The cult Ruhrpott role-playing game Gothic, developed at the time by Piranha Bytes Studios in Essen, was released on March 15, 2001 and thus celebrated its 20th anniversary the day before yesterday. In keeping with the occasion, the Spanish developers Alkimia Interactive and publisher THQ Nordic die Steam product page set up for remake.


The Barcelona-based studio unexpectedly released a prototype demo of the Gothic Remake in December 2019 to explore interest in such a project and the brand. At the end of playable teasers At that time there was a survey that asked about the interest and criticism of the reinterpretation and which should be decisive for the production. At the time, many voices criticized the richness and saturation of colors in the game world, which did not really match the dark and dirty mood of the original. Alkimia Interactive has apparently accepted the criticism: The screenshots that have now been published seem much darker than in the demo back then. The color saturation was also noticeably reduced.

"Original and complete remake of Gothic 1"

Even more: While the Gothic 1 remake was originally supposed to be more of a reinterpretation of the well-known material, which wanted to creatively extend the lore or develop it, the whole thing should now stick much more closely to the original and depict a "true to the original and complete remake of Gothic 1" . Business and Product Development Director at THQ Nordic, Reinhard Pollice, emphasized that the dialogues remained completely untouched. Even the original speakers are to be retained in this context.

[foogallery id = ”30222 ″]

On the other hand, the very dusty combat system is to be modernized. Even here, however, the developers want to take up the principles of the original system and force them into a modernized form. The Gothic 1 Remake is being developed for PC, PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X | S.

The Gothic 1 remake is described as follows:

“The kingdom of Myrtana has been invaded by an insatiable horde of orcs. King Rhobar II needs large quantities of magical ore to forge powerful weapons and for this reason operates mines with all available prisoners in Khorinis. To prevent these prisoners from escaping, the monarch instructs his best magicians to conjure up a magical barrier. But something is going wrong. The magic gets out of hand and a mutiny turns the valley of mines into a lawless area ruled by the most brutal prisoners. The king must now negotiate with the new owners, while the tensions between the various factions in the valley of the mine itself boil. But what nobody expects: the arrival of a nameless prisoner will change everything. "

Author

  • Editor and news writer. Second life teacher-to-be. Likes art, video games, comics, movies, board games, and music.

Das kultige Ruhrpott-Rollenspiel Gothic, seinerzeit entwickelt von den Essener Piranha Bytes Studios, ist am 15. März 2001 erschienen und feierte damit vorgestern sein 20-jähriges Jubiläum. Passend zu diesem Anlass haben die spanischen Entwickler Alkimia Interactive und Publisher THQ Nordic die Steam-Produktseite zum Remake eingerichtet.


Das in Barcelona beheimatete Studio veröffentlichte im Dezember 2019 unerwartet eine Prototyp-Demo zum Gothic Remake, um das Interesse an einem solchen Projekt und der Marke auszuloten. Am Ende des spielbaren Teasers gab es damals eine Umfrage, die das Interesse und Kritikpunkte der Neuinterpretation abfragte und die ausschlaggebend für die Produktion sein sollte. Viele Stimmen bemängelten damals die Farbfülle- und Sättigung der Spielwelt, die nicht so recht zur düster-dreckigen Stimmung des Originals passen wollte. Man hat sich bei Alkimia Interactive der Kritik offenbar angenommen: Die nun veröffentlichten Screenshots wirken deutlich düsterer als in der Demo damals. Die Farbsättigung wurde ebenfalls merklich geschmälert.

„Originalgetreues und vollständiges Remake von Gothic 1“

Mehr noch: Während das Gothic 1 Remake ursprünglich mehr eine Neuinterpretation des bekannten Stoffes sein sollte, welche kreativ die Lore weiterspannen oder ausarbeiten wollte, soll sich das Ganze nunmehr sehr viel stärker am Original halten und ein „originalgetreues und vollständiges Remake von Gothic 1“ abbilden. So betonte Business and Product Development Director bei THQ Nordic, Reinhard Pollice, dass die Dialoge gar vollständig unangetastet blieben. Selbst die Originalsprecher sollen in diesem Zuge beibehalten werden.

Modernisiert soll hingegen das arg angestaubte Kampfsystem werden. Selbst hier wollen die Entwickler allerdings die Grundsätze des ursprünglichen Systems aufgreifen und in eine modernisierte Form zwängen. Entwickelt wird das Gothic 1 Remake für PC, PlayStation 5 und Xbox Series X|S.

Beschrieben wird das Gothic 1 Remake wie folgt:

„Das Königreich Myrtana wurde von einer unersättlichen Horde Orks überfallen. König Rhobar II benötigt große Mengen magischen Erzes, um mächtige Waffen zu schmieden, und betreibt aus diesem Grund mit allen verfügbaren Häftlingen in Khorinis Minen.Um diese Häftlinge von der Flucht abzuhalten, beauftragt der Monarch seine besten Magier mit der Beschwörung einer magischen Barriere. Aber etwas läuft schief. Die Magie gerät außer Kontrolle und eine Meuterei verwandelt das Minental in ein gesetzloses Gebiet, das von den brutalsten Häftlingen beherrscht wird. Der König muss nun mit den neuen Besitzern verhandeln, während die Spannungen zwischen den verschiedenen Fraktionen im Minental selbst hochkochen. Was aber niemand erwartet: Die Ankunft eines namenlosen Häftlings wird alles verändern.“