Thanks to Archon Studio, fans are heading back to Erathia. A board game based on Heroes of Might and Magic 3 will start its crowdfunding on Kickstarter in November, as the makers announce on a website created especially for the board game. Explanations of the board game's deck building mechanism were recently brought back to the fans' minds. 

“We have loved miniatures ever since we were kids” is that, or at least one of the mottos of Archon Studios. Accordingly, mini-figures are used in board games, such as recently in the tabletop game for He-Man: Masters of the Universe Battleground. Now you dare to try the next license and it has it all - at least from the point of view of video game fans. 

Heroes 3: The part for lovers

With Heroes of Might and Magic you have not only chosen one of the most popular computer strategy games, but with the third part of the series also the most successful and for many fans the best part. So there's plenty of potential - to mess it up or deliver a brilliant performance. There is no in between: either it works or it doesn't. 

The turn-based strategy game series originally created by New World Computing debuted for MS-DOS in the mid-95s. Back then it was a kind of King's Bounty with some adjustments. Softgold was responsible for the German language version of the game. The game made it onto the Win XNUMX PC and even Nintendo's Gameboy Color. French publisher giant Ubisoft now owns the rights - the final installment in the main series was Might & Magic: Heroes VII, which received solid to good reviews. 

Archon Studio is now planning to release Heroes of Might and Magic 3 as a board game. Previously, the studio had also worked on licensed titles and developed two games based on the Masters of the Universe and a board game based on Wolfenstein. 

For the Heroes of Might and Magic 3 board game, the authors obviously stick closely to the template: you can recruit troops, use equipment and magic and move on a game board made up of hexes. Ultimately, as in the video game, it's probably about resource collection, troop management and, last but not least, fighting. Central concepts are exploring the playing map and a deck building mechanism. The gameplay sidekicks are also based on the original: heroes can level up and thus be improved by additional abilities in the course of a game, you choose from artefacts and equipment, hope for magic and keep up the morale of the troops. 

Deck building as a key feature

As Archon Studio describes it, the deck building feature is the mirror image for the video game's character screen. You start with a ready-made deck - each hero uses different cards, depending on the chosen class. The experience level determines, among other things, how many cards the player has in hand or how many particularly powerful cards he can play. Reaching certain hero levels also triggers specialization cards. 

Archon Studio moves similarly close to the original with the game board feature. Everyone has their very own starting city, it is important to collect resources and explore the areas, but also to occupy places such as mines - the latter should bring advantages later in the game. 

Overall, the concept conceived by Archon Studio sounds coherent, at least it fits the playful core points of the original game. An advantage of the board game version: Thanks to miniatures, Heroes of Might and Magic 3 is practically brought to life. The "analogue" title should shine with a great table appearance - if Archon Studio doesn't screw it up. So far, however, the miniatures in the board games have been of good quality. 

It remains exciting for the time being how Archon Studio will implement the combat system. A blog post with explanations will follow. However, one thing is clear: the concept behind the fights could turn out to tip the scales. In the template, the game was after all geared towards a gameplay duet of actions on the playing map and a dedicated battle screen. If the authors succeed in developing as closely as possible to the original, fans can rightly hope for a good board game conversion of Heroes of Might and Magic 3.

According to the publisher, the Kickstarter campaign for the Heroes of Might and Magic 2022 board game will also start in November 3. It is unclear when exactly the launch will take place. There are also no details on the prices for the board game. 

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

Preview Product Rating Price
Archon Studio Wolfenstein - The Board Game Archon Studio Wolfenstein - The Board Game* Currently no reviews 97,98 EUR

Preview Product Rating Price
Archon Studio Wolfenstein The Old Blood board game Archon Studio Wolfenstein The Old Blood Board Game * Currently no reviews 56,04 EUR

Author

Last updated on 3.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Dank dem Archon Studio geht es für Fans zurück nach Erathia. Ein Brettspiel zu Heroes of Might and Magic 3 startet im November in seine Crowdfunding-Finanzierung auf Kickstarter, wie die Macher auf einer eigens für das Brettspiel angelegten Webseite mitteilen. Jüngst hatte man sich mit Erklärungen zum Deckbuilding-Mechanismus des Brettspiels wieder bei den Fans ins Gedächtnis gerufen. 

“We have loved miniatures ever since we were kids”, so lautet das oder zumindest eines der Mottos der Archon Studios. Entsprechend setzt man bei den Brettspielen auf Mini-Figuren, so etwa jüngst bei dem Tabletop-Spiel zu He-Man: Masters of the Universe Battleground. Nun wagt man sich an die nächste Lizenz und die hat es – zumindest aus Sicht von Videospiele-Fans – in sich. 

Heroes 3: Der Teil für Liebhaber

Mit Heroes of Might and Magic hat man sich nicht nur eine der populärsten Computer-Strategiespielen ausgesucht, sondern mit dem dritten Teil der Reihe auch noch den erfolgreichste und für viele Liebhaber besten Teil. Reichlich Potenzial also – um es zu versauen oder eine Glanzleistung abzuliefern. Dazwischen gibt es nicht: entweder es klappt oder eben nicht. 

Die einst von New World Computing ins Leben gerufene rundenbasierte Strategiespielreihe debütierte Mitte der Neunziger für MS-DOS. Damals war es eine Art King’s Bounty mit einigen Anpassungen. Softgold zeichnete sich für die deutschsprachige Version des Spiel verantwortlich. Das Spiel schaffte es auf den Win-95-PC und sogar Nintendos Gameboy Color. Inzwischen liegen die Rechte bei dem französischen Publisher-Riesen Ubisoft – der letzte Teil der Hauptreihe war Might & Magic: Heroes VII, das solide bis gute Kritiken erhielt. 

Archon Studio plant nun, Heroes of Might and Magic 3 als Brettspiel auf den Markt zu bringen. Zuvor hatte das Studio ebenfalls an Lizenztiteln gearbeitet und zwei Spiele zu den Masters of the Universe sowie ein Brettspiel zu Wolfenstein entwickelt. 

Für das Brettspiel zu Heroes of Might and Magic 3 halten die Autoren sich offensichtlich eng an die Vorlage: Man kann Truppen rekrutieren, Ausrüstung und Magic verwenden und bewegt sich auf einem aus Hexfeldern dargestellten Spielbrett. Letztendlich geht es wie im Videospiel voraussichtlich um Ressourcen-Sammelei, Truppenmanagement und nicht zuletzt Kämpfe. Zentrale Konzepte sich dabei die Erkundung der Spielkarte sowie ein Deckbuilding-Mechanismus. Auch die Gameplay-Sidekicks orientieren sich am Original: Helden können Stufen aufsteigen und so im Verlauf eines Spiels durch zusätzliche Fähigkeiten verbessert werden, man wählt aus Artefakten und Ausrüstungsgegenständen, hofft auf Magie und hält die Moral der Truppen aufrecht. 

Deckbau als zentrales Features

Wie Archon Studio es selbst beschreibt, ist das Deckbau-Feature das Spiegelbild für den Charakterbildschirm des Videospiels. Man startet mit einem vorgefertigten Deck – jeder Held greift dabei auf unterschiedliche Karten zurück, je nach gewählter Klasse. Die Erfahrungsstufe bestimmt dabei unter anderem, wie viele Karten der Spieler auf der Hand halten oder wie viele besonders mächtige Karten er spielen darf. Das Erreichen bestimmter Heldenstufe löst zudem Spezialisierungskarten aus. 

Ähnlich eng am Original bewegt sich Archon Studio mit dem Spielbrett-Feature. Jeder hat seine ureigene Start-Stadt, es gilt, Ressourcen zu sammeln und die Bereiche zu erkunden, aber auch Orte wie Minen zu besetzen – letzteres soll im späteren Spielverlauf Vorteile bringen. 

Insgesamt klingt das von Archon Studio erdachte Konzept stimmig, es passt jedenfalls zu den spielerischen Kernpunkten des Originalspiels. Ein Vorteil der Brettspiel-Version: Dank Miniaturen wird Heroes of Might and Magic 3 quasi zum Leben erweckt. Der “analoge” Titel dürfte mit einem tollen Tischauftritt glänzen – sofern Archon Studio es nicht verpatzt. Bislang sind ihnen die Miniaturen in den übrigens Brettspiele allerdings in guter Qualität gelungen. 

Spannend bleibt vorerst, wie Archon Studio das Kampfsystem umsetzen wird. Hierzu soll ein Blogpost mit Erklärungen folgen. Klar ist allerdings: Das Konzept hinter den Kämpfen könnte sich als Zünglein an der Waage entpuppen. In der Vorlage war das Spiel immerhin auf ein Gameplay-Duett aus Handlungen auf der Spielkarten und einem eigenen Kampf-Screen ausgerichtet. Gelingt es den Autoren auch hier, möglichst nah am Original zu entwickeln, so können Fans zurecht auf eine gute Brettspielumsetzung von Heroes of Might and Magic 3 hoffen.

Im November 2022 soll laut Verlag die Kickstarter-Kampagne zudem Brettspiel zu Heroes of Might and Magic 3 an den Start gehen. Unklar ist, wann genau der Launch erfolgt. Auch Details zu den Preisen für das Brettspiel gibt es nicht. 

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
Archon Studio Wolfenstein - Das Brettspiel Archon Studio Wolfenstein - Das Brettspiel * Aktuell keine Bewertungen 97,98 EUR

Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
Archon Studio Wolfenstein The Old Blood Brettspiel Archon Studio Wolfenstein The Old Blood Brettspiel * Aktuell keine Bewertungen 54,74 EUR

Autor

Letzte Aktualisierung am 18.08.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API