of Warcraft: Dragonflight is interesting and offers the developers a chance to tell the story of World of Warcraft from a new perspective. With the expansion, players explore an area that is one of the oldest in Azeroth. Accordingly, the devs can approach the matter in a naïve manner in order to develop completely new stories and narrative threads - with great advantages for possible future expansions. In any case, legends and old miracles should play a major role. And the dragon island probably offers enough secrets. 

Of course, players will also explore new dungeons. This is the battle to retake Neltharus, the stronghold of the black dragonflight. Players can also explore previously hidden areas of Uldaman or defend the red dragonflight's life pools.

And raids? Blizzard has also planned something new there, because WoW would be unimaginable without raids. The ancient prison of the primeval incarnations is currently known. In it, players must thwart an attack against the Dragon Aspects.

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

dragon riding

With dragon riding, Blizzard is bringing a new feature right at the start of World of Warcraft: Dragonflight. The name of the addon says it all, which is not only clever, but also advantageous for players. Instead of having to laboriously ride through the quest areas for the release of World of Warcraft: Dragonflight, you will simply be able to fly.

With each character, the players get their own dragon, which can be strengthened and adjusted as the game progresses – here too, Blizzard focuses in particular on cosmetic options. According to the developers, millions of combinations should be possible here, so that one can actually speak of individualization. If you level up the dragon, new animations should also be possible for them. Dodge rolls and burst flights are among other move actions. You should also be able to fly through the cloud cover and then be able to pull contrails behind you.

Dragon riding can be adjusted in the course of the expansion with a separate skill tree in which runes can be used. It is already clear: the movement speed will be significantly higher than with current flight mounts. Blizzard has also made the zones correspondingly larger so that players can benefit from the advantages. The only downside: Dragon riding will be reserved for the Dragon Island. So posing in front of Stormwind with the kitted out dragon is not an option.

Further improvements

With the release of World of Warcraft: Dragonflight, not only big improvements will come into play, but also many small ones. One of the most obvious adjustments concerns the user interface. Because the ravages of time have clearly gnawed at the UI, the developers want to modernize and improve it. The mini-map is larger, but at the same time slimmed down. The same applies to the status benefits and the action area. Horde and Alliance will each have their own frames - so you want to take WoW to the next level with Dragonflight in terms of UI optics.

Die-hard fans have already beautified, streamlined or adapted their user interface with mods – the developers are taking this path with the new extension as a standard.

In any case, Blizzard also seems to lend a hand with the graphics quality or the level of detail of some models. Some clear improvements can be seen on the first screenshots.

World of Warcraft: Dragonflight Beta

Blizzard will offer a beta for World of Warcraft: Dragonflight. This isn't just vague information, it's a fact: you can sign up for the World of Warcraft: Dragonflight beta right now on the Register for the official website for the extension. "With a bit of luck" one is there, says Blizzard. On the website there is also more information about the new content, everything is presented interactively and in a colorful way.

World of Warcraft: Dragonflight release?

The developers have already answered many questions during the unveiling event, but by no means all. The question of the release of World of Warcraft: Dragonflight will probably interest players the most. Ironically, at this point, however, Blizzard stonewalls: One is currently reflecting on the “when it's ready” motto. There is currently no release date for World of Warcraft: Dragonflight.

If you want to watch the Reveal stream in its entirety:

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

Author

Last updated on 5.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Dragonflight heißt die neue Erweiterung für World of Warcraft. Blizzard in im Rahmen eines Reveal-Events wortwörtlich die Drachen aus dem Sack gelassen und direkt zur Ankündigung jede Menge Informationen über die inzwischen neunte WoW-Erweiterung mit den Fans geteilt. Besonders spannend: Es wird mit dem Rufer der Dracthyr eine neue Klasse geben. 

World of Warcraft hat inzwischen eine ziemlich lange Geschichte. Im Jahr 2004 erschien das damals revolutionäre MMORPG unter anderem in den Vereinigten Staaten, einige Monate später – im Februar 2005 – dürften auch Fans aus Europa sich in ein sperriges, aber geschichtenreiches Abenteuer stürzen. Im Jahr 2009 erhielt World of Warcraft seinen Eintrag in Guinness-Buch der Weltrekorde als beliebtestes Multiplayer-Online-Rollenspiel. Es sollte nicht der einzige Rekord für das Fantasy-MMO bleiben. “WoW” wurde zu einem finanziellen Erfolg, generierte bereits in den ersten acht Jahren am Markt über zehn Milliarden US-Dollar Umsatz für Blizzard Entertainment. Später wurde das MMO teils Free-2-play, um die Spielerbasis noch weiter zu vergrößern. Inzwischen ist World of Warcraft ein innerfamiliäres Phänomen: Nicht selten spielen Partner es zusammen, manche haben sich überhaupt erst über WoW kennengelernt, Eltern erleben Abenteuer mit ihren Kindern, Großeltern mit ihren Enkeln. 

Seit Erscheinen der Grundversion haben die Entwickler für beständigen – mal mehr, mal weniger guten – Nachschub gesorgt. Es folgten The Burning Crusade (2007), Wrath of the Lich King (2008), Cataclysm (2010), Mists of Pandaria (2012), Warlords of Draenor (2014), Legion (2016), Battle for Azeroth (2018) und zuletzt Shadowlands (2020) – und es ist noch nicht Schluss, das war längst klar. Mit World of Warcraft: Dragonflight wird die inzwischen neunte Erweiterung erscheinen. 

World of Warcraft: Dragonflight offiziell enthüllt

Im Rahmen eines Streaming-Events hat Blizzard die neue Erweiterung World of Warcraft: Dragonflight endlich offiziell enthüllt. Bis die Drachen im Reveal-Trailer endlich über den Bildschirm flimmerten, dauerte es einige Minuten. Dann endlich war klar: Spieler kehren zurück nach Azeroth – genauer: zu den Dracheninseln.

Blizzard geizte nicht mit Informationen zu World of Warcraft: Dragonflight, was darauf schließen lässt, dass die Entwicklung bereits fortgeschritten ist. Längst steht mehr als nur ein Grundgerüst, daran ließen die Entwickler keinen Zweifel. Der Cinematic-Trailer macht schon jetzt Lust auf Mehr – vor allem, weil sich auch spielerisch einiges tun wird in der Welt des Kriegshandwerks:

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Rufer der Dracthyr: Neue Klasse

Im Zentrum der neunten Erweiterung stehen nicht nur neue Zonen oder kleinere Überarbeitungen, sondern diesmal auch wieder eine neue Klasse. Das Highlight feiern Fans derzeit besonders ab, denn die Rufer der Dracthyr sind mindestens ungewöhnlich und setzen konzeptionell dort an, wo Blizzard mit den Worgen aufgehört hat: Es gibt eine humanoide und eine drachische Gestalt – jeweils mit kosmetischen Anpassungen. Letztere sind nicht nur rudimentär, sondern ziemlich umfassend. Hautfarben, Kopfschmuck, Gesichter – all das lässt sich anpassen und zwar separat. Auch eine neue Klassenfarbe wird es geben müssen: Offenbar hat Blizzard sich dafür ein dunkles Grün ausgesucht. 

Die große Besonderheit bei den Rufern der Dracthyr ist bei World of Warcraft: Dragonflight, dass die Klasse direkt an das Volk gebunden sein wird. Das bedeutet gleichzeitig, dass Klasse und Volk direkt in die Story eingewoben sind. 

Spezialisierungen haben die Rufer der Dracthyr auch, zwei an der Zahl. Das erinnert an den Dämonenjäger. Auswählen können Spieler mit Release von World of Warcraft: Dragonflight:

  • Bewahrung: Das ist die Heilspezialisierung der Rufer der Dracthyr. Sie unterstützen ihre Verbündeten aus der Ferne im Kampf und sorgen für Buffs.
  • Verheerung: Die Verheerungs-Spezialisierung ist der Damage-Sec bei den Rufern der Dracthyr. Spieler setzen ihre Klauen ein, und lassen Drachenatemangriffe auf die Gegner los. Und zwar vorzugsweise aus der Distanz, denn die Verheerer sind ausdrücklich eine Fernkampfschadensklasse. 

In beiden Spezialisierungen tragen die Rufer der Dracthyr Kettenrüstungen, ähnlich dem Schamanen also. 

Apropos Story: Blizzard nutzt für das Einweben in die Story für die Rufer der Dracthyr quasi den Geburtskniff. Man ist gerade erst erwacht, weiß eigentlich nichts und lässt die Welt und die Geschehnisse auf sich wirken. Man erlebt – mit Start auf Stufe 58 ähnlich dem Todesritter/Dämonenjäger – quasi die Spielwelt aus der Sicht eines Unkundigen. Eine spezielle Questreihe führt Spieler mit ihren Dracthyr in die Welt ein. Am Ende bedient sich Blizzard wieder eines bekannten Konzepts: wie bei den Pandaren entscheidet man sich für sie Seite der Horde oder Allianz.   

Die beiden Fraktionen werden übrigens in World of Warcraft: Dragonflight zusammenarbeiten, wie aus einem IGN-Interview mit Ion Hazzikostas und Steve Danuser hervorgeht.

Talentbäume komplett überarbeitet

Für World of Warcraft: Dragonflight plant Blizzard eine komplette Überarbeitung des Talentsystems. Das ist vor allem deshalb überraschend, weil man sich auf Talentbäume und damit auf ein eigentlich altes System zurückbesinnt. Einfach kopieren wird man dafür das antiquierte Talentbaum-Trio nicht, sondern auf eine umfassende Neukonzeption setzen. Im Grund gibt es dazu erst einige grundlegende Informationen, Details hatten die Entwickler nicht genannt – entsprechend vorsichtig muss man die Idee derzeit auch auffassen. 

Die Entwickler möchten Spielern mehr Freiheiten bei der spielerischen Ausgestaltung ihrer Charaktere bieten. Zwei Talentbäume wird es jeweils geben: einen Klassenbaum und einen Spezialisierungsbaum. Es wird demnach eine Unterteilung geben zwischen Grundfertigkeiten und Utilities sowie speziellen Talenten. Ergeben sollen sich dadurch verschiedene Kombinationen. Änderungen werden demnach möglich sein und zwar in der aktuell möglichen Frequenz. Seine Kombinationen wird man in einem Menü verwalten, also speichern und benennen und später wieder aufrufen können.

Überarbeitung der Berufe

Auch das Berufe-System nimmt Blizzard ins Visier um Crafting zu einem echten Zeitvertreib in World of Warcraft: Dragonflight zu machen. Jedenfalls soll es große Neuerungen geben. Im Fokus könnten dabei Spezialisierungen sein: Spieler können sich in ihrem Beruf somit quasi zu einem Meisterrang aufschwingen und sich einen Ruf als fähiger Handwerker auf einem Server erarbeiten. Unklar ist, wie genau das letztendlich aussehen wird. Die Richtung scheint aber genau richtig zu sein: Crafting soll eine deutlich größere Gameplay-Rolle einnehmen als bisher. 

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Dracheninseln: Neue Zonen

Mit World of Warcraft: Dragonflight werden Spieler ihre Charaktere bis zur Stufe 70 leveln und zwar in den Gebieten der Dracheninseln auf Azeroth. Vier Spielzonen wird es mit der neunten Erweiterung geben, hinzu kommt noch die Verbotene Insel vor der Küste der Dracheninsel. Es handelt sich dabei um das Trainingsgelände für die Dracthyr:

  • Das Azurblaue Gebirge
  • Thaldraszus
  • Die Ebenen von Ohn’ahra
  • Die Küste des Erwachsens

Wie ünlich werden sich die Zonen optisch und thematisch unterscheiden. Im Azurblauen Gebirge spielt beispielsweise mit den Tuskarr ein beliebtes Volk eine tragende Rolle.  

Die Wahl der Spielwelt für World of Warcraft: Dragonflight ist interessant und bietet den Entwicklern die Chance, die Geschichte von World of Warcraft aus einer neuen Perspektive zu erzählen. Mit der Erweiterung erkunden Spieler nämlich eine Ungebung, die zu den ältesten überhaupt in Azeroth gehört. Entsprechend unbedarft können die Devs an die Sache herangehen, um völlig neue Geschichten und Erzählstränge zu entwickeln – mit großen Vorteilen für mögliche kommende Erweiterungen. Legenden und alte Wunder sollen jedenfalls tragende Rollen spielen. Und Geheimnisse bieten die Dracheninsel vermutlich auch genug. 

Natürlich werden Spieler auch neue Dungeons erkunden. So geht es in den Kampf um die Rückeroberung von Neltharus, der Festung des schwarzen Drachenschwarms. Spieler erforschen zudem bisher verborgene Bereiche von Uldaman oder verteidigen die Lebensbecken des roten Drachenschwarms.

Und Raids? Auch da hat Blizzard Neues geplant, denn WoW ohne Raids wäre gar nicht vorstellbar. Bekannt ist derzeit das uralte Gefängnis der Inkarnationen der Urzeit. Spieler müssen darin einen Angriff gegen die Drachenaspekte vereiteln.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Drachenreiten

Mit dem Drachenreiten bringt Blizzard ein neues Feature direkt zum Start von World of Warcraft: Dragonflight. Der Name des Addons ist damit quasi Programm, was nicht nur clever ist, sondern auch vorteilhaft für Spieler. Statt mühsam zum Release von World of Warcraft: Dragonflight durch die Questgebiete reiten zu müssen, wird man einfach fliegen können.

Mit jedem Charakter erhalten die Spieler also einen eigenen Drachen, der sich im Verlauf des Spiels verstärken und anpassen lassen wird – auch hier sind es insbesondere kosmetische Optionen, auf die Blizzard einen Fokus setzt. Laut Entwicklern sollen hier Millionen von Kombinationen möglich sein, sodass man tatsächlich von einer Individualisierung sprechen kann. Wenn man die Drache auflevelt, sollen auch neue Animationen für sie möglich sein. Ausweichrollen und Burst-Flüge sind unter anderem Bewegungsaktionen. Auch durch die Wolkendecken soll man fliegen und dann Kondensstreifen hinter sich herziehen können.

Anpassen lassen wird sich das Drachenreiten im Verlauf der Erweiterung durch einen eigenen Skill-Tree, in den Runen eingesetzt werden können. Schon jetzt ist klar: die Bewegungsgeschwindigkeit wird deutlich höher sein als mit aktuellen Flugmounts. Entsprechend größer hat Blizzard auch die Zonen gestaltet, damit Spieler von den Vorteilen aus profitieren können. Einziger Wehrmutstropfen: Das Drachenreiten wird den Dracheninsel vorbehalten sein. Mit dem durchgestylten Drachen vor Sturmwind zu posen, ist also keine Möglichkeit.

Weitere Verbesserungen

Nicht nur große Verbesserungen werden mit dem Release von World of Warcraft: Dragonflight Einzug ins Spiel halten, sondern eben auch viele kleine. Eine der offensichtlichsten Anpassungen betrifft das Benutzer-Interface. Weil der Zahn der Zeit deutlich am UI nagte, wollen die Entwickler modernisieren und nachbessern. Die Mini-Map wird größer, gleichzeitig aber entschlackt. Ähnliches trifft auf die Statusleistungen zu sowie auf den Aktionsbereich. Horde und Allianz werden dabei jeweils eigene Einrahmungen haben – man will WoW mit Dragonflight also auch bezüglich der UI-Optik auf die nächste Stufe heben.

Eingefleischte Fans haben ohnehin ihre Benutzer-Interface mit Mods aufgehübscht, entschlackt oder angepasst – diesen Weg schlagen die Entwickler mit der neuen Erweiterung quasi standardmäßig ein.

Ohnehin scheint Blizzard auch bei der Grafikqualität beziehungsweise des Detaillevel einiger Modelle Hand anzulegen. Auf den ersten Screenshots lassen sich teils deutlich Verbesserungen erkennen.

Beta von World of Warcraft: Dragonflight

Eine Beta zu World of Warcraft: Dragonflight wird Blizzard anbieten. Das ist nicht nur eine vage Information, sondern Fakt: Man kann sich für die Beta von World of Warcraft: Dragonflight nämlich bereits auf der offiziellen Webseite zur Erweiterung anmelden. “Mit etwas Glück” ist man dabei, meint Blizzard. Auf der Webseite gibt es dann auch weitere Informationen zu den neue Inhalten, alles interaktiv und hübsch bunt präsentiert.

Release von World of Warcraft: Dragonflight?

Die Entwickler haben viele Fragen bereits im Rahmen des Enthüllungs-Events beantwortet, jedoch längst nicht alle. Die Frage nach dem Release von World of Warcraft: Dragonflight wird Spieler vermutlich mitunter am meisten interessieren. Ausgerechnet an dieser Stelle mauert Blizzard jedoch: Man besinnt sich derzeit auf das “when it’s ready”-Motto. Es gibt daher aktuell kein Release-Datum für World of Warcraft: Dragonflight.

Wer den Reveal-Stream in kompletter Länge schauen möchte:

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Autor

Letzte Aktualisierung am 29.05.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API