Respawn Entertainment, the developer behind titles such as Titanfall and Apex Legends, was the first game studio to win an Oscar at this year's 93rd awards.


A video game project was at least indirectly honored, as the documentary “Colette” was shot for the VR game Medal of Honor: Above and Beyond.

Content of Medal of Honor: Above and Beyond

Electronic Arts celebrates as well as Repawn Entertainment. The studio has set a real milestone with winning the Oscar: It is the first game studio that the golden boy was able to get hold of for a work. The focus is on the VR video game Medal of Honor: Above and Beyond and its in-game gallery. The content that can be unlocked there includes the documentary film that has now been recognized at the 93rd Academy Awards: Colette.

"We couldn't be more proud of Anthony Giacchino and the work of the team in building Colette's story as part of the Medal of Honor, a video game franchise rooted in history and retelling the stories of veterans down through the generations," says Peter Hirschmann, Creative Director at Respawn Entertainment. If Hirschmann has its way, it shouldn't stop at the premiere for the games industry. He hopes this Oscar will be just the first of many to be awarded to video game companies.

The documentary follows Colette Marin-Catherine. She is one of the last living members of the French Resistance when she returns to Germany for the first time in 74 years. Colette had refused to enter the country since the end of World War II. That only changed when the young history student Lucie stepped into her life and encouraged her to visit the concentration camp where the Nazis killed her brother.

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

What sounds like the outline of a real anti-war drama is actually part of a video game. The documentary Colette is thus a kind of symbol for profound, multi-layered content that video games are able to tell. The work, which is an emotional climax in the Medal of Honor gallery, is 24 minutes long. The Oculus studios were also involved in the production - at least indirectly, the Face group also received the award.

The fact that Colette was even eligible for the Iscar Awards is thanks to the British The Guardian: The daily newspaper bought the film and showed it at festivals. Only in this way could the documentary strip be included in the selection at all.


 

Author

Last updated on 25.11.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Respawn Entertainment, der Entwickler unter anderem hinter Titeln wie Titanfall oder Apex Legends, hat als erstes Spielestudio überhaupt einen Oscar bei den diesjährigen, 93. Verleihungen ergattern können.


Ausgezeichnet wurde zumindest indirekt ein Videospielprojekt, denn der Dokumentarfilm „Colette“ ist für das VR-Spiel Medal of Honor: Above and Beyond gedreht worden.

Inhalt von Medal of Honor: Above and Beyond

Bei Electronic Arts wird ebenso gefeiert wie bei Repawn Entertainment. Das Studio hat mit dem Oscar-Gewinn einen echten Meilenstein gesetzt: Es ist das erste Spielestudio, das den Goldjungen für ein Werk ergattern konnte. Im Mittelpunkt steht das VR-Videospiel Medal of Honor: Above and Beyond und dessen Ingame-Galerie. Zu den freischaltbaren Inhalten gehört dort nämlich jener Dokumentarstreifen, der nun im Rahmen der 93. Academy Awards ausgezeichnet wurde: Colette.

„Wir könnten nicht stolzer auf Anthony Giacchino und die Arbeit des Teams sein, die Colettes Geschichte als Teil der Medal of Honor, ein Videospiel-Franchise, das in der Geschichte verwurzelt ist und die Geschichten von Veteranen über Jahre hinweg an Generationen nacherzählt“, sagt Peter Hirschmann, Creative Director bei Respawn Entertainment. Bei der Premiere soll es für die Spieleindustrie nicht bleiben, wenn es nach Hirschmann geht. Er hofft, dass dieser Oscar nur der erste von vielen ist, die an Videospielfirmen verliehen werden.

Der Dokumentarfilm folgt Colette Marin-Catherine. Sie ist eines der letzten lebenden Mitglieder der französischen Résistance, als sie zum ersten Mal seit 74 Jahren nach Deutschland zurückkehrt. Colette hatte sich seit dem Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs geweigert, das Land zu betreten. Das änderte sich erst, als die junge Geschichtsstudentin Lucie in ihr Leben trat und sie ermutigte, das Konzentrationslager zu besuchen, in dem die Nazis ihren Bruder töteten.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Was klingt wie der Umriss eines wachechten Anti-Kriegsdramas ist tatsächlich Bestandteil eines Videospiel. Der Dokumentarfilm Colette ist damit eine Art Symbol für tiefgreifende, vielschichtige Inhalte, die Videospiele in der Lage sind zu erzählen. 24 Minuten lang ist das Werk, das ein emotionaler Höhepunkt der Medal-of-Honor-Galerie ist. Die Oculus-Studios waren ebenfalls an der der Produktion beteiligt – zumindest indirekt erhält damit auch der Konzern Face die Auszeichnung.

Dass Colette überhaupt für die Iscar-Verleihung infrage kommen konnte, ist dem britischen The Guardian zu verdanken: Die Tageszeitung hatte den Film nämlich gekauft und auf Festivals gezeigt. Nur so konnte der Doku-Streifen überhaupt in die Auswahl rücken.


 

Letzte Aktualisierung am 17.10.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API