Cascadia has garnered a ton of accolades as an award-winning 2022 game of the year. The game by Randy Flynn was published by the publisher Kosmos in a German-language localized version in this country - and it obviously struck a chord with fans and critics alike. Right? Absolutely. Cascadia is a highlight, but presents itself as an unobtrusive board game for everyone.

Randy Flynn, illustrator Beth Sobel and that Conglomerate Flatout Games Cascadia originally crowdfunded via Kickstarter and raised around 9.000 US dollars from over 275.000 supporters - only 8.000 US dollars were planned. In any case, there was advance praise for Flatout Games at the start of the campaign, which was not least due to the predecessor project Calico - this board game was also a crowdfunding hit. The Ravensburger title was snapped up and prepared for the German market – Kosmos had the right nose for Calico. One of the messages: Even comparatively small Kickstarter projects can serve the mass market.

Cascadia: Wilderness Excursion

Cascadia is a game like a trip into nature. It goes to Cascadia in the Pacific Northwest of North America - where salmon and bear say good things. At around 35 euros, the trip into the wilderness is cheap, but you can only experience the natural spectacle on small cardboard tokens. There are many of them: landscapes and animals, playing cards complete the material. It all looks great, fits the topic, and given the well-known work by Beth Sobel and the quality it offers, it's no surprise. The illustrator can do nature, as she has already proven several times: with Calico, with Wingbeat and also with Viticulture.

Cascadia review game of the year 2022
No two bears are the same: the cards keep changing the scoring situation. Photo: Volkman

Far less obvious was Cascadia's playful situation. But here, too, you could give the all-clear in a positive sense with the former $29 Kickstarter board game. Randy Flynn made a debut that couldn't be bettered. Cascadia is a board game for everyone - calm, easy to learn, with enough tactical elements to keep coming back to the table.

The theme of flora and fauna is central, but not intrusive: different animal species should be provided with a habitat. To do this, hex tokens are puzzled together and wooden animal tokens are placed on top of them. Scoring cards determine how many points are awarded for what. That's it! Cascadia starts playing without a big thunderstorm - it is probably the greatest strength of this board game. Sure, the topic wouldn't be needed - you could also use robots in a dystopian metropolis or superheroes in Gotham City as anchor points for the hunt for points. Yet somehow the nature theme is touching because it's one that can appeal to all players. Everyone knows animals and plants and everyone likes them, so you like to play with them.

Commendably simple ground rules

The gameplay is simple, but much less interchangeable than the setting. When it is your turn, you take one of the four combinations of landscape tiles and animal tokens that are available in the display. Then the game is placed according to clearly defined rules. The game board grows round by round. When the draw pile runs out, the game ends. Then it will be settled.

Board game test Cascadia game of the year 2022
The wildlife tokens are also wood, which upgrades them. The printed animals are of central importance in terms of play - they represent the second laying level. Photo: Volkmann

But what is so special about Randy Flynn's idea? At least Cascadia does not reinvent the genre as a placement game. However, it takes the classic concept of a Carcassonne to a new level by doubling the levels of laying - that's where the innovation is found. With Cascadia, Flynn has created a sort of double laying game in which levels do not run side by side, but rather interlock perfectly. Because each animal has its own scoring scheme, you can and must do clever puzzles in order to achieve a score close to the optimum. This also closes the circle on the subject: every animal has its own preferences. It is primarily this trick that makes the adventure in nature so atmospheric. Of course, Cascadia cannot do without the element of luck, but that can at least be mitigated a little with the pinecone trick. Experts will see weaknesses in this, because not everything can be predicted and planned. Ambitious family gamers won't care, they benefit from maximum gaming fun.

Cascadia's simple set of rules shouldn't hide the fact that there's nothing to give away: Every single move is relevant, because their number is limited. This is sometimes a nuisance. If there are few attractive combinations and you can't improve them with the cones, you have to be content with the best possible result per action. So many a move ripples along, but is never pointless. The reward factor for the player's action is always present. The wilderness is not a sandbox in which you can make the world as you like it.

Cascadia can be challenging but is never maliciously difficult. You have to think, but not until it gets annoying. You won't find a knot in your brain when you play Cascadia, you might miss it - that depends on your individual taste in the game. The game offers strategic possibilities per move, or at least enough per game. The will is there to always get the best possible result from your options. Despite the simple rules, this is by no means easy: it is important to keep an overview on the gaming table. The growing landscapes and their five animal species are not only colourful, but also sometimes deliberately confusing.

Board game review Cascadia game of the year 2022
The games of Cascadia are fun because every move is rewarded - although not always in full. Photo: Volkman

In addition, there is something very pragmatic about Cascadia - something that sounds almost irrelevant, but is not: all the material is conducive to the fun of the game. There are no added frills to add weight to the box; there are no pseudo rule variants that offer no added value, there are no masses of material lying around unused at the edge of the field. Anything that comes with the board game will do. And it makes sense. Even more: what applies to the material also applies to the detailed rules – every trick has its purpose.

Infobox

Number of players: 1 to 4
Age: from 10 years
Playing time: 30 to 60 minutes
Difficulty: easy
Long-term motivation: good
Genre: family game
Core Mechanisms: Laying, patterns, collecting points

Author: Randy Flynn
Illustrations: Beth Sobel
Publisher: Kosmos/Flatout Games/AEG
Official Website: Link
Year of publication: 2021
Language: German
Cost: 35 Euro

Summary

Conceptually, Cascadia does an incredible amount right: The rules are simple, the board game is set up as quickly as you started, the playing time is at least partially predetermined - after 20 rounds it's over. Added to this is the "puzzle" process, which always leaves active players with a selection of options. They are not always balanced due to the luck factor, but in the case of Cascadia you can live with that. The game is calm and perfectly suited for relaxed rounds of play - also by yourself. Cascadia's solo mode is not an added mandatory feature, but a central component. The laying game also works excellently on its own. How not? In the multiplayer games, players finally puzzle and lay out nature and animals in front of them with complete peace of mind.

Cascadia is not recommended for the same level of entertainment in every setup. More players – up to four – initially only means longer playing time. In addition, the display changes more frequently, which can be frustrating and joyful at the same time. Cascadia is excellent on its own, as well as a two-player board game. After that it sometimes becomes a matter of taste. Yes, the board game works in all settings and there are also short moments of interaction, but they don't really come into their own. The small shortcoming is still forgivable, because Randy Flynn's board game is always fun despite the occasional balancing problems. This is mainly due to the changing evaluation requirements.

The imbalance that exists in terms of the number of players is balanced by Randy Flynn's concept: Cascadia takes an extremely entertaining middle ground between simple layout rules and the need for foresighted planning, it is demanding but not overwhelming due to the level of difficulty being set too high. And Cascadia is abstract but still leverages its theme.

Now it might sound a lot like Cascadia is an average placement game with nice material. Not at all - you have to experience the game concept to feel the magic. The board game unfolds an enormous pull through the combination of simplicity and complexity in the right places. A large number of rule variants ensures long-term motivation and a sustained learning curve on the one hand - and at the same time ensures that different target groups are addressed with Cascadia. On top of that there is an optional campaign. For the investment of around 35 euros, there is also good material. Hats off cosmos.

Even without an award as the highlight of the current board game year, Cascadia is a success. The game was temporarily out of stock. Just in time for the award ceremony, however, Kosmos has replenished the stock properly - after all, thanks to the Game of the Year 2022 Pöppel, the title should (continue to) sell like freshly smoked salmon.

Incidentally, the jury of the association Spiel des Jahres put it aptly in one sentence: "Cascadia is a real feel-good game".

Author

Last updated on 3.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Cascadia hat als ausgezeichnetes Spiel des Jahres 2022 jede Menge Lob erhalten. Das Spiel von Randy Flynn hat der Verlag Kosmos hierzulande in einer deutschsprachig lokalisierten Version veröffentlicht – und damit offensichtlich einen Nerv getroffen bei Fans wie Kritikern. Zu Recht? Absolut. Cascadia ist ein Highlight, präsentiert sich dabei allerdings als unaufdringliches Brettspiel für jedermann.

Randy Flynn, die Illustratorin Beth Sobel und das Konglomerat Flatout Games hatten Cascadia ursprünglich per Crowdfunding via Kickstarter finanziert und von über 9.000 Unterstützern rund 275.000 US-Dollar eingenommen – geplant waren dabei lediglich 8.000 US-Dollar. Vorschusslorbeeren gab es für Flatout Games jedenfalls mit Kampagnenstart, was nicht zuletzt an dem Vorgängerprojekt Calico lag – auch dieses Brettspiel war ein Crowdfunding-Hit. Geschnappt und für den deutschen Markt aufbereitet hat sich den Titel Ravensburger – bei Calico hatte Kosmos den richtigen Riecher. Eine der Botschaften: Auch vergleichsweise kleine Kickstarter-Projekte können den Massenmarkt bedienen.

Cascadia: Ausflug in die Wildnis

Cascadia ist ein Spiel wie ein Ausflug in die Natur. Es geht nach Kaskadien in den pazifischen Nordwesten Nordamerikas – dort wo Lachs und Bär sich gute Nach sagen. Mit rund 35 Euro ist der Trip in die Wildnis günstig, dafür darf man das Naturschauspiel allerdings auch nur auf kleinen Papp-Tokens erleben. Davon gibt es viele: Landschaften und Tiere, Spielkarten ergänzen das Material. Das alles sieht prima aus, passt zum Thema, ist angesichts der bekannten Arbeiten von Beth Sobel in der gebotenen Qualität auch keine Überraschung. Natur kann die Illustratorin, wie sie bereits mehrfach bewiesen hat: bei Calico, bei Flügelschlag und auch bei Viticulture.

Cascadia Rezension Spiel des Jahres 2022
Kein Bär wie der andere: Die Karten sorgen immer wieder für veränderte Wertungssituationen. Foto: Volkmann

Weitaus weniger offensichtlich war, wie es spielerisch um Cascadia bestellt ist. Doch auch hier konnte man bei dem einstigen 29-Dollar-Kickstarter-Brettspiel im positiven Sinne Entwarnung geben. Randy Flynn hat ein Debüt hingelegt, wie man es nicht besser machen kann. Cascadia ist ein Brettspiel für jedermann – unaufgeregt, leicht zu erlernen, mit genügend taktischen Elementen, um immer wieder mal auf dem Tisch zu landen.

Das Thema um Flora und Faune ist zentral, drängt sich aber nicht auf: Man soll verschiedenen Tierarten einen Lebensraum bieten. Dazu werden Hex-Tokens aneinander gepuzzelt und hölzerne Tier-Tokens darauf platziert. Wertungskarten bestimmen, wofür es jeweils wie viele Punkte gibt. Das wars! Ohne großes Gewitter geht es bei Cascadia ans Spielen – es ist die wohl größte Stärke dieses Brettspiels. Klar, es bräuchte das Thema nicht – man könnte auch Roboter in einer dystopischen Metropole oder Superhelden in Gotham-City als Ankerpunkte für die Punktehatz nehmen. Doch irgendwie berührt das Naturthema, weil es eines ist, das alle Spieler ansprechen kann. Tiere und Pflanzen sind kennt jeder und mag jeder, also sielt man gern damit.

Lobenswert einfache Grundregeln

Der Spielablauf ist einfach, allerdings deutlich weniger austauschbar als das Setting. Wer an der Reihe ist, nimmt sich eine der vier in der Auslage verfügbaren Kombinationen aus Landschaftsplättchen und Tier-Token, Dann wird nach fest umgrenzten Regeln angelegt. Der Spielplan wächst Runde um Runde. Findet der Nachziehstapel sein Ende, endet auch die Partie. Dann wird abgerechnet.

Brettspiel-Test Cascadia Spiel des Jahres 2022
Die Wildlife-Tokens sind auch Holz, das wertet sie auf. Spielerisch sind die aufgedruckten Tiere von zentraler Bedeutung – sie stellen die zweite Lege-Ebene dar. Foto: Volkmann

Was ist aber so besonders an Randy Flynns Idee? Als Legespiel erfindet Cascadia das Genre immerhin nicht neu. Allerdings hebt es das klassische Konzept eines Carcassonne durch eine Verdopplung der Lege-Ebenen auf eine neue Stufe – dort findet sich die Innovation. Flynn hat mit Cascadia quasi ein Doppel-Legespiel geschaffen, bei dem bei Ebenen nicht nebenher laufen, sondern perfekt ineinander greifen. Weil jedes Tier ein eigenes Wertungsschema hat, kann und muss man clever puzzeln, um ein Punkteergebnis nah am Optimum zu erreichen. Hier schließt sich auch der Kreis zum Thema: jedes Tier hat nämlich seine eigenen Vorlieben. Es ist vorrangig dieser Kniff, der das Abenteuer in der Natur so stimmungsvoll macht. Ohne Glücksfaktor kommt Cascadia natürlich nicht aus, doch der lässt sich zumindest mit dem Tannenzapfen-Kniff etwas abmildern. Experten werden darin Schwächen sehen, denn nicht alles lässt sich vorhersagen und planen. Ambitionierter Familienspielern wird das gleichgültig sein, sie profitieren vom Maximum an Spielspaß.

Das simple Regelwerk sollte bei Cascadia nicht darüber hinwegtäuschen, dass es nicht zu verschenken gibt: Jeder einzelne Spielzug hat Relevanz, denn deren Zahl ist begrenzt. Das ist manchmal ein Ärgernis. Liegen wenig Attraktive Kombinationen aus und kann man mit den Zapfen nicht nachbessern, muss man sich mit dem bestmöglichen Ergebnis pro Aktion begnügen. So plätschert so mancher Spielzug dahin, ist aber niemals sinnlos. Der Belohnungsfaktor für die Aktion des Spielers ist stets vorhanden. Die Wildnis ist eben kein Sandkasten, in dem man sich die Welt machen kann, wie es einem gefällt.

Cascadia kann eine Herausforderung sein, ist aber niemals böswillig schwierig. Nachdenken muss man, allerdings nicht bis es nervt. en Knoten im Hirn wird man bei einer Partie Cascadia vergeblich suchen, unter Umständen vermissen – das kommt auf den individuellen Spielgeschmack an. Strategische Möglichkeiten bietet das Spiel pro Zug, pro Partie jedenfalls genug. Der Wille ist da, um aus seinen Optionen stets das bestmögliche Ergebnis herauszuholen. Einfach ist das trotz simpler Regeln längst nicht: auf dem Spieltisch gilt es, die Übersicht zu behalten. Die wachsenden Landschaften samt ihrer fünf Tierarten ist nicht nur bunt, sondern bisweilen auch gewollt unübersichtlich.

Brettspiel-Rezension Cascadia Spiel des Jahres 2022
Die Partien von Cascadia machen Spaß, weil jeder Zug belohnt wird – allerdings nicht immer in vollem Umfang. Foto: Volkmann

Hinzu bei Cascadia etwas ganz pragmatisches – etwas, das fast nebensächlich klingt, aber nicht ist: sämtliches Material ist dem Spielspaß zuträglich. Es gibt keinen aufgesetzten Schnickschnack, um der Schachtel Gewicht zu verleihen; es gibt keine Pseudo-Regelvarianten, die keine Mehrwert bieten, es gibt keine Materialmassen, die ungenutzt am Spielfeldrand herumliegen. Alles, was dem Brettspiel beiliegt, wird genug. Und zwar sinnvoll. Mehr noch: Was für das material gilt, gilt auch für die Detailregeln – jeder Kniff hat seinen Zweck.

Infobox

Spielerzahl: 1 bis 4
Alter: ab 10 Jahren
Spielzeit: 30 bis 60 Minuten
Schwierigkeit: einfach
Langzeitmotivation: gut
Genre: Familienspiel
Kernmechanismen: Legen, Muster, Punkte sammeln

Autor: Randy Flynn
Illustrationen: Beth Sobel
Verlag: Kosmos /Flatout Games/AEG
Offizielle Website: Link
Erscheinungsjahr: 2021
Sprache: Deutsch
Kosten: 35 Euro

Fazit

Cascadia macht konzeptionell unglaublich viel richtig: Die Regeln sind simpel, das Brettspiel ist so schnell aufgebaut wie angefangen, die Spielzeit ist zumindest ansatzweise vorbestimmt – nach 20 Runden ist Schluss. Hinzu kommt der “puzzelige” Ablauf, der aktiven Spielern stets eine Auswahl an Optionen lässt. Die sind aufgrund der Glücksfaktors nicht immer ausbalanciert, damit kann man im Fall von Cascadia aber gut leben. Das Spiel ist unaufgeregt und perfekt geeignet für entspannte Spielrunden – gern auch alleine. Der Solo-Modus von Cascadia ist kein aufgesetztes Pflicht-Feature, sondern zentraler Bestandteil. Auch alleine funktioniert das Legespiel nämlich hervorragend. Wie auch nicht? In den Mehrspielerpartien puzzlen und legen Spieler schließlich auch in aller Seelenruhe Natur und Tiere vor sich aus.

Nicht in jedem Setup ist Cascadia auf gleichem Unterhaltungsniveau empfehlenswert. Mehr Spieler – bis zu vier – bedeutet zunächst einmal lediglich eine längere Spielzeit. Zudem wechselt die Auslage häufiger, was Frust und Freude zugleich sein kann. Alleine ist Cascadia hervorragend, als Zwei-Spieler-Brettspiel ebenfalls. Danach wird es bisweilen zur Geschmackssache. Ja, das Brettspiel funktioniert in allen Settings und es gibt auch kurze Momente Interaktionen, so richtig zur Geltung kommen die aber nicht. Das kleine Manko ist dennoch verzeihlich, denn Spaß macht Randy Flynns Brettspiel trotz zwischendurch auftretender Balancing-Problemchen immer. Das liegt vor allem an den sich verändernden Wertungsvoraussetzungen.

Was bezüglich der Spielerzahl an Ungleichgewicht vorhanden ist, bringt Randy Flynn durch sein Konzept in die Waage: Cascadia geht einen enorm unterhaltsamen Mittelweg zwischen einfachen Legeregeln und der Erfordernis vorausschauender Planung, es ist fordernd, aber nicht erschlagend aufgrund eines zu hoch angesetzten Schwierigkeitsgrades. Und Cascadia ist abstrakt, nutzt aber dennoch sein Thema.

Nun klingt es vielfach vielleicht so, als sei Cascadia ein durchschnittliches Legespiel mit hübschem Material. Mitnichten ist das so – man muss das Spielkonzept erfahren haben, um die Magie er spüren. Das Brettspiel entfaltet teils eine enorme Sogwirkung durch die Kombination aus Einfachheit und Komplexität an den richtigen Stellen. Eine Vielzahl an Regelvarianten sorgt einerseits für Langzeitmotivation und eine aufrechterhaltene Lernkurve – und sorgt gleichzeitig dafür, dass mit Cascadia verschiedene Zielgruppen angesprochen werden. Obendrauf gibt es noch eine optionale Kampagne. Für die Investition von rund 35 Euro gibt es zudem gutes Material. Hut ab, Kosmos.

Auch ohne Auszeichnung als Highlight des laufenden Brettspieljahrgangs ist Cascadia ein Erfolg. Das Spiel war zeitweise vergriffen. Pünktlich zur Preisverleihung hat Kosmos den Bestand allerdings ordentlich aufgefüllt – immerhin dürfte sich der Titel dank Spiel des Jahres 2022-Pöppel nun (weiterhin) verkaufen wie frisch geräucherter Lachs.

Die Jury des Vereins Spiel des Jahres drückte es übrigens mit einem Sätzchen treffend aus: “Cascadia ist ein wahres Wohlfühlspiel”.

Autor

Letzte Aktualisierung am 3.08.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API