An unusual crowdfunding project will start on Kickstarter on May 18th. Unusual because the card game it’s about - “Battle of the Influencers” - is dedicated to one of the most controversial topics of modern times: influencers. From Greta to Ninja to Elon Musk, many more or less popular scene sizes are represented as card motifs. The gameplay itself is a classic, but a bit pepped up.  


Patrick Ackmann and Patrick Rometsch's project is at least brave: Influencers are popular, but by no means popular everywhere. Especially in the critical board game scene, it is sometimes difficult for the “Faces” to gain a foothold. After all: the Patricks are familiar with the subject. As fathers with a total of four daughters, the “Battle of the Influencers” is probably part of everyday family business. These are good prerequisites for successfully crowdfunding a card game despite the classic mechanics.

Playing cards in smartphone format

Ironically, the two makers chose quartet and trump for their card game “Battle of the Influencers”. Frequent gamers and experts are now bringing tears to their eyes, families with children influenced by influencers will probably celebrate the idea. The hand-painted illustrations come from the Romanian artist Pitica “Piggysart” Isabela, herself a micro-influencer and a kind of expert on fan art about famous people.

The card game relies on playing cards in smartphone format. No coincidence, because one of Patrick Ackmann and Patrick Rometsch are pursuing the idea of ​​reducing the “screen time” of young people. And: They want to promote the dialogue between young and old, but also the perspective of the young: So you use the influencer in order to be able to bring the older generations (yes, dear parents, you are also meant) closer to what children and adolescents are nowadays in busy in their free time. And so that mom, dad, grandma and grandpa can also learn, for example, information on the scene's personalities has been listed on the cards.

TV, newspaper, internet and now also card games: You can't escape the Kardashians. Image: Authors

TV, newspaper, internet and now also card games: You can't escape the Kardashians. Image: Authors

The idea arose - this is no longer surprising - in the midst of the pandemic situation. You have time to come up with game ideas - this also applies to the Patrick duo. The two mix the stars for the deck of cards from different genres, including political activists and influencers with “real messages”. Then there is a “battle” - and that is based on the classic trump and quartet: Influencers compete against each other and it is important to get all the stars of the opponent on his side. There are also different comparison categories, such as followers or craziness. The two of them bring a bit of fresh air into the game with additional cards, which should then ensure more interaction - the smartphone and real-life data are also used. A very entertaining trick that should be particularly popular with children.

The Crowdfunding campaign for "Battle of the Influencers", for which Patrick Ackmann and Patrick Rometsch have set a target of around 1.700 euros. 90 percent of the total goes to printing. The early bird pledge costs around eight euros. At the same time, supporters can also do something good and choose a support model that requires a total of ten euros: eight euros for the game and two euros as a donation to the media addiction department, which helps young people. The decks of cards should then be sent relatively quickly. It should only take just under a quarter for the “Battle of the Influencers” to go on tour after a successful campaign.

One goal: to break away from social media consumption with social media content

Anyone who regularly hangs around in the crowdfunding segment as a player, especially on Kickstarter, comes across classics every now and then - but rarely. One reason: Many die-hard fans see no incentive to support the “games of yesteryear” financially. The nostalgia factor works reasonably well on the Kickstarter platform. Patrick Ackmann and Patrick Rometsch try it in “Battle of the Influencers” anyway.

Are convinced that the campaign can work. On the one hand, there is the retro charm of the game principle: “Everyone knows it, understands it quickly, and often associates it with positive childhood memories, keyword car quartet”, says Patrick Ackmann. The makers have set a goal behind the goal. They want to try “to detach people from social media consumption with social media content” - that is an exciting contrast with a wink, which should also like to bring the topic up for discussion.

In addition, there is the loving design. “These things make the game, which you thought all variants might already exist, an insider tip,” says Patrick Ackmann. In addition, the special cards would add an exciting addition to the trump genre.

"We see the involvement of the target group in being able to determine the last cards themselves as a great inclusion and opportunity," explains the maker. And: "In addition, some of our influencers can hardly wait ...". Incidentally, the two Patricks make no secret of the fact that their game is more of a game in between: “We see it more as fun for the back seat in the car, during school break, at a party or together with the family, without being too profound or intense to be." And then there is again the not entirely obvious goal: But the “Battle of the Influencers” can also be used as an “exciting, media-critical discussion, for example in school lessons”. The duo sees the cross-generational game principle as one of the strengths of the card game: you can bring young and old to one table and “learn something new from each other”.

"It's the world's first influencer trump game."
Patrick Ackmann, author

Patrick Ackmann highlights what cannot be seen at first glance: “It is the world's first trump card game for influencers, and it arouses interest from those who sympathize with the topic of 'social media' - right up to the real fans of the influencers presented. There is also a large target group of 'casual' quartet / trump players: from children, gamers to older people, the quartet is still or is now moving again. " The actual innovation also comes from the connection with the company's own social media channels through the special cards. Overall, in the opinion of the two authors, the motto applies: sometimes less is more.

The duo Ackmann and Rometsch is sure that the game will find its way. Before and after the crowdfunding: “We can learn a lot from Kickstarter and reach new and interesting target groups right from the start,” says Patrick Ackmann.

If you ignore the mechanics, there is still a kind of “hurdle” that could, however, also turn out to be a stepping stone: the topic of influencers. The nice thing, explains Patrick Ackmann, is that the game only includes influencers who “we consider relevant, positive or worth mentioning for one reason or another”. There was a lot of discussion about the scene stars in order to create a meaningful and exciting mix.

“They should also be as interesting and unusual as possible,” says Ackmann. “You won't find the millionth make-up or food influencer that Bifi presents in the bathtub here”. Also, the player does not find any influencers in the game who continuously advertise unnecessary products to their target group, represent unsympathetic values ​​or the like.

There are also influencers with "Sinn" - they are then also called "Sinnfluencers" in this country. Image: Authors

There are also influencers with “meaning” - in this country they are also called “meaningful influencers”. Image: Authors

“We attached particular importance to having activists or so-called“ meaningful influencers ”with“ lower ”follower numbers with us, in order to bring them closer to people,” said Ackmann again about a goal behind the goal. However, he admits: "Nevertheless, we can hardly ignore the Kardashians, for example, as the world's most successful women entrepreneurs at the moment." The two authors are at least familiar with the basic topic - from their own experience. As fathers.

"The topics of" screen time "or" digital detox "concern every family today," says Patrick Ackmann. "Some are rigorous and ban TVs and the like, others unfortunately allow too much screen time so that everyone can have their peace of mind," is the devastating conclusion of a modern family man. “Our aim is to find the best scales: to allow children / adolescents not to grow up isolated / technically dependent, but also to offer them a direct opportunity to deal with the topic and to exchange ideas”. The “best case scenario” is when kids have an entertaining time with their parents or grandparents and an interesting exchange on the subject, where everyone learns something new.

In the end, the two of them not only came up with the card game “Battle of the Influencers” as an introductory title, but are also playful in a similar segment. Both are interested in the topics of board and card games - trump cards connect the authors and the illustrator. Patrick Ackmann relies on “Berliner Spätis” or “a round of Sagaland with the girls”. And: Ackmann and Rometsch also find e-sports exciting - influencers are of course a big topic there too.

The Crowdfunding campaign for "Battle of the Influencers" starts on May 18th on Kickstarter.


Author

Last updated on 3.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Am 18. Mai startet ein ungewöhnliches Crowdfunding-Projekt auf Kickstarter. Ungewöhnlich deshalb, weil das Kartenspiel um das es geht – „Battle of the Influencers“ – sich eines der vielleicht streitbarsten Themen der Neuzeit widmet: Influencern. Von Greta über Ninja bis hin zu Elon Musk sind viele mehr oder minder populäre Szene-Größen als Kartenmotive vertreten. Der Spielablauf selbst ist ein Klassiker, allerdings etwas aufgepeppt.  


Mindestens mutig ist das Projekt von Patrick Ackmann und Patrick Rometsch: Influencer sind populär, allerdings längst nicht überall beliebt. Vor allem in der kritischen Brettspielszene ist es für die „Faces“ manchmal schwer, Fuß zu fassen. Immerhin: die Patricks kennen sich aus mit dem Thema. Als Väter mit insgesamt vier Töchtern gehört der „Battle of the Influencers“ vermutlich zum alltäglichen Familiengeschäft. Gute Voraussetzungen also, um ein Kartenspiel trotz klassischer Mechanik, erfolgreich durch ein Crowdfunding zu bringen.

Spielkarten im Smartphone-Format

Ausgerechnet Quartett und Trumpf haben die beiden Macher sich für ihr Kartenspiel „Battle of the Influencers“ ausgesucht. Vielspieler und Experten treibt das nun Tränen in die Augen, Familien mit von Influencern beeinflussten Kindern werden die Idee vermutlich feiern. Die handgemalten Illustrationen stammen von der rumänischen Künstlerin Pitica „Piggysart“ Isabela, selbst Micro-Influencerin und eine Art Expertin für Fan-Kunst über berühmte Menschen.

Das Kartenspiel setzt auf Spielkarten im Smartphone-Format. Kein Zufall, denn ein Patrick Ackmann und Patrick Rometsch verfolgen unter anderem die Idee, die „Screentime“ junger Menschen zu reduzieren. Und: Sie wollen den Dialog fördern zwischen Jung und Alt, allerdings auch Sicht der Jungen: Man bedient sich also der Influencer um den älteren Generationen (ja, liebe Eltern, auch ihr seid gemeint) näherbringen zu können, womit Kinder und Jugendliche sich heutzutage in ihrer Freizeit beschäftigen. Und damit Mama, Papa, Oma und Opa auch etwa lernen können, hat man auf den Karten Randinformationen zu den Szene-Persönlichkeiten aufgelistet.

TV, Zeitung, Internet und jetzt auch noch Kartenspiel: Den Kardashians kann man nicht entkommen. Bild: Autoren

TV, Zeitung, Internet und jetzt auch noch Kartenspiel: Den Kardashians kann man nicht entkommen. Bild: Autoren

Die Idee entstand – das ist inzwischen nicht mehr überraschend – inmitten der pandemischen Situation. Man hat Zeit, um sich Spielideen auszudenken – auch für das Patrick-Duo gilt das. Aus verschiedenen Genres mischen die beiden die Stars für das Kartendeck zusammen, auch Polit-Aktivisten und Influencer  mit „echten Botschaften“ sind dabei. Dann kommt es zum „Battle“ – und das orientiert sich an den Klassikern Trumpf und Quartett: Influencer treten gegeneinander an und es gilt, alle Stars des Gegners auf seine Seite zu ziehen. Dazu gibt es verschiedene Vergleichskategorien, etwa Follower oder Verrücktheit. Etwas frischen Wind bringen die beiden mit Zusatzkarten ins Spiel, die dann für mehr Interaktion sorgen sollen – auch das Smartphone und Reallife-Daten kommen dabei zum Einsatz. Ein durchaus kurzweiliger Kniff, der vor allem bei Kindern gut ankommen dürfte.

Am 18. Mai startet die Crowdfunding-Kampagne zu „Battle of the Influencers“, für die Patrick Ackmann und Patrick Rometsch rund 1.700 Euro als Ziel festgelegt haben. 90 Prozent der Summe entfallen auf den Druck. Rund acht Euro kostet der Early-Bird-Pledge. Gleichzeitig können Unterstützer auch etwas Gutes tun und ein Support-Modell wählen, bei dem insgesamt zehn Euro fällig werden: Acht Euro für das Spiel sowie zwei Euro als Spende an die Fachstelle Mediensucht, die Jugendlichen unter die Arme greift. Vergleichsweise fix sollen dann die Kartendecks versandt werden. Knapp ein Quartal soll es lediglich dauern, bis „Battle of the Influencers“ nach einer erfolgreichen Kampagne auf Reisen geht.

Ein Ziel: Mit Social-Media-Inhalten vom Social-Media-Konsum lösen

Wer sich als Spieler regelmäßig im Crowdfunding-Segment herumtreibt, insbesondere auf Kickstarter, tritt immer wieder mal auf Klassiker – allerdings selten. Ein Grund: Viele eingefleischte Fans sehen keinen Anreiz darin, die „Spiele von damals“ finanziell zu unterstützen. Der Nostalgiefaktor funktioniert leidlich auf der Kickstarter-Plattform. Patrick Ackmann und Patrick Rometsch versuchen es bei „Battle of the Influencers“ allerdings trotzdem.

Sind sind überzeugt, dass es klappen kann mit der Kampagne. Zum einen sei da der Retro-Charme des Spielprinzips: „Jeder kennt es, versteht es schnell, verbindet damit oft positive Kindheitserinnerungen, Stichwort Autoquartett“, so Patrick Ackmann. Die Macher haben sich ein Ziel hinter dem Ziel gesteckt. Sie wollen versuhen, „Menschen mit Social-Media-Inhalten vom Social-Media-Konsum zu lösen“ – das sei ein spannender Kontrast mit Augenzwinkern, der auch gern das Thema zur Diskussion bringen soll.

Hinzu komme die liebevolle Gestaltung. „Diese Dinge machen das Spiel, bei dem man dachte, alle Varianten gab es vielleicht schon, zum Geheimtipp“, orakelt Patrick Ackmann. Zudem würde die Spezialkarten eine spannende Erweiterung zum Trumpfgenre addieren.

„Das Involvement der Zielgruppe, selbst die letzten Karten bestimmen zu können, sehen wir als großes Einbeziehen und Chance“, erklärt der Macher. Und: „Darüber hinaus können es einige unserer Influencer kaum erwarten…“. Einen Hehl machen die beiden Patricks übrigens nicht daraus, dass ihr Spiel eher ein Zwischendurch-Titel ist: „Wir sehen es eher als Spaß für die Rückbank im Auto, in der Schulpause, am Partyabend oder zusammen mit der Familie, ohne zu tiefgründig oder intensiv zu sein.“ Und dann ist da wieder das nicht ganz offensichtliche Ziel: Aber auch als „spannende, gerne auch medienkritische, Auseinandersetzung z.B. im Schulunterricht“ könne man „Battle of the Influencers“ einsetzen. In dem generationenübergreifenden Spielprinzip sieht das Duo eine Stärke des Kartenspieltitels: man könne Jung und Alt an einen Tisch bringen und „noch etwas Neues voneinander lernen“.

„Es ist das weltweit erste Influencer-Trumpfspiel.“
Patrick Ackmann, Autor

Was man nicht auf den ersten Blick erkennt, stellt Patrick Ackmann heraus: „Es ist das weltweit erste Influencer-Trumpfspiel, das findet Interesse bei Sympathisanten des Themas ‚Social Media‘ – bis hin zu den richtigen Fans der präsentierten Influencer. Dazu gibt es eine große Zielgruppe von ‚casual‘ Quartett/Trumpfspielern: von Kindern, Gamern bis älteren Leuten, Quartett zieht immer noch beziehungsweise jetzt wieder.“ Die eigentliche Innovation komme auch über die Verknüpfung mit den eigenen Social-Media-Kanälen durch die Spezialkarten. Insgesamt gelte nach Ansicht der beiden Autoren das Credo: Weniger ist manchmal mehr.

Das Duo Ackmann und Rometsch ist sicher, dass das Spiel seinen Weg finden wird. Auf und auch nach dem Crowdfunding: „Wir können viel von Kickstarter lernen und dort direkt vom Start neue und interessante Zielgruppen erreichen“, so Patrick Ackmann.

Lässt man die Mechanik außer Acht, ist da noch so eine Art „Hürde“, die sich jedoch auch als Sprungbrett erweisen könnte: das Thema Influencer. Das Schöne sei, erklärt Patrick Ackmann, im Spiel seien nur Influencer vertreten, die „wir aus dem einen oder anderen Grund für relevant, positiv oder erwähnenswert halten“. Über die Szene-Stars habe man viel diskutiert, um einen sinnvollen und spannenden Mix zu kreieren.

„Möglichst interessant und ungewöhnlich sollten sie zudem sein“, findet Ackmann. „Hier findet man nicht die millionste Make-Up oder Food-Influencerin, die Bifi in der Badewanne präsentiert“. Auch finde der Spieler keine Influencer im Game, die ihrer Zielgruppe in Dauerschleife unnötige Produkte anpreisen, unsympathische Werte vertreten oder ähnliches.

Influencer gibt es auch mit "Sinn" - man nennt sie dann hierzulande auch "Sinnfluencer". Bild: Autoren

Influencer gibt es auch mit „Sinn“ – man nennt sie dann hierzulande auch „Sinnfluencer“. Bild: Autoren

„Besonderen Wert legten wir darauf, Aktivisten oder sog. „Sinnfluencer“ mit auch „niedrigeren“ Follower-Zahlen dabei zu haben, um sie Menschen näher zu bringen“, so Ackmann erneut zu einem Ziel hinter dem Ziel. Er gesteht jedoch ein: „Dennoch kommen auch wir beispielsweise an den Kardashians, als die wohl zurzeit weltweit erfolgreichsten Unternehmerinnen, kaum vorbei.“ Die beiden Autoren kennen sich zumindest mit dem Grundthema aus – und zwar aus eigener Erfahrung. Als Väter.

„Die Themen „Screentime“ oder „Digital Detox“ beschäftigen jede Familie in der heutigen Zeit“, meint Patrick Ackmann. „Die einen sind rigoros und verbannen Fernseher und Co, andere lassen leider zu viel Bildschirmzeit zu, damit alle ihre Ruhe haben“, lautet das vernichtende Fazit eines modernen Familienvaters. „Uns geht es darum, die beste Waage zu finden: zuzulassen, dass Kinder/Jugendliche nicht isoliert/technisch abgehängt aufwachsen, aber ihnen auch direkt eine Möglichkeit zu bieten sich gemeinsam mit dem Thema zu beschäftigen und auszutauschen“. Das „Best case-Szenario“ sei, wenn Kids mit Eltern oder Großeltern eine unterhaltsame Zeit und interessanten Austausch zum Thema haben, bei dem jeder dazu lernt.

Die beiden haben letztendlich nicht nur das Kartenspiel „Battle of the Influencers“ als Einstiegstitel erdacht, sondern sind spielerisch in einem ähnlichen Segment unterwegs. Beide verfolgen die Themen Brett- und Kartenspiele interessiert – Trumpfkarten verbinden die Autoren und die Illustratorin. Patrick Ackmann setzt auf „Berliner Spätis“ oder „eine Runde Sagaland mit den Girls“. Und: Auch E-Sport finden Ackmann und Rometsch spannend – Influencer sind natürlich auch dort ein großes Thema.

Die Crowdfunding-Kampagne zu „Battle of the Influencers“ startet am 18. Mai auf Kickstarter.


Letzte Aktualisierung am 19.09.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API