Publisher 2K announces that there will be a Women's National Basketball Association (WNBA) game mode for the next-gen consoles, i.e. exclusively for Playstation 5 and Xbox Series X. "The W" should be playable as a single player career mode and team mode or, under the title "MyWNBA", the entire WNBA league. Some of the best-known players in the women's professional basketball league are said to be represented in the basketball simulation game, such as Seattle Storm's player Breanna Stewart, who is currently the highest rated player in the professional league.


In the basketball simulation game NBA 2K21, players can use "The W" mode to create their very own WNBA player and then choose one of twelve WNBA franchise companies. These correspond to the real companies under which the professional athletes of the league currently play. In the online multiplayer mode "MyPlayer", video game players can compete against each other in a three-on-three competition on a playing field that was created exclusively for this mode. So far it has not been announced that other parts of the “MyPlayer” options, such as “My Park”, can also be used.

Women's Pro League is taken seriously at NBA 2K21 WNBA

“MyWNBA”, on the other hand, is a mode that most closely resembles that of “My GM” from “NBA 2K”. In the game's career mode, the player, as general manager, takes care of his NBA franchise. As a commissioner, however; about the growth of the entire WNBA team and thus the entire professional league of women's basketball.

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

With the "WNBA" mode, "NBA 2K21" brings the women's league a big step closer to the level of the men's league. The basketball simulation, which has always been successful, has in the last year, in the video game "NBA 2K20", placed greater emphasis on stereotype play with role-playing elements and many lifestyle functions. This does not seem to dominate the "WNBA" mode this year, making the women's league a serious way of playing. In the "Playoff" option, players can skip an NBA season and start the playoffs immediately.

"NBA 2K21" with "WNBA" mode will be released on November 10th on the Xbox Series X, followed by the version for the Playstation 12 on November 5th.

NBA 2K21 takes a step against sexism in video games with WNBA mode

"NBA 2K21" is a basketball simulation video game developed by Visual Concepts and published by 2K Sports. So far it has been created in cooperation with the "National Basketball Association", but since 2019 also with the support of the "Women's National Basketball Association". The professional basketball league for women, which has existed since 1996, currently consists of twelve teams based in the United States.

The creation of a serious women's sports league in a video game is a welcome change for gamers. Professional sports and their video games have to contend with a sexism problem that should not be underestimated. In all likelihood, NBA 2K21 has taken an important step towards equality.


Preview Product Rating Price
NBA 2K21 Standard Edition - [Xbox Series X] NBA 2K21 Standard Edition - [Xbox Series X] * 5,95 EUR

Author

Last updated on 5.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Publisher 2K kündigt an, dass es einen Women’s National Basketball Association (WNBA) Spielmodus für die Next-Gen Konsolen, also exklusiv für Playstation 5 und Xbox Series X, geben soll. Dabei sollen „The W“ als Einzelspieler-Karrieremodus und Team-Modus oder, unter dem Titel „MyWNBA“, die gesamte WNBA-Liga spielbar sein. Einige der bekanntesten Spielerinnen der Basketball-Profiliga für Frauen sollen in dem Basketball-Simulationsspiel vertreten sein, wie beispielsweise Seattle Storm’s Spielerin Breanna Stewart, die zur Zeit die bestbewertete Spielerin der Profiliga darstellt.


In dem Basketball-Simulationsspiel NBA 2K21 können Spieler durch den „The W“-Modus ihre ganz eigene WNBA-Spielerin erstellen und anschließend eines von zwölf WNBA-Franchise-Unternehmen aussuchen. Diese entsprechen den realen Unternehmen, unter denen zur Zeit die Profi-Athletinnen der Liga spielen. Im Online-Mehrspielermodus „MyPlayer“ können Spieler des Videospiels in einem drei gegen drei Wettbewerb, auf einem Spielfeld, das exklusiv für diesen Modus erstellt wurde, gegeneinander antreten. Bisher wurde nicht bekannt, dass auch andere Teile der „MyPlayer“-Optionen, wie „Mein Park“, genutzt werden können.

Frauen-Profiliga wird bei NBA 2K21 WNBA ernst genommen

„MyWNBA“ ist hingegen ein Modus der dem des „Mein GM“ von „NBA 2K“ am ehesten gleicht. In dem Karriere-Modus des Spiels kümmert sich der Spieler, als General Manager, um seine NBA-Franchise. Als Commissioner hingegen; um das Wachstum der gesamten WNBA-Teams und damit der kompletten Profiliga des Frauen-Basketballs.

YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Mit dem „WNBA“-Modus bringt „NBA 2K21″ die Frauenliga einen großen Schritt näher in Richtung Niveau der Männerliga. Die seit jeher erfolgreiche Basketball-Simulation hat im letzten Jahr, in dem Videospiel „NBA 2K20″, ein vermehrtes Augenmerk auf Stereotype-Spielweisen mit Rollenspiel-Elementen und vielen Lifestyle-Funktionen gelegt. Dies scheint in diesem Jahr den „WNBA“-Modus nicht zu dominieren und damit die Frauenliga zu einer ernstzunehmenden Spielweise zu machen. In der „Playoff“-Option können Spieler eine NBA-Saison überspringen und sofort in die Playoffs starten.

„NBA 2K21″ mit „WNBA“-Modus wird am 10. November auf der Xbox Series X veröffentlicht, am 12. November folgt die Version für die Playstation 5.

NBA 2K21 geht mit WNBA-Modus einen Schritt gegen Sexismus in Videospielen

„NBA 2K21″ ist ein Basketball-Simulations-Videospiel, das von Visual Concepts entwickelt wurde und von 2K Sports veröffentlicht wird. Bisher wurde es in Zusammenarbeit mit der „National Basketball Association“ erstellt, seit dem Jahr 2019 jedoch auch mit Unterstützung der „Women’s National Basketball Association“. Die seit 1996 bestehende Basketball-Profiliga für Frauen besteht derzeit aus zwölf Mannschaften, die in den Vereinigten Staaten beheimatet sind.

Das erstellen einer ernstzunehmenden Frauen-Sport-Liga, in einem Videospiel, stellt eine für Gamer zu begrüßende Veränderung dar. Der Profisport und dessen Videospiele haben mit einem nicht zu unterschätzendem Sexismusproblem zu kämpfen. So ist NBA 2K21, mit aller Voraussicht, ein wichtiger Schritt in Richtung Gleichberechtigung gelungen.

Auch interessant:
Super Mario 3D World: Noch mehr Gameplay zu Bowser’s Fury

Letzte Aktualisierung am 25.01.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API