WWE 2K Battlegrounds is available in stores now. “Players of all experience levels”, as publisher 2K Games calls the target group, can now step into the ring with iconic wrestling legends. The game doesn't take itself too seriously, nor does it have to: Instead of sports simulation, there is colorful arcade action - on consoles, PC and Google Stadia. The fun costs around 40 euros.


Saber Interactive is behind the arcade wrestling WWE 2K Battlegrounds, the game that is now unleashed on owners of PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Windows PC, Nintendo Switch or Google Stadia. Instead of the most realistic ring sport possible, it's about fast, but above all funny action: The players use power-ups or special moves, use melee objects or interact with the ring surroundings. You can tackle the challenges alone or in multiplayer modes: there is even a couch co-op mode, which is essential for such games.

WWE 2K Battlegrounds: More than 70 superstars in the game

At the start, WWE 2K Battlegrounds has a roster with more than 70 WWE Superstars, Legends and Hall-of-Famers. However, the publisher is already thinking about the future of the game: According to current plans, more than 60 other superstars will be added to download via free updates, including legends such as “Macho Man” Randy Savage, Ultimate Warrior or Ric Flair.

Current veteran stars are already mingling with the available wrestler caricatures: Players get into the ring with the Undertaker, put on Andre the Giant's dashing suit or beat opponents as John Cena in the corner of the ring. Even better - but above all funny: In the superstar editor, players can also create their own superstars with different physiques, different body sizes and faces as well as clothing, hairstyles and fighting styles and compete against the challengers.

Each wrestler uses one of five class styles: Powerhouse, Technician, High Flyer, Brawler and All-Rounder. Associated with this are different combat moves that include strengths and weaknesses. Arcade-style offensive and defensive power-ups like Flaming Fist, Ice Breath and Earthquake can add an extra strategic dimension to the whole thing, which can lead to quick changes in the battlefield.

Another trailer, which is also not taken very seriously, makes it clear that the game does not take itself seriously:

Click the button below to load the content of cdn.iframe.ly.

Load content

Players can use all their skills and abilities in a variety of game modes and match types, both offline and online. A point system should ensure long-term motivation. And there is even a story: WWE 2K Battlegrounds also offers a single-player campaign mode, which is told in a comic-like style and in which players slip into the role of young fighters supported by “Stone Cold” Steve Austin.

WWE 2K Battlegrounds is available in two formats: the Standard Edition for around 40 euros and the Digital Deluxe Edition for around ten euros more. Players who purchase the Digital Deluxe Edition will unlock the WWE Hall of Famer Edge and all versions of Stone Cold Steve Austin, The Rock and Ronda Rousey at the start of the game. In addition, owners of the deluxe version receive 1100 bonus gold currency, a game currency that can be used to unlock superstars and cosmetic objects.

Steve Austin takes his ring name pretty literally. Image rights: 2K Games

Steve Austin takes his ring name pretty literally. Image rights: 2K Games

WWE 2K Battlegrounds is released for ages twelve and up and is now available for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Windows PC, Nintendo Switch or Google Stadia. Well done: The game supports a crossplay feature, so players from Xbox One, PC Steam, Nintendo Switch and Google Stadia can play across platforms. Only Sony cooks its own soup.

Click here for ours Played WWE 2K Battlegrounds.


Preview Product Rating Price
WWE 2K Battlegrounds - [Nintendo Switch] WWE 2K Battlegrounds - [Nintendo Switch] * 19,92 EUR

Author

Last updated on 4.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

WWE 2K Battlegrounds ist ab sofort im Handel erhältlich. „Spieler aller Erfahrungsstufen“, so nennt Publisher 2K Games die Zielgruppe, können ab sofort mit ikonischen Wrestling-Legenden in den Ring steigen. Das Spiel nimmt sich dabei nicht allzu ernst, muss es auch nicht: Statt Sportsimulation gibt es bunte Arcade-Action – und zwar auf Konsolen, PC und Google Stadia. Rund 40 Euro kostet der Spaß.


Saber Interactive steckt hinter dem Arcade-Wrestling WWE 2K Battlegrounds, jenem Spiel, das ab sofort auf Besitzer von PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Windows-PC, Nintendo Switch oder Google Stadia losgelassen wird. Statt um möglichst realistischen Ringsport geht es um schnelle, vor allem aber lustige Action: Die Spieler greifen dazu auf Power-Ups oder Special Moves zurück, setzen Nahkampfgegenstände ein oder interagieren mit den Ringumgebungen. Man kann die Herausforderungen alleine oder in Mehrspielermodi angehen angehen: Sogar ein für derartige Spiele essentieller Couch-Koop-Modus ist vorhanden.

WWE 2K Battlegrounds: Mehr als 70 Superstars im Spiel

Zum Start steht in WWE 2K Battlegrounds ein Kader mit mehr als 70 WWE-Superstars, -Legenden und Hall-of-Famern zur Verfügung. Der Publisher denkt allerdings bereits an die Zukunft des Spieles: Mehr als 60 weitere Superstars sollen nach aktuellen Plänen noch über kostenlose Updates zum Herunterladen hinzu kommen, darunter Legenden wie „Macho Man“ Randy Savage, Ultimate Warrior oder Ric Flair.

Aktuelle altgediente Stars mischen sich bereits jetzt unter die verfügbaren Wrestler-Karrikaturen: Spieler steigen so unter anderem mit dem Undertaker in den Ring, ziehen den schmissigen Anzug von Andre the Giant über oder prügeln Gegner als John Cena in die Ringecke. Noch besser – vor allem aber lustig: Spieler können im Superstar-Editor auch eigene Superstars mit unterschiedlichem Körperbau, verschiedenen Körpergrößen und Gesichtern sowie Kleidung, Frisuren und Kampfstilen kreieren und gegen die Herausforderer antreten lassen.

Jeder Wrestler setzt dabei einen von fünf Klassenstilen ein: Powerhouse, Technician, High-Flyer, Brawler und All-Rounder. Damit verbunden sind unterschiedliche Kampf-Moves, Stärken und Schwächen gehören. Offensive und defensive Power-Ups im Arcade-Stil wie Flaming Fist, Ice Breath und Earthquake können dem Ganzen eine zusätzliche strategische Dimension geben, die zu schnellen Veränderungen im Kampfgeschehen führen kann.

Ein ebenfalls nicht ganz ernst gemeinter Trailer verdeutlicht, dass das Spiel sich nicht ernst nimmt:

Klicken Sie auf den unteren Button, um den Inhalt von cdn.iframe.ly zu laden.

Inhalt laden

Einsetzen können Spieler all ihre Fertigkeiten und Fähigkeiten in mehreren Spielmodi und Match-Typen, offline wie online. Für Langzeitmotivation soll ein Punktesystem sorgen. Und sogar Story gibt es: WWE 2K Battlegrounds bietet auch einen Einzelspieler-Kampagnenmodus, der im comicartigen Stil erzählt wird und bei dem Spieler in die Rolle von Nachwuchskämpfern unterstützt von „Stone Cold“ Steve Austin schlüpfen.

Auch interessant:
Ravensburger mit Umsatzsprung: Spiele-Klassiker verkaufen sich millionenfach

WWE 2K Battlegrounds ist in zwei Formaten erhältlich: Als Standard Edition zum Preis von rund 40 Euro und als Digital Deluxe Edition für rund zehn Euro mehr. Bei Spielern, die die Digital Deluxe Edition kaufen, werden der WWE-Hall-of-Famer Edge sowie alle Versionen von Stone Cold Steve Austin, The Rock und Ronda Rousey zu Beginn des Spiels freigeschaltet. Zudem erhalten Besitzer der Deluxe-Variante 1100 Bonus-Goldwährung, eine Spielwährung, mit der man Superstars und kosmetische Objekte freischalten kann.

Steve Austin nimmt seinen Ringnamen ziemlich wörtlich. Bildrechte: 2K Games
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Steve Austin nimmt seinen Ringnamen ziemlich wörtlich. Bildrechte: 2K Games

WWE 2K Battlegrounds ist ab zwölf Jahren freigegeben und ab sofort für PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Windows-PC, Nintendo Switch oder Google Stadia erhältlich. Durchaus gelungen: Das Spiel unterstützt ein Crossplay-Feature, Spieler von Xbox One, PC-Steam, Nintendo Switch und Google Stadia können also plattformübergreifend spielen. Nur Sony kocht sein eigenes Süppchen.

Hier geht es zu unserem Spieltest zu WWE 2K Battlegrounds.


Letzte Aktualisierung am 28.01.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API