He-Man and his fighting cat, Man-at-Arms, Kobra Khan, Trap-Jaw, Skeletor and Co are up to it: Several games for Mattel's franchise have already been announced and now with Masters of the Universe: Fields of Eternia - The Board Game added another board game. This time it is the Polish publisher Archon Studio - specializing in miniatures - who will bring another licensed work onto the market. Surprising: Exclusively in Europe.


Archon Studio is aiming for the end of 2020 to start funding Masters of the Universe: Fields of Eternia - The Board Game via crowdfunding via Kickstarter. Somewhat surprising: the board game is to appear exclusively for the European market. Not much is known about the new board game, which is based on the original license from Mattel's “Masters of the Universe”.

The He-Man and his friends franchise is experiencing an intense revival. In addition to films and series, other games have been announced in addition to the news about Masters of the Universe: Fields of Eternia - The Board Game. So also plans CMON a corresponding board game to be implemented via Kickstarter in 2021, Fandom Tabletop also wants a real one RPG to the Masters of the Universe establish.

No “chibi”: limited miniatures provide first impressions

What exactly Archon Studios are planning to do with their project is not yet known. The board game is based on the template from the 80s and you will be able to take over the fate of both heroes and villains, that is evident from the announcement. He-Man, Skeletor, She-Ra, Evil-Lyn, Man-At-Arms, Beast Man and Teela are already known by name as playable characters, but more are to be added.

No fan needs to be afraid of a chibi style: the detailed 32 mm miniatures are based on the original figures and are not overstylized comic fighters. This is conceptually certain, not least because the Archon Studio's shop can already order a miniature: He-Man on his Battlecat. The figure costs around 19 US dollars, the sales of which will serve as pre-financing for the board game.

The style of the miniatures can be easily read from this: The makers are closely based on the design of the characters in the TV series from the 1980s. The miniature is limited, but not just a collector's item. He-Man will also be able to be used in the finished game, which then offers a bonus - probably a small one for balancing reasons.

Other limited-edition figures should also be available before the start of the financing campaign, including Skeltor on Panthor. Masters of the Universe: Fields of Eternia - The Board Game will feature different playable factions, each with individual skills and goals.

And so players work their way through the famous landscapes of Eternia, can even tame animals and ride them and face the heroes and villains in the battles. One element of the game seems to be the fulfillment of mission objectives in order to take control of different areas - it remains to be seen whether this conceptually actually results in a kind of area control.

The board game Masters of the Universe: Fields of Eternia will be offered exclusively in Europe by Archon Studio. The crowdfunding phase is scheduled to start at the end of the year.


Spiele-Offensive.de - Germany's largest range of board games

Author

He-Man und seine Kampfkatze, Man-at-Arms, Kobra Khan, Trap-Jaw, Skeletor und Co legen es drauf an: Mehrere Spiele zu Mattels Franchise wurden bereits angekündigt und nun kommt mit Masters of the Universe: Fields of Eternia – The Board Game noch ein weiteres Brettspiel hinzu. Diesmal ist es der polnische Verlag Archon Studio – spezialisiert auf Miniaturen – der ein weiteres Lizenz-Werk auf den Markt bringen wird. Überraschend: Exklusiv in Europa.


Ende 2020 peilt Archon Studio an, um die Finanzierung von Masters of the Universe: Fields of Eternia – The Board Game via Crowdfunding über Kickstarter zu beginnen. Etwas überraschend: Das Brettspiel soll exklusiv für den europäischen Markt erscheinen. Viel bekannt ist nicht zu dem neuen Brettspiel, das auf der Originallizenz von Mattels „Masters of the Universe“.

Das Franchise um He-Man und seine Freunde erfährt eine intensive Wiederbelebung. Neben Filmen und Serien sind, neben der Neuigkeit um Masters of the Universe: Fields of Eternia – The Board Game, weitere Spiele angekündigt worden. So plant auch CMON ein entsprechendes Brettspiel im Jahr 2021 via Kickstarter umzusetzen, Fandom Tabletop will zudem ein waschechtes RPG zu den Masters of the Universe etablieren.

Kein „Chibi“: Limitierte Miniaturen gewähren Ersteindrücke

Was die Archon Studios exakt vorhaben mit ihrem Projekt, ist bislang nicht bekannt. Das Brettspiel basiert auf der Vorlage aus den 80er-Jahren und man wird die Geschicke sowohl von Helden wie auch Schurken übernehmen können, das geht direkt aus der Ankündigung hervor. Namentlich bekannt sich als spielbare Charaktere bereits He-Man, Skeletor, She-Ra, Evil-Lyn, Man-At-Arms, Beast Man und Teela, allerdings sollen weitere hinzukommen.

Angst vor einem Chibi-Style muss kein Fan haben: Die detaillierten 32 mm-Miniaturen orientieren sich an den Originalfiguren und sind keine überstilisierten Comic-Kämpfer. Das steht konzeptionell fest, nicht zuletzt, weil man im Shop von Archon Studio bereits eine Miniatur bestellen kann: He-Man auf seiner Battlecat. Runde 19 US-Dollar kostet die Figur, deren Verkäufe so quasi als Vorfinanzierung für das Brettspiel dienen werden.

Spiele News he man on battle cat
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Der Stil der Miniaturen lässt sich daran gut ablesen: Die Macher orientieren sich eng an der Ausgestaltung der Charaktere in der TV-Serie aus den 1980er-Jahren. Die Miniatur ist limitiert verfügbar, allerdings kein bloßes Sammelobjekt. Man wird He-Man auch im fertigen Spiel einsetzen können, der dann einen – vermutlich aus Balancing-Gründen eher kleinen – Bonus bietet.

Auch weitere limitierte Figuren sollen noch vor Start der Finanzierungskampagne erhältlich sein, darunter Skeltor auf Panthor. Geben wird es bei Masters of the Universe: Fields of Eternia – The Board Game verschiedene spielbare Fraktionen, jeweils mit individuellen Fähigkeiten und Zielen.

Und so arbeiten Spieler sich durch die bekannten Landschaften Eternias, können dabei sogar Tiere zähmen und auf ihnen zu reiten und treten den Helden und Schurken den Schlachten gegenüber.  Ein Spielelement scheint dabei das Erfüllen von Missionszielen zu sein, um so die Kontrolle über verschiedene Areale zu übernehmen – ob dabei am Ende konzeptionell tatsächlich eine Art Area-Control herauskommt, bleibt abzuwarten.

Das Brettspiel Masters of the Universe: Fields of Eternia wird Archon Studio exklusiv in Europa anbieten. Starten soll die Crowdfunding-Phase Ende des Jahres.