If fans and followers blindly trust an influencer, it can become a big problem: the Ben Phillips case recently proved that. The Welsh YouTuber is said to have been involved in a so-called "pump and dump scheme" involving the cryptocurrency Safemoon. Stephen "Coffeezilla" Findeisen, of all people, wants to have convicted him of all things. The American Youtuber has done research and claims to have found out that Ben Phillips bagged around 12 million US dollars with market manipulative behavior.

29-year-old Ben Phillips is a YouTube phenomenon with around 4,6 million followers on his channel. There it is mainly about prank videos, which are not always funny, but often also tasteless. While one can at best find this morally reprehensible, Ben Phillips is said to have acted fraudulently in the Safemoon case. The American Youtuber “Coffeezilla” states that Phillips earned around 12 million US dollars with market manipulation.

Pump and dump around Safemoon?

As part of his research, Stephen “Coffeezilla” Findeisen claims that Ben Phillips has repeatedly emphasized that the cryptocurrency based on the Binance Smart Chain will be successful with regard to the Safemoon token. Secretly, however, Phillips is said to have received vast amounts of tokens and always sold them after an initiated “pump” – an increase in the price. Over time, the Welsh Youtuber is said to have earned around 12 million US dollars with Safemoon. He did not hold back with his rights, Phillips presented his fans, among other things, with a Roll Royce, a “dream car”. That was always one of his goals, Phillips said on Instagram, among other things. With the purchase of the top model of the car brand, he realized that.

Now you could nod and ignore the fact of the "pump and dump scheme", but given the steadily increasing influence of Youtubers and other influencers, it's not that easy anymore these days: especially when it's not just about follower numbers and advertising revenue, but directly for the fans' money, one should pay attention to the allegations against Ben Phillips. Especially in the crypto sector, it happens again and again that internet personalities can sometimes have a dramatic influence on price developments. If people are encouraged to buy a coin or token, the price increases (pump). Fraudsters take advantage of this and sell at a price peak, so the value of a currency drops (dump), sometimes even drastically, because follow-up sales by others are associated with it. In this way, it is possible for a few to enrich themselves, while honest and often inexperienced investors sometimes lose money because they react in panic (fear) to the new market situation, which is often completely unknown.

Such behavior is particularly dangerous because of the often close relationship between fans and their supposed idol. If influencers are overestimated, perhaps even trusted, this can sometimes lead to damage in “real life”, such as financial damage in this case.

The Youtuber “Coffeezilla” had uncovered Ben Phillips act after the Welshman once published the address of his wallet. Stephen Findeisen apparently managed to trace the transactions made by Phillips. Ben Phillips may have acted particularly boldly because he was also punishing others for similar behavior. But that's not all: Ben Phillips was even active as a team member for Safemoon at times, which makes the allegations about the "buy the dip" tweets on his around 750.000 followers on Twitter all the more serious.

Ben Phillips reportedly made the biggest sell-off in April, according to Coffeezilla, at a time when Phillips had been particularly bullish. Ben Phillips has since deleted most of his Twitter messages. But the internet does not forget.

The team around safemoon is facing a gigantic challenge these days: You have to win back the trust of the fans. The team around CEO John Karony has therefore grown by a few big names from the tech scene in recent weeks, and the staff has been reorganized with some significant cuts. The token is now about creating a place for itself as a serious investment case. This should succeed, among other things, with an in-house debit card and an exchange, its own trading platform for cryptocurrencies.

In a video, Coffeezilla shows what he claims to have found out about the alleged “pump ad dump” at Safemoon by Ben Phillips:

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

Preview Product Rating Price
Sorry bro! Sorry bro! * 6,14 EUR

Author

Last updated on 3.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Wenn Fans und Follower einem Influencer blind vertrauen, dann kann das zu einem großen Problem werden: Jüngst bewies das die Causa Ben Phillips. Der walisische Youtuber soll in ein sogenanntes “Pump and dump scheme” um die Kryptowährung Safemoon verwickelt gewesen sein. Überführt haben will ihn mit Stephen „Coffeezilla“ Findeisen ausgerechnet ein Szene-Kollege. Der amerikanisch Youtuber hat dafür Recherche betrieben und will herausgefunden haben, dass Ben Phillips mit marktmanipulativem Verhalten rund 12 Millionen US-Dollar eingesackt hat.

Der 29-jährige Ben Phillips ist ein Youtube-Phänomen mit rund 4,6 Millionen Followern auf seinem Kanal. Dort geht es hauptsächlich um Prank-Videos, die nicht immer lustig, sondern nicht selten auch geschmacklos sind. Während man das allenfalls moralisch verwerflich finden kann, soll Ben Phillips in der Causa Safemoon betrügerisch agiert haben. Der us-amerikanische Youtuber “Coffeezilla” gibt an, Phillips habe mit Marktmanipulation rund 12 Millionen US-Dollar verdient.

Pump and dump um Safemoon?

Stephen „Coffeezilla“ Findeisen will im Rahmen seiner Recherche aufgedeckt haben, dass Ben Phillips bezüglich des Safemoon-Token immer wieder betont habe, dass die auf der Binance Smart Chain basierenden Kryptowährung Erfolg haben werde. Insgeheim soll Phillips jedoch Unmengen von Tokens erhalten und stets nach einem angestoßenen “Pump” – einem Steigern des Preises – verkauft haben.  Im Laufe der Zeit soll der walisische Youtuber so rund 12 Millionen US-Dollar mit Safemoon verdient haben. Mit seinem Rechtum hielt er nicht hinter dem Berg, seinen Fans präsentierte Phillips unter anderem einen Roll Royce, ein “Traumauto”. Das sei immer eines seiner Ziele gewesen, gab Phillips unter anderem auf Instagram an. Mit dem Kauf des Spitzenmodells der Automarke habe er sich den verwirklicht.

Nun könnte man die Tatsache des “Pump and dump scheme” abnicken und ignorieren, ganz so einfach ist es angesichts des stetig steigenden Einflusses von Youtubern und anderen Influencern aber heutzutage  nicht mehr: insbesondere wenn es nicht um bloße Follower-Zahlen und Werbeeinnahmen geht, sondern direkt um das Geld der Fans, sollte man hellhörig werden angesichts der Vorwürfe gegen Ben Phillips. Vor allem im Krypto-Sektor kommt es immer wieder vor, dass Internetpersönlichkeiten teils dramatischen Einfluss auf die Preisentwicklung nehmen können. Werden Menschen zu einem Kauf eines Coins oder Tokens animiert, so steigt der Preis (pump). Nutzen Betrüger das aus, und verkaufen bei einer Preisspitze, so sinkt der Wert einer Währung (dump), bricht manchmal sogar drastisch ein, weil Folgeverkäufe anderer damit verbunden sind. Auf diese Weise ist es möglich, dass einige wenige sich bereichern, während ehrliche und oft unerfahrene Investoren mitunter Geld verlieren, weil sie auf die – nicht selten völlig unbekannte – neue Marksituation panisch reagieren (fear).

Gefährlich ist derartiges Verhalten vor allem aufgrund der oft engen Beziehung der Fans zu ihrem vermeintlichen Idol. Wenn Influencer überhöht werden, ihnen vielleicht sogar Vertrauen ausgesprochen wird, kann das mitunter zu Schäden im “echten Leben” führen, wie in diesem Fall finanziellen.

Der Youtuber “Coffeezilla” hatte Ben Phillips handeln aufgedeckt, nach der Waliser einmal die Adresse seiner Wallet veröffentlicht hatte. So gelang es Stephen Findeisen offenbar, die von Phillips getätigten Transaktionen nachzuvollziehen. Besonders dreist agierte Ben Phillips womöglich, weil er gleichzeitig ähnliches Verhalten bei anderen abstrafte. Damit nicht genug: Ben Phillips war zeitweise sogar selbst für Safemoon als Teammitglied aktiv, umso schwerer wiegen die Vorwürfe um die “buy the dip”-tweets an seiner rund 750.000 Follower auf Twitter.

Die höchste Verkäufe soll Ben Phillips im April getätigt haben, laut Coffeezilla zu einer Zeit, als Phillips sich als besonders “bullish” gezeigt hatte. Inzwischen hat Ben Phillips den Großteil seiner Twitter-Nachrichten gelöscht. Das Internet vergisst aber nicht.

Das Team um Safemoon steht dieser Tage vor einer gigantischen Herausforderung: Man muss das Vertrauen der Fans zurückgewinnen. Die Mannschaft um CEO John Karony ist daher in den vergangenen Wochen um einige Größen aus der Tech-Szene gewachsen, personell hat man mit teils deutlich Einschnitten umorganisiert. Für den Token geht es inzwischen darum, sich einen Platz als ernsthaften Investment-Case zu schaffen. Gelingen soll das unter anderem mit einer hauseigenen Debit-Karte und einer Exchange, einem eigenen Handelsplatz für Kryptowährungen.

In einem Video zeigt Coffeezilla, was er über das mutmaßliche “pump ad dump” bei Safemoon durch Ben Phillips herausgefunden haben will:

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
Sorry Bro! Sorry Bro! * 5,02 EUR

Autor

Letzte Aktualisierung am 25.05.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API