With Tectonia, an ambitious project has started in its crowdfunding on Gamefound. The strategic wargame lets three to five players slip into the roles of tribal leaders. The real highlight of the board game is the game board itself - it changes constantly over the course of the game.

Three to five players, up to three hours of playtime per game and a heap of material - this is how the framework of Tectonia can be roughly summarized. The board game is ambitious in several respects: It is a strategic chunk, it relies on an innovative game board trick and it is a one-man project - now it is to be financed by crowdfunding via Gamefound. At least that is the plan of the author behind Tectonia, Hagen Behr. It doesn't really want to explode at the moment, but there is hope: the campaign has already generated around a quarter of the planned sum of 20.000 euros.

“Battle on a Living World”

Tectonia is essentially a war game: Different factions are at each other's throats, the area control concept is embedded in a story about a kind of natural disaster that rocked no less than the world itself. It is precisely from this that Hagen Behr turns the mechanics on which the board game is based: The game board is subject to constant changes over the course of the game – because the tectonic plates move. This creates little twists that players need to factor into their turn planning.

The suffix “Battle on a living world” sounds like a XNUMX's pop song, but describes the idea of ​​Tectonia quite aptly. At the same time, the modular game plan ensures variety. Hundreds of maps can be built with it, so that the setup can be redesigned over and over again. Otherwise, tribal figures, dice, cards and building tiles are included, with which the tactics of one's own tribe can be made visible on the gaming table.

There is a lot of fighting, because that's obviously what it's all about: moving troops, rolling dice and determining majorities - the basic idea of ​​the fights is simple. But because warriors can be strengthened and sectors can limit army sizes, the tactical claim is preserved. Ultimately, it's about movement, resources - and of course victory points.

A board game that has one of the most innovative game board mechanisms of recent years can currently be crowdfunded for around 70 euros. And it is also a campaign that corresponds to the core idea of ​​crowdfunding: There is a resourceful author with an idea, only the money is missing. No big publishers, no big promises, no profit maximization through the back door - at Tectonia it's all about the realization of a board game idea. But it doesn't really want to fly at the start of the campaign on Gamefound. Hagen Behr went live with his project on July 5th. So far he has been able to generate just over EUR 20.000 of the targeted EUR 5.000 – a quarter of the total. The goal is still a long way off, which is due to the course of crowdfunding campaigns: they are often particularly strong in the first 24, 48, sometimes 72 hours, then it levels off - until the final sprint shortly before the deadline.

By the way, the game is produced at least in parts in Europe. In Poland, Granne takes care of the game board, cards and everything that is not figures or dice. The latter two things come from Gameland in China. And Happyshops takes care of the shipping. It costs between ten and twenty euros across Europe or a maximum of 35 euros for the rest of the world.

Sure, the campaign lacks the sexiness that is highly polished in terms of looks, but the gameplay makes an exciting first impression. You should take a look Crowdfunding campaign for Tectonia in any case. You have until July 26th.

And because crowdfunding fans love Motivator so much – a bit of “FOMO” plays a part here too: If the thing isn't funded, a small innovation could go unnoticed.

Author

Last updated on 3.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Mit Tectonia ist ein ambitioniertes Projekt in sein Crowdfunding auf Gamefound gestartet. Das strategische Wargame lässt drei bis fünf Spieler in die Rollen vom Stammesanführern schlüpfen. Der eigentliche Clou des Brettspiel ist das Spielbrett selbst – das verändert sich im Verlauf der Partie stetig.

Drei bis fünf Spieler, bis zu drei Stunden Spielzeit pro Partie und ein Haufen Material – so lässt sich ganz grob der Rahmen von Tectonia zusammenfassen. Das Brettspiel ist in mehrfacher Hinsicht ambitioniert: Es ist ein strategischer Brocken, es setzt auf einen innovativen Spielbrett-Kniff und es ist ein Ein-Mann-Projekt – nun soll es per Crowdfunding über Gamefound finanziert werden. Das zumindest ist der Plan des Autors hinter Tectonia, Hagen Behr. So richtig krachen will es derzeit noch nicht, aber es gibt Hoffnung: Rund ein Viertel der geplanten Summe von 20.000 Euro hat die Kampagne bereits generiert.

“Battle on a living World”

Tectonia ist per Idee grundsätzlich ein Kriegsspiel: Verschiedene Fraktionen gehen sich gegenseitig an die Gurgel, eingebettet ist das Area-Control-Konzept in eine Story um eine Art Naturkatastrophe, die nicht weniger als die Welt selbst ins Wanken geraten ließ. Genau daraus drechselt Hagen Behr die dem Brettspiel zugrundliegende Mechanik: Das Spielbrett unterliegt im Verlauf der Partie immer wieder Veränderungen – denn die tektonischen Platten bewegen sich. Das sorgt für kleine Twists, die Spieler in ihre Zugplanungen einbeziehen müssen.

Der Titelzusatz “Battle on a living world” klingt zwar wie ein Popsong aus den Neunzigern, beschreibt die Idee von Tectonia allerdings ziemlich treffend. Der modulare Spielplan sorgt zugleich für Varianz. Hunderte Karten lassen sich damit bauen, um das Setup immer wieder neu zu gestalten. Ansonsten liegen Stammesfiguren, Würfel, Karten und Gebäudeplättchen bei, mit denen sich die Taktiken des eigenen Stammes auf dem Spieltisch sichtbar machen lassen.

Gekämpft wird viel, denn darum geht es offensichtlich: Truppen bewegen, Würfelchen rollen und Majoritäten bestimmen – die Grundidee der Kämpfe ist simpel. Weil sich Krieger aber stärken lassen, und Sektoren Armeegrößen limitieren können, bleibt der taktische Anspruch bewahrt. Letztendlich geht es um Movement, Ressourcen – und natürlich Siegpunkte.

Für rund 70 Euro ist derzeit ein Brettspiel im Crowdfunding zu unterstützen, das über eine der innovativsten Spielbrettmechanismen der letzten Jahre verfügt. Und es handelt sich zudem um eine Kampagne, die der Kernidee der Schwarmfinanzierung entspricht: Da ist ein findiger Autor mit einer Idee, nur die Kohle fehlt. Keine großen Verlage, keine großen Versprechungen, keine Gewinnmaximierung durch die Hintertür – bei Tectonia geht es allein um die Realisierung einer Brettspielidee. So richtig fluppen will es zum Start der Kampagne auf Gamefound aber nicht. Am 5. Juli ging Hagen Behr mit seinem Projekt live. Bislang konnte er von den angepeilten 20.000 Euro immerhin knapp über 5.000 Euro generieren – ein Viertel der Summe. Das Ziel liegt dennoch in weiter Ferne, was am Ablauf von Crowdfunding-Kampagne liegt: die sind oft in den ersten 24, 48, manchmal 72 Stunden besonders stark, dann flacht es ab – bis zum Endspurt kurz vor Fristablauf.

Produziert wird das Spiel übrigens zumindest in Teilen in Europa. In Polen sorgt Granne für Spielbrett, Karten und alles, was nicht Figuren oder Würfel ist. Die letzteren beiden Dinge kommen von Gameland aus China. Und Happyshops sorgt für den Versand. Der kostet zwischen zehn und zwanzig Euro europaweit oder maximal 35 Euro für den Rest der Welt.

Klar, der Kampagne fehlt die auf Optik hochglanzpolierte Sexiness, dafür macht das Spielprinzip einen spannenden Ersteindruck. Anschauen sollte man sich die Crowdfunding-Kampagne zu Tectonia daher in jedem Fall. Zeit bleibt noch bis zum 26. Juli.

Und weil Crowdfundung-Fans es also Motivator so lieben – ein bisschen “FOMO” spielt auch hier mit: Wenn das Ding nicht finanziert wird, könnte eine kleine Innovation in der Versenkung verschwinden.

Autor

Letzte Aktualisierung am 18.08.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API