The corona crisis hit the event industry hard: No events mean no visitors and therefore no income. Big players in the industry have opted for online alternatives, while small organizers are anything but good. Then what can help? Maybe the community. That is what board game Youtubers Hunter & Cron thought, who launched their own public event with Berlin Con in 2015. The Spielschmiede is now looking for supporters as part of a crowdfunding campaign. 


There is potential dormant in the format of the Berlin Con. This is at least indicated by the growth in visitor numbers since the board game fair's debut in 20215. Now the sword of Damocles hovers over the convention, which could not take place this year due to the coronavirus pandemic. So that the Berlin Con can remain a fixed date in the capital's event calendar, the Youtubers Hunter & Cron collect money through a crowdfunding campaign with their Berlin Brettspiel Con Event GmbH, which was founded especially for the fair.

Berlin Con: From hobby to main job

Now one could ask: Who cares whether the convention takes place in 2021 or not? In addition to around ten thousand fans who make the pilgrimage to Berlin every year full of anticipation, three existences are now also attached to the convention: “Hunter” Johannes Jaeger and the two employees Andreas Langkamp and Alexander Koppin have raised the hobby to a professional level - for them Berlin is Con your day job, a main job with which you finance your living. If the board game Con breaks down, the financial resources for the staff break away, at least for a short time.

In addition, investments were made in the past year in order to grow with the convention. There was still no trace of the corona virus, now the pathogen is everywhere and everyday. Within less than a year, the world has changed and with it the plans of the Berlin-Con organizers: The black zero was the target for 2020, the makers reveal that their crowdfunding project page. One can roughly imagine how far one is now from this goal.

The organizers ask the community for help: you can provide support with just five euros. More than 500 fans have already done this - because the Berlin Con counted almost 2019 visitors in 10.000, it quickly becomes clear that there is still plenty of room for improvement.

Every year there is also a stream directly from the convention. Photo: organizer

Every year there is also a stream directly from the convention. Photo: organizer

The organizers collect one month more from the game forge of the game offensive, behind which the Happyshops GmbH is. Hunter and Co are aiming for 25.000 euros, and they are just under 17.000 - as of December 15th. The money should primarily be used to preserve jobs, to which one wants to build up reserves in order to hold the convention next year - if the virus situation allows it. Fans can even bring “serenity” to the organizers with 50.000 euros of crowdfunding coal.

One thing is clear: all income from the financing campaign should flow to Berlin Con and thus also to the preparation for the next edition of the event. The plan is to hold Berlin Con 2021 from June 16 to 18.

Author

Die Corona-Krise hat vor allem die Event-Branche hart getroffen: Keine Veranstaltungen bedeutet keine Besucher und somit auch keine Einnahmen. Große Player der Branche haben auf Online-Alternativen gesetzt, um kleine Veranstalter steht es hingegen alles andere als gut. Was dann helfen kann? Vielleicht die Community. Gedacht haben sich das auch die Brettspiel-Youtuber Hunter & Cron, die mit der Berlin Con im Jahr 2015 eine eigene Publikumsveranstaltung ins Leben gerufen haben. Über die Spielschmiede werden nun im Rahmen einer Crowdfunding-Kampagne Unterstützer gesucht. 


In dem Format der Berlin Con schlummert Potenzial. Darauf weist zumindest das Besucherwachstum seit dem Debüt der Brettspiel-Messe im Jahr 20215 hin. Nun schwebt das Damoklesschwert über der Convention, die aufgrund der Coronavirus-Pandemie in diesem Jahr nicht hatte stattfinden können. Damit die Berlin Con ein fester Termin bleiben kann im hauptstädtischen Event-Kalender sammeln die Youtuber Hunter & Cron mit ihrer eigens für die Messe gegründeten Berlin Brettspiel Con Event GmbH Geld über eine Crowdfunding-Kampagne.

Berlin Con: Vom Hobby zum Hauptjob

Nun könnte man fragen: Wen interessiert schon, ob die Convention im Jahr 2021 stattfindet oder nicht? Neben rund zehntausend Fans, die jährlich voller Vorfreude nach Berlin pilgern, hängen an der Convention inzwischen auch drei Existenzen: „Hunter“ Johannes Jaeger und die beiden Angestellten Andreas Langkamp und Alexander Koppin haben das Hobby auf eine professionelle Stufe gehoben – für die ist die Berlin Con ihr Tagesjob, ein Hauptberuf also, mit dem sie ihren Lebensunterhalt finanzieren. Bricht die Brettspiel Con weg, brechen zumindest kurzfristig auch die finanziellen Mittel für das Personal weg.

Hinzu kommt: Im vergangenen Jahr hatte man investiert, um mit der Convention zu wachsen. Vom Coronavirus war da noch keine Spur, jetzt ist der Erreger überall und Alltag. Innerhalb eines knappen Jahres hat sich die Welt gewandelt und damit auch die Pläne der Berlin-Con-Veranstalter: Die schwarze Null war das angepeilte Ziel für 2020, das verraten die Macher auf ihrer Crowdfunding-Projektseite. Man kann sich ungefähr ausmalen, wie weit man nun von diesem Ziel entfernt ist.

Die Community bitten die Veranstalter um Hilfe: Bereits mit einem Betrag von fünf Euro kann man Unterstützung leisten. Über 500 Fans haben das bereits getan – weil die Berlin Con im Jahr 2019 knapp 10.000 Besucher zählte, wird schnell deutlich: Es ist noch reichlich Luft nach oben vorhanden.

Jährlich gibt es auch einen Stream direkt von der Convention. Foto: Veranstalter
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Jährlich gibt es auch einen Stream direkt von der Convention. Foto: Veranstalter

Einen Monat sammeln die Veranstalter noch über die Spieleschmiede der Spiele-Offensive, hinter der die Happyshops GmbH steckt. 25.000 Euro peilen Hunter und Co an, knapp 17.000 sind es – Stand: 15. Dezember – bereits. Mit dem Geld sollen vorrangig die Arbeitsplätze erhalten werden, zu dem will man Rücklagen bilden, um die Convention im nächsten Jahr – sofern die Virus-Lage das zulässt – durchzuführen. „Gelassenheit“ können Fans den Veranstaltern gar mit 50.000 Euro Crowdfunding-Kohle bescheren.

Auch interessant:
Crowdfunding: Aktuelle Brettspiele auf Kickstarter (3. KW 2021)

Klar ist: Alle Einnahmen aus der Finanzierungskampagne sollen der Berlin Con zufließen und damit auch der Vorbereitung auf die nächste Auflage des Events. Geplant ist, die Berlin Con 2021 vom 16. bis 18. Juni durchzuführen.