The still young publisher Warchief Gaming seems to be celebrating a successful debut with the pen-and-paper role-playing game brand Auroboros. The tabletop RPG has already generated around half a million euros in financial support as part of the crowdfunding campaign on Kickstarter.


Warchief Gaming celebrates a successful crowdfunding premiere. With the P&P franchise Auroboros: Coils of the Serpent, the creators are fulfilling a kind of childhood dream - at least there are memories of the role-playing experience in the work, which, among others, the former Blizzard veterans Chris Metzen and Mike Gilmartin made them. The two are behind the game forge, which was only founded in autumn 2020.

Worldbook: Lawbrand as the first release

Acting as the “Lead Product Developer” behind the Kickstarter for Warchief Gaming Ryan Collins, who can draw on experiences from the design process of the video games Hearthstone and Marvel Heroes as well as the miniature collectible toy HeroClix. With the crowdfunding for the RPG brand Auroboros: Coils of the Serpent, whose first work is the Worldbook: Lawbrand, they are currently proving that those who are familiar with the games industry can also implement analogue ideas.

Kickstarter starts at around 21 euros with the digital version of the bundle from the Worldbook: Lawbrand and a player guide. Gradually fans can also pay more - up to and including the “Epic Adventurer's Bundle”, which costs around 167 euros, but not only contains the role-play book in a bound version, but also a story book for Chris Metzen's original Lawbrand campaign comes accessories such as cubes and other accessories.

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

The Auroboros: Coils of the Serpent crowdfunding campaign is so successful that all previously published stretch goals have long been activated. However, more are to come, as Warchief Gaming has already announced on the Kickstarter page.

With the RPG book, players can create their own adventures, game masters also receive hints and tips on how to work out the campaigns. If the campaign can be ended successfully - and that's what it currently looks like - then the pen-and-paper should be sent in March 2022.

The only downer: the content of the Kickstarter campaign will only be available in English. Localizations - including a German language - cannot be ruled out at a later point in time. As Warchief Gaming indicates, they are looking for a publishing partner to make Auroboros available in other languages.

Auroboros on the long way to the top

The funding target set at EUR 41.560 is reached after just eleven minutes. Hardly surprising, because behind the project are not only well-known personalities from the games scene, but also marketing that was initiated at an early stage. The first fruits can now be harvested at Warchief Gaming: the campaign has long since reached the milestone of half a million euros.

This is impressive in two respects: On the one hand, pure pen-and-paper projects are also successful in the crowdfunding segment, but then usually generate smaller amounts in the five-digit range.

On the other hand, Auroboros: Coils of the Serpent could even make it to the most successful tabletop RPG on Kickstarter - but the creators have to throw some coals in the oven to fuel the campaign. The front runner is currently an RPG with a popular license: the second edition of the Lord of the Rings P&P "The OneRing“, With which the Swedish publisher FriaLigan was able to raise around 1,6 million euros. It seems like a long way to go to this milestone for Warchief Gaming, but given the successful start, it's not impossible. The Spieleschmiede could use one advantage: the unbelievably large video games community - provided you can get the players excited about the analog project.

The Crowdfunding campaign for Auroboros: Coils of the Serpent is running on Kickstarter until May 22nd.


Author

Last updated on 4.12.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Mit der Pen-and-paper-Rollenspielmarke Auroboros scheint der noch junge Verlag Warchief Gaming ein erfolgreiches Debüt zu feiern. Rund eine halbe Million Euro hat das Tabletop-RPG im Rahmen der Crowdfunding-Kampagne auf Kickstarter bereits an finanzieller Unterstützung generieren können.


Warchief Gaming feiert eine gelungene Crowdfunding-Premiere. Mit dem P&P-Franchise Auroboros: Coils of the Serpent erfüllen sich die Macher eine Art Kindheitstraum – zumindest stecken Erinnerungen an jene Rollenspielerfahrung in dem Werk, die unter anderem die ehemaligen Blizzard-Veteranen Chris Metzen und Mike Gilmartin gemacht sie. Die beiden stecken nämlich hinter der erst im Herbst 2020 gegründeten Spieleschmiede.

Worldbook: Lawbrand als erste Auskopplung

Als „Lead Product Developer“ hinter dem Kickstarter agiert für Warchief Gaming Ryan Collins, der unter anderem auf Erfahrungen aus dem Designprozess der Videospiele Hearthstone und Marvel Heroes sowie dem Miniaturen-Sammelspielzeug HeroClix zurückgreifen kann. Dass die Kenner der Games-Branche auch analoge Ideen umgesetzt bekommen, beweisen sie derzeit mit dem Crowdfunding zur RPG-Marke Auroboros: Coils of the Serpent, deren erstes Werk das Worldbook: Lawbrand ist.

Auf Kickstarter geht es ab rund 21 Euro los mit der digitalen Fassung des auf dem Worldbook: Lawbrand und einem Spieler-Guide bestehenden Bundles. Stufenweise können Fans auch mehr zahlen – bis hin zum „Epic Adventurer’s Bundle“, das rund 167 Euro kostet, dafür jedoch nicht nur das Rollenspielbuch in einer gebundenen Fassung enthält, sondern auch ein Story-Buch zu Chris Metzens Original-Kampagne durch Lawbrand – hinzu kommt Zubehör, so etwa Würfel und weiteres Beiwerk.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Die Crowdfunding-Kampagne von Auroboros: Coils of the Serpent ist so erfolgreich, dass längst alle bisher veröffentlichten Stretch-Goals freigeschaltet wurden. Weitere sollen jedoch kommen, das kündigt Warchief Gaming auf der Kickstarter-Seite bereits an.

Mit dem RPG-Buch können Spieler ihre eigenen Abenteuer erschaffen, Spielleiter erhalten zudem Hinweise und Tipps, um die Kampagnen ausarbeiten zu können. Sollte die Kampagne erfolgreich beendet werden können – und danach sieht es derzeit aus – dann soll das Pen-and-Paper im März 2022 versandt werden.

Einziger Wermutstropfen: Die Inhalte der Kickstarter-Kampagne werden ausschließlich in englischer Sprache verfügbar sein. Lokalisierungen – auch eine deutschsprachige – sind jedoch zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt nicht ausgeschlossen. Wie Warchief Gaming angibt, ist man auf der Suche nach einem Verlagspartner, um Auroboros auch in weiteren Sprachen verfügbar zu machen.

Auroboros auf dem langen Weg zur Spitze

Erreicht hat man das bei 41.560 Euro gesteckte Funding-Ziel bereits nach elf Minuten. Kaum überraschend, denn hinter dem Projekt stecken nicht nur namhafte Persönlichkeiten der Games-Szene, sondern auch ein frühzeitig initiiertes Marketing. Die ersten Früchte kann man nun bei Warchief Gaming ernten: die Kampagne hat längst den Meilenstein von einer halben Million Euro erreicht.

Das ist in zweifacher Hinsicht eindrucksvoll: Einerseits sind reine Pen-and-paper-Projekte zwar auch im Crowdfunding-Segment erfolgreich, generieren dann jedoch meist kleinere Summen im fünfstelligen Bereich.

Andererseits könnte Auroboros: Coils of the Serpent es sogar zum erfolgreichsten Tabletop-RPG auf Kickstarter schaffen – dafür müssen die Macher allerdings noch einige Kohlen in den Ofen werfen, um die Kampagne zu befeuern. Spitzenreiter ist derzeit ein RPG mit einer populären Lizenz: zweite Edition des Herr der Ringe-P&P „The One Ring“, mit der der schwedische Verlag FriaLigan rund 1,6 Millionen Euro einnehmen konnte. Es scheint ein weiter Weg bis zu diesem Meilenstein zu sein für Warchief Gaming, unmöglich ist da angesichts des gelungenen Starts jedoch nicht. Einen Vorteil könnte die Spieleschmiede nutzen: die unglaublich große Videogames-Community – sofern man die Spieler für das analoge Projekt begeistern kann.

Die Crowdfunding-Kampagne zu Auroboros: Coils of the Serpent läuft auf Kickstarter bis zum 22. Mai.


Letzte Aktualisierung am 19.09.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API