New games are released every week for Microsoft's Xbox Series X or its budget variant Xbox Series S. While the console has more than enough power, sooner or later storage space will run out. Increasing the digital storage space can help – there are several ways to do this. This is how you can expand the memory of the Xbox Series X/S.

The Xbox Series X has a terabyte of storage space ex works – that sounds like a lot, given the size of modern video games, the console is quickly “fully installed” when you diligently download new titles via Game Pass. It will be even more difficult for owners of the Xbox Series S, because it only has around half the storage capacity of the luxury version. After all, players can expand the storage space.

Xbox Series X: full speed only with “Velocity”

Expanding storage on Xbox Series X/S is a tricky business. Due to the Velocity architecture, you can only use the full performance of the console with special memory. That means: In order to be able to play titles optimized for Xbox Series X/s, the storage media must support the “Xbox Velocity Architecture”. In any case, this is possible with the internal memory of the consoles, as well as with the expansion cards specially developed for the Xbox Series models. Seagate's "Expansion Cards" are inserted into a slot on the back of the console - it's clearly labeled "Storage Expansion".

The reason: The memory card then connects to the Xbox via PCI Express 4.0 and can thus max out the speed. Only then do the external memory cards reach the performance speed of the internal memory. But it's not particularly cheap: the tickets cost at least around 150 euros. The luxury model currently costs just under 450 euros - but there is fresh storage space between 512 gigabytes and 2 terabytes. For 450 euros you can double the storage space of the Xbox Series X/S without having to accept any losses.

The advantage is the unified system behind the idea of ​​external memory cards. And they don't take up space either - instead of having to place the external storage next to, on or behind the console like a hard drive, the Seagate card finds its place directly in the Xbox Series X/S. The expansion card then sticks out a little, but you can't see it. If you want to expand the memory of the Xbox Series X/S, you will find an expensive, but at the same time the most practical and powerful variant in the memory cards.

Alternative: Expand Xbox storage via SSD

An alternative is significantly cheaper if you want to expand the memory of the Xbox Series X/S. The Xbox architects have given players the option of connecting a standard USB hard drive or even an SSD. However, this is tricky, at least in parts: the hard drive must first meet the USB 3.X standard, such as USB 3.0, 3.1 or 3.2 - there are then no restrictions in terms of size. A memory monster can also be coupled to the console, but the full memory capacity will not be able to be used due to the Velocity architecture described above. Players who mainly play games optimized for Xbox Series X/S then look down the drain. This is only possible via internal memory or memory card.

Nevertheless, everything else can be easily outsourced to the external hard drive. This refers to backward compatible games for Xbox One, Xbox 360 and the Xbox Original console.

However, you can save all games and scores externally - this also applies to titles that have been optimized for Xbox Series X/S. At least there is no need to download the power titles, which can have advantages – for example when the Internet goes on strike.

Before expanding the memory of the Xbox Series X/S, it is therefore important to consider what type of games you play most often. If the games are primarily downward compatible, it can be worthwhile to use an external hard drive that is usually cheaper. Or you only use the external storage drive as storage anyway, to have optimized games ready to move them. Even then you can save money. If you want to act without detours to play high-performance games, you have to use the memory cards.

Author

Last updated on 30.11.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Mit jeder Woche erscheinen neue Spiele für Microsofts Xbox Series X oder deren Budget-Variante Xbox Series S. Während die Konsole mehr als genug Leistung abrufen kann, dürfte es mit dem Speicherplatz früher oder später knapp werden. Eine Vergrößerung des digitalen Stauraums kann helfen – dafür gibt es mehrere Möglichkeiten. So kann man den Speicher der Xbox Series X/S erweitern.

Die Xbox Series X verfügt ab Werk über ein Terrabyte ans Speicherplatz – das klingt viel, angesichts der Größe moderne Videospiele ist die Konsole vor allem dann schnell “vollinstalliert”, wenn man fleißig neue Titel via Game Pass herunterlädt. Noch schwieriger wird es für Besitzer der Xbox Series S, denn die hat lediglich rund die Hälfte der Speicherkapazität der Luxusvariante. Immerhin: Spieler können den Speicherplatz erweitern.

Xbox Series X: Vollspeed nur mit “Velocity”

Den Speicher der Xbox Series X/S zu erweitern, ist eine knifflige Angelegenheit. Aufgrund der Velocity-Architektur kann man die volle Leistung der Konsole nur mit speziellem Speicher nutzen. Soll heißen: Um für Xbox Series X/s optimierte Titel spielen zu können, müssen die Speichermedien die “Xbox Velocity Architecture” unterstützen. Das gelingt in jedem Fall mit dem internen Speicher der Konsolen, sowie mit den extra für die Xbox Series-Modelle entwickelten Erweiterungskarten. Die “Expansion Cards” von Seagate werden dabei in einen Slot auf der Rückseite der Konsole gesteckt – beschriftet ist das verständlich mit “Storage Expansion”.

Der Grund: Die Speicherkarte verbindet sich dann per PCI Express 4.0 mit der Xbox und kann somit die Geschwindigkeit ausreizen. Erst dadurch erreichen die externen Speicherkarten die Leistungsgeschwindigkeit des internen Speichers. Besonders günstig ist das aber nicht: die Karten kosten mindestens rund 150 Euro. Das Luxusmodell schlägt gar mit derzeit knapp 450 Euro zu Buche – dafür gibt es dann frischen Speicherplatz zwischen 512 Gigabyte und 2 Terrabyte. Für 450 Euro kann man den Speicherplatz der Xbox Series X/S also verdoppeln ohne Einbußen hinnehmen zu müssen.

Der Vorteil ist das vereinheitlichte System hinter der Idee um die externen Speicherkarten. Und Platz benötigen sie auch nicht – anstatt den externen Speicher wie eine Festplatte neben, auf oder hinter die Konsole legen zu müssen, findet die Seagate-Karte ihren Platz direkt in der Xbox Series X/S. Die Expansion Card ragt dann etwas heraus, man sieht es aber nicht. Wer den Speicher der Xbox Series X/S erweitern möchte, findet in den Speicherkarten zwar eine teure, aber zugleich die praktischste und leistungsfähigste Variante.

Alternative: Xbox-Speicher per SSD erweitern

Deutlich günstiger fährt man mit einer Alternative, falls man den Speicher der Xbox Series X/S erweitern will. Die Xbox-Architekten haben Spielern nämlich die Möglichkeit eingeräumt, auch eine Standard-USB-Festplatte oder gar SSD anzuschließen. Das ist dann allerdings zumindest in Teilen knifflig: Die Festplatte muss zunächst den USB-Standard 3.X erfüllen, etwa USB 3.0, 3.1 oder 3.2 – keine Einschränkungen gibt es dann jedenfalls bei der Größe. Auch ein Speichermonster lässt sich mit der Konsole koppeln, lediglich die volle Speicherleistung wird man aufgrund der oben beschriebenen Velocity-Architektur nicht nutzen können. Damit schauen dann Spieler in die Röhre, die hauptsächlich für Xbox Series X/S optimierte Spiele spielen. Das geht nur per internem Speicher oder per Speicherkarte.

Dennoch gilt: Alles andere kann man problemlos auf die externe Festplatte auslagern. Gemeint sind abwärtskompatible Spiele für Xbox One, Xbox 360 sowie der Xbox Original-Konsole.

Extern speichern kann man allerdings alle Spiele sowie auch Spielstände – das gilt dann ausdrücklich auch für jene Titel, die für Xbox Series X/S optimiert worden sind. So entfällt dann bei den Power-Titeln zumindest der Download, was Vorteile haben kann – etwa wenn das Internet streikt.

Vor der Erweiterung des Speichers der Xbox Series X/S gilt es demnach zu überlegen, welche Art Spiele man besonders häufig spielt. Sind es vorrangig abwärtskompatible Spiele, kann sich der Griff zu einer meist günstigeren externen Festplatte lohnen. Oder man nutzt die externe Speicherplatte ohnehin nur als Speicher, um optimierte Spiele parat zu haben, um sie zu verschieben. Auch dann lässt sich Geld sparen. Wer ohne Umwege agieren will, um Höchstleistungsspiele zu zocken, muss allerdings auf die Speicherkarten zurückgreifen.

Autor

Letzte Aktualisierung am 17.08.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API