The makers of Gamescom 2021 promise a “comprehensive show program with over 70 developers and publishers”. Over 30 games are to be shown as part of the opening night live with Geoff Keighley. The marketer Webedia recently announced that it will act as a partner of Gamescom and use the Gamescom now format. 

Gamescom, the world's largest event for computer and video games, first takes stock Digital premiere last year. Messe 2020 celebrated great successes with its shows: over 100 million video views across all formats and channels, over 50 million unique users from 180 countries and over two million simultaneous live viewers at Gamescom: Opening Night Live - which is directly in the The top group of last year's international event livestreams from the games industry landed.

This year it was a bit chaotic - this was due to the corona situation, which had not been foreseeable for a long time and basically still is not. Even if it is now becoming apparent that events could be carried out largely without restrictions. The organizers of Gamescom can be credited with the fact that they have not switched to an on-site format after all - purely online is not what fans want, but in view of the pandemic situation it is a far safer option. There were hybrid considerations, these were ultimately discarded. So the Gamescom is again purely digital, but the content is impressive.

Opening of Gamescom 2021: 30 games at the start

Gamescom is now announcing details of this year's show program for the first time. In total, game novelties from over 70 developers and publishers were selected by the editors for the German and English language shows. Many other partners present themselves and their games at Gamescom now.

The preparations for the big opening show of gamescom 2021 are in full swing. Geoff Keighley, host and producer of gamescom: Opening Night Live, gets in the mood for this year's program: “We are looking forward to producing another gamescom: Opening Night Live, which this year will present over 30 games from across the industry. The community can look forward to new game announcements as well as updates on the most anticipated games and other surprises with guests on stage and more - all on livestream for fans around the world. "

Gamescom: Opening Night Live starts on August 25th at 19:30 p.m. (CEST) with a half-hour pre-show. The main show will then run from 20:00 p.m. to 22:00 p.m. (CEST). For the first time, Natascha Becker from GameStar will support Geoff Keighley, a co-presenter from Germany. Gamescom: Opening Night Live will be broadcast on the gamescom channels as well as on various other channels on Twitch and YouTube. Numerous creators co-stream and comment on the program in various languages.

IGN all-star cast rocks in the studio and on Venice Beach

The English-language gamescom studio will start on August 25th from 22:00 pm to midnight (CEST) with an aftershow for gamescom: Opening Night Live. After that, it will run from August 24, 00:26 p.m. (CEST) to August 19, 00:27 a.m. (CEST). On the last official gamescom day, August 01, the show will run from 00:27 p.m. to 19:00 : 24 p.m. (CEST). The show is again produced by IGN. Gameplay deep dives, trailer premieres, analyzes of the latest announcements and memorabilia from all of gamescom history will be presented by an all-star cast of the IGN family. Among others: Daemon Hatfield, known from “Game Scoop!” And “Next Gen Console Watch”, Akeem Lawanson, creator behind “GeekHeavy” and moderator of “IGN The Fix: Entertainment” and Stella Chung, co-host of Apex Legends Global Series Championship and host of the IGN Weekly Fix.

The show gamescom: Awesome Indies, which focuses on the hotly anticipated indie titles, is also produced by IGN. Michael Swaim is again the moderator, who will present around 40 indie games on the show. In order to do justice to the special feeling of the indie scene, trailer presentations and new releases are supplemented with comedy bits and other surprises in various locations around Venice Beach. gamescom: Awesome Indies runs on Thursday, August 26th, from 20:30 pm to 22:00 pm (CEST).

Well-known Webedia faces provide over 20 hours of live programming

As in the previous year, the German-language gamescom studio will be produced by Webedia. Like the English counterpart, the German-language program starts on August 25th from 22pm to midnight (CEST) with an aftershow for gamescom: Opening Night Live. On August 00th and 24th, the German-language gamescom studio will run from 00:26 p.m. to 27:14 p.m. (CEST). Interviews, game presentations, panels and community activities are presented by familiar faces: Michael Obermeier from GameStar will moderate the day's program together with Kiara Hufnagel. Ann-Kathrin Kuhls from GamePro and Julius Busch from the Twitch channel MAX lead through the evening shows.

At Webedia, the partnership is once again summarized in more detail: In addition to moderation, the gaming editors offer an extensive supporting program. Interviews, game presentations, panels and community activities are planned for the two main days of the event, August 26th and 27th. Overall, users can look forward to more than 20 hours of live stream.

There is a bit of a surprise in Gamescom 2021 - the actors have properly fine-tuned the program. Photo: Volkmann

There is a bit of a surprise in Gamescom 2021 - the actors have properly fine-tuned the program. Photo: Volkmann

“Due to the renewed digital orientation of the event, the preparations were a very special challenge. Our learnings from 2020 helped us a lot. This year the teams were able to work out an entertaining program full of highlights for the audience again this year. I'm really excited to see how the audience will react to our live shows, ”said René Heuser, Director Gaming at Webedia.

Tim Endres, Director gamescom at Koelnmesse, is pleased about the renewed collaboration with Webedia: “It is important to us that we implement the best possible program with our partners for our community every year. Together with Webedia, we managed the challenging switch to 2020% digital at gamescom 100. For this year we have refined our formats again and I am already looking forward to following the live program together with the global community from August 25th! "

The entire content of gamescom, including all shows, will be displayed again this year on the Gamescom now content hub bundled and accessible to the community free of charge. As in 2019 and 2020, Webedia Gaming GmbH is responsible for the content on the platform.

In addition, the entire gamescom studio is streamed on the websites of Webedia Gaming, GameStar.de, Mein-MMO.de and GamePro.de as well as on all partner channels of gamescom.

Preview Product Rating Price
Seagate Storage Expansion Card 1 TB external SSD, ... Seagate Storage Expansion Card, 1 TB external SSD, ... * 234,99 EUR

Author

Last updated on 16.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Die Macher der Gamescom 2021 versprechen ein „umfassendes Show-Programm mit über 70 Entwicklern und Publishern“. Über 30 Games sollen im Rahmen der Eröffnungsshow Opening Night Live mit Geoff Keighley gezeigt werden. Vermarkter Webedia hat zudem jüngst mitgeteilt, man werde als Partner der Gamescom fungieren und das Gamescom now-Format bespielen. 

Die Gamescom als weltgrößtes Event für Computer- und Videospiele zieht zunächst Bilanz zur Digital-Premiere im vergangenen Jahr. Mit ihren Shows feierte die Messe 2020 große Erfolge: über 100 Millionen Video Views über alle Formate und Kanäle, über 50 Millionen Unique User aus 180 Ländern und über zwei Millionen gleichzeitige Live-Zuschauende bei der Gamescom: Opening Night Live – die damit direkt in der Top-Gruppe der letztjährigen, internationalen Event-Livestreams der Games-Branche landete.

Dieses Jahr war es etwas chaotisch – schuld daran war die Corona-Lage, die lange Zeit nicht absehbar war, und es im Grunde immer noch nicht ist. Auch wenn sich nun abzeichnet, dass Veranstaltungen weitestgehend ohne Einschränkungen durchgeführt werden könnten. Den Organisatoren der Gamescom kann man zugute halten, dass sie nicht doch noch auf ein Vor-Ort-Format umgeschwenkt sind – rein online ist zwar nicht, was Fans sich wünschen, aber es ist angesichts der pandemischen Lage die weitaus sicherere Option. Hybrid-Erwägungen gab es, diese hatte man letztendlich verworfen. Also gibt es die Gamescom erneut rein digital, dafür können sich die Inhalte sehen lassen.

Opening der Gamescom 2021: 30 Games zum Start

Jetzt gibt die Gamescom erstmals Details zum diesjährigen Showprogramm bekannt. Insgesamt wurden Spieleneuheiten von über 70 Entwicklern und Publishern von den Redaktionen für die deutsch- und englischsprachigen Shows ausgewählt. Viele weitere Partner präsentieren sich und ihre Games auf Gamescom now.

Die Vorbereitungen für die große Eröffnungsshow der gamescom 2021 laufen auf Hochtouren. Geoff Keighley, Host und Produzent der gamescom: Opening Night Live, stimmt auf das diesjährige Programm ein: „Wir freuen uns, eine weitere gamescom: Opening Night Live zu produzieren, die in diesem Jahr über 30 Spiele aus der gesamten Branche präsentieren wird. Die Community kann sich auf neue Spieleankündigungen sowie Updates zu den am meisten erwarteten Spielen und andere Überraschungen mit Gästen auf der Bühne und mehr freuen – alles im Livestream für Fans auf der ganzen Welt.“

Die gamescom: Opening Night Live startet am 25. August um 19:30 Uhr (CEST) mit einer halbstündigen Pre-Show. Die Hauptshow läuft dann von 20:00 bis 22:00 Uhr (CEST). Erstmals wird mit Natascha Becker von GameStar eine Co-Moderatorin aus Deutschland Geoff Keighley unterstützen. Die gamescom: Opening Night Live wird sowohl auf den Kanälen der gamescom als auch auf diversen anderen Kanälen auf Twitch und YouTube ausgestrahlt. Zahlreiche Creator:innen co-streamen und kommentieren das Programm zudem in verschiedenen Sprachen.

IGN-Allstar-Cast rockt im Studio und am Venice Beach

Das englischsprachige gamescom studio beginnt am 25. August von 22:00 bis 24:00 Uhr (CEST) mit einer Aftershow zur gamescom: Opening Night Live. Danach läuft es vom 26. August, 19:00 Uhr (CEST) bis zum 27. August, 01:00 Uhr (CEST).Am letzten offiziellen gamescom-Tag, dem 27. August, läuft die Show von 19:00 bis 24:00 Uhr (CEST). Die Show wird erneut von IGN produziert. Gameplay-Deep-Dives, Trailer-Premieren, Analysen neuester Ankündigungen und Erinnerungsstücke aus der gesamten gamescom-Geschichte präsentiert dabei ein Allstar-Cast der IGN-Familie. Unter anderem dabei: Daemon Hatfield, bekannt aus „Game Scoop!“ und „Next Gen Console Watch“, Akeem Lawanson, Creator hinter „GeekHeavy“ und Moderator von „IGN The Fix: Entertainment“ und Stella Chung, Co-Host der Apex Legends Global Series Championship und Moderatorin des IGN Weekly Fix.

Ebenfalls von IGN wird die auf heiß erwartete Indie-Titel fokussierte Show gamescom: Awesome Indies produziert. Moderator ist erneut Michael Swaim, er präsentiert in der Show an die 40 Indie-Games. Um dem besonderen Feeling der Indie-Szene gerecht zu werden, werden Trailer-Präsentationen und Neuvorstellungen mit Comedy-Bits und weiteren Überraschungen in verschiedenen Locations rund um Venice Beach ergänzt. gamescom: Awesome Indies läuft am Donnerstag, dem 26. August, von 20:30 bis 22:00 Uhr (CEST).

Bekannte Webedia-Gesichter liefern über 20 Stunden Live-Programm

Das deutschsprachige gamescom studio wird, wie im Vorjahr, von Webedia produziert. Wie der englische Counterpart startet das deutschsprachige Programm am 25. August von 22:00 bis 24:00 Uhr (CEST) mit einer Aftershow zur gamescom: Opening Night Live. Am 26. und 27. August läuft das deutschsprachige gamescom studio jeweils von 14:00 bis 22:30 Uhr (CEST). Interviews, Spielevorstellungen, Panels und Community-Aktionen werden dabei von bekannten Gesichtern präsentiert: Michael Obermeier von GameStar übernimmt gemeinsam mit Kiara Hufnagel die Moderation des Tagesprogramms. Ann-Kathrin Kuhls von GamePro und Julius Busch vom Twitch-Kanal MAX führen durch die Abendshows.

Bei Webedia fasst man die Partnerschaft noch einmal ausführlicher zusammen: Neben der Moderation böten die Gaming-Redaktionen ein umfangreiches Rahmenprogramm. An den zwei Haupttagen des Events, dem 26. und dem 27. August, sind Interviews, Spielevorstellungen, Panels und Community Aktionen geplant. Insgesamt können User sich auf über 20 Stunden Livestream freuen.

Ein bisschen Überraschung steckt drin in der Gamescom 2021 - die Akteure haben ordentlich am Programm gefeilt. Foto: Volkmann

Ein bisschen Überraschung steckt drin in der Gamescom 2021 – die Akteure haben ordentlich am Programm gefeilt. Foto: Volkmann

„Aufgrund der erneuten digitalen Ausrichtung des Events waren die Vorbereitungen eine ganz besondere Herausforderung. Unsere Learnings aus 2020 haben uns hierbei sehr geholfen. So konnten die Teams auch in diesem Jahr wieder ein unterhaltsames Programm voller Highlights für die Zuschauer ausarbeiten. Ich bin sehr gespannt, wie das Publikum auf unsere Live-Shows reagieren wird“, so René Heuser, Director Gaming bei Webedia.

Tim Endres, Director gamescom von der Koelnmesse, freut sich über die erneute Zusammenarbeit mit Webedia: “Uns ist wichtig, dass wir für unsere Community jedes Jahr das bestmögliche Programm mit unseren Partnern umsetzen. Gemeinsam mit Webedia haben wir bei der gamescom 2020 die herausfordernde Umstellung auf 100% digital bewältigt. Für dieses Jahr haben wir unsere Formate nochmal verfeinert und ich freue mich schon jetzt darauf, das Live-Programm gemeinsam mit der weltweiten Community ab dem 25. August zu verfolgen!“

Die gesamten Inhalte der gamescom, inklusive aller Shows, werden auch in diesem Jahr wieder auf dem Content-Hub gamescom now gebündelt und für die Community kostenfrei zugänglich sein. Wie bereits 2019 und 2020 betreut die Webedia Gaming GmbH die Bespielung der Plattform.

Zusätzlich dazu wird das komplette gamescom studio auch auf den Seiten von Webedia Gaming, GameStar.de, Mein-MMO.de und GamePro.de sowie auf allen Partner-Kanälen der gamescom gestreamt.

Letzte Aktualisierung am 22.09.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API