Marvel's Midnight Suns was officially announced during the Gamescom opening show. With their idea, publisher 2k and developer Firaxis rely on a gameplay approach that is comparatively unspent in the heroic game genre: It is a tactical role-playing game and not a beating. The release is not that far away - Marvel's Midnight Suns should appear for PC and consoles as early as March 2022. 

Marvel's Midnight Suns will be released in March 2022 and will be available for PlayStation 5, PlayStation 4, Xbox Series X | S, Xbox One and Windows PC via Steam and the Epic Games Store - and the game will also be released for Nintendo Switch. That is the common plan of Firaxis and Publisher 2K.

Gamescom on site: hopes for the next year

2K and Marvel Entertainment announced in the opening stream of Gamescom 2021 Marvel's Midnight Suns - a new tactical RPG set in the darker part of the Marvel universe. Players are faced with supernatural powers as they team up with and live among the Midnight Suns, Earth's last line of defense against the underworld. One thing is clear: Midnight Suns is not a warmed-up copy of the somewhat unsuccessful Marvel's Avengers from Square Enix. At the same time, the game is not an “X-Com Marvel”, as fans had hoped in the meantime. After all: The combination of roleplaying and tactics could lead to Marvel's Midnight Suns not only differentiating itself from the comic hero genre, which has hitherto been rather dull on beating, not only in terms of marketing.

When it was announced today at Opening Night Live, 2K showed a cinematic trailer showing the dramatic resurrection of Hunter - the first customizable original hero in the Marvel universe:

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

Through a dark marriage of magic and science, the nefarious power known as the Hydra has awakened Lilith, the mother of demons, from her centuries-long slumber. Lilith will stop at nothing to fulfill an ancient prophecy and summon her diabolical master, Chthon. The Avengers, pushed to the edge of the abyss, desperately try to fight fire with hellfire. They enlist the help of the Midnight Suns - Nico Minoru, Blade, Magik and Ghost Rider - young heroes with powers that are deeply rooted in the supernatural and are supposed to prevent the prophecy from being fulfilled. Together they bring to life an ancient warrior - Hunter. Hunter is Lilith's abandoned child and the only known hero who has ever defeated her.

"We are excited to partner with Firaxis Games, who combine a long history of creating great tactical games with an authentic love for Marvel's supernatural side," said Bill Rosemann, vice president of creative, Marvel Games. “Marvel's Midnight Suns not only offers players the opportunity to live alongside legendary heroes, but also to experience a completely new, unique story that penetrates deep into the uncanny depths of the Marvel universe. The darkness is approaching. Time to face it! "

“I grew up watching Marvel comics and I just love them,” said Jake Solomon, creative director for Marvel's Midnight Suns at Firaxis Games. “To be entrusted with these characters and their stories is an honor for me and the whole team. Whether you're a Marvel fan, RPG fanatic, or tactical game fanatic, Marvel's Midnight Suns will bring these beloved characters to life in ways never seen before. "

Marvel's Midnight Suns is developed by Firaxis Games, the legendary studio behind the acclaimed world-famous Civilization and XCOM series. Boasting an iconic collection of heroes from the ranks of the Avengers, X-Men, Runaways and many more, the game promises cinematic tactical battles with superhero flair, the forging of friendships that impact the game, and an unforgettable adventure in the game darker side of Marvel.

“The darkness is approaching. Time to face it! "
Bill Rosemann, Vice President of Creative at Marvel Games

"Marvel's Midnight Suns is an incredibly ambitious title that will deliver a truly unique and groundbreaking experience," said David Ismailer, President of 2K. "Working with Marvel is a great opportunity and we believe that the Firaxis team will deliver another great game."

"Working with world-class development teams like Firaxis Games and publishers like 2K to create exceptionally fun, refreshing and original versions of our intellectual property is exactly what Marvel Games strives for," said Jay Ong, executive vice president of Marvel Games. “Our teams have worked closely together and the result will be supernaturally exciting! We can't wait for our fans to experience the captivating and fascinating world of Marvel's Midnight Suns. ”

Next week, 2K and Firaxis Games are showing the world premiere of Marvel's Midnight Suns gameplay, introducing a new, addicting and highly customizable tactical combat system in which players assemble their team of heroes, analyze the battlefield and devastating iconic attacks against the forces of darkness start. All fans should be up on Wednesday, September 1st at 20.30:XNUMX p.m. CEST www.midnightsuns.com switch on.

Preview Product Rating Price
The MARVEL book: The comic book universe of superheroes The MARVEL book: The comic universe of superheroes * 24,95 EUR

Author

Last updated on 9.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Marvel’s Midnight Suns ist offiziell im Rahmen der Gamescom Opening-Show angekündigt worden. Mit ihrer Idee setzen Publisher 2k und Entwickler Firaxis auf einen Gameplay-Ansatz, der vergleichsweise unverbraucht ist im Heldenspiele-Genre: Es handelt sich um ein Taktik-Rollenspiel und nicht um Klopperei. Der Release ist dabei nicht so weit entfernt- bereits im März 2022 soll Marvel’s Midnight Suns für PC und Konsolen erscheinen. 

Marvel’s Midnight Suns erscheint im März 2022 und wird für PlayStation 5, PlayStation 4, Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One und Windows PC über Steam und den Epic Games Store erhältlich sein – und auch für  Nintendo Switch wird das Spiel veröffentlicht. So lautet der gemeinsame Plan von Firaxis und Publisher 2K.

Gamescom vor Ort: Hoffnungen auf das nächste Jahr

2K und Marvel Entertainment kündigten im Opening-Stream der Gamescom 2021 Marvel’s Midnight Suns an – als neues Taktik-RPG, das im dunkleren Teil des Marvel-Universums angesiedelt ist. Die Spieler bekommen es mit übernatürlichen Kräften zu tun, als sie sich mit den Midnight Suns, der letzten Verteidigungslinie der Erde gegen die Unterwelt, zusammenschließen und unter ihnen leben. Klar ist damit: Midnight Suns ist kein aufgewärmter Abklatsch des etwas missglückten Marvel’s Avengers von Square Enix. Gleichzeitig ist das Spiel aber auch kein „X-Com Marvel“, wie Fans zwischenzeitlich gehofft hatten. Immerhin: Die Verbindung aus Roleplaying und Taktik könnte dazu führen, dass sich Marvel’s Midnight Suns nicht nur marketingtechnisch vom bisher eher stumpf auf Klopperei ausgerichteten Comichelden-Genre abhebt.

Bei der heutigen Ankündigung auf der Opening Night Live hat 2K einen Cinematic-Trailer gezeigt, der die dramatische Wiederauferstehung Hunters zeigt – der erste personalisierbare Original-Held im Marvel-Universum:

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Durch eine dunkle Verbindung von Magie und Wissenschaft hat die ruchlose Macht, die als Hydra bekannt ist, Lilith, die Mutter der Dämonen, aus ihrem jahrhundertelangen Schlummer erweckt. Lilith wird vor nichts zurückschrecken, um eine uralte Prophezeiung zu erfüllen und ihren teuflischen Meister Chthon zu beschwören. Die Avengers, die an den Rand des Abgrunds gedrängt wurden, versuchen verzweifelt, Feuer mit Höllenfeuer zu bekämpfen. Sie nehmen die Hilfe der Midnight Suns – Nico Minoru, Blade, Magik und Ghost Rider – in Anspruch: Junge Helden mit Kräften, die tief im Übernatürlichen verwurzelt sind und die Erfüllung der Prophezeiung verhindern sollen. Gemeinsam erwecken sie einen alten Krieger zum Leben – Hunter. Hunter ist Liliths verstoßenes Kind und der einzige bekannte Held, der sie jemals besiegt hat.

„Wir freuen uns sehr, mit Firaxis Games zusammenzuarbeiten, die eine lange Geschichte in der Entwicklung herausragender Taktikspiele mit einer authentischen Liebe zu Marvels übernatürlicher Seite verbinden“, so Bill Rosemann, Vice President of Creative bei Marvel Games. „Marvel’s Midnight Suns bietet den Spielern nicht nur die Möglichkeit, an der Seite legendärer Helden zu leben, sondern auch eine völlig neue, einzigartige Geschichte zu erleben, die weit in die unheimlichen Tiefen des Marvel-Universums vordringt. Die Dunkelheit naht. Zeit, ihr entgegenzutreten!“

„Ich bin mit Marvel-Comics aufgewachsen und liebe sie einfach“, erklärt Jake Solomon, Creative Director für Marvel’s Midnight Suns bei Firaxis Games. „Mit diesen Charakteren und ihren Geschichten betraut zu werden, ist eine Ehre für mich und das ganze Team. Egal, ob man ein Marvel-Fan, ein RPG-Fan oder ein Fan von Taktikspielen ist, Marvel’s Midnight Suns wird diese geliebten Charaktere auf eine Art und Weise zum Leben erwecken, wie man es noch nie zuvor gesehen hat.“

Marvel’s Midnight Suns wird von Firaxis Games entwickelt, dem legendären Studio hinter den gefeierten weltbekannten Reihen Civilization und XCOM. Das Spiel bietet eine ikonische Sammlung von Helden aus den Reihen der Avengers, X-Men, Runaways und vielen mehr und verspricht filmreife taktische Kämpfe mit Superhelden-Flair, das Schmieden von Freundschaften, die sich auf das Spiel auswirken, und ein unvergessliches Abenteuer auf der dunkleren Seite von Marvel.

„Die Dunkelheit naht. Zeit, ihr entgegenzutreten!“
Bill Rosemann, Vice President of Creative bei Marvel Games

„Marvel’s Midnight Suns ist ein unglaublich ambitionierter Titel, der eine wirklich einzigartige und bahnbrechende Erfahrung bieten wird“, so David Ismailer, President von 2K. „Die Zusammenarbeit mit Marvel ist eine große Chance, und wir sind davon überzeugt, dass das Team von Firaxis ein weiteres herausragendes Spiel liefern wird.“

„Die Kooperation mit erstklassigen Entwicklerteams wie Firaxis Games und Publishern wie 2K, um außergewöhnlich unterhaltsame, erfrischende und originelle Versionen unseres geistigen Eigentums zu entwickeln, ist genau das, wonach Marvel Games strebt“, so Jay Ong, Executive Vice President von Marvel Games. „Unsere Teams haben eng zusammengearbeitet und das Ergebnis wird übernatürlich aufregend sein! Wir können es kaum erwarten, dass unsere Fans die fesselnde und faszinierende Welt von Marvel’s Midnight Suns erleben.“

Nächste Woche zeigen 2K und Firaxis Games die Gameplay-Weltpremiere von Marvel’s Midnight Suns und präsentieren dabei ein neues, fesselndes und äußerst anpassungsfähiges taktisches Kampfsystem, in dem die Spieler ihr Team von Helden zusammenstellen, das Schlachtfeld analysieren und verheerende ikonische Angriffe gegen die Mächte der Finsternis starten. Alle Fans sollten sich am Mittwoch, den 1. September um 20.30 Uhr MESZ auf www.midnightsuns.com zuschalten.

Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
Das MARVEL Buch: Das Comic-Universum der Superhelden Das MARVEL Buch: Das Comic-Universum der Superhelden * 24,95 EUR

Letzte Aktualisierung am 22.09.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API