The board game Root has already been successfully adapted for the PC, and mobile versions for the iOS and Android operating systems are now to follow. The complex strategy game, in which animal fractions are the focus, relies on an asymmetrical concept in which players pursue different goals. The release of Root Digital for smartphones and tablets is planned for September 24th. 


The board game Root is as a PC adaptation already available for one to four players. Starting next week, mobile players will also be able to slip into the roles of the forest factions and pursue their own individual game goals. As in the board game, there are four groups to choose from: The Marquise de Cat, the Woodland Alliance, the Eyrie Dynasty and the Vagabond.

Asymmetrical board game for the smartphone

The digital version by Root implements the game concept and style almost unchanged, but at the same time makes use of the advantages that computer games offer. For example, the meeples of the individual factions are animated and artfully, but clearly set in scene. Another advantage of digital adaptation: Root can be played online. There is also a local multiplayer mode and a solo version against artificial intelligence.

The style of the digital version is recognizable. Image rights: Dire Wolf

The style of the digital version is recognizable. Image rights: Dire Wolf

The author of the game is Cole Wehrle, the creator behind Pax Pamir or Oath: Chronicles of Empire and Exile. With his concept, Root is one of the best representatives of the genre of modern times. There is now even a real tabletop RPG for Root, which was financed through Kickstarter. Dire Wolf, the studio that also developed the adaptation of Robbers of the North Sea, is responsible for the implementation of the digital version. Klong! Developer Dire Wolf is also working on a deck building game based on the remake of Frank Herbert's novel series: Dune imperium.

Root digital in the mobile version will be released for iOS and Android on September 24th. Cross-platform gaming should then also be made possible so that fans of the PC version can compete against mobile players, among other things.


Preview Product Rating Price
Leather Games LED01000 accessories Leather Games LED01000 accessories * 61,06 EUR

Author

Last updated on 18.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Das Brettspiel Root wurde bereits erfolgreich für den PC adaptiert, nun folgen Mobilversionen für die Betriebssysteme iOS und Android. Das komplexe Strategiespiel, bei dem tierische Fraktionen im Mittelpunkt stehen, setzt auf ein asymmetrisches Konzept, bei dem Spieler unterschiedliche Ziele verfolgen. Die Veröffentlichung von Root Digital für Smartphones und Tablets ist für den 24. September geplant. 


Das Brettspiel Root ist als PC-Adaption für ein bis vier Spieler bereits erhältlich. Ab der nächsten Woche können auch Mobilspieler in die Rollen der Waldfraktionen schlüpfen und ihre jeweils individuellen Spielziele verfolgen. Wie im Brettspiel stehen vier Gruppierungen zur Auswahl: Die Marquise de Cat, die Woodland-Allianz, die Eyrie-Dynastie sowie die Vagabond.

Asymmetrisches Brettspiel fürs Smartphone

Die digitale Fassung von Root setzt das Spielkonzept sowie den Stil nahezu unverändert um, bedient sich dabei jedoch gleichzeitig der Vorteile, die Computerspiele bieten. So sind etwa die Meeples der einzelnen Fraktionen animiert und kunstvoll, aber wieder erkennbar in Szene gesetzt. Ein weitere Vorteil der digitalen Adaption: Root kann online gespielt werden. Zudem gibt es einen lokalen Mehrspielermodus sowie eine Solo-Variante gegen die Künstliche Intelligenz.

Der Stil der digitalen Fassung hat Wiedererkennungswert. Bildrechte: Dire Wolf

Der Stil der digitalen Fassung hat Wiedererkennungswert. Bildrechte: Dire Wolf

Der Autor des Spiels ist Cole Wehrle, der Macher hinter Pax Pamir oder Oath: Chronicles of Empire and Exile. Root gehört mit seinem Konzept zu den besten Vertretern des Genres der Neuzeit. Inzwischen gibt es zu Root sogar ein waschechtes Tabletop-RPG, das über Kickstarter finanziert worden ist. Für die Umsetzung der digitale Version zeichnet sich Dire Wolf verantwortlich, jenes Studio, das auch die Adaption zu Räuber der Nordsee entwickelt hat. Zudem arbeitet Klong!-Entwickler Dire Wolf an einem Deckbuilding-Spiel, das auf der Neuverfilmung von Frank Herberts Romanreihe basiert: Dune Imperium.

Root digital in der Mobilfassung erscheint für iOS und Android am 24. September. Ermöglicht werden soll dann auch das plattformübergreifende Spielen, sodass Fans der PC-Version unter anderem gegen Mobilspieler antreten können.


Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
Leder Games LED01000 Zubehör Leder Games LED01000 Zubehör * 59,88 EUR

Letzte Aktualisierung am 21.04.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API