Cascadia has been quite a success for Randy Flynn - and here for the publisher Kosmos. The board game was recently nominated for the Game of the Year award. The author never tires of coming up with new ideas: Tabriz, a card game that deals with trading on the Persian market, will soon be crowdfunded.

The crowning of success could still be forthcoming - the board game Cascadia (Flatout Games) has chances as a nominated title for the “Game of the Year 2022” to collect. Author Randy Flynn has won over fans and critics alike with his tile-laying game idea based on animals in north-western North America. And apparently also publishers - in this country Kosmos jumped up to bring the former Kickstarter project to the market. Now Flynn is providing supplies, this time via Crafty Games.

Tabriz: Carpet trading game

Randy Flynn relies on fantasy names when developing his new board game. or card game again: Tabriz will be the title - and thus describe the city of the same name in north-western Iran, once a trading center on the Silk Road. Even today, the big bazaar of Tabriz - the German name of the city - is considered one of the largest and most impressive in the country.

The general conditions reflect Randy Flynn's game idea. Players take on the roles of carpet merchants to operate in the Persian market. It is necessary to weave different types of carpets in order to fulfill customers' wishes, snatch commissions and ultimately outperform the competing merchants. Gradually you improve yourself and your customer base: At the beginning you sell to simple people, later you serve the wishes of rich buyers.

Active players can each choose different actions during their turn, which is implemented with a worker placement trick. You use your characters to trade and buy carpet materials, including wool, camel hair or natural dyes. Then luck also plays a role: a roll of the dice determines how much of the respective material players will ultimately receive.

Behind the simple basic idea is a multi-layered mechanism of worker placement, luck, but above all tactics. The latter becomes clear because materials are limited and the display changes every round. It is important to plan your moves as far in advance as possible in order to always have enough material available to fulfill customer orders. Another level is added through smaller upgrades that players can draw on to land more complex contracts. In the end, wins if you have earned 14 skill points or have achieved the most fame points after the ninth completed order.

The board game will be published by Crafty Games, the publisher that previously published Dollars to Donuts, among other things. The game is to be financed via a crowdfunding campaign that will be launched on Gamefound in the fall. You can follow that Crowdfunding to Tabriz already. The title is aimed at up to five players, but also has a solo mode.

The original game will be available in English, with Farsi by default. So far it is unclear whether the game will be localized in German - Crafty Games states that it intends to publish information about other language versions as part of the Gamefound campaign. A card game of the same name "Tabriz: The Card Game" is also in the works - but according to Crafty Games the title will not yet be part of the financing campaign.

Author

Last updated on 20.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Cascadia war für Randy Flynn – und hierzulande den Verlag Kosmos – ein ziemlicher Erfolg. Jüngst wurde das Brettspiel für den Preis Spiel des Jahres nominiert. Der Autor wird nicht müde, sich Neues auszudenken: Mit Tabriz startet bald ein Kartenspiel ins Crowdfunding, bei dem es um Handel auf dem persischen Markt geht.

Die Krönung des Erfolgs könnte noch bevorstehen – das Brettspiel Cascadia (Flatout Games) hat Chancen, als nominierten Titel den Preis für das “Spiel des Jahres 2022” einzuheimsen. Mit seiner Legespiel-Idee rund um Tiere im Nordwesten Nordamerikas hat Autor Randy Flynn Fans wie Kritiker überzeugt. Und offenbar auch Verlage – hierzulande ist Kosmos aufgesprungen, um das vormalige Kickstarter-Projekt in den Handel zu bringen. Nun sorgt Flynn für Nachschub, diesmal über Crafty Games.

Tabriz: Handelsspiel um Teppiche

Auf Fantasie-Namen setzt Randy Flynn bei der Ausarbeitung seines neuen Brettspielspiel. bzw. Kartenspiels wieder nicht: Tabriz wird der Titel lauten – und damit die gleichnamig Stadt im Nordwesten des Iran beschreiben, einst ein Handelszentrum an der Seidenstraße. Noch heute gilt der große Basar von Täbris – so der deutsche Name der Stadt – als einer der größten und eindrucksvollsten des Landes.

Die Rahmenbedingungen spiegeln Randy Flynns Spielidee wider. Spieler schlüpfen in die Rollen von Teppichhändlern, um auf dem persischen Markt zu operieren. Es gilt, verschiedene Arten von Teppichen zu weben, um die Wünsche der Kunden zu erfüllen, Provisionen zu ergattern und letztendlich erfolgreicher zu agieren als die konkurrierenden Händler. Schrittweise verbessert man dabei sich und seinen Kundenstamm: Zu Beginn verkauft man an einfach Leute, später bedient man die Wünsche reicher Käufer.

Aktive Spieler können jeweils auf unterschiedlichen Aktionen während ihres Spielzugs wählen, umgesetzt wird das mit einem Workerplacement-Kniff. Man setzt seine Figuren ein, um Handel und Kauf für Teppichmaterial zu betreiben, darunter etwa Wolle, Kamelhaar oder Naturfarbstoffe. Dann spielt auch das Glück noch eine Rolle: per Würfelwurf wird ermittelt, wie viel des jeweiligen Materials Spieler letztendlich erhalten.

Hinter der simplen Grundidee steckt eine mehrschichtige Mechanik aus Workerplacement, Glück, vor allem aber Taktik. Letztere wird deutlich, weil Materialien limitiert sind und sich jede Runde die Auslage verändert. Es gilt, seine Züge möglichst vorauszuplanen, um stets genug Material verfügbar zu haben, dass man für die Erfüllung der Kundenaufträge benötigt. Eine weitere Ebene kommt durch kleinere Upgrades hinzu, auf die Spieler zurückgreifen können, um komplexere Aufträge an Land zu ziehen. Am Ende gewinnt, werde 14 Fähigkeitenpunkte erspielt hat oder nach dem neunten vollendeten Auftrag die meisten Ruhmpunkt erwirtschaften konnte.

Erscheinen wird das Brettspiel über Crafty Games, jenem Verlag, der zuvor unter anderem Dollars to Donuts veröffentlicht hatte. Finanziert werden soll das Spiel über eine Crowdfunding-Kampagne, die auf Gamefound im Herbst an den Start gehen wird. Folgen kann man dem Crowdfunding zu Tabriz bereits. Der Titel richtet sich an bis zu fünf Spieler, hat jedoch zudem einen Solomodus.

Das Originalspiel wird in englischer Sprache verfügbar sein, zudem standardmäßig in Farsi. Bislang unklar ist, ob das Spiel deutschsprachig lokalisiert wird – Crafty Games gibt an, Informationen über andere Sprachversionen im Rahmen der Gamefound-Kampagne veröffentlichen zu wollen. Ein gleichnamiges Kartenspiel “Tabriz: The Card Game ist ebenfalls in Arbeit – der Titel wird laut Crafty Games aber noch nicht Bestandteil der Finanzierungskampagne sein.

Autor

Letzte Aktualisierung am 10.08.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API