Rumors of a possible Nintendo Switch Pro with 4K support and fundamentally improved hardware specifications have been around for several years. Nintendo, however, always kept a low profile in this regard. But now things get rolling with specific details: According to the news agency Bloomberg a new version of the Nintendo Switch is to appear, which will have installed OLED displays manufactured by Samsung.


According to the Bloomberg article, Nintendo is ordering OLED displays from the South Korean tech giant, which are intended for the production of a new switch revision.

The display becomes larger, the resolution remains the same

The panels will maintain the 720p resolution in handheld mode. It was previously speculated whether the hardware's power would be sufficient for a 1080p display in mobile operation. However, something changes in size: While the current Switch is equipped with a 6,2-inch display and the Switch Lite measures a screen size of 5,5-inches, the new OLED displays should be 7-inch copies Act.

The resolution in dock mode is actually increased and should now support 4K (previously 1080p).

Although Nintendo President Shuntaro Furukawa had ruled out the timely announcement of a fresh switch revision, production should start as early as June. It will be interesting to see how the hardware will otherwise be expanded - faster processor and GPU as well as hardware ray tracing would be conceivable - in order to be able to compete with the powerful heavyweights PS5 and Xbox Series S / X.

Author

  • Editor and news writer. Second life teacher-to-be. Likes art, video games, comics, movies, board games, and music.

Gerüchte um eine mögliche Nintendo Switch Pro mit 4K Unterstützung und grundlegend verbesserten Hardware-Spezifikationen  gibt es schon seit einigen Jahren.  Nintendo indes hielt sich diesbezüglich stets bedeckt. Nun kommt die Sache aber mit konkreten Details ins Rollen: Laut der Nachrichtenagentur Bloomberg soll eine neue Version der Nintendo Switch erscheinen, die von Samsung gefertigte OLED-Displays verbaut haben wird.


Dem Bloomberg-Artikel zufolge bestellt Nintendo OLED-Displays beim südkoreanischen Tech-Giganten, welche für die Produktion einer neuen Switch-Revision vorgesehen sind.

Display wird größer, Auflösung bleibt identisch

Die Panels werden die 720p-Auflösung im Handheld-Modus beibehalten. Zuvor wurde spekuliert, ob die Power der Hardware für ein 1080p-Display im mobilen Betrieb reichen würde.  Allerdings ändert sich etwas an der Größe: Während die derzeitige Switch mit einem 6,2-Zoll Display ausgestattet ist und die Switch Lite eine Bilddiagonale von 5,5-Zoll misst, soll es sich bei den neuen OLED-Displays um 7-Zoll Exemplare handeln.

Die Auflösung im Dock-Modus wird indes tatsächlich hochgeschraubt und soll nunmehr 4K (vorher 1080p) unterstützen.

Zwar hatte Nintendo-Präsident Shuntaro Furukawa die zeitnahe Ankündigung einer frischen Switch-Revision ausgeschlossen, die Produktion soll aber bereits im Juni beginnen. Man darf gespannt sein, wie die Hardware sonst ausgebaut wird – schnellerer Prozessor und GPU sowie Hardware-Raytracing wären denkbar – um mit den leistungsstarken Schwergewichten PS5 und Xbox Series S/X konkurrieren zu können.