If you smeeeell… what the rock is cooking? Shortly before Wrestlemania with The Rock, Hulk Hogan and Stone Cold Steve Austin, three wrestling legends are in the ring to whet the appetite for the party and you think it couldn't get any better, publisher 2K Games hits a first teaser WWE 2K22 out. The message: the series is back after a year-long hiatus! 


Fans had to be strong when 2K Games announced the popular wrestling series WWE 2K was on hold. The time-out was necessary there, the series never moved from the playful point of view. Now the publisher is back with a first teaser - and it suggests that the wait might actually be worth it.

Wrestling: Finally simulation again

To bridge the gap, 2K Games brought with them WWE 2K Battlegrounds published an arcade knockout in wrestling guise, which was - as some fans had arrived in advance - not a letdown, but surprisingly good. The game is available for Xbox One, PS4, PC, Nintendo Switch, and Google Stadia. Nevertheless, the longing for a more simulation-heavy wrestling match was always present.

And the way Rey Mysterio hits Cesaro in the teaser, one might think in view of the first moving images: It's good that the series is back!

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

In the teaser, 2K Games shows a “work in progress” build of the sports game, so it remains to be seen whether WWE 2K22 will actually find itself on the screens with exactly this look. However, further information should not be so long in coming, 2K stated in a Twitter post that they wanted to share news “soon”.

After all, the publisher has revealed another piece of information: The motto of the new wrestling offshoot is “It's different” - it's different. What exactly is meant by that? Nobody knows, but it could mean a departure from the clearly noticeable loss of quality in the previous parts. Because the 2021 version had to take a break, WWE 2K2020 was the last offshoot of the main series - and it was anything but successful. The ratings on Metacritic are underground. Bugs and monetization were two of many weak points.

WWE 2K2022 therefore needs more than a refresher, the game would have to be completely revised and improved, at best redesigned. Perhaps that is exactly what 2K Games wanted to announce with “It's different”? Fans hope for it.

WWE 2K 2022 is now a bit like an aging wrestling star. Either creates the comeback or he disappears from the ring forever.


Preview Product Rating Price
WWE 2K Battlegrounds - [Nintendo Switch] WWE 2K Battlegrounds - [Nintendo Switch] * 9,96 EUR

Author

Last updated on 20.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

If you smeeeell… what the Rock is cooking? Da stehen kurz vor Wrestlemania mit The Rock, Hulk Hogan und Stone Cold Steve Austin drei Wrestling-Legenden im Ring, um Lust auf die Party zu machen und man meint, es könnte nicht mehr besser kommen, da haut Publisher 2K Games einen ersten Teaser zu WWE 2K22 raus. Die Botschaft: Die Serie kehrt nach einer einjährigen Pause zurück! 


Fans hatten stark sein müssen als 2K Games bekanntgab, die populäre Wrestling-Reihe WWE 2K würde pausieren. Dort die Auszeit war notwendig, spielerisch kam die Reihe nicht mehr vom Fleck. Nun meldet sich der Publisher mit einem ersten Teaser zurück – und der deutet an, dass sich das Warten tatsächlich lohnen könnte.

Wrestling: Endlich wieder Simulation

Zur Überbrückung hatte 2K Games mit WWE 2K Battlegrounds einen Arcade-Klopper im Wrestling-Gewand veröffentlicht, der war allerdings – wie einige Fans im Vorfeld angekommen hatten – kein Reinfall, sondern überraschend gut. Das Spiel ist für Xbox One, PS4, PC, Nintendo Switch und Google Stadia verfügbar. Dennoch war die Sehnsucht nach einem simulationslastigeren Wrestling-Match stets präsent.

Und wie Rey Mysterio im Teaser so auf Cesaro eindrischt, könnte man angesichts der ersten Bewegtbilder meinen: Gut, dass die Reihe zurück ist!

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Im Teaser zeigt 2K Games einen „Work in progress“-Build des Sportspiels, ob sich WWE 2K22 später tatsächlich mit genau dieser Optik auf den Bildschirmen wiederfindet, bleibt also abzuwarten. Weitere Informationen sollen hingegen nicht ganz so lange auf sich warten lassen, 2K gab in einem Twitter-Beitrag an, man wolle „bald“ Neuigkeiten mitteilen.

Immerhin einen weiteren Info-Fetzen hat der Publisher verraten: Das Motto des neuen Wrestling-Ablegers lautet „It’s different“ – es ist anders. Was genau damit gemeint ist? Niemand weiß es, aber es könnte eine Abkehr von den in den vergangenen Teilen deutlich spürbaren Qualitätseinbußen bedeuten. Weil die 2021er-Version eine Pause einlegen musste, war WWE 2K2020 der letzte Ableger der Hauptreihe – und der war alles andere als gelungen. Die Wertungen auf Metacritic sind unterirdisch. Bugs und die Monetarisierung waren dabei zwei von vielen Schwachpunkten.

Für WWE 2K2022 braucht es daher mehr als eine Auffrischung, das Spiel müsste von Grund auf überarbeitet und verbessert, bestenfalls neu konzeptioniert werden. Vielleicht wollte 2K Games genau das mit „It’s different“ ankündigen? Fans hoffen darauf.

Mit WWE 2K 2022 ist es jetzt ein bisschen so wie mit einem alternden Wrestling-Star. Entweder erschafft das Comeback oder er verschwindet für immer aus dem Ring.

Auch interessant:
Studie belegt: Xbox Game Pass-Mitglieder besonders sozial

Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
WWE 2K Battlegrounds - [Nintendo Switch] WWE 2K Battlegrounds - [Nintendo Switch] * 15,99 EUR

Letzte Aktualisierung am 17.05.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API