Despite the corona lockdown, the toy industry is up according to estimates by the Federal Association of Toy Retailers. An increase of around four percent is expected there for 2021. Even in the second year of the pandemic, toys are thus proving to be a growth trend that apparently could hardly be contained by restrictions. 

Even in the second year of the corona pandemic, toys are a real constant: “The pandemic turns us into gamers. Despite the lockdown in the first half of the year, consumers spent more money on toys. People couldn't travel or go out and therefore continued to invest in board games, puzzles and handicraft materials, ”says Steffen Kahnt, Managing Director of the Spielwaren Handelsverband Spielwaren (BVS). The BVS expects a four percent increase in sales across all sales channels. This would mean that the domestic market would grow from 3,7 billion euros in 2020 (at retail prices, based on consumer panel npdgroup Germany) to at least 3,8 billion euros in 2021.

Success with licenses: Harry Potter and Star Wars

The stationary retailers had to close their stores for a full five months and could almost only sell goods online. They have further optimized their online sales channels accordingly. “The pandemic has catapulted us into the future as retailers. The wheel will not turn back in e-commerce. For the toy trade, the future lies in the combination of stationary excellence and online competence. However, no website can keep up with the shopping experience in a real toy store, ”says BVS Chairman Wieland Sulzer.

 In view of the tense delivery situation, retailers are starting the Christmas business with cautious optimism: Kahnt: “The retailers have only stocked up on goods. Because the disruptions in the supply chains also have an impact on toy retailers - as do the increased freight costs. Manufacturers have already made price adjustments and postponed delivery dates. ”In order not to become a desperate buyer, Kahnt recommends buying the toy of your choice as early as possible. “With above-average popular products, there can quickly be a bottleneck. But: No child will go away empty-handed at Christmas because of this. "

According to the industry association, adventure and experimentation are the toy trends for Christmas 2021 - and licenses are also apparently at the top of the wish lists, especially among fans of Star Wars and Harry Potter.

Experimentation, sustainability and adventure are the big themes of the hottest toys in 2021. “Whether it's growing organic plants in your own greenhouse or creating a playhouse with solar modules - toys that promote environmental awareness among young scientists are all the rage. But also classics like the adventure game with dinosaurs, volcanic eruptions & Co. are indispensable this year ”, says Kahnt.

 In the licensing area, Star Wars and Harry Potter continue to shine at the top, closely followed by Disney's Frozen and the pre-school license Paw Patrol. Super Mario is being pushed hard by Lego and Carrera. The sales of the classic games also show that families are playing more again: Skip-Bo, Uno and Monopoly are very popular.  

The evaluation of the BVS data shows one thing above all: You don't necessarily need a reason to buy toys. Birthdays (21 percent) and Christmas (25 percent) are welcome occasions to buy, but in 36 percent of cases people would buy “just like that”. Overall, the Internet dominates as a gigantic shopping hall - 54 percent of those surveyed buy online. Stationary specialty stores, at 16 percent, are only just above the hypermarkets (14 percent).

Among the toy companies, Mattel leads with a 22 percent increase in sales, far behind Lego (13 percent), Kosmos (14 percent) and Boxine (13 percent). Ravensburger achieved four percent growth in months 1 to 10 of 2021.

Even if it often appears, electronic toys are not the star among Germans' toy purchases: they only account for one percent. The construction kits segments are much more populated, with an increase of 13 percent for a total of 17 percent in the overall market. Games and puzzles make up 16 percent of the market and grew by twelve percent between January and October. Also in demand: action figures - the plus is 13 percent, but the market share is only two.

The BVS represents the interests of toy retailers of all sales channels and company sizes in Germany. It is affiliated with the German Trade Association - HDE, whose regional associations provide the delegates to the BVS general assembly.


Author

Last updated on 4.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Trotz Corona-Lockdown im Plus ist die Spielwarenbranche nach Schätzungen des Bundesverband des Spielwaren-Einzelhandels. Dort erwartet man für das Jahr 2021 einen Zuwachs von rund vier Prozent. Auch im zweiten Jahr der Pandemie erweisen Spielwaren sich damit als Wachstumstrend, der sich durch Beschränkungen offenbar kaum eindämmen ließ. 

Auch im zweiten Jahr der Corona-Pandemie ist Spielzeug eine echte Konstante: „Die Pandemie macht uns zu Spielern. Trotz Lockdown in der ersten Jahreshälfte haben die Konsumenten nochmal mehr Geld für Spielwaren ausgegeben. Die Menschen konnten nicht verreisen oder ausgehen und haben deshalb weiter in Brettspiele, Puzzles und Bastelmaterialien investiert“, so Steffen Kahnt, Geschäftsführer des Handelsverband Spielwaren (BVS). Der BVS rechnet über alle Vertriebswege mit einem Umsatzplus von vier Prozent. Damit würde der Inlandsmarkt von 3,7 Mrd. Euro in 2020 (zu Endverbraucherpreisen, Basis: consumer panel npdgroup deutschland) auf mindestens 3,8 Mrd. Euro in 2021 wachsen.

Erfolg mit Lizenzen: Harry Potter und Star Wars

Die stationären Händler mussten ihre Geschäfte ganze fünf Monate dichtmachen und konnten Ware fast nur online verkaufen. Entsprechend haben sie ihre Online-Verkaufskanäle weiter optimiert. „Die Pandemie hat uns als Händler in die Zukunft katapultiert. Das Rad wird sich beim E-Commerce nicht zurückdrehen lassen. Die Zukunft liegt für den Spielwarenhandel in der Kombination aus stationärer Exzellenz und Online-Kompetenz. Mit dem Einkaufserlebnis in einem echten Spielwarengeschäft kann jedoch keine Internetseite mithalten“, sagt der BVS-Vorsitzende Wieland Sulzer.

 Angesichts der angespannten Liefersituation geht der Handel mit vorsichtigem Optimismus in das Weihnachtsgeschäft:  Kahnt: „Die Händler haben sich maximal mit Ware eingedeckt. Denn die Störungen in den Lieferketten wirken sich auch auf den Spielwaren-Einzelhandel aus – ebenso die gestiegenen Frachtkosten. Hersteller haben schon Preisanpassungen vorgenommen und Liefertermine verschoben.“ Um nicht zum Verzweiflungskäufer zu werden, empfiehlt Kahnt das Wunsch-Spielzeug möglichst früh zu kaufen. „Bei überdurchschnittlich beliebten Produkten kann es schnell zu einem Engpass kommen. Aber: Kein Kind wird deshalb an Weihnachten leer ausgehen.“

Abenteuer und Experimentieren sind nach Angaben des Branchenverbands die Spielzeugtrends zu Weihnachten 2021 – und auch Lizenzen stehen auf den Wunschzetteln offenbar ganz oben, insbesondere bei Fans von Star Wars und Harry Potter.

Experimentieren, Nachhaltigkeit und Abenteuer sind die großen Themen der angesagtesten Spielzeuge 2021. „Ob im eigenen Gewächshaus ökologisch Pflanzen anbauen oder ein Spielhaus mit Solarmodulen erschaffen – Spielzeuge, die das Umweltbewusstsein kleiner Wissenschaftler fördern, liegen voll im Trend. Aber auch Klassiker wie das Abenteuerspiel mit Dinos, Vulkanausbrüchen & Co. sind in diesem Jahr nicht wegzudenken“, so Kahnt.

 Im Lizenzbereich glänzen Star Wars und Harry Potter nach wie vor an der Spitze, dicht gefolgt von Disneys Frozen und der PreSchool-Lizenz Paw Patrol. Super Mario wird durch Lego und Carrera stark gepusht. Dass in den Familien wieder mehr gespielt wird, zeigen auch die Absätze der Spieleklassiker: Skip-Bo, Uno und Monopoly liegen hoch im Kurs.  

Die Auswertung der Daten des BVS zeigt vor allem eines: Es braucht nicht unbedingt einen Grund für den Spielwarenkauf. Zwar sind Geburtstage (21 Prozent) und Weihnachten (25 Prozent) willkommene Kaufanlässe, in 36 Prozent der Fälle würde allerdings auch “einfach so” gekauft. Insgesamt dominiert übrigens das Internet als gigantische Shopping-Halle – 54 Prozent  der Befragten kaufen online ein. Stationäre Fachgeschäfte liegen mit 16 Prozent nur knapp über den Verbrauchermärkten (14 Prozent).

Unter den Spielwarenunternehmen führt Mattel mit 22 Prozent Umsatzplus großem Abstand zu Lego (13 Prozent), Kosmos (14 Prozent) und Boxine (13 Prozent). Ravensburger brachte es in den Monaten 1 bis 10 des Jahres 2021 auf vier Prozent Zuwachs.

Auch wenn es oft den Anschein hat, elektronisches Spielzeug ist nicht der Star unter den Spielwarenkäufen der Deutschen: Lediglich ein Prozent entfallen darauf. Deutlich stärker besetzt sind die Segmente Bausätze mit einem Plus von 13 Prozent bei insgesamt 17 Prozent am Gesamtmarkt. Spiele und Puzzles machen 16 Prozent des Marktes aus und legten in der Zeit von Januar bis Oktober um zwölf Prozent zu. Ebenfalls gefragt: Actionfiguren – das Plus liegt bei 13 Prozent, der Marktanteil hingegen lediglich bei zwei.

Der BVS vertritt die Interessen des Spielwaren-Einzelhandels aller Vertriebswege und Unternehmensgrößenklassen in Deutschland. Er ist dem Handelsverband Deutschland – HDE angeschlossen, dessen Landesverbände die Delegierten der BVS-Mitgliederversammlung stellen.


Autor

Letzte Aktualisierung am 3.10.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API