The game! in Duisburg has been postponed to July, the organizing Nostheide Verlag announced. Originally it was planned to hold the games fair from March 25th to 27th in the landscape park in Duisburg.

Nostheide Verlag gives the corona situation around Omikron as the reason for the postponement. The date of the event has been pushed back by almost three months: the game! 2022 is now scheduled to take place from July 1st to 3rd.

The situation surrounding the Omicron variant is getting more and more out of control. Laboratories are reaching their limits when evaluating the few PCR tests compared to other countries, and the situation in schools is often tense – normal wards in hospitals are filling up, but the intensive care area is not yet at its limit.

Decision “necessary and most sensible”

The Nuremberg Toy Fair has already pushed ahead with its decision to cancel the first relevant game fair of 2022. Instead, this year, too, they are betting on a pure online concept. The game! in Duisburg the second trade fair would have been in the first quarter of the new year – in March visitors would have been invited to the Duisburg Landscape Park. Nothing will come of it: the game is only supposed to come in the summer! 2022 will now take place, according to Nostheide Verlag. The event is planned to take place from July 1st to 3rd.

"Omicron is currently causing a great deal of uncertainty as to whether public trade fairs can be held at all," it said. “We are therefore postponing the trade fair by almost three months.” The publishers had their concerns themselves, but they were also brought to Nostheide Verlag from outside.

One anticipates, because in theory one could have waited and postponed the decision. One of the reasons is the unpredictable situation around major events in view of the rapidly spreading Omikron variant: The publisher assumes that "due to the Corona Protection Ordinance in NRW and the increasing infections with their consequences, such a large public event cannot be held". At present, public trade fairs would only be permitted if they were normally aimed at visits by no more than 750 people at the same time.

"This early decision, which was not easy for us, seems necessary and makes the most sense to us in the interests of all those involved," says the publisher organizing the fair. “We hope that you will understand this in these special times and that SPIEL DOCH! going to visit in July”.

According to the publisher, tickets that have already been purchased remain valid for the corresponding weekdays. Information is available online at: spieldoch-messe.com.


Author

Last updated on 3.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Die Spiel doch! in Duisburg ist in den Juli verschoben worden, das teilte der ausrichtenden Nostheide Verlag mit. Ursprünglich war geplant, die Spielemesse vom 25. bis 27. März im Landschaftspark in Duisburg zu veranstalten.

Die Corona-Lage um Omikron gibt der Nostheide Verlag als Grund für die Verschiebung an. Um knapp drei Monate nach hinten wandert der Veranstaltungstermin: die Spiel doch! 2022 soll nun vom 1. bis 3. Juli stattfinden.

Die Lage um die Omikron-Variante gerät zunehmend weiter außer Kontrolle. Labore kommen bei der Auswertung der ohnehin im Ländervergleich wenigen PCR-Testungen an ihre Grenzen, in Schulen ist die Lage vielfach angespannt – in den Krankenhäusern füllen sich Normalstationen, der Intensivbereich ist derzeit jedoch noch nicht am Limit.

Entscheidung “notwendig und am sinnvollsten”

Die Nürnberger Spielwarenmesse preschte mit ihrer Entscheidung, die erste relevante Spielemesse des Jahres 2022 abzusagen, bereits vor. Stattdessen setzt man dort auch dieses Jahr auf ein reines Online-Konzept. Die Spiel doch! in Duisburg wäre die zweite Messe im ersten Quartal des neuen Jahres  gewesen – im März hätte man Besucher in den Duisburger Landschaftspark einladen wollen. Daraus wird nichts: Erst im Sommer soll die Spiel doch! 2022 nun stattfinden, teilt der Nostheide Verlag mit. Geplant ist die Ausrichtung vom 1. bis 3. Juli.

“Derzeit sorgt Omikron für eine große Unsicherheit, ob Publikumsmessen überhaupt durchgeführt werden können”, hieß es. “Wir verschieben deshalb die Messe um knapp drei Monate.” Die Bedenken habe man im Verlag selbst gehabt, sie seien jedoch auch von außen an den Nostheide Verlag herangetragen worden.

Man greift vor, denn in der Theorie hätte man durchaus noch abwarten und die Entscheidung vertagen können. Einer der Gründe ist die nicht vorhersagbare Lage um Großveranstaltungen angesichts der sich rasant ausbreitenden Omikron-Variante: Der Verlag geht davon aus, dass “aufgrund der Coronaschutzverordnung in NRW und der steigenden Infektionen mit ihren Folgen keine solch große Publikumsveranstaltung durchgeführt werden kann”. Aktuell wären Publikumsmessen nur gestattet, wenn sie im Normalfall auf einen Besuch von nicht mehr als 750 Personen gleichzeitig ausgerichtet wären.

“Diese frühe Entscheidung, die uns nicht leicht fiel, erscheint uns im Interesse aller Beteiligten notwendig und am sinnvollsten”, so der die Messe ausrichtende Verlag. “Wir hoffen, dass Ihr in diesen besonderen Zeiten dafür Verständnis habt und die SPIEL DOCH! im Juli besuchen werdet”.

Bereits gekaufte Eintrittskarten bleiben nach Verlagsangaben jedenfalls für die entsprechenden Wochentage gültig. Informationen gibt es online unter: spieldoch-messe.com.


Autor

Letzte Aktualisierung am 28.05.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API