World of Warcraft is being expanded to include a new chapter - at least as a board game. Asmodee, Z-Man Games and Blizzard are launching a Pandemic offshoot of perhaps the most popular WoW expansion Wrath of the Lich King. The idea: Instead of preventing the spread of viruses, players have to take on the scourge. Also included: iconic characters from Blizzard's fantasy universe, an extra-large game board - and new game mechanics that combine the proven concept of Pandemic with World of Warcraft.

As a license, World of Warcraft is one of the new discoveries in the board game segment - and at Asmodee. The Essen-based publisher is bringing out another title together with Z-Man Games and Blizzard Entertainment this fall. The game is based again - like the successful one Small world of warcraft - on an already known, and in this case also proven, concept: Pandemic.

The battle for Northrend breaks out again

In World of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King - Pandemic, players team up with the well-known heroes of World of Warcraft and face the powers of the Lich King on this renewed journey through Azeroth. Wrath of the Lich King combines the classic cooperative game mechanics of Pandemic with the setting of the World of Warcraft universe full of legendary heroes, epic battles and intricate quests.

The latter focus on new game mechanics: players will experience adventures in Northrend during the course of the game, compete against hideous opponents, destroy relics and much more.

In the board game Wrath of the Lich King, players embody one of Azeroth's heroes and fight their way through the Scourge until they reach the throne of the fallen Prince Arthas, who is feared as the Lich King in all of Azeroth. A trailer gives a first taste of the atmospheric Pandemic spinoff:

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

What shouldn't be missing from a World of Warcraft board game are the numerous heroes. And they are also included in this offshoot: Legendary World of Warcraft characters in detailed plastic figures, such as Warchief Thrall, Varian Wrynn, King of Stormwind or Sylvanas Windrunner, Queen of the Forsaken. Additional hero cards give players advantages in the fight against the Scourge. There are bonuses that increase combat strength, make players travel faster or restore health.

“Wrath of the Lich King is the first time we bring the Pandemic system to cherished fictional worlds like Azeroth. This literally opens up a whole new world of possibilities, ”says Justin Kemppainen, Director of Brand Management at Z-Man Games. “There is no greater threat to Azeroth than the Scourge. The game demonstrates this excellently by blending the exciting, cooperative gameplay that Pandemic fans know and love with World of Warcraft. We are sure that new players and fans of both worlds will be thrilled. "

World of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King - A board game featuring the Pandemic system will be available in stores and in the Blizzard Gear Store this fall. Fixed components: An oversized game board with fortresses, temples and battlefields as well as well-known locations from all over Azeroth.


Author

Last updated on 3.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

World of Warcraft wird um ein neues Kapitel erweitert – zumindest als Brettspiel. Asmodee, Z-Man Games und Blizzard bringen einen Pandemic-Ableger zur vielleicht beliebtesten WoW-Erweiterung Wrath of the Lich King auf den Markt. Die Idee: Statt die Ausbreitung von Viren zu verhindern, müssen Spieler es mit der Geißel aufnehmen. Mit dabei: ikonische Figuren aus Blizzards Fantasy-Universum, ein extragroßes Spielbrett – und eine neue Spielmechanik, die das bewährte Konzept von Pandemic mit World of Warcraft verbindet.

World of Warcraft ist als Lizenz eine der Neuentdeckungen im Brettspielsegment – und bei Asmodee. Der Verlage mit Sitz in Essen bringt gemeinsam mit Z-Man Games und Blizzard Entertainment noch in diesem Herbst einen weitere Titel heraus. Erneut basiert das Spiel – wie bereits das gelungene Small World of Warcraft – auf einem bereits bekannten, und in diesem Fall auch bewährten, Konzept: Pandemic.

Schlacht um Nordend entbrennt erneut

Spieler schließen sich bei World of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King – Pandemic mit den bekannten Helden von World of Warcraft zusammen und stellen sich gemeinsam den Kräften des Lichkönigs auf dieser erneuten Reise durch Azeroth. Wrath of the Lich King kombiniert die klassische kooperative Spielmechanik von Pandemic mit der Kulisse des World of Warcraft-Universums voller legendärer Helden, epischen Kämpfen und verschlungenen Quests.

Letztere setzen eine neue Spielmechanik in den Fokus: Spieler werden so im Verlauf der Partie Abenteuer in Nordend erleben, gegen abscheuliche Gegner antreten, Relikte zerstören und vieles mehr.

Im Brettspiel Wrath of the Lich King verkörpern die Spieler je einen von Azeroths Helden und kämpfen sich ihren Weg durch die Geißel bis sie den Thron des gefallenen Prinzen Arthas erreichen, der in ganz Azeroth als Lichkönig gefürchtet wird. Ein Trailer gibt einen ersten Vorgeschmack auf ein das stimmungsvolle Pandemic-Spinoff:

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Was keinesfalls bei einem Brettspiel zu World of Warcraft fehlen darf, sind die zahlreichen Helden. Und sie sind auch in diesem Ableger dabei: Legendäre World of Warcraft-Charaktere in detailliert gestalteten Kunststofffiguren, wie Kriegshäuptling Thrall, Varian Wrynn, König von Sturmwind oder Sylvanas Windläufer, Königin der Verlassenen. Zusätzliche Heldenkarten gewähren Spielern Vorteile im Kampf gegen die Geißel. So gibt es Boni, die die Kampfkraft erhöhen, Spieler schneller reisen zu lassen oder Gesundheit wiederherzustellen.

“Wrath of the Lich King ist das erste Mal, das wir das Pandemic-System in liebgewonnene fiktive Welten wie Azeroth bringen. Damit eröffnen sich im wahrsten Sinne eine ganz neue Welt an Möglichkeiten“ sagt Justin Kemppainen, Director of Brand Management bei Z-Man Games. „Es gibt keine größere Bedrohung für Azeroth als die Geißel. Das Spiel zeigt dies ausgezeichnet durch die Mischung des spannenden, kooperativen Spielgefühls, das Pandemic-Fans kennen und lieben, mit World of Warcraft. Wir sind sicher, neue Spieler und Fans beider Welten werden begeistert sein.“

World of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King – Ein Brettspiel mit dem Pandemic-System erscheint diesen Herbst sowohl im Handel als auch im Blizzard Gear Store. Feste Bestandteile: Ein extragroßes Spielbrett mit Festungen, Tempel und Schlachtfelder sowie bekannte Orte aus ganz Azeroth.


Letzte Aktualisierung am 22.09.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API